To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

  • LP1217GSR

  • Graphite Gray

Key Features

  • 12,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 400 sq. ft.
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 12,000
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 2.6
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 220
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 53
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 400
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Display Panel LED
Thermostat Control Yes
Remote Control LCD Remote Controller
Control Button Type Standard
Auto Swing Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Auto Door Open/Close System Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Fan Speed: Cooling 2
Fan Only Speed 2
Compressor Rotary
Indoor / Outdoor Fan Type Blower
Type Air Discharge Inclined and Top
Water Full Indicator Yes
Outdoor Exhaust Yes
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors Graphite Gray
Easy-Roll Casters Yes
Air Filter Washable
Window Installation Kit Yes
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 1,350
Rated Amps 12.0
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 16.93" x 27.36" x 12.80"
Shipping (WxHxD) 19.29" x 34.65" x 15.55"
Net Weight (lbs.) 67.2 lbs.
Shipping Weight (lbs.) 78.3 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231382168

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy I have started using the unit in my bedroom at night in place of the whole house a/c. Originally purchased for hurricane use with a generator if ever necessary. The area I am using it in is fairly large including bathroom. It does a fine job cooling the area efficiently actually exceeding my expectations. Easy to install and use and it is a nice looking unit. Low maintenance requirements. I am so pleased with it that I may purchase one or two additional units for use in other areas of my home.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sad and disappointed I bought 2 lgs this summer , 8,000. And 12,000. The 8,000. Works great but not so much the 12,000. I replaced it with a 5,000. Btu window unit and it so much better. Now I'm stuck with the other one . Wouldn't want to sell it to another person. That would be dishonest.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep the dogs cool I bought this portable air conditioner for my garage. I installed with the vent kit and it works well. It does not put out as much cool air as the window unit I had in my prior home. Keeps the room dry and cool though and is easy to maintain.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have had most of this summer to use this air conditioner. It was easy to set up and the remote control works great. It not only keeps our home office area cool but using it with our furnace summer fan it keeps the whole house at a very comfortable temperature.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it The best of the best we Are in love with it it colds all the rv...
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This product is excellent. Works as advertised. Nice finish. Not loud and cools the room fast. Love this product. Will buy another one for the second bedroom.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent cool Our Ac went out and has been out almost a week do to getting parts. We set our unit up in our bedroom so we could sleep comfortable . It has been absolutely a lifesaver.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Assembly Love it already! Took me about 1/2 an hour to set up and my downstairs is SO comfortable.
Date published: 2017-07-31
  • y_2017, m_9, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LP1217GSR Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

The features include a "Water full indicator." Doesn't the unit simply shut off when the reservoir gets full, and then we have to drain it via a built-in drain hose? Or do we have to remove a box full of water? Thank you.

Asked by: Public
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. When the unit gets full, the LED will display E5 and the air conditioner will shut off. Drainage information can be located on page 23 of the owner's manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-11

What is the EER number on this item?

Asked by: mdskid09
The EER for the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1217GSR, is 9.4...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-11

why this air conditioner dont coold good 

Asked by: cruzito
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is recommended to check the air filter for any obstruction in air flow. It is also recommended to consider the temperature of the room, the temperature outdoors, and how the sun falls on the unit. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-05

Can we set this up on our patio as a freestanding ac

Asked by: Hotttie
We do appreciate your interest in the A/C. We would not recommend the setup of this unit on a patio as adequate ventilation through a window would be need for the unit to perform properly.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-12

Our A.C. unit didn't come with a remote, where can we get a replacement?

Asked by: MR johns84
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, Encompass Parts. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 866-779-7906. You can also use their website, at https://www.encompassparts.com/. The part number for the remote is COV32766401.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-27

How often does the tank get full when constantly running on high will this be something I have to drain daily or will it be two or three days in between drains

Asked by: Olander18
I just bought this model yesterday and it stops running about every 30-45 minutes while on cool and gives me the E5 error code. I have to empty the bottom well in order for it to work. But there is hardly any container made shallow enough to fit there. So then I have to lift the thing up to drain and then it will run for another 30 minutes. I am returning this unit. This can't be right.
Answered by: MonicaD
Date published: 2017-07-17

This unit has exhaust hose only. For every cubic foot of air exhausted a cubic foot of a hot air will be sucked in from around doors and and etc. Is there anyway to supply this unit fresh outside air?

Asked by: Aspen
I apologize, but no; since this unit is a portable model, and does not actually sit in the window or through the wall, it has no access to a fresh air supply.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-08

What's the average kilowatt hours this unit uses per hour? 

Asked by: 5flatKat
The LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1217GSR has an energy consumption of 1,350 Watts per hour (i.e 1.35 kW)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-08
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT