To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LP1017WSR

Key Features

  • 10,200 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 300 sq. ft.
Suggested Price

$349.99

Suggested Price
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product It works as advertised I am completely satisfied with my purchase
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than A Window Unit. My daughter is coming to stay with me for an undetermined amount of time. I purchased this portable style A/C unit for her room. I like that I only have to have the window open 6 inches for the vent, as opposed to wide open for the whole unit. Seems less vulnerable. She’s been using it for 3 weeks, and it cools her space very well. Does seem to be a little loud though.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal to the LG brand Like all the LG products we’ve owned, this little work horse is no exception. Bought this to temporarily cool our AZ home when our A/C broke. This is carrying us through until ours house unit is fixed.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features excellent value. Great features. Great Styling. Easy to Install
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok I've used portable a/c's for 15 years, so I'm no stranger. This one is just ok... Pros: it's easy to set up, and relatively small. Cons: it only has 2 speeds, every other one I've had had 3 speeds. On High this does not cool as well as I would expect (and it's a closed room that is never below 78 degrees, so there shouldn't be a problem with cooling the room). It's also louder than I expected based on the specs. I also find it odd that it only displays the set temperature, not the actual room temperature (like every other a/c I've owned). For now this one suffices, but I probably won't buy an LG again.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Air Conditioner for a loft or bedroom We purchase this product to cool our bedroom (~200square feet). We installed this in about 30minutes. It has a temperature setting that will cycle the compressor on and off to hold the temperature you set. The unit is very quiet on low and even on high it is tolerable. The cooling vent can be set to move up and down automatically to help move the cooled air around. A very nice feature. I had an issue with installing kit (spaces between the difussor and hose pipe which leak hot air) but after talking with customer care they sent the new kit in a week. So far this unit has exceeded expectations and we are hoping that it will last for many hot season's to come.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Unit I bought this for my second story bedroom, which gets pretty hot here in AZ. It works wonderfully, sleeping well again!!
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed to cool our bedroom Air conditioner went out and needed a secondary way to cool our room so we purchased this and it has been a lifesaver and cheaper than 6 grand. Have not got the electric bill so not sure how much it cost yet to keep our room cool but will do for now until we can save up for a new A.C. unit. I can sleep at night =b
Date published: 2018-05-05
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What drainage hose do I need for the LP1017wsr. It did not come with the portable air conditioner 

Asked by: DonnaHelp
Hello, the drain hose is optional and does not come with the unit. as per the instruction: Install a drain hose (16mm [5/8”] inside diameter) and place the open end of the hose over a drain or bucket or out the window. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-05-21

Does this product have to have a window vent pipe

Asked by: Cole hawkins
Yes the LP1017WSR includes a window vent hose. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-05-01

Your specs show the running wattage, but what is the surge wattage on this unit? I am trying to understand what size generator I would need to power this unit.

Asked by: Kirgan
Hi Kirgan. The surge wattage is not listed in the product's manual nor in its specifications for the LG 10,200 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1017WSR. The Locked Rotor Current, also called Locked Rotor Amps (LRA) is commonly found on the motor's nameplate and will be what you can use to calculate the startup or surge wattage. Locked Rotor essentially means the motor is not turning. The current or amps, in this case, have to do with the amount of electrical energy required to start the motor. At the instant the motor is switched on, it is not turning, and draws the maximum current. As the motor starts to turn, the current goes down. This required energy is much greater than the Full Load Amps or Running Amps, which is the current drawn when the motor is running at normal speed under full load. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with this information...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-15

Regarding the 10k btu item LP1017WSR, i'd like to connect this to an inverter generator and need to know what the surge voltage is at start up 

Asked by: Sander22
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. Regretfully, we would not have the surge voltage at start up. We would advise the unit needs to be plugged into a grounded 60 Hz, 120 VAC outlet protected by a 15 amp time delay fuse or circuit breaker.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-14

Is water supposed to drain when the air condition is on? 

Asked by: Fmricciardo
We do apologize about the problem you are experiencing with the air conditioner. More information would be needed to assist better with this problem. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-23

Received yesterday laying on its side On porch should I be worried?

Asked by: Kandinsky
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. It is never recommended to have such a device laying on its side. However, if done, it is recommended to stand the unit upright for at least 24-hours, to allow for full separation of the oil and coolant in the sealed tubing. Running the machine with these fluids mixed will cause damage to the machine.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-23

Can It be used as a dehumidifier without the hose?

Asked by: Camigonz
When you need dehumidification in high humidity, you can remove the exhaust hose from the back of the LG 10,200 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1017WSR, then remove the drain plug from the upper drain port and insert a drain hose that has an inside diameter of 16 mm {5/8"} and place the open end of the drain hose in a suitable drain location or outdoors and run the unit in DRY mode only...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-22

Can this be taken on a airplane in checked baggage 

Asked by: Kandinsky
You'll need to check with the Airline that you intend to use to inquire if the LG 10,200 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1017WSR can be carried as checked You can also search a list of items on TSA.gov. For items not listed, simply snap a picture or send a question to AskTSA on Facebook Messenger or Twitter to inquire if it meets Transportation Security Administration (TSA) standards. Its Shipping (WxHxD) dimensions are: 19.29" x 34.65" x 15.55" and its Shipping Weight (lbs.) is 70.5 lbs...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-05-04
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT