To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

5000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW5016

Key Features

  • 2 Cooling & Fan Speeds
  • 2- Way Air Direction
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 5,000
CEER 11.0
EER 11.2
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 1.3
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 134
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 52/56
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 150
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Adjustable Thermostat
Air Deflection 2-Way
Fan Speed Cooling 2
Fan Only Speed 2
Compressor Rotary
Indoor Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Chassis Type Top Down
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 440
Rated Amps 4.1
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 17 5/16" x 11 1/8" x 14 3/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 19 5/8" x 13 11/16" x 16 3/4"
Net Weight 40 lbs.
Shipping Weight 44 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231378970

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleeping Good To be so small and easy to install this is a powerful little air conditioner. I only have it on low and it gets cold! I love it.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good features. Great job cooling room. We have been very happy with this unit. Thermostat control makes it a great "set and go" feature. It is a relief to know that it will cycle on/off on its own to maintain the set temperature. It flashes an alert to let you know it is time to clean the filter which is easy to remove and rinse.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from right size This was bought as a gift since it was the really hot part of summer, Having older sliding windows it fits in just right, made my living room a lot more tolerable
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works wwell Its been a big help in the hot weather through the summer
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tough time cooling my 12x12 room If it gets in the 90s this AC just cant seem to keep up the room may not get below 75 or 76 on high constant running. This was an inexpensive AC and worth the money if you are on a tight budget
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great little Air Conditioner. We purchased the window A/C during a very hot spell (114) in August. Our house A/C was out.WE were able to stay in house while waiting for part to arrive. Did a good job keep Bed Room cool, as we stayed in the bedroom for every thing. .
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is a good AC for the price.. Cools a small bedroom very well...
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's so energy efficient. Runs very quietly.works great and I couldn't be more happy.cools more square feet than anticipated. So ☺
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601770, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW5016 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I have a lg lw5016 air cooler does it need water

Asked by: Rodrigotellez
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. There is never cause to add water to this air conditioner. It should also not require checking the amount of water in the machine, as the water that has been extracted from the humidity in the air will be re-used by the machine to enhance efficiency of the cooling process.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-12

Can you install this unit in a wall

Asked by: Larrya
The LG 5000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW5016 is a Window Air Conditioner and as such, a standard single-hung or double-hung window is required for proper installation. Non-window installations, including using sleeves, holes in walls, and other installations are not recommended...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-08

I just bought LW5016 air conditioner 2 weeks ago. And now its not getting colder. I dont know what wrong with it. What do i do?

Asked by: Ericaexauri
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. Additional information can help in determining the source of this problem. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-28

How do you tilt this ac? The pan that holds water is full and water comes out of front grill and it makes noises. I tried to tilt but the brackets on bottom that holds the curtain is in the way. Again I put it in and it will not tilt.

Asked by: Bart22
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. If this machine has been installed properly, it should already have the proper tilt to the cabinet to allow all moisture to drain out of the back of the cabinet.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-22

Can my LG brand model LW5016 air conditioner operate without any problems when powered by my gasoline generator rated for 1200 running watts 2000 surge watts.

Asked by: Chuck9012
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. A machine, such as this, should be connected to a dedicated, 125V, 15A AC current, with a 15A circuit breaker or time delay fuse. Other installations could prove harmful to the air conditioner.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-29

My slinger fan is facing outside is this correct

Asked by: Uncle205
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner and its design. The slinger fan is designed to be on the outside of the machine, between the inner shroud and the condenser, as it is to be dipping into the condensed moisture, in order to cast it back onto the condenser coils. This is normal operation.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-09-09

My window ac LW5016 came with Styrofoam on the inside. Does that need to come out or stay in

Asked by: Munlitestr
We appreciate your interest in this air conditioner. The determination on whether or not the Styrofoam should remain in place will depend upon where the Styrofoam is located, and if it is obstructing airflow. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance in this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-08

I just bought an LG air conditioning unit and it's making noises

Asked by: Hamp12
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. This machine will make some noise, as is normal for most machines. Nothing further can be determined without a better description of the noises themselves, or an inspection by a qualified service technician. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601770, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT