To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

8,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner

  • LW8017ERSM

  • White

Key Features

  • Remote included
  • SmartThinQ™ Technology
  • 3 Cooling & Fan Speeds with Auto Cool
  • 24-Hour On-Off Timer
Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

Think You Can’t Control Your Cool? ThinQ Again.

LG SmartThinQ™ technology lets you control your LG air conditioner from anywhere, so you can start or stop cooling, change the mode or set the temperature from anywhere. It also works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa so you can change your air conditioner settings with simple voice commands when you’re at home.

PERFORMANCE
BTU Performance 8,000
CEER 12.0
EER 12.1
ENERGY STAR® Yes
Dehumid. (Pts/Hr) 2.2
Dry Air Flow (CFM) 220
dBA Level (Indoor / Outdoor) 54 / 60
Est. Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.) 340
Refrigerant R32
FEATURES
WiFi Connection Yes
Thermostat Control Thermistor
Air Deflection 4-Way
Remote Control Yes
Auto Restart Yes
Energy Saver Function Yes
Timer 24 Hr. On/Off
Filter Alarm Function Yes
Fan Speed Cooling 3
Fan Only Speed 3
Compressor Rotary
In Door Fan Type Turbo
Type Air Discharge Top Discharge
Outdoor Vent / Exhaust Yes
Chassis Type Top Down
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors White
ELECTRICAL RATINGS
Voltage / 60 Hz 115
Watts 660
Rated Amps 6.2
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 19 9/16" x 12 3/8" x 19 3/8"
Shipping (WxHxD) 22 11/16" x 14 3/16" x 21 1/4"
Net Weight 58 lbs.
Shipping Weight 65 lbs.
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 048231382106

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from New air conditioner I had it installed but unfortunately it cooled off so I haven't had a chance to really evaluate it. I did turn it on and it is not loud and cools nicely. I've always had good luck with LG products.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from issues cools the area however despite considerable mounting modifications rattles and is LOUD. Not like the first one I had.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well for a while I bought this in the summer and summer here in Houston are the worst it worked well for a while but after it stopped blowing cold air now it just blows it if i turn off the ac unit or mess with the buttons it would be nice to know what i could do to fix my problem
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relie!f My previous AC unit stopped working during a heat wave... of course!. What a relief to have this unit. It was actually delivered in 2 days. I have a small living space and it cools most of it. My only complaint is that it's a little nosier than I expected.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought last month.im so happy with the A/C unit .i will recommend
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I am always willing to buy LG products! I purchased my A.C.window unit about 2 months ago,and while the Quality of your product goes,I have not owned an A.C. winow unit before,I am not pleased with the fact that it is not operating like it should be,and it keeps indicating that I need to clean filter and it's not dirty or even slightly dusty. I didn't care for the awful instruction book,and it sorely lacks alot of the FACTS about installation and anything helpful to a beginner or someone who doesn't have experience. Your online help is a nightmare to wait for,so I am NOT a happy customer.
Date published: 2017-09-22
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LW8017ERSM Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How to reset clean filter indicater?

Asked by: andyman
To reset the clean filter indicator press both of the temperature up and down arrows together. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-11-11

Does this unit come with side curtains?  If yes what is the maximum width they will expand to?

Asked by: Barracuda man
The left and right frame curtains come as included accessories with the ENERGY STAR® LG 8,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8017ERSM. The unit has a width of 19 9/16" and the maximum window opening that this unit is designed to fit into is 36". That means each curtain can be extend up to 8 7/32" on either side of the air conditioner...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-22

Why is water leaking

Asked by: Yevett
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this air conditioner. Can it be determined where the leak is coming from? Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-26

Does the LG 8017 ersm have a slide out chassis?   Can this be installed through a wall?

Asked by: Rockdim
The 8,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner, Model # LW8017ERSM has a Top Down Chassis. This is a WINDOW AIR CONDITIONER and as such, a standard single-hung or double-hung window is required for proper installation. Non-window installations, including using sleeves, holes in walls and other installations are not recommended...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-10

Wi-Fi connection? Does this unit allow you to adjust temperature from a smart phone or tablet?

Asked by: Mattco

What are the max and min height and width dementions of the window opening and why do I have to ask ths question?

Asked by: JRJR111
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05817189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT