To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LW1217ERSM

Key Features

  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Remote included
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Suggested Price

$389.99

Suggested Price
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? Think Again.

LG SmartThinQ® technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

SUMMARY
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Air Conditioners I'm so impressed by how quiet it runs ! It cools down twice as fast as the 10,000 BTU that I replaced. I will definitely buy another one !!!!
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally my room is cool! Our bedroom is over the garage so its never been able to stay cool with our regular AC unit. This window unit has totally fixed that! Love it!
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the WiFi feature! I bought this LG window AC unit about one month ago. Setting up the WiFi was fairly easily. The product came packaged well with good helpful instructions. I think it’s pretty quite and cools my house adequately. I would reccomend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LG widow air conditioner 12,000 btu I only wish the fan could blow more air!!!! I have to put a fan in front of A.C. to blow more cool air other then that features are fine!! I need my $ back 12,000 btu need F4 F5 on fan speed!!!:-( :-(
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No noises The old type cooled better than the new .my older one it was very good
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good A/C!!! Poor WiFi Setup I bought this A/C due to the Btu and “smart” WiFi connection. So far the cooling is great. However I cannot get the WiFi to pair with the app.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this two weeks ago. It has worked. Installation was ruff. It works and operates. Unable to connect with wifi.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this 2 months ago and am using to cool 1,200 s/f. A little difficulty setting up wi-fi but once I found out you have to use a separate network to control it once it is set up, I love it. I can keep an eye on the fam using it while traveling, ie., make sure it is not running all the time. Super easy set up w/ 110 volt power and runs super quiet even on high and I already noticed a $50 savings in power compared to April a year ago (which my power bill shows that comparison). Highly recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2018-05-02
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Will this window unit and kit support a 47” wide window?

Asked by: Victor68
This unit is designed for installation in standard double hung windows with actual opening widths from 27"-39". ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-03-17

Does temperature affect how much power in using

Asked by: Planb
We do apologize, we are unsure of your question. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 for further assistance. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-04

Does increasing the heat temperature affect how much power I'm using? 

Asked by: Planb
This unit does not have a heat function so we are unsure of your question. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 for further assistance. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-04

What is the lowest temperature setting? As in how cold can it get a room?

Asked by: MistyPierce10
The temperature on the ENERGY STAR® LG 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1217ERSM can be set between 60°F ~ 86°F (16°C ~ 30°C). How cold it actually gets a room will depend on what the external temperature is...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-25

How do I connect to the internet

Asked by: Dbuggy
To use the Wi-Fi, the Smart AC must be registered on the Smart ThinQ website. To activate the Wi-Fi on the A/C, you must press and hold the Fan Speed and Mode buttons on the REMOTE CONTROL for 2 seconds. The Wi-Fi indicator on the A/C display will light up when it is active.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

Where is the filter

Asked by: Jodielee
The air filter would be located behind the front grille on the unit. If you require assistance with removing the front grille, more information can be located in the owner's manual on page 20.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-11

How do I close the vent?

Asked by: Unknown P
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. The FRESH AIR DUCT stick protrudes from the Air Vent. Pressing this stick inward will close the vent.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-14
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT