To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LP0817WSR

Key Features

  • 8,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 200 sq. ft.
Suggested Price

$299.99

Suggested Price
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This has been a great benefit to our comfort at night in our bedroom upstairs at this time of the year, esp. with the ups & downs of temperatures outside.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive unit Plenty of instructions, pieces and parts. Unit works well. Bonus feature: there is a serge protector in the plug. Remote works well and the unit cools my 162 sq. ft. room quickly.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little portable ac this portable ac is great it makes a big difference in my room it also saves me money to only run this opposed to the central air.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for two rooms or an upstairs This unit is well worth the money. We bought it my one bedroom that never seems to cool in the summer, and it actually cools the whole upstairs. Quiet and the remove/settings make it so convenient to use during peak "heat" times only and be able to sleep comfortably at night.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! purchased this a few weeks ago to cool a computer room, working great so far. I'm thinking I'll buy one for my personal use to cool my home when the evap cooler just can't handle things.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Put in sons room, loves it Put in sons room, loves it.supliments the central air
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and portable I bought this last summer for my office. I did not want a window A/C because I am located in the front of our newly remodeled house and did not want to spoil the façade of the house. It cools the room nicely and it is a bit noisy on high speed but not so loud on low speed. I really like the portability of it so I don't need assistance in taking it out for the summer or putting it away in the Fall. It is large and takes up a lot of room in a closet for storage. Overall it is a good option if you don't want a window A/C.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I recently bought this air conditioner and oh my goodness It was one of the best things I could have ever done. It's not too loud it cools off my room very quick and the price was right. Im very satisfied. Thanks LG God bless everyone at your company.
Date published: 2018-05-10
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_216
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What is the purpose of the vent out the window? Does it need to drain like an in-window air conditioner?

Asked by: Tinmonkeysfly
Hello, the unit must vent out the window or you will be putting hot exhaust air into your home while trying to cool your home which would be counter productive. The unit will need to be drained when using certain settings. Please see the manual located in the link provided for more information. ^AC http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LP0817WSR
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-05-07

I need to find parts I need to find parts for my LG model lp0817wsr

Asked by: Mighty Ducks
Hello, parts can be obtained from Encompass Parts Distribution at Sales: 866-779-7906 or https://lg.encompass.com ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-04-30

What is the Energy Efficiency Ratio of this unit? Also, what is the water tank's capacity? Thanks.

Asked by: NotFrancis
Hello, You can go to the link provided for more information, however portable units do not have to be rated and many are not, as for the tank, it is less than 3 pint in volume. ^AC http://www.green-energy-efficient-homes.com/best-portable-air-conditioners.html
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-15

Dehumidifier readings Fahrenheit/HBR? Please clarify in dehumidifier readings...thks

Asked by: Dehumidifier
We would love to help you with this question however we would need to better understand what the question is. Please take a moment, at your convenience, to contact us directly via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook www.Facebook.com/LGSupportUSA ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-01-13

Hello, I have a 53inch tall window. Will this unit work? If not do I have to order another part to make it work? Thank you.

Asked by: Eric33
Hi Eric33. The LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR comes with a window installation kit that consists of a 9" Panel B, an 18" Panel A, a 17" Panel C, and a 17" Panel D and an 18" Window Vent Panel. These panels can be used in various combinations to accommodate a window length or window width of 18" to 50". To extend the panels beyond the 50" that they are designed to cover, you might have to get more extension panels. Unfortunately, you will not be able to purchase just one since they are only available as a kit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-09

The exhaust air hose I assume is condenser air. Then where does condenser air from outdoors come from?

Asked by: BobBoro
The unit has side vents that pull room air into the unit and exhausts it out of the back of the unit through the hose. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-14

Can you add a thermostat to this portable AC UNIT so it automatically comes on at a certain temp and turns off at a certain temp?

Asked by: LukeW
You cannot add a thermostat to the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR so it can "automatically turn on at a certain temperature and turn off at a certain temperature". You can use ▲/▼ (TEMP/TIMER) buttons to adjust the set temperature up to 86°F down to 60°F in one-degree increments. The thermostat in the unit runs the compressor until the set temperature is reached, then cycles the compressor on and off to maintain the set temperature. When the TIMER function is selected, you can use the ▲/▼buttons to adjust the delay time from 0 to 24 hours in one-hour increments. While the air conditioner is off, you can set your desired delay time until the air conditioner turns on and while the air conditioner is on, you can set your desired delay time until the air conditioner turns off...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-17

What is the diameter of the hose on this unit?

Asked by: Thnguy
The exhaust hose for the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR has a diameter of 5 inches...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-05
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT