To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

15000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW1516ER

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • 4-way Air Direction
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • Timer
  • Slide-out washable filter
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 15,000
CEER 11.8
EER 11.9
ENERGY STAR® Yes
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 3.3
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 505
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 59/65
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 800
Refrigerant R32
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Slide In-Out
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 1,260
Rated Amps 11.8
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 26" x 17 11/16" x 28 1/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 29 1/8" x 22 7/16" x 30 7/16"
Net Weight 112 lbs.
Shipping Weight 127 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231379472

What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from loud very loud its to loud to sleep and the fan is to strong on the lowest setting but it cools like ive never seen before very good cooling
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer "BEWARE" !!!!!!!!!! I bought this window a/c at the end of July and it didn't even last to the first week of October, just about two months ..... Should have known better since the previous LG a/c window unit "same Model LW1516ER didn't last but fourteen months...All I can say is Buyer Beware , this LG product is not worth the money or your time !!!! Johnny Wren , unhappy customer .........
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great air conditioning I bought this air conditioner for this past summer best choice I've ever did.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HAVE HAD BETTER IF NOT INSTALLED JUST RIGHT THE WATER WILL COME BACK IN THE HOME AND SPIT ALL OVER
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My LG A/C It's working good but the clean filter red light indicator doesn't turn off even after you clean the filter. My brother in law bought a LG A/C and he's having the same problem but he says it's working good
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from preset tempeture I set the temperature and on energy saver mode, and it reaches the set goal. It turns on and off a lot of times
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from real cool got this and it's real cool. only drawback is that the control panel is built into the front facing so it can't be washed completely.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unit for the price I needed this unit because my primary A/C went out in the middle of summer. The unit cooled most of my home down to a manageable temperature.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601824, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW1516ER Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is this unit digital?

Asked by: JoelCam
The control panel for this air conditioner unit does have a digital display. There are soft keys to power the unit on and adjust the settings.
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-04

I have this unit but I need a new remote control. Where can I purchase a replacement remote?

Asked by: Tmvm210
Accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for the remote is AKB73016012.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-11

is this unit made for permanent installation in a window or is it considered some thing that can be removed at the end of the cooling season

Asked by: stano
Keeping the ENERGY STAR® LG 15000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1516ER permanently installed in your window or removing it seasonally is left to your discretion. If you prefer leaving it in permanently, you may want to get a cover for it to prevent dust and debris from getting into the unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-20

Why does LG not sell a cover fro their A/C units? This would be a good marketing tool to sell an insulated cover to protect the units from winter weather where owners do not use the a/c all year long,, as in the NW untied states, MT OR AK.you could mfg

Asked by: Kim Barnes
There are a wide variety of covers available for the LG 15000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW1516ER and A/C units from other manufacturers that you will find at Home Improvement retailers such as the Home Depot, Lowe's, etc., ^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-10-13

When I turn unit off, compressor still is on but fan is off, is this normal?

Asked by: Dave C
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. When the power is deactivated on this model, the fan and compressor should both become inactive. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 to troubleshoot this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-08-17

Why is the light red when I have it on energy saver instead of green?  It used to have a green light next to it but it is now showing red. 

Asked by: Billy B
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this air conditioner. This red indicator light is typically related to the CLEAN FILTER alert. The ‘Clean Filter’ LED will light up to notify you that your filter needs to be cleaned. After cleaning the filter, press “Temp ^” and “Temp v” buttons together to turn off ‘Clean Filter’ light. The filter reset must be done from unit control panel. The buttons on the remote control will not perform in this fashion.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-08-15

The "clean filter"light is on and won't go out even though the filter is clean. What should I do?

Asked by: ChrisC98052
Press temp control, to raise and lower temp, at the same time to clear
Answered by: Texmexchef
Date published: 2016-08-13

Is unit suppose to weep/drip water?  It is not it is making gurgling sounds. 

Asked by: Mouse7
The dripping of water from the back of the cabinet will generally occur when the humidity level is elevated. If the unit is currently blowing cold air, then whether or not water drains should be irrelevant.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601824, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT