To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

18000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating

  • LW1816HR

Key Features

  • Seasonal Heating & Cooling
  • Multiple Cooling/Heating Speeds
  • Remote Control
  • 4- Way Air Direction
  • Timer
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance Cooling 17,500 / 18,000
BTU Performance Heating 9,800 / 12,000
CEER 11.1/11.1
EER 11.2/11.2
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 5.5
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 430
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 61/66
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 1000
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed: Cooling (Heating) 2(2)
Fan Only Speed 2
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Blower
Type Air Discharge Side by side
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Slide In-Out
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 208/230
Watts (Cooling) 1,560/1,600
Watts (Heating) 3,100/3,670
Rated Amps (Cooling) 7.8/7.3
Rated Amps (Heating) 15.0/16.0
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 25 1/2" x 16 27/32" x 30 1/2"
Shipping (WxHxD) 29 3/8" x 21 3/16" x 33"
Net Weight 126 lbs.
Shipping Weight 139 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231379526

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Unit! Unit works great and was easy to install. The extra $100 for the heat was well worth it!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and good looks Purchased the unit later in the season but excellent product
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whirlpool STINKS whirlpool would NOT honor the warrantee because i didn't have a readable receipt. this LG unit has given me NO problem!!! i only wish they made whole house units, id buy one
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought air&heat window unit was very Quite & very energy Officiant would Highly recommend it
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great heating and airconditioner unit I bought this unit several months ago and I am well pleased with it's performance.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort I bought this unit a year ago and I'm totally satisfied by it's performance to cool and heat the Huge room it's in.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this a week or so ago and I love the product
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Easy to install, but takes 2 people. Must be extremely careful not to damage condenser fins on both ends. Quiet operation. Cooling excellent. Would have preferred that documentation was on top of the unit instead of under it when un-boxing. Packaging was excellent and easy to unpack. Unit looks very nice. Love the "Auto Swing" feature.
Date published: 2017-05-26
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601882, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW1816HR Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Where do i get a heater replacement for this unit

Asked by: Valente2115
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, Encompass Parts. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 866-779-7906. You can also use their website, at https://www.encompassparts.com/ ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-12

I bought about 3 months ago & the heat option does not work. What can I do?

Asked by: Melisa25
What you have described is far from what we expect. We would be more than happy to look into this issue for you. Our support team is available via Twitter @LGUSSupport or Facebook www.Facebook.com/LGUSA ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-08

Where can I buy (the grill assembly front for this model,please?

Asked by: Al53
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, Encompass Parts. Their contact number, for placing orders and pricing information, is 866-779-7906. You can also use their website, at https://www.encompassparts.com/.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-04

Is it a 110 or 220 plug

Asked by: fpotts
The power cord on the LG 18000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating, Model # LW1816HR includes a current interrupter device and it must be plugged into a standard 250 V, 3-wire grounding receptacle rates at 20 Amps. Use a 20 Amp, time delay fuse or 20 Amp circuit breaker. The NEMA Configuration for the plug is NEMA 6-20P (one vertical blade and one horizontal blade over a round grounding pin)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-11

I have a brand new lg 18000 btu and is barely installed and doesn't blow cold air why ?

Asked by: Eduardotb
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is difficult to determine why this machine is not operating properly without an inspection by a qualified service technician. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-06

Does model #LW1816HR require a neutral?

Asked by: Blomer
The LG 18000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Cooling & Heating, Model # LW1816HR comes equipped with a power cord that has a current interrupter device attached to it. The plug on the power cord has a NEMA Configuration of 6-20P which is a 3-wire, 2 pole plug that must be plugged into a standard 250V, grounded 3-wire receptacle protected by a 20 Amp. Time Delay fuse or a 20 Amp. circuit breaker. The plug cannot be removed or modified. Window air conditioners are fed from single phase sources, so its branch circuit and its power cord consist of three wires, the ground, hot wire and neutral wire...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-02

Where can I get  a manual for my air conditioner 

Asked by: Jodiegirl
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner and its operations. A copy of the owner’s manual can be obtained from our website at http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-LW1816HR#manuals.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-21

How to make it blow cold air

Asked by: Jay mangal
you can try putting the unit in a window on the side of the house facing the wind
Answered by: trump
Date published: 2017-01-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601882, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT