To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

  • LP0817WSR

  • White

Key Features

  • 8,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 200 sq. ft.
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 8,000
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 1.8
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 250
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 53
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 200
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Display Panel LED
Thermostat Control Yes
Remote Control LCD Remote Controller
Control Button Type Standard
Auto Swing Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Auto Door Open/Close System Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Fan Speed: Cooling 2
Fan Only Speed 2
Compressor Rotary
Indoor / Outdoor Fan Type Blower
Type Air Discharge Inclined and Top
Water Full Indicator Yes
Outdoor Exhaust Yes
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
Easy-Roll Casters Yes
Air Filter Washable
Window Installation Kit Yes
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 1,040
Rated Amps 9.2
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 16.93" x 27.36" x 12.80"
Shipping (WxHxD) 19.29" x 34.65" x 15.55"
Net Weight (lbs.) 58.4 lbs.
Shipping Weight (lbs.) 69.4 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231382144

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chillin Like a Villain I couldn't survive Houston Summer without it. I leave it on constantly and it faithfully runs and cools, cools and runs. The extra electricity it uses is well worth it. Pretty easy for one female to install too. My only regret is, I wish I had purchased a bit larger unit for more square footage of cooling.... This unit cools one medium size bedroom.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice LIttle Unit I bought this unit to cool my 10 x 10 deer lease shed. It does a very good job. It is a little noisy, but in Texas, I don't mind the noise as much as the heat. It does a good job.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the bedroom. Bought during the heatwave it performed quite well although the remote was missing from the box. I ordered another one but it has yet to be delivered. Basically it was a great buy and kept the bedroom cool.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable air condition review My Grandson sleeps in the bedroom that is attached to the garage. It is the hottest room in the house. He is only 15 and every morning he would wake up hot and sluggish. I purchased the LG air conditioner for his room. Now he is able to sleep much more comfortable thanks to the LG air conditioner.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The area this unit is 10 X 20 X 8 well within the realm of the unit. The units compressor was almost never off, even with a cool ambient temp outside of 73 and the AC set to 78. I reduced the area by a third (closed off with insulation foam) and the unit operated better. But a 8000 BTU unit should be able to do this. The thermostat regulator operates unusually as when the unit is set to 78, the room temperature will fluctuate from 75 to 79, when the thermostat is set at 79 the room temperature was 77 to 83 (unacceptable).
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY easy set up! We bought 2 for our 3-bedroom apartment & they helped make it much less muggy & hot during our long, record-breaking summer! They were pretty easy to set up in the Windows & everything we needed was there! Saved our bacon!
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when our AC went out! We returned home from the hurricane in SW Florida and the power was restored by our AC quit working. Power surge? We had to replace it. However, we put this unit in our bedroom and it was wonderful until our whole-house unit was replaced!! We originally purchased it for our lanai.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well For a portable air conditioner it seems to work pretty well.
Date published: 2017-10-01
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LP0817WSR Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can you add a thermostat to this portable AC UNIT so it automatically comes on at a certain temp and turns off at a certain temp?

Asked by: LukeW
You cannot add a thermostat to the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR so it can "automatically turn on at a certain temperature and turn off at a certain temperature". You can use ▲/▼ (TEMP/TIMER) buttons to adjust the set temperature up to 86°F down to 60°F in one-degree increments. The thermostat in the unit runs the compressor until the set temperature is reached, then cycles the compressor on and off to maintain the set temperature. When the TIMER function is selected, you can use the ▲/▼buttons to adjust the delay time from 0 to 24 hours in one-hour increments. While the air conditioner is off, you can set your desired delay time until the air conditioner turns on and while the air conditioner is on, you can set your desired delay time until the air conditioner turns off...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-17

What is the diameter of the hose on this unit?

Asked by: Thnguy
The exhaust hose for the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR has a diameter of 5 inches...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-13

What does ES message on AC that automatically shuts down unit

Asked by: Hels62
The E5 on the display indicates the unit's collection tank is full and would need to emptied. For support on this unit, please visit our help library : http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000014-1432829295501-others
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-12

Can you store the air conditioner in a shed over winter? 

Asked by: Eeshields
You can store the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR anywhere just as long as it is not exposed to freezing weather and as long as it is stored upright. You will also need to make sure that the water collection tank is fully drained before storing the unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-03

I've had my unit for months now and I absolutely love it! But now it's beginning to cool off and I was wondering if the fan could run without the exhaust hose. Also I would like to know if the fan pulls air from the outside in or does it do the opposite?

Asked by: Jasmine8
If you are just running the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR in fan mode, there is no air conditioning going on so there is no need for the exhaust hose. The hose is designed to expel the hot moist air that the air conditioning extracts from your room when cooling it. The Fan does not pull in air from the outside, nor does it do the opposite, it just circulates the air...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-27

What is the starting wattage of this unit - I assume the rated wattage is while running - want to connect to portable generator

Asked by: GreggTBocaRaton
Hi GreggTBocaRaton. Your assumption is correct, the listed 1,040 Watts is the hourly energy consumption for the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR while running. The surge wattage is not listed in the product's manual nor in its specifications. The Locked Rotor Current, also called Locked Rotor Amps (LRA) is commonly found on the motor's nameplate and will be what yu can use to calculate the startup or surge wattage. Locked Rotor essentially means the motor is not turning. The current or amps, in this case, have to do with the amount of electrical energy required to start the motor. At the instant the motor is switched on, it is not turning, and draws the maximum current. As the motor starts to turn, the current goes down. This required energy is much greater than the Full Load Amps or Running Amps, which is the current drawn when the motor is running at normal speed under full load. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with this information...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-15

Can you please tell me if the remote control lights up? When using in a dark room, we can not see the screen on the remote control.

Asked by: Cheryllack
The display on the remote control for the LG 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP0817WSR does not light up...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-13

How do I refill with water ?? I was moving and mover said he drained it now not kicking out cold air

Asked by: Sgills26
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. There is never cause to add water to this air conditioner. It should also not require checking the amount of water in the machine, as the water that has been extracted from the humidity in the air will be re-used by the machine to enhance efficiency of the cooling process. However, if the unit is not cooling properly, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for troubleshooting assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-08
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817169, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT