To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

12000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating

  • LW1216HR

Key Features

  • Seasonal Heating & Cooling
  • Multiple Cooling/Heating Speeds
  • Remote Control
  • 4- Way Air Direction
  • Timer
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance Cooling 11,500 / 11,200
BTU Performance Heating 9,200 / 11,200
CEER 11.2/11.2
EER 11.3/11.3
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 3.3
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 265
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 51 / 57
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 550
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed: Cooling (Heating) 2(2)
Fan Only Speed 2
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Blower
Type Air Discharge Side by side
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Slide In-Out
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 208/230
Watts (Cooling) 1,010/1,060
Watts (Heating) 2,900/3,500
Rated Amps (Cooling) 5.1/4.8
Rated Amps (Heating) 14.0/15.3
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 23 5/8" x 14 31/32" x 22 1/16"
Shipping (WxHxD) 27 1/16" x 18 1/8" x 23 5/8"
Net Weight 93 lbs.
Shipping Weight 99 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231379519

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite with a lot of great features We bought it for the air conditioner to begin with then a few nights later needed it for the heat. Worked beautifully. Love it!!
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought 2 units. Had to have a 220 volt outlet installed. Hooked up the first one and it cooled great. However the heat did not work. Replaced it with the second unit and both features work fine. I'm now working to get warranty service on the first unit and hopefully it will be resolved soon.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features, reasonable price. It is made with good materials and is light enough for one person to install.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very efficient; great investment! This 12,000 BTU air conditioner/heater is just perfect for year-round comfort! I especially appreciate the Energy Saver. The thermostat allows me set a desired temperature -- and walk away! My unit accommodates a three-car garage and work shop. And still, it runs very little, once the atmosphere is reached. Excellent quality and attractive product. The remote is the cherry on top! Easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job. We have an unusual home consisting of several buildings, each with its own HVAC. This unit is in our den and cools it nicely in Econ mode. We will have to wait for cooler weather to see about the heat but are confident it will do well. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price I bought this to replace my 800 btu AC that I had in my bedroom. I went with the higher btu thinking that it would make my bedroom very cold. I like sleeping in the cold. It didn't make it any cooler then the smaller unit. It does work well. I like how a red light comes on the alert you when it's time to clean the air filter.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works grear I am very happy with this ac unit. Have not used the heater yet so I have no review at this time.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful Does a great job in workshop. Fast n quiet very efficient.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601881, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW1216HR Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I need to order another electrical cord for my unit,and does home depot carry them in stock perhaps?

Asked by: Happy Jack
We were unable to locate the electrical cord at Home Depot but our parts distributor does have them available soon. Here is a link where this can be purchased: http://lge.andrewselectronics.com/search/electronic-parts/parts/9/EAD63469507 ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-06

When the heater is turned on small ash like particals were expelled and smelled of smoke.  How do I resolve this?

Asked by: Jeff5230
Please see the following article from our help library for assistance with this issue: http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000014-1343073009426-maintenance
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-12-01

I have a LG heat and AC window unit and the Heat not getting hot on it what should I do

Asked by: Bigmoe1888
We hate to see that you've run into this with your A/C unit. Take a look at the following article to troubleshoot the heating issue that you're experiencing - http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000014-1341959148944-not-heating ^RW
Answered by: RobLG
Date published: 2017-11-27

What is the difference between the LW1216HR & the LW1213HR?

Asked by: Phanger
The LW1213HR was our 2016 model. The LW1216HR was launched in 2017 and has a higher energy star rating.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-11-16

How much is it to buy a front cover to this window unit?

Asked by: Michelle Lynn Loyd
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, Encompass Parts. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 866-779-7906. You can also use their website, at https://www.encompassparts.com/. The part number for the cover is 3531A20136L.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-27

What's the best temperature to cool off my place

Asked by: Versace
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Canada. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/ca_en/index.jsp. You may also contact our Canada offices at 1-888-542-2623.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-28

I would like to install this unit through a concrete block wall. Why don't you recommend doing this?

Asked by: Cleos
The LG 12000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating, Model # LW1216HR is requires a standard single-hung or double-hung window for proper installation. It is designed for installation in standard double hung windows with actual opening widths from 27" to 39". The top and bottom window sash must open sufficiently to allow a clear vertical opening of 16" from the bottom of the upper sash to the window stool. The outside of the cabinet must extend outward for at least 12" and there should be no obstacles, such as a fence or wall, within 20" from the back of the cabinet because it will prevent heat radiation of the condenser. Restriction of outside air will greatly reduce the cooling efficiency of the air conditioner which is why all side louvers of the cabinet must remain exposed to the outside of the structure. Installing this unit through a concrete block wall would require using a wall sleeve for support which would cover the side louvers as would a hole in the wall. That would restrict outside air as described above which would reduce the unit's cooling efficiency or cause the unit to overheat and burn itself out. Installing the unit in a manner other than outlined in the owners manual would also void your warranty...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-27

Can this unit be installed in a wall

Asked by: Zinger
The LG12000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating, Model # LW1216HR requires a standard single-hung or double-hung window for proper installation. Installations with a sleeve, holes in walls or any other type of installation are not recommended...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601881, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT