To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW6017R

  • White

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • 2- Way Air Direction
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 6,000
CEER 11.3
EER 11.5
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 1.8
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 134
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 52 / 56
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 260
Refrigerant R32
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 2-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed: Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
Indoor Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Chassis Type Top Down
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 520
Rated Amps 4.9
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 17 5/16" x 11 1/8" x 14 3/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 19 5/8" x 13 11/16" x 16 3/4"
Net Weight (lbs.) 39.6 lbs.
Shipping Weight (lbs.) 44.1 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231382090

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product! Bought this air conditioner a couple months ago. Perfect for the upstairs room an the price was great!
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this to replace a similar size AC. I was concerned about how well it would cool as the vents are on the top. It works just as well as the ac that had the vents in the front. It is fairly quiet and very easy to operate. I would purchase this again.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our landlord replaced the old ac with a new LG air conditioner that works great more important we can set the timer so it starts and stops before we get up in the morning and after we go to bed at night
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Unit for Small Area I Bought this Unit For My Son To Stay Nice And Cool In A "Livingroom/Den" Area. Works Really Great!
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Air Conditioner! This unit when run properly takes air from the room, cools it, and then returns it to the room. Essentially, it makes the room cooler. When the unit is turned off, it ceases to perform this function. It is, in fact, an air conditioner...and I like it!
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and cools very well. This is my second window a/c unit that I have purchased from LG. We recently experienced a power outage in Sebring, Florida due to hurricane Irma so we had no way to keep any room in our home cool. My other window a/c unit cools my garage and although I could have lived in the garage (man cave) my wife wasn't too enthused about it. I installed it today in our bedroom as an emergency back up unit, that runs very easily off of my generator, and I was very pleased with the noise level and the amount of cooling it provided in a very short period of time. Thru the wall a/c units in motel rooms are a lot noisier than this unit. We are definitely ready for our next power outage. BTW, I can install and remove this unit in about 5 minutes without any permanent fasteners or holes in the window jambs, frame, etc. This is a really nice unit. Thanks LG.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like that it has a energy saver mode I bought this yesterday and it was the best purchase window air conditioner I ever bought it's quiet and I'm glad it has an energy saver mode that turns the cool off and the fan off at the same time it's an awesome product LG life is really good when you have this window air conditioner.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not too happy I bought this air ccondition unit at bjs, it price was good, however the cooling unit was not what I expected. The vents are in upward position which i thought was a good idea in the beginning. I live in a studio apartment not a big studio, once I turn on the a/c takes to long to cool the room. I think it would be a good idea to have a frontal closeable vent that can be opened to circulate air faster. Thank you, Nilda
Date published: 2017-09-29
  • y_2017, m_11, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05816369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW6017R Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can this work as a heater?

Asked by: Nat85
Hello, I am sorry but it can not. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-15

It seems that when the unit is running, looking at the scoops on the blower wheel, that mine is running backwards. From the front it turns counter clockwise. Is that correct?

Asked by: Owensbubba
This does not sound like the unit is operating properly. We would recommend having a technician take a look at the unit. To schedule a repair please see: http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair-service/schedule-repair-us Or for a list of service centers in your area please visit: https://www.lg.com/us/support/repair-service/find-repair-provider
Answered by: Shena
Date published: 2017-10-27

Can this unit be installed permanently in a wall or only in a window ,(obviously with correct wall stud reinforcement etc) If not can u recommend a suitable model

Asked by: Gary dub
The LG 6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6017R is a WINDOW Air Conditioner and as such, requires a standard single-hung or double-hung window for proper installation. Non-window installation, including using a wall sleeve, holes in walls or any other type of installation is not recommended. You can review our line up of U.S. released Through-the-Wall Air Conditioners at http://www.lg.com/us/wall-air-conditioners...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-28

How do i clean filter properly and how do i get the notification red light to turn off??

Asked by: Malorie0216
The air filter can be removed from the front grille by lifting the air filter up. It is recommended to use lukewarm water to wash the air filter. Gently shake the excess water from the filter and replace. The indicator light can be turned of by pressing the TEMP UP and DOWN together on the control panel (cannot be done from the remote).
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-04

Where is the Drain Hole located on the unit? I can not find any pictures of the back of the unit...

Asked by: JawRaw
Unfortunately there aren't any pictures of the back of the LG 6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6017R, but page 18 of the owner's manual has a diagram that shows the location of the drain port under the fins in the bottom left corner of the unit if you are standing in front of the unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-17

How do you set unit for auto so it won't just run day and night

Asked by: A town
Adjusting the temperature controls on the unit would be the best way to keep the unit from cooling unnecessarily. Set the unit to a desired temperature, and once the room reaches the set temperature, the unit will go into Energy Saver mode until additional cooling is needed.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-13

Is this an energy star product and if not WHY everything should be an energy star product because the technology is there!

Asked by: SueZQT
The LG 6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW6017R is not an Energy Star Qualified unit. On February 20, 2015, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) finalized its revision to the ENERGY STAR room air conditioner specification and updated the criteria to establish efficiency requirements for room air conditioners. Under the new criteria, ENERGY STAR room air conditioners must use, on average, approximately 10% less energy than required by minimum efficiency standards effective in 2014. To earn the ENERGY STAR label, products must be certified by an EPA-recognized third party, based on testing in an EPA-recognized laboratory. In addition, manufacturers of the products must participate in verification testing programs run by recognized certification bodies...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-23

This might be a dumb question but if I have a window unit could I just place it in the room without putting it in the window

Asked by: nette67
No ... in fact there was just a fatal fire in a home in Ludlow MA where 3 people died and it was implied an ac malfunctioned and was on floor of room. I would say not matter what the brand this is only for window placement.
Answered by: SueZQT
Date published: 2017-07-11
  • y_2017, m_11, d_16, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05816369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT