To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW1217ERSM

  • White

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • SmartThinQ™ Technology
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

LG SmartThinQ™ technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 12,000
CEER 12.0
EER 12.1
ENERGY STAR® Yes
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 3.8
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 265
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 52 / 60
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 550
Refrigerant R32
FEATURES
WiFi Connection Yes
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Slide In/Out
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 990
Rated Amps 9.3
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 23 5/8" x 15" x 22 3/16"
Shipping (WxHxD) 27 5/32" x 18 7/16" x 23 1/2"
Net Weight 81 lbs.
Shipping Weight 90 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231382137

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from a smaller unit, but great working the unit is a little smaller than the old one and a little lighter, but it works great and puts out the air. i am cooling a 495 sq ft garage and it took about a day to get it down but now it is stable and nice.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy with the features Yes, I bought this a month ago and really thrilled with it. It is so quiet and the remote makes it so easy to control.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent window unit! I bought this A/C at the beginning of this summer to put in my 350 sq. ft. sunroom on the west side of the house. It has worked extremely well to keep the room comfortably cool with mid-90's temps outside. It's also pretty quiet.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I bought this window unit a couple of months ago, this ac cools! I leave it on the energy saver mode at 72 and it cools my whole hour of around 900 square feet, I bought the 12,000 btu unit, love it!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good still. I bought 7 years ago. Still works good. I believe it is 15k btu though.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cools very well I bought a 12,000 but LG window air conditioner and installed it on August 3, 2017. Cooled great and was quiet. August is warm here in the southwest. Around August 22 nd, the unit''s fan stopped. Just buzzes. Have been waiting for a service person or warranty replacement since. There was some misunderstanding by the Customer Service people I first spoke to. They only heard that it "was noisey". They failed to hear it was not blowing or cooling. That delayed their warranty response. It is moving forward again. Luckily, my apartment has a swap cooler, but it does not help my allergies to have the windows open all of the time. Hopefully, now that I have faxed in the papers they want I will get something done.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far Had no trouble installing, AC is much quieter than the GE that I had to return. Cooling great so far, look forward to many years of service. Have now programmed the WiFi part yet.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this air-conditioning and it seems that is doing the job.
Date published: 2017-07-03
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW1217ERSM Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What is the lowest temperature setting? As in how cold can it get a room?

Asked by: MistyPierce10
The temperature on the ENERGY STAR® LG 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1217ERSM can be set between 60°F ~ 86°F (16°C ~ 30°C). How cold it actually gets a room will depend on what the external temperature is...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-25

How do I connect to the internet

Asked by: Dbuggy
To use the Wi-Fi, the Smart AC must be registered on the Smart ThinQ website. To activate the Wi-Fi on the A/C, you must press and hold the Fan Speed and Mode buttons on the REMOTE CONTROL for 2 seconds. The Wi-Fi indicator on the A/C display will light up when it is active.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

Where is the filter

Asked by: Jodielee
The air filter would be located behind the front grille on the unit. If you require assistance with removing the front grille, more information can be located in the owner's manual on page 20.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-11

How do I close the vent?

Asked by: Unknown P
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. The FRESH AIR DUCT stick protrudes from the Air Vent. Pressing this stick inward will close the vent.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-14
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT