To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

  • LP1215GXR

Key Features

  • 12,000 BTU
  • Dehumidification (Pts/Hr) 1.2
  • Dehumidification Function
  • Oscillating Air Vent
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 12,000
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 1.2
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 255
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 56
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 400
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 14.33" x 32.76" x 15.59"
Shipping (WxHxD) 19.37" x 34.65" x 18.43"
Net Weight (lbs.) 61.7
Shipping Weight (lbs.) 72.7
Stuffing Quantity (20ft/40ft/40ft High) 116/240/358
FEATURES
Display Panel LED
Thermostat Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Fan Speed: Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Auto Swing Yes
Compressor Rotary
Type Air Discharge Front
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Control Button Type Standard
Auto Door Open/Close System Yes
Indoor / Outdoor Fan Type Blower
Water Full Indicator Yes
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors Grey
Easy-Roll Casters Yes
Air Filter Washable
Window Installation Kit Yes
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 1,270
Rated Amps 11.2
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231376570

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME AIR I purchased this room air conditioner for a bonus room upstairs in my house which I use as an office. The room is over the garage and always warm and very hot in the summer even with the house AC running. This keeps the room extremely cool and I don't have to run my house AC in order to keep the office cool now. It's efficient and works great! Love it!
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Last I love these type of portable air-conditioners so much better than the ones you have to set into the window opening, but they just don't last. My 3-year old LG has stopped cooling. Had a different brand before the LG and it also died in less than 5 years. In contrast, I have a window AC that's at least 10 years old and still going strong. I just can't recommend these.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver House ac went out 100 degree weather. This unit was a life saver. My wife has MS and heat is a enemy for her. Our parts to repair our ac was not available and it had to be ordered. The LG ac was a great bridge for us till we eventually had to buy a new house ac.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Satisfied Easy to setup, very efficient so far. Would recommend this product to family and friends
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like Portable I give this LG portable AC average bc I had to purchase another within a year. I would have preferred to purchase another model unfortunately I was in a pinch (only a few AC options in 100 plus degree weather) and had to purchase this model from my local Home Depot.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product cools down our entire living space/kitchen!! Sleek design!
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works until it doesn't This product works great, until it starts leaking. The light never came on to empty the tank. It leaked all over my hard wood floors. I was only using it for a month. LG did send someone out right away to fix it. I had to wait for a part to have it fixed. So far so good. I hope it doesn't leak again.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST PORTABLE UNIT - FLOODED MY HOUSE I bought this a year ago- almost immediately it started randomly leaking water out of the bottom- now on its second summer it sits in a tray to collect all the water that dumps out on a daily basis- I called LG and they want me to PAY for a service person to come diagnose it! THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN! I will NEVER purchase LG again for any product, but definitely not a portable AC. Save your money!
Date published: 2017-07-12
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05186728, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LP1215GXR Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can I use a surge protector with this product?

Asked by: JBMac
The use of surge protectors, extension cords, or power strips with the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1215GXR, is strongly discouraged due to the potential fire hazard it poses...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-19

I am near some wildfires right now is it safe to operate my AC LP1215GXR with all the ash in the air?

Asked by: Fidel10304
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. We would not have any recommendation on whether to continue or stop use due to the extend of the ash being unclear. We would suggest to use your best judgment on continuing use of the A/C or not.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-11

Do I have to take the outside vent hose off before using the dry/ dehumidifier setting on this unit?

Asked by: Melody M
Yes. If you wish to use the DRY mode because the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1215GXR is running in high humidity or for other reasons, remove the drain cap and rubber plug from the back of the unit and install a drain hose (1/2" inside diameter) on the back of the unit, and you can remove the exhaust hose...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-07

I have lost the remote and I would like to get a replacement. Where can I get a new remote?

Asked by: Jcovarr
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for the remote is COV30332902.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-25

My unit is missing the water line what kind do I get and we're does it go exactly?

Asked by: Charob
We appreciate your interest in this portable air conditioner. A drain hose would not be provided with the portable air conditioner. It is recommended to purchase and install a drain hose with a 1/2" inside diameter on the back of the unit & place the open end of the hose in a suitable drain location or outdoors.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-23

My unit keeps leaking all over my floor! I have dragged it to the tub for the past three nights to drain it.  When it runs for 10 minuets it starts to drip constantly on the right side where the side filter is. All of the fins on that side are soaked!!

Asked by: Supat3k
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. If this device leaks, then it is either drawing an unusual amount of moisture, or it will require service. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-18

Have this model for over 5 months and recently there's a weird odor every time unit is turned on...I clean the vents and drain the water when needed...I also use the auto clean feature every time I turn unit off...what can I do to fix this problem?

Asked by: unknown1234
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is suggested to ensure there isn't anything near the exterior of the vent hose that has an odor. If this is not so, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-16

I see the tank and the little drain plug but do not get how to empty. Just disconnect the plug?  We had water all over and I think it may have been overfull. 

Asked by: Swiss Fish
Unplug the air conditioner, disconnect the exhaust hose from the back, and move the air conditioner to a suitable drain location or outdoors. You may also place a pan under the drain that will hold up to 3 pints of water. Remove the drain cap and the rubber plug from the drain outlet. Once the water collection tank is drained, reinstall the rubber plug and the drain cap, making sure it is on securely. Place the air conditioner in the desired location, reconnect the exhaust hose, and plug in the air conditioner.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-14
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05186728, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT