To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

6000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW6016R

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • 2- Way Air Direction
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • Timer
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 6,000
CEER 11.3
EER 11.5
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 1.8
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 200
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 54 / 60
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 260
Refrigerant R410A
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 2-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Chassis Type Top Down
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 520
Rated Amps 4.9
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 18 9/16" x 12 9/32" x 15 1/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 22 9/16" x 15 3/16" x 17 7/32"
Net Weight 50 lbs.
Shipping Weight 54 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231378987

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What Was Needed! Have a split level house with central air- unfortunately the upstairs bedrooms are still just too warm at night. This unit not only makes them comfortable, but does it so quickly and effieciently
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Compressor Noise Level In August 2016, I bought the LW6016R 6K BTU AC - "Recommended" based on it being in the top recommended window unit reviews of Consumer Reports. Although the unit cools well and the price was reasonable, the LG's compressor is much louder than the new Fridgidaire 6K BTU window unit I bought for another bedroom this summer (2017). The LG disturbs my sleep at times and is too noisy for watching television without having to turn up the TV's volume. I am disappointed that Consumer Reports did not note this problem of the compressor noise in their review. I had an AC repairman come to my apartment to check out the units - he told me that LG's compressors are just louder than Fridgidaire’s and that there is absolutely nothing I can do to lessen that noise - it is normal for the LG AC units. Too bad I cannot return the air conditioner at this point.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've had this unit for a few months prior to installing it. It hasn't been used much because it's being used in a second home. It seems to be cooling okay. I'm going to take a wait and see attitude do to my availability to frequent my vacation home. At the present it's cooling fine.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used this product for 24 hrs and it has cooled well. The remote is a great feature and it was east to install.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice controls Put this in my Master bedroom window May 6th. This replaced a Frigidaire 5000 BTU unit I gave away. The first thing I noticed was the air output had no up and down adjustment; only side to side. I turned it on, and was surprised at how noisy it was. Especially when the compressor turned on. My last unit, you couldn't even tell when the compressor kicked in, it was so quiet. When it got the room to the preset temperature, I discovered that the compressor kicks on every 4 minutes and runs for 30 seconds or so, then turns off. Waits 4 minutes then kicks in again. Wondered why it has to turn on so often all night, which is the only time it runs. The room is only about 200 sq. ft. and the outside temperatures have not even hit the mid summer highs yet. Also, when I turn it on using the remote, it always goes into energy saver mode, which is not where I use it.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase Just installed and it was easy to do. About 50 pounds so you might need a helper. Although only 6,000BTUs, it does a good job in a 300 sq. ft. area. Pretty quiet.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Compressor extremely loud I replaced a window unit that lasted 8 years. This one sounds like a lawnmower. When the compressor kick on I can hear it three rooms away. It is louder than my whole house window unit.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Installed and running in 30 minutes. Works great!!!
Date published: 2016-10-07
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601771, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW6016R Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Does it run with water?

Asked by: espmanny
The LG 6000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6016R, or any air conditioner, do not use water at all. Like Refrigerators and the air conditioner in your car, they all use refrigerant. The refrigerant used in this unit is R410A refrigerant...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-06-21

Does this unit come with wall support and the window peice to close off the rest of the window?

Asked by: Amanda26
The LG 6000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6016R comes with 11 x Type A short screws, 5 x Type B wood screws, 1 x Drain Joint Pipe + Drain Washer, 3 x 'L' brackets, 1 x adhesive backed Seal Strip, 1 x non-adhesive backed Sash Seal, a Left and Right Guide Panel that have curtains on them for closing the openings after installation, and a Support Bracket...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-03-29

How can I change the filter or a way to clean it ?

Asked by: Etipaz
Pull the inlet grille forward. Remove the air filter from the front grille by pulling the air filter up slightly. Wash the filter using lukewarm water below 104 degrees. Gently shake the excess water from the filter and replace.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-09-22

My family keeps leaving it on all day Iong and I don't want it to brake. Is there a fuze I can take out to disable it so only I can put it back in and turn it on when needed?

Asked by: Sen0421
I apologize, but no; this air conditioner has not been designed with a removeable fuse for extraction.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-28

Why is it blowing white?

Asked by: Missykay0122
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is uncertain to what is being referred as “blowing white”. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance in this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-06

Hoe low can you set the temperature?

Asked by: godogs
The thermostat on the LG 6000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6016R can be set between 60˚F~86˚F (16˚C~30˚C)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-05-19

How long is the power cord and can it be used with a short extension cord?

Asked by: Mark47

Can this unit be on its side 

Asked by: Marias2015
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601771, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT