Skip to Contents

47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600
47LM8600

Discontinued Product

Add a new dimension to your lifestyle

47" (119cm) Full HD 3D LED LCD TV

47LM8600

  • Cinema Screen Design
  • Flicker-Free 3D
  • Comfortable 3D Glasses
  • Dual Play

Enlarge

47" (119cm) Full HD 3D LED LCD TV

47LM8600

SHOW  HIDE TV Specification
  • Screen Size
  • Resolution
  • 3D Built In
  • Backlight Type
  • Screen Refresh Rate
  • Local Dimming
  • 47" (119cm)
  • 1920 x 1080p
  • Yes
  • LED Plus
  • TruMotion 200Hz
  • Yes
SHOW  HIDE Broadcasting System
  • Analogue
  • Digital
  • Yes
  • DVB-T
SHOW  HIDE 3D Specification
  • 3D Type
  • 2D to 3D
  • 3D to 2D
  • 2D to 3D Depth Control
  • 3D Sound Zooming
  • 3D Glasses
  • Cinema 3D (FPR)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • 20 Levels
  • Yes
  • 4 Pairs Included
SHOW  HIDE Video
  • Picture Mode
  • AV Mode (Picture & Sound)
  • Contrast Optimiser
  • Resolution Upscaler
  • Picture Wizard II
  • Triple XD Engine
  • Dynamic Colour Enhancer
  • Yes (7 Modes)
  • (3 Modes)
  • Yes
  • Yes (Plus)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW  HIDE Audio
  • Speaker System
  • Audio Output
  • Dolby Digital Decoder
  • Surround System
  • Sound Mode
  • Clear Voice II
  • Sound Optimiser
  • 1 Way,2 Speakers
  • 10W + 10W
  • Yes
  • Virtual Surround
  • 7 Modes
  • Yes
  • 3 Modes
SHOW  HIDE Special Features
  • Cinema 3D
  • LG Smart TV
  • Magic Remote Voice
  • Intelligent Sensor
  • Dual Play
  • Dual Play Glasses
  • Intel Wireless Display
  • USB 2.0
  • Smart Energy Saving
  • Simplink (HDMI-CEC)
  • WiFi Built In
  • Network File Browser (DLNA)
  • EPG (SI - 8 days)
  • Web Browser
  • Time Machine (DVR) Function
  • 2nd Display
  • MHL (Mobile HD Link)
  • DivX HD
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • 1 set (2 glasses) included
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes (Plus)
  • (All HDMI)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Compatible (USB storage device is required and will need to be purchased separately)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW  HIDE Side Connections
  • HDMI In v1.4
  • USB 2.0
  • Yes (4 - incl. 1 x ARC)
  • Yes (3)
SHOW  HIDE Rear Connections
  • RF In
  • AV In
  • Component In
  • Digital Audio Output
  • RGB In (PC)
  • PC Audio In
  • LAN
  • Yes (1)
  • Yes (1)
  • Yes (1)
  • Yes (1 - Optical)
  • Yes (1)
  • Yes (1)
  • Yes (1)
SHOW  HIDE Dimensions
  • With Stand(WxHxD)
  • Without Stand(WxHxD)
  • VESA Size
  • Weight (kg) with Stand
  • Weight (kg) without Stand
  • Matching Wall Bracket
  • 1063mm x 701mm x 263mm
  • 1063mm x 628mm x 33.4mm
  • 400x400mm
  • 18.0kg
  • 15.8kg
  • LSW400BX
SHOW  HIDE General
  • Warranty
  • Energy Rating*
  • TV - 1 Year Parts & Labour, Accessory - 1 Year Parts & Labour
  • 6.0 (*Star Rating is achieved when TV is used in Home Mode).
Back to Top

 

47LM8600 4.6 5 17 17
Exceptionally happy but for one thing... Overall this TV is awesome...extremely easy to set up and connecting to my WiFi network couldn't have been easier. The passive 3D quality is astounding (glasses included x 6 - 4 passive 3D & 2 dual play) and I can't wait for my children to be blown away by the technology. Streaming across my wireless network is super fast and PS3 games in 3D give new flavour to games I haven't played for a while. Still playing with the Apps but early impressions are very good. My only issue is audio lag when playing dual play gaming on the PS3 - it's not out by much but enough to notice (maybe I'm being picky) and I'm still playing with the tweaking of settings in this mode so could still turn out okay...also going to update my HDMI cable to a v1.4a 3D capable one. I would recommend looking at this model in store and I'm sure you won't be disappointed if you do. 27 December 2012
The product need to add SMB network feature. SMB network connection feature is missing. if that would be then definately 5 Star for it. 30 November 2012
Smartest TV I ever met! Very impressed, early days yet. Will have to nut it all out, looks like everythings there. Sound quality is better then the sales guys made out. Overall very happy. 4 November 2012
the photo this tv is good tv only 1 things iam very disapointed view the photo from usb it is slow but the sound and picture is good 8 October 2012
LG 47LM8600 3D Smart LCD TV is the best choice for all-rounder LCD TV. “I never have enough of LG LM8600 3D LCD TV. It is smart and unlimited of fun” Jun.D LG LM8600 is a smart LCD TV using LED-edge lit panel allowing better colour and wider viewing angle. It also connects to the internet and uses app. LM8600 is an all in one LCD that I would say “one of the best in the market” at this moment. My impression on this LCD is that it is slim, sleek design and exceptional on 3D playing, plus a wide range of Apps and Dual Play games. I had spent many hours on LM8600 and carefully taken down notes, you can view the rest of the review on my blog “http://octotini.tumblr.com/post/27825129859/lm8600-review”. I am confident to recommend LG 47LM8600 to you. Pros: Sleek, slim design Impressive 3D display Magic control is easy to control with ergonomic design Easy to set-up, Good for gaming- 200Hz refresh rate Accessing to the internet – Unlimited of fun Able to use app and download more apps from LG store Wide range of free online movies from LG store Wide range of 3D free online clips, movies from LG store Access to DLNS – Smart Share with other devices 2nd Screen on other smart phone Using smart phone to control LM8600 Wide viewing angle Dual-Play enables 2 players to play games together on a single LCD Use less energy, 6 stars rating and use about 60W according to my test. Cons: Glossy display reflects light Remote control does not have back light Occasion light bleeding on the side when switching between the apps, for less than 1 second though. LM8600 Smart LCD TV stands out from the rest of other LCD because it can function as a PC and a LCD TV. I could use Facebook, Weather forecasting app, Youtube, watching Football from the internet on LM8600. The best thing is that it would take less than 3 seconds to turn LM8600 on and another few seconds to check Facebook and Weather, way faster than using PC just for weather forecast or Facebook. Watching HD, Blu-ray on LM8600 is excellent; the colour is vibrant and sharp. Playing 3D on LM8600 is exceptional outstanding and this is why I love LM8600. Due to the weak eyes, I used to hate 3D movies a lot as they gave me headache and dizziness, but now I can watch a full 3D movie on LM8600. The 3D effect is realistic with vibrant colours. I can adjust the 3D setting to make it appear closer or further depending on the taste. If you ever want to try 3D, try it with LM8600. On top of it, LM8600 has a new feature called Dual-Play; it allows 2 players to view 2 full screens on 1 LCD with top quality images. Despite the fact that LM8600 has some drawbacks, it is still the best Smart LCD TV. The more I get to know LM8600 the more I like it. I strongly recommend LG LM8600 to you. 23 July 2012
Changed my Viewing Experience! It is quite clear from the first time you come into contact with this TV that LG has done some great work on this current range of 3D TV’s. I have not for some time seen a TV which packs itself with the features and image clarity and challenges the other contenders on price point and feature sets. Before I had even received one of these TV’s I was excited by the design as pictured on the companies website and once it had arrived not diminished whatsoever. From the moment you receive the box to the unpacking, you can see that a lot of work has gone into making a great TV. The packaging is very sleek but firm and well protective of the set and enables easy transportation. Upon opening the box you find a well thought out and manufactured LED LCD Panel which has steered away from the full plastic body design that many companies have gone for in the present day. The box has 2 sets of 3D Glasses (each pack has 2 in them), a set of glasses specifically for dual play gaming, 2 adapter cables for AV/Component Input, regular full sized remote, LG’s Amazing Magic Remote (works like a computer mouse that you wave toward your screen to control all functions of the TV, including the Smart TV Functionality) & a stand to seat the Television on cabinets. The TV is elegant with a very thin border of glass and aluminum with an elegant see through strip at the bottom and an Illuminated LG logo at the bottom of the set. Behind the set (from left to right) you will find 4 HDMI & 3 USB Ports, Ethernet Port for Internet, RGB 15 Pin Connector for PC Video, 3.5 inch port for Stereo PC Audio, 2 ports for connection of AV/Component adapter cables which are included, Antenna input, Optical Audio out and your traditional selection control buttons on the right of the TV for remote less operation. If you are at this stage not mounting the television to a wall bracket (screws are already supplied and attached to the TV Set), some minor assembly is required in the form of attaching the stand (the stand comes in 2 pieces with 8 screws, so make sure you have a Phillips head screw driver handy). The best way I have found to mount the stand is to lay the TV Panel face down on a soft surface (I had mine on the carpet with a sheet underneath) with it’s protective cover still on but opened up enough to attach the first part of the base and then place the TV upright but with it’s back towards the front of the lounge to attach the 2nd part of the stand to complete the process. Once you have the TV plugged in, remotes loaded with batteries and are powered up you will be greeted with a well-written configuration wizard to get the set ready for first use. The initial part of the wizard will register the Magic Remote to the TV then teach you some basic steps on how to use it. The wizard will then guide you through the environment the TV is installed into (Home or Shop Front) , connecting it to the Internet then the all important TV Channel Scan. Now that a TV signal is configured, you may notice one of the many things that have blown me away with this set, the clarity of the picture. Most of our standard Digital TV Channels in Australia are broadcast on 576i which can look rather poor on some sets…however this set has some very good up-scaling capabilities which makes a good viewing experience (in fact one of my family members commented on the visibility of blemishes on a local news presenters face one evening while watching the set, which she had never before commented on). High Definition images displayed on this TV are vivid and brilliant, enabling you to enjoy any HD Sporting or Blu Ray content on your TV with ease. By now you may have noticed that using the magic remote is quite a breeze, moving your hand around to control the cursor, the scroll wheel to quickly change channels or click on items from within menus with ease. The remote also has regular buttons for Volume & Channels, Turning the TV On/Off, Mute/Menu plus also toggling the 3D functions on and off. At this stage you might like to configure some of the settings that the TV has available, to do this head to the My Apps button then over to Settings. The settings menu has multiple configurable options ranging from the picture to sound and fine tuning of TV Signal, Internet Connectivity & Smart Sharing to the Parental Lock system and a menu to enable you to complete Software Updates & even test Picture/Sound/Signal. As the TV is a full energy star rated device by the Government’s rating system, you can from the menu configure features like the brightness of the panel and even whether to illuminate the LG logo bezel at the bottom of the set. Changing inputs to devices you may have configured is quick and efficient…plus you have the added benefit of a visual selection when using the Smart Remote. The Smart TV functionality allows you to take the TV in the lounge experience to a new level with your Internet Connection. From the Home menu you can use the Internet to browse websites (plug in a keyboard or even a mouse to add a brighter experience), use inbuilt apps to catch up on TV you may have missed, check out a video on youtube, listen to streaming online radio, view content shared from your computer or even put the 3D capabilities to the test with some free content provided by LG. Like any other smart device you are not limited with applications to the ones that are installed on it, once you have signed up an account you can download all sorts of extra apps to add different features, from streaming videos to football information and even Skype when you have the LG Camera/Microphone kit. The included Premium apps in the form of Bigpond Movies, ABC iView, Bigpond TV & SBS On Demand really show off the great merging of streaming media to the TV, however you will need a decent internet connection (recommend 8mbps or higher ADSL or ADSL2+ for best viewing). Another great feature of this TV is the PVR mode it contains. Plug in a fresh USB Hard Drive and you have a recorder to catch any moments of TV that you might usually miss out on, which you can watch back at your pleasure. The 3D functionality of the TV is delivered by Technology, which is quite similar to how you watch 3D movies in the cinema, and is called Passive 3D. Unlike some other TV models, you do not need expensive glasses to view the 3D image…you can use a pair of Cinema glasses if you run short or pop down to the shop and pay under $30 for another 2 pairs of LG 3D Glasses. To get your best experiences of 3D, you can head over to the Home Menu and check some out on Youtube, or the KPOP Zone from the My Apps menu which features a rather groovy Japanese group Super Junior with an immersive clip called Mr Simple….which makes it feel like the group and the objects floating around are almost in your face. When I was testing the 3D functions with a family member they told me that it looked even better than what they had seen in the cinemas. Any vision can be converted to 3D with a little configuration and by hitting the 3D button on your remote, however true quality will be experienced when it is filmed for the purpose in stereoscopic modes. The Dual Play mode and glasses enable you to play split screen games with a full screen view by selecting the dual play mode in the menu once you have got a game up and running with your friend. This feature saves you from the game of confusion and strain of the split screen view, giving you more time to enjoy the game thanks to the 3D technologies available in the set. As with all products there are a few things that need a little more work…but fortunately these are in the software operations of the TV and something that I am sure LG will fix as time progresses. This TV has really blown away my traditional views about what a TV can be capable of doing and the quality that you can get without spending a complete fortune to have the highest upmarket model available to the consumer market. There are so many more things that I could have spent time mentioning but it would be like reading a book without experiencing it for yourself. Having this TV in our household has changed the viewing experience to the point that other friends and family members are thinking about getting one as well! 23 July 2012
Looking for Style Convenience and Fun then the 47LM8600 is the one! We absolutely enjoyed the experience. Every single thing about this product has gone above and beyond my expectations, PROS: • From the very moment this magnificent TV arrived we knew this was something special, putting it together was a breeze. Setting it up was literally Childs play. I am not really a tech savvy person but even I had no problems connecting everything up. • First impression this TV is stunningly beautiful, classy and sleek. • Magic Remote, 1st impression was "This is going to be annoying” Pleased to say my 1st impression was absolutely wrong! It is super easy to use and very quick at navigating. In the end I think this is now my remote of choice. • Incredible picture quality! Bright whites and true blacks, colours are fantastic, the picture really catches your eyes. Above and beyond my expectations. My previous TV was a Sony Bravia and compared to that this is Hands down futuristic! • The 3D is out of this world! First thing is we went out and hired a few Bluray DVD’s and games and the effects were sensational. It really gave the screen depth. Ps3 games POPED! • The 3D glasses are comfortable and stylish. Not battery operated which means you can afford to buy a few for pairs for friends who pop round. Another thing that I personally feel is important when it comes to the 3D glasses is comfort, I have to wear prescription lenses on a daily bases and the 3D glasses fitted comfortably over the top my prescription. • App World, at a wave of a wand so to say, the button on the wand remote leads you to the World Wide Web! A world at your finger tips, Facebook, Twitter, Google, YouTube everything you could possibly think of accessing is right there for the taking. I am a social media freak and it was exceptionally handy to jump onto Facebook during add breaks! • 3D world within the App world was fantastic, I love the FISH Trust me you have to give it a go, I swear I have watched this video at least 10 times, it is super relaxing at the end of a stressful work day. • Wireless connectivity would have to be the best thing about this TV for me. I loved the easy access and connectivity to my PC, I was able to access all of favourite TV series and pre-bought movies, it was handy to connect via the Media server and play directly from my PC. I recommend the LG 47LM8600 to absolutely anyone who is up for some fun, either 2D or 3D you won’t be disappointed. Connecting with friends via Facebook or Twitter, watching TV or movies, YouTube or battling it out with MW4 on the PS3 there is nothing as good as this LG. Technology, tried tested and true, the LG 47LM8600 is the TV for you! CONS: • None to report. Other than having to give this magnificent Machine back after the review :( 22 July 2012
Perfect for everyone in the family Setup: The packaging is light, but large. Unless you have a massive arm span you will need help getting it into the house. On the plus side, light packaging means a light product which is easy to set up and position. The stand was attractive, nicely weighted and easy to put on. The trick is lay the screen flat. That’s in the manual, for those who read such things after the work is done. Integrated into the stand are 2 cable management clips, one on either side. This simple, yet intuitive addition means no more cables lost down the back of the cabinet, and for anyone whose teenagers who spend their lives moving game consoles from one room to another knows, these two clips will save your sanity. At the back of the unit are the usual plentiful HDMI and Antenna input options, along with AV and Composite ports. However, because this is a smart TV, it also offers 3 USB ports and a network jack so you can plug straight into your router. There’s a wireless network connection too. For me though, a wired network jack on a TV? I fell in love. Even before I switched it on, it had everything I’d been looking for. Immediately it offered to tune my channels. Thank the manufacturer, once again I was able to avoid reading the manual. Zippity doo, and there they were. All on the right numbers too. My favourite cooking show sprang into life, bigger than I’d ever seen it before. Clear, crisp and looking as good as the chocolate dessert I now desperately craved. The screen is almost all usable, only a mere fraction is lost to frame, and given what I was experiencing, I didn’t mind one bit. I had plenty left to immerse myself. The sound surprised me. We’ve been watching it set super low, on level 9 or 10 (out of 100), as those speakers have a surprising amount of grunt to offer. I have cranked it up when the kids aren’t home (don’t want to give them ideas) and no matter how high I took it, the quality remained clear and enjoyable. Thanks to the LG Smart offerings, I could use it as a stereo and stream music while I worked. How smart is it? On a scale of 1-10, I’d say the LG Smart 3D TV rates a very clever 9 for intelligence. It loses one point for not mind reading. Dual play: These two unassuming words can take you into a new frontier in gaming. Next time you’re playing a split window game on your preferred console, imagine being able to have the whole screen to yourself. Thanks to an imaginative use of the 3D multi-layer technology, LG can now offer this. Simply click the ‘Dual Play’ mode, pop on your 3D glasses and away you go, in big, beautiful glory – both of you. This is gaming without compromise. 2 remote controls? Yep. It’s actually a rather nifty offering. One is your traditional lots of buttons remote, the other is a new ‘Magic Remote’. Basically, you wave it around and a cursor moves on the screen, eliminating the need for fumbling in the dark for the right remote button, or trying to read small print to find the button you need. With its sleek design and modern intuition, it also offers voice recognition. The TV is finally listening to you! I gave the Magic Remote to my 5 year old daughter who asked “how did the dinosaurs die?”. Obviously I had let her down on this one, and she was seeking a more satisfactory answer from someone (or something) smarter. Instead of being shown a list of websites as I expected, she was offered a swag of multimedia, including videos with large thumbnails and descriptions. The Magic Remote is sure to be embraced as a natural technology by the younger users, but I was more than happy to stick with the traditional remote and it’s wealth of perfect buttons. A simple press of the HOME button on the remote leads to a new world of entertainment. Now, I’m the first to admit, I didn’t really know what a ‘Smart TV’ actually did. I assumed it could connect to the internet and I could surf the web from the couch. I couldn’t have been further from the advances LG have made. Premium offerings Channels: Inside the premium box is a direct link to Bigpond Movies (with a regularly updated free offering), as well as other stations like ABCiView, Cnet TV and Yahoo 7. These are on-demand video channels, all free (with the exception of BigPond Movies), where you can catch shows you missed or even shows that were never on. I found kids shows from my childhood in there. Retro flashbacks! It seems no longer can you say ‘there’s nothing on TV’. There’s always something, and on-demand is even better. Not only can you choose when to start viewing the program, but you can also skip through it or pause. 3D World: Because this is a 3D TV, it’s nice to have something in 3D to watch. Rather than leaving your scratching your head, LG has provided a swathe of offerings, all just for you. From documentaries to sport, you won’t be disappointed with this experience. The packaging includes 4 pairs of adult’s glasses, and you’ll find other 3D glasses work well too. It’s worth noting that as you access the 3D World, the TV automatically switches into 3D mode and back to 2D as you exit. LG Smart World: Want to play a game, track the news or teach the kids a new song? There’s an app for that. Easy to search, browse and install, and you can store favourites in the HOME screen. SmartShare: Recorded some movies on your phone and want to share them with the family? Easy. Thanks to the LG SmartShare feature, you can access a multitude of devices such as portable hard drives, USB memory sticks, tablet pcs, computers and phones. No cables, not fiddling, just share and view. Couldn’t be easier! This is complete input simplicity. Take the concept even further and use one of your attached devices to record live television, all you need is a nice sized external hard drive and you’ve got your very own PVR. Conclusion I admit, I absolutely love this television. • The 3D glasses are comfy and are interchangeable with other non-battery 3D glasses you may already own. Certainly a relief as far as this parent goes, knowing my children will lose or break their glasses several times during a year. • Pressing the 3D button on the remote converts even regular television into a 3D experience. • Not only is it child’s play to add a new input device (even kids can plug in a USB stick), but the LG Smart TV knows what to do with the data. I no longer require a dedicated media centre to play my geeky video files, the inbuilt processor understands what modern users are looking for. I haven’t come across a video file it cannot play, it just accepts everything I throw at it, with crystal clear video and sound. Respect. • I can take it to bed. Sort of. Okay, no, not really, it’s not very good at spooning. The Smart Share 2nd Display feature does allow me to continue watching a late running movie on my tablet in bed though. Got to love snuggling down with a movie! It’s your choice whether to keep the main screen going or not. Perhaps you want to watch the same show as everyone else, just not around hubby’s stinky feet. Don’t worry, your neighbours can’t tap into your viewing, when you install the app you sync it using a unique key. • Speaking of sneaky viewing, you can erase your viewing history. • I’m offered the choice of using the Magic Remote or not. This is more for the younger ones with their younger wrists. The traditional remote is included in the package and does everything you need with a press of a button, I’ll leave the waving to others. Would I recommend the LG Smart TV to my friends? Absolutely. Then I’d camp on their couch for extended movie marathons until they asked me to leave. 20 July 2012
Perfect for everyone in the family When I was offered the chance to review a 47” LG Smart TV I had to think about it for a moment. Do I want to try out a big screen tv with the latest technology? Um, yes! A large box soon arrived and my kids were tripping over themselves to help me open it. First, we discussed the rules. No touching the screen, no throwing balls inside the house. You know, the same rules we’ve had forever and nobody follows, not even me. Yes Mummy. No Mummy. I promise Mummy. Setup: The packaging is light, but large. Unless you have the arm span of Mr Tickle, you will need help getting it into the house. On the plus side, light packaging means a light product which is easy to set up and position. The stand was attractive, nicely weighted and easy to put on. The trick is lay the screen flat while attaching it. That’s in the manual, for those who read such things *after* the work is done. Integrated into the stand are 2 cable management clips, one on either side. This simple, yet intuitive addition means no more cables lost down the back of the cabinet. Anyone whose teenagers who repeatedly move game consoles from one room to another, bumping and jostling cables, will surely appreciate this sanity-saver. At the back of the unit are the usual plentiful HDMI and Antenna input options, along with AV and Composite ports. However, because this is a smart TV, it also offers 3 USB ports and a network jack so you can plug straight into your home router. There’s a wireless network connection too, but I can’t show you that without a screwdriver. For me though, a wired ethernet port on a TV? I fell in love. Even before I switched it on, it had everything I’d been looking for. Immediately it offered to tune my channels. Thank the manufacturer, once again I was able to avoid reading the manual. Zippity doo, and there they were. All on the right numbers too. Masterchef sprang into life, bigger than I’d ever seen it before. Clear, crisp and looking as good as the chocolate dessert I now desperately craved. The screen is almost all usable, only a mere fraction is lost to frame, and given what I was experiencing, I didn’t mind one bit. I had plenty left to immerse myself. The sound surprised me. We’ve been watching it set super low, on level 9 or 10 (out of 100), as those speakers have a surprising amount of grunt to offer. I have cranked it up when the kids aren’t home (don’t want to give them ideas) and no matter how high I took it, the quality remained clear and enjoyable. Thanks to the LG Smart offerings, I could use it as a stereo and stream music from the partnered free music channels while I worked. How smart is it? On a scale of 1-10, I’d say the LG Smart 3D TV rates a very clever 9 for intelligence. It loses one point for not mind reading. Dual play: These two unassuming words can take you into a new frontier in gaming. Next time you’re playing a split window game on your preferred console, imagine each player being able to utilise the whole screen without screen-peeking. Thanks to an imaginative use of the 3D multi-layer technology, LG can now offer this. Simply click the ‘Dual Play’ mode, pop on your (included) Dual Play glasses and away you go, in big, beautiful glory – both of you. This is gaming without compromise. Two Remote Controls: Yep. It’s actually a rather nifty offering. One is your traditional lots of buttons remote, the other is a new ‘Magic Remote’. Basically, you wave it around and a cursor moves on the screen, eliminating the need for fumbling in the dark for the right remote button, or trying to read small print to find the button you need. With its sleek design and modern intuition, it also offers voice recognition. The TV is finally listening to you! Although, if you’re like me watching the football, you might not be giving the most appropriate suggestions. I gave the Magic Remote to my 5 year old daughter who asked “how did the dinosaurs die?”. Obviously I had let her down on this one, and she was seeking a more satisfactory answer from someone (or something) smarter. Instead of just being shown a list of websites as I expected, she was offered a swag of multimedia, including videos with large thumbnails and descriptions. The Magic Remote is sure to be embraced as a natural technology by the younger users, but I was more than happy to stick with the traditional remote and it’s wealth of perfect buttons. A simple press of the HOME button on the remote leads to a new world of entertainment. Now, I’m the first to admit, I didn’t really know what a ‘Smart TV’ actually did. I assumed it could connect to the internet and I could Google from the couch. I couldn’t have been further from the advances LG have made. It can do that and so much more. Premium offerings: Channels: Inside the premium box is a direct link to Bigpond Movies (with a regularly updated free offering), as well as other stations like ABCiView, Cnet TV and Yahoo 7. These are on-demand video channels, all free (with the exception of BigPond Movies), where you can catch shows you missed or even shows that were never on. I found Gumby episodes in there. Retro flashbacks! It seems no longer can you say ‘there’s nothing on TV’. There’s always something, and on-demand is even better. Not only can you choose when to start viewing the program, but you can also skip through it or pause. 3D World: Because this is a 3D TV, it’s nice to have something in 3D to watch. Rather than leaving you scratching your head, LG has provided a swathe of offerings, all just for you. From documentaries to sport, you won’t be disappointed with this experience. Of course, you could always build your own 3D library, or add on a Blu-Ray player with a 3D movie. The packaging includes 4 pairs of adult’s glasses, and you’ll find other 3D glasses work well too. It’s worth noting that as you access the 3D World, the TV automatically switches into 3D mode and back to 2D as you exit. LG Smart World: Want to play a game, track the news or teach the kids a new song? There’s an app for that. Easy to search, browse and install, and you can store favourites in the HOME screen. SmartShare: Recorded some movies on your phone and want to share them with the family? Easy. Thanks to the LG SmartShare feature, you can access a multitude of devices such as portable hard drives, USB memory sticks, tablet pcs, computers and phones. No cables, not fiddling, just share and view. Couldn’t be easier! This is complete input simplicity. Take the concept even further and use one of your attached devices to record live television, all you need is a nice sized external hard drive and you’ve got your very own video recorder. CONCLUSION I admit, I’ve fallen in lust with an inanimate object. The 3D glasses are comfy, and the kids’ from their last cinema outing work too. Certainly a relief as far as this parent goes, knowing my children will lose or break their glasses several times during a year. Pressing the 3D button on the remote converts regular television into a 3D experience. Anything. Even Play School, a 3D experience the kids absolutely loved. None of the glasses require batteries. Slide and go, no mess, no fuss. Not only is it child’s play to add a new input device (even kids can plug in a USB stick), but the LG Smart TV knows what to do with the data. I no longer require a dedicated media centre to play my geeky mkv or avi video files, the inbuilt processor understands what modern users are looking for. I haven’t come across a video file it cannot play, it just accepts everything I throw at it, with crystal clear video and sound. Respect. I can take it to bed. Sort of. Okay, no, not really, it’s not very good at spooning. The Smart Share 2nd Display feature does allow me to continue watching a late running movie on my iPad in bed though. Got to love snuggling down with a movie! It’s your choice whether to keep the main screen going or not. Perhaps you want to watch the same show as everyone else, just not around hubby’s stinky feet. Don’t worry, your neighbours can’t tap into your viewing, when you install the app you sync it using a unique key that pops up on the screen. Speaking of sneaky viewing, you can erase your viewing history. You know, if that’s something you might need to do. Just saying… I’m offered the choice of using the Magic Remote or not. This is more for the younger ones with their younger wrists. The traditional remote is included in the package and does everything you need with a press of a button, I’ll leave the waving to others. Would I recommend the LG Smart TV to my friends? Absolutely. Then I’d camp on their couch for extended movie marathons until they asked me to leave. 17 July 2012
Never miss a minute of the World around you with LG It is clear right from the unboxing, that LG have put a lot of effort into the 2012 range of LED TV’s. From the moment you reach inside the box and feel the panel, it’s a solid feeling of quality. No plastics in sight, this is a solidly built and engineered Television. Wrapped in thick glass and brushed aluminium, it actually feels like one solid piece of billet alloy straight from the lathe, a highly polished and lovingly manufactured one at that. You just know that before any power even touches it, that this is going to be great! And the pleasure from LG only grows once you have the 47LM8600 up on your entertainment unit, plugged in and powered on. Following a simple setup procedure, the LG setup wizard easily finds all of your networks, shared media sources, TV and digital radio stations. In under 5 minutes, LG have you up and going. From there, the sky really is the limit for your entertainment needs. Really. The first thing you notice is the impeccable picture quality. Bright, sharp and solid; the colours seem to leap out and grab you. It really is an immersive experience. And that’s only in 2D, to get the best out of the 47LM8600, head straight into the Apps, using your Magic Remote. There you will find pages and pages of Apps with everything from Facebook, Twitter and Youtube, to Red Bull TV, Cnet TV and a plethora of media outlets based on your location. For example I quite enjoyed reading the Sydney Morning Herald straight from my TV screen! Want to catch up on the Social Goss but also don’t want to miss a minute of Home and Away? Easy, just call up Facebook from your Apps and watch TV at the same time as browsing all your friends Facebook feeds! Ran out of time through the day to watch the latest Youtube reviews or New Releases? No problem, simply call up the Youtube App, login with your Youtube ID and sit back and watch all of your Favourites or Playlists in stunning HD. Never miss a minute of the World around you with LG. Whilst in the App World, we couldn’t help but to head straight into 3D World! And the whole family could enjoy 3D World, as LG very generously provide four pairs of their light and easy, Passive 3D Glasses. What are Passive 3D Glasses you might ask? Well, the first range of 3D TV’s shipped with expensive, battery powered Active Shutter 3D Glasses that were to be quite honest, a paint in the derriere! Not anymore, for around $20 a pair you can go down to your local JB Hifi and buy more. No more charging glasses up before a movie or worrying the kids will drop a $100 pair of glasses. No more loss of colour or headaches and dizziness either. Inside LG’s 3D World you find a range of various 3D live content from surfing to motor sports to travel shows and animations (we loved the Aquarium videos) to whet your appetite for 3D viewing on your new 47LM8600. When paired with a 3D capable Bluray player such as the LG BD-660 we tested with, you can enjoy all of your favourite 3D titles any time you like. The TV even features the ability to convert standard 2D content to 3D and 3D settings to set various options such as depth perception and other options to really personalise your very own 3D experience. Whether watching 2D or 3D content, catching up on Youtube or Facebook or sitting down for a night at the movies with the latest Bluray releases; one thing is for sure – with the 2012 range of LED TV’s from LG; you, your family and guests will never ever be disappointed or wanting for more. You may find though that you need to invest in some popcorn and soft drink machines, and maybe even charge an entry fee! 7 July 2012
55LM8600 - Can honestly say a fantastic TV Purchased it on Saturday after weeks of research on other brands. PROs: A breeze to setup. Great colour depth. Really stable stand. Good sound via TV speakers. Wireless setup is easy. LG Smart TV much better than expected. Never thought 3D would be this good. Could go on but the set sells itself with looks. Get one, you want regret it. 1 July 2012
Good TV but won't pick up channel 7 Group I bought this TV from Harvey Norman. It is a very attractive TV and the features seem good. However I have not been able to tune into the channel 7 group of stations. This is despite being able to do so on my previous TV and a sony HDTV I have. The advice from LG is that it is to do with my ariel. Subsequently I purchased an LG HR925T twin tuner HDD/Blue ray combo. I have installed this and attached it to the LG TV. Strange but true channel 7 shows up clear as a bell through the HR925T tuner (HDMI) to my TV. So I tried to retune the TV itself hoping that flowing through the HR925T might improve the situation but the TV tuner is still not picking up channel 7. Call me stupid but the evidence seems to suggest that the tuner on the TV is not good enough to do the job. At least I can now watch the AFL by watching through the HR925T and Iam basically happy with the TV otherwise but because of this tuning issue I could not recommend it to anyone else. 20 June 2012
<<prev2

With comfortable and affordable 3D glasses like those used in the cinema, you can now enjoy 3D TV in your home just like at the movies. The LG Cinema 3D TV.



*Internet connection is required, internet usage charges and conditions apply.
¹Internet connection and Skype account required.

Recently Viewed

close