To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

8000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW8016ER

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • 2- Way Air Direction
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • Timer
PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 8,000
CEER 12.0
EER 12.1
ENERGY STAR® Yes
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 2.2
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 220
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 54 / 60
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 340
Refrigerant R32
FEATURES
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Top Down
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 660
Rated Amps 6.2
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 19 9/16" x 12 3/8" x 19 3/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 22 11/16" x 14 3/16" x 21 1/4"
Net Weight 58 lbs.
Shipping Weight 65 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231379458

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does the job I have had my LG air conditioner (the fourth I have owned) for several months now and I am very pleased with its quiet and powerful cooling ability.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great air conditioner! I bought this three months ago and have been very happy with it. It keeps my whole apartment comfortably cool and with great energy efficiency. Very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from noisy remote had to be pressed three time to work had to get a new remote. that worked.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this 8,000 window air conditioner to replace an older 5,000 window unit that was still working but... old. I was disappointed in that I really could not tell much difference in how much or how quickly it cooled down the room as well as it being louder than the 8 + year old one it replaced.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The remote and quietness of it I got this unit about 2 months ago and I glad I did. I live up stairs and the heat rises and this pass summer was hot. being able to come in and turn on this unit was awesome because it cool the room down right away. Being 8000 ubt, I thought is would also cool my room because my apartment is small (it didn't) but I still was happy I got the unit and my family
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised Figuring that the summers are going to be hotter due to global warming, I bot this unit for the master bedroom, to augment the swamp cooler atop the living-dining room area. Easy to install, great instructions -- be aware that it is a two-person job. Left it on full time until I got the first electric bill: way high! I bumped it up from 68° to 70°, and now the practice is to turn it on at night or day (depending on weather) and then noticing when the thermostat kicks it off, and manually clicking the power off until the room warms up again. (The excessive electric usage has to do with too many restarts: motor restart causes a power surge that actually dims house lights.) To summarize, the unit works as advertised and is very quiet.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought air conditioner a couple months ago and am very impressed with it. Works great, Am very pleased with it!!!
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We bought the air conditioner in the spring to fit in our bedroom window. We are very pleased with it. It cools very nice. It could be a little quieter.
Date published: 2017-09-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_148
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601775, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW8016ER Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

My dog chewed the cord in half. I'm going to order a new cord but until then how do i split the wire and do it myself?

Asked by: Pokechop
Unfortunately, as we are not technicians, it will not be possible to provide information on repairing the cord. As such, it is recommended to contact a qualified service technician for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-24

I bought this ac unit last summer and it worked fine but now this summer it works some time and some time the digital read out doesn't even come on even if you push reset button on the plug the plug green light comes on but nothing happens

Asked by: mel2268
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. If the digital read out isn't functioning properly, the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-14

I bought this A.C window unit two weeks ago and I can get it to turn back on. Help ! What do i do ?

Asked by: Mariposa
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. It is recommended to check your circuit breakers to ensure they are properly active. If so, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

The directions for setting the timer seems confusing. I want it to come on at 11:00am and shut off at 7:00pm. Can you walk me through it step by step?

Asked by: chefE
We appreciate your interest in this unit and its features. For step by step assistance setting the timer, it is suggested to contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

How do I clean the filter when the red light is on

Asked by: Cotto
When the 'Clean Filter' LED on the ENERGY STAR® LG 8000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8016ER comes on to notify you that the air filter needs to be cleaned, pull the front grill out towards you then pull the air filter up and out from behind the front grill. You can wash the filter in lukewarm water below 40˚C (104˚F). After cleaning the filter, you need to reset the Clean Filter' LED by pressing, "Temp ▲▼" simultaneously on the unit's control panel (not from the remote). The LED illuminates after 250 hours of operation and serves as a reminder to clean the Air Filter for a more efficient operation. It is recommended that you check the air filter at least twice a month to see if cleaning is necessary or more frequently depending on your air quality. Dirt and trapped particles in the filter can build up and restrict air flow to the unit which can reduce the unit's cooling capacity and cause frost to accumulate on the evaporator...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-28

What is the average annual cost to run this unit under normal operating conditions?

Asked by: Mark 76
The Estimated Annual Energy Cost for the ENERGY STAR® LG 8000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8016ER based on a national average electricity cost of `12 cents per kWh and a seasonal use of 8 hours a day over a 3 month period is $60. Your cost will depend on your utility rates and use. This unit has an energy consumption of 661 watts per hour (.661 kWh)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-27

I can see daylight shining inside the inner compartment which indicates that that the air-conditioner is not airtight with regard to outside air. Is this normal? What will happen when it rains? Will water fall through the top vents and get inside?

Asked by: Rojo2017
We do regret the issue you are having with the air conditioner. It is unclear as to where the daylight is coming in and if that can lead to issues with rain water in the future. For better assistance, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-24

How many filters need to be cleaned

Asked by: Skylarrose
The ENERGY STAR® LG 8000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8016ER has an air filter that should be checked at least twice a month to see if needs cleaning. It can be removed and washed in lukewarm water below 40˚C (104˚F)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601775, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT