To properly experience our website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help


Key Features

  • 14,000 BTU Cooling & Heating
  • LCD Remote Included
  • Oscillating Air Vent
  • Window Install Kit Included
Suggested Price


Suggested Price

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We bought this when our central unit went out in July. We live in Oklahoma where hot is an understatement. We needed it mainly for our bedroom which it kept at a wonderful temp of 70 degrees even in 110 degree weather. The drainage was our biggest concern and have found out it is hassle free!!! Run it out the window and no problem.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this product I wasn’t really sure how it was gonna work out because of peoples reviews but for my particular house it works extremely well now I am using the heater and the heater actually works Great I’m very happy with it. If you have extremely large area this one might not be for you there’s a larger one that you could try but I do like this. Ps I bought this product in July when it was extremely hot
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very convenient, cools fast. I bought this unit for my garage to make me more comfortable when I work on my equipment, but more importantly I purchased it to use as an any room ac. In Florida with all these hurricanes 2 of these units will keep a 2 bed 2 bath home comfortable running off of my generator and the rest of my house . My generator wouldn't start my HVAC, so these units are a life saver.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product need some improvement Do the job here in Clearwater Florida whir the humidity is high. Price is ok for the result obtaines
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Unit Really pleased with our unit , looks fancy puts out quite a flow of cold air
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome follow instruction. Will cool your room by square footage.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG Air and heat unit We purchased this floor unit about two months ago and the air conditioner works great, but we haven't used it on the heater yet, but feel sure it will work great!!
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodby heatwave! What a lifesaver! We were in triple digit heat, and this unit saved us. Great cooling, easy to set up, quiet performance
Date published: 2017-09-22
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817309, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms


Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

how do I drain the water from the pump when it says full and where

Asked by: Perry1991
Hello Perry1991, please see page 23 in the owners manual found in the link provided. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-12

My unit will not heat. I turn it to heat and set the temp but it doesn't heat up. What should I do?

Asked by: Jkebx22
Hello Jkebx22, please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 so that we can walk through some troubleshooting steps while you are with the unit. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-08

Do you have to have the exhaust tube hooked up when you're running the heater?

Asked by: Tracy dink
Yes the unit will still need the exhaust tube connected while using the heat setting. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-01-06

What do I need to do in order to run heat? Does anything else to need to be hooked up to it?

Asked by: Allisonlh
Hello Allisonlh, the unit needs to be fully installed before running it on cool or heat. Please follow the install steps in the manual. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-03

Do I need a 220 outlet for this unit?

Asked by: CENTRAL air died
The LG 14,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Cooling & Heating, Model # LP1417SHR has to be plugged into its own dedicated, grounded 60 Hz, 120 VAC outlet protected by a 15 amp time delay fuse or circuit breaker...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-15

Do I leave my drainage tube in when the heat setting is on

Asked by: Old Daddy
It would not be necessary to keep the drain tube connected to this unit while using the heat function.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-11-16

ac is not cooling

Asked by: kevin b
For troubleshooting this issue, please visit: Not Cooling - Room Air Conditioner: If this doesn't resolve the issue, service may be required. To schedule a repair please see: Or for a list of service centers in your area please visit:
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-09

This unit is advertised as providing heat via heat pump functionality. I don't see how that is possible if the unit is not pulling in outside air from which to remove the heat and pump it into the room (that's how a heat pump works). Can you explain?

Asked by: NY1A
The LG 14,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner Cooling & Heating, Model # LP1417SHR does not use a heat pump it uses heat strips. We apologize if anything in its advertising might have intimated that it has a heat pump, regrettably, we are unable to find anything that advertises it as providing heat via a heat pump. We do not have any Portable units that use a heat pump...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-03
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817309, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms