To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LP1217GSR

Key Features

  • 12,000 BTU Cooling
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Cools up to 400 sq. ft.
Suggested Price

$429.99

Suggested Price
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good It's early in the season, but this air conditioner looks like it is going to be great. My wife loves the dehumidify feature for days when it is humid, but not hot. Quality seems to be good and set up was quick and easy
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the de-humidifier. Does a good job Does a good job cooling a room. Would buy another one.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly quiet I bought this around a month ago and it works unbelievably I have a 20 x 20 room and it cools it off in no time
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Draining the water? Just bought this unit a week ago and turned it on. Water collects in the bottom pan and I am draining it with a tube I bought (LG should include one). The manual mentions a tank and a setting that I can supposedly set the water to be heated and evaporated? By pressing the fan and down arrow. Nothing is working. HELP! Happy so far I just want the water gone!
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from "Dry" mode did not work Dry mode did not function. Returned unit to the store.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I bought this Product over a month ago, the best investment! It fits perfect easy to install and everything works really great!
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just What I Needed I needed an AC to cool a 357 square feet, above-the-garage bonus room. This room got much hotter than the rest of the house, sometimes reaching 90 degrees while the rest of the house was at a comfortable 70. It didn't make sense to turn on the central AC. After doing some research, I decided on this particular unit and purchased at my local Home Depot. My first impression was: this thing is heavy! Loading it into the car took a bit more than expected. Once I got to unpackage it, I was pleased with the sleek design of the unit itself. Installation didn't take long. Instructions can be a little vague but nothing you can't figure out using common sense. On the very try, I was able to lower my room's temperature from 88 degrees down to 74 in about an hour an a half, with the AC at full blast. This, of course, was an exception because the room was very hot that day. Now I just turn it on when the room temperature is reaching 80 and it will lower it to about 74 in about 25-30mins on it's low mode. For my particular case, I've found 73-74 to be a comfortable temperature with a humidity ranging from 35 to 40. I don't feel the need to go lower than that, even though the AC could if I left it on for longer. Note that I sit about 5ft from the unit when I'm in this room. Ok, now here are a few things I'd want you to know before purchasing: 1. Remote: When using the remote you need to point right at the center of the unit for it to register. It is very directional, therefore there cannot be anything in the way from the AC and the remote when turning it on/off and changing settings. 2. The exhaust tube gets hot: I had read about this on a review and have confirmed it. It does get pretty warm, not enough that it will burn your hand or anything but I can see how it would influence the overall temperature. I've seen some people cover it with insulation. I haven't felt the need to do this because I keep my unit right next to the window with the exhaust extended minimally. 3. The compressor kicks in hard: I had also read about this on another review, but it didn't make sense until I experienced it. Basically, when you turn on the unit it goes through a soft-start process in which the fan is engaged and runs for a few seconds, then when it's ready, it turns on the compressors which kicks in hard. The noise gets louder and deeper, and the lights in the room flicker for just that instance. This leads me to my final point. 4. The auto on/off function: This did not work like I expected. Before owning this I had a window AC unit that had an auto on/off function so when it reached the desired temperature it will completely shut off. This one does not do that. Once the temperature is reached, it will turn off the compressor but the fan will keep running, and when the temperature rises it will turn the compressor on again in the same way as the soft-start I described above. Those are the only things I would mention so far. I've only used in Cool mode, so my comments are based on that mode only.
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unit! So far so good. I have had this unit a couple weeks and no problems. The only thing I am unhappy with is that the vent hose is a few inches too short. I am more unhappy that I can't find the hose in stores easily and lg won't sell it to me. Otherwise I'm satisfied.
Date published: 2018-04-29
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

The features include a "Water full indicator." Doesn't the unit simply shut off when the reservoir gets full, and then we have to drain it via a built-in drain hose? Or do we have to remove a box full of water? Thank you.

Asked by: Public
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. When the unit gets full, the LED will display E5 and the air conditioner will shut off. Drainage information can be located on page 23 of the owner's manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-11

What is the EER number on this item?

Asked by: mdskid09
The EER for the LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1217GSR, is 9.4...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-29

why this air conditioner dont coold good 

Asked by: cruzito
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is recommended to check the air filter for any obstruction in air flow. It is also recommended to consider the temperature of the room, the temperature outdoors, and how the sun falls on the unit. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-05

Can we set this up on our patio as a freestanding ac

Asked by: Hotttie
We do appreciate your interest in the A/C. We would not recommend the setup of this unit on a patio as adequate ventilation through a window would be need for the unit to perform properly.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-12

Our A.C. unit didn't come with a remote, where can we get a replacement?

Asked by: MR johns84
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, Encompass Parts. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 866-779-7906. You can also use their website, at https://www.encompassparts.com/. The part number for the remote is COV32766401.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-27

How often does the tank get full when constantly running on high will this be something I have to drain daily or will it be two or three days in between drains

Asked by: Olander18
I just bought this model yesterday and it stops running about every 30-45 minutes while on cool and gives me the E5 error code. I have to empty the bottom well in order for it to work. But there is hardly any container made shallow enough to fit there. So then I have to lift the thing up to drain and then it will run for another 30 minutes. I am returning this unit. This can't be right.
Answered by: MonicaD
Date published: 2017-07-17

This unit has exhaust hose only. For every cubic foot of air exhausted a cubic foot of a hot air will be sucked in from around doors and and etc. Is there anyway to supply this unit fresh outside air?

Asked by: Aspen
I apologize, but no; since this unit is a portable model, and does not actually sit in the window or through the wall, it has no access to a fresh air supply.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-08

What's the average kilowatt hours this unit uses per hour? 

Asked by: 5flatKat
The LG 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner, Model # LP1217GSR has an energy consumption of 1,350 Watts per hour (i.e 1.35 kW)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-01
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817270, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT