Skip to Contents

Press Release

09/19/2013

FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL GET'S A KICK WITH HARVEY NORMAN AND LG

Football Federation has received a significant boost on the eve of the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League with Harvey Norman securing naming rights for Friday Night Football for the next three years. Harvey Norman and LG Electronics will be collaborating to capitalise on this exciting opportunity.

Harvey Norman Friday Night Football will be televised on both Fox Sports and SBS with the weekly blockbuster further entrenching the Hyundai A-League in the mainstream with Free-To-Air penetration complimenting the traditional Fox Sports coverage.

The collaboration between Harvey Norman and LG signals the first direct benefit for the Hyundai A-League following the landmark TV deal last year that will see SBS broadcast all 27 Friday Night matches live into Australian homes.  All Hyundai A-League matches will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

“Both brands are proud to be joining the FFA family promoting their respective brands during  the Friday Night Football season,”  they have said in a joint statement. “This sponsorship offers a national opportunity to support and promote the game to the fans and consumers across the market.”

The first Harvey Norman Friday Night Football clash will see Sydney FC and the Newcastle Jets kick off the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League at Allianz Stadium on October 11 with marquee stars Alessandro Del Piero and Emile Heskey headlining the match.

“This is an exciting partnership for the Hyundai A-League and continues the growth we achieved last year,” said FFA Chief Executive Officer David Gallop. “It also illustrates the benefit in our free to air broadcast deal that helps us cement our place in the Australian sporting mainstream.

“LG and Harvey Norman are incredibly reputable brands that we are proud to welcome to the Football Family.”

Harvey Norman Friday Night Football fixtures (kick off times at venue):

Friday, October 11 - Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets at Allianz Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, October 18 - Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, October 25 - Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar at Etihad Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, November 1 - Western Sydney Wanderers v Adelaide United at Parramatta Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, November 8 - Melbourne Heart v Western Sydney Wanderers at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, November 15 - Melbourne Heart v Sydney FC at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, November 22 - Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers at Suncorp Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, November 29 - Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory at Bluetongue Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, December 6 - Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, December 13 - Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, December 20 - Brisbane Roar v Newcastle Jets (venue TBC) 7:00pm kick off

Friday, December 27 - Melbourne Heart v Wellington Phoenix at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, January 3 - Adelaide United v Sydney FC at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, January 10 - Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory at Hunter Stadium 7:30pm

Friday, January 17 - Melbourne Heart v Newcastle Jets at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, January 24 - Brisbane Roar v Wellington Phoenix at Suncorp Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, January 31 - Melbourne Heart v Sydney FC at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, February 7 - Western Sydney Wanderers v Brisbane Roar at Parramatta Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, February 14 - Adelaide United v Central Coast Mariners at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, February 21 - Central Coast Mariners v Wellington Phoenix at Bluetongue Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, February 28 - Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, March 7 - Melbourne Victory v Central Coast Mariners at AAMI Park 7:30pm kick off

Friday, March 14 - Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar at Allianz Stadium 7:30pm kick off

Friday, March 21 - Adelaide United v Sydney FC at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, March 28 - Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Heart at Suncorp Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, April 4 - Adelaide United v Melbourne Heart at Coopers Stadium 7:00pm kick off

Friday, April 11 - Newcastle Jets v Adelaide United at Hunter Stadium 7:30pm

 

close