To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LW8017ERSM

Key Features

  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Remote included
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Suggested Price

$279.99

Suggested Price
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? Think Again.

LG SmartThinQ® technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

SUMMARY
PERFORMANCE
FEATURES
MATERIALS/FINISHES
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
DIMENSIONS
WARRANTY

What People Are Saying

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Cooler, Average Features I bought this product with intentions of having a fairly high tech, quiet air conditioner from the other reviews & description. It is an above average cooler - I have been pleased with it's ability to do so. It is not great for night sleeping, the energy saver mode is not a great method for saving energy, and the WIFI/app are abysmal.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great We bought this as a temporary solution while we get an AC installed and it works great!
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works very nicely. Unit was installed in my living room, a single wide trailer. Large room including kitchen. Adequately cools the living room, however in the Phoenix summers leaves the kitchen somewhat hot. Not the fault of the unit, the Devil Himself or consider the Phoenix summers in a trailer hot!
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better controls and colder air I purchased the LG on April 4, 2018, but just installed it this morning in the storage building which is 14'x 24'. Although the temperture is only 86 degree's in S.E. Texas today (5-5-2018) it cooled down the building very fast.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great AC Unit with outstanding performance I reviewed many units this size before deciding on the LG Model. Glad I did. Easy installation with no hassle or issues. Remote control works great as well as the wifi . I am using this unit in a loft area so the wifi is a big plus. And cools the room very well and then some. You won`t be disappointed buying this LG Model Window unit.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noise. The unit cannot stay on my bedroom I purchased this unit a few weeks ago and was hoping that the noise would be reduced by now but unfortunately it does not and I need help from LG to solve it. It is simply too noisy. It cools the room but I am not able to sleep with it on.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn’t connect to phone app the air conditioner itself if great, keeps the house cold all day! but i tried multiple times to connect it through wifi to my iphone app and it doesn’t connect for some reason
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just got this 2 weeks ago and I’m very satisfied to it it’s so quiet
Date published: 2018-04-23
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How to reset clean filter indicater?

Asked by: andyman
To reset the clean filter indicator press both of the temperature up and down arrows together. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-11-11

Does this unit come with side curtains?  If yes what is the maximum width they will expand to?

Asked by: Barracuda man
The left and right frame curtains come as included accessories with the ENERGY STAR® LG 8,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8017ERSM. The unit has a width of 19 9/16" and the maximum window opening that this unit is designed to fit into is 36". That means each curtain can be extend up to 8 7/32" on either side of the air conditioner...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-22

Why is water leaking

Asked by: Yevett
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. Can it be determined where the leak is coming from? Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-26

Does the LG 8017 ersm have a slide out chassis?   Can this be installed through a wall?

Asked by: Rockdim
The 8,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8017ERSM has a Top Down Chassis. This is a WINDOW AIR CONDITIONER and as such, a standard single-hung or double-hung window is required for proper installation. Non-window installations, including using sleeves, holes in walls and other installations are not recommended...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-10

Wi-Fi connection? Does this unit allow you to adjust temperature from a smart phone or tablet?

Asked by: Mattco

What are the max and min height and width dementions of the window opening and why do I have to ask ths question?

Asked by: JRJR111
  • y_2018, m_5, d_20, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT