To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG TONE ULTRA® Premium Bluetooth® Wireless Stereo Headset

  • HBS-820 Black

Key Features

  • JBL® Signature Sound
  • Retractable Earbuds
  • Dual MEMS Microphones
  • Quad-Layer Speaker Technology™*
  • Around-The-Neck Wearing Style
  • Qualcomm® aptX™ Compatible**
AVAILABLE COLORS:

LG TONE ULTRA®

As a premium Bluetooth® wireless stereo headset, the LG TONE ULTRA® featuring JBL® Signature Sound, allows for seamless control of your audio experience with retractable earbuds, Quad-Layer Speaker Technology™, and Dual MEMS Microphones for crystal clear voice clarity.

Technical Specifications
Bluetooth Specification Version 4.1
Supported Bluetooth Profiles Advanced Audio Distribution (A2DP), Audio/Video Remote Control Profile (AVRCP), Hands-Free (HFP), Headset (HSP)
Talk Time Up to 14.5 hours
Music Play Time Up to 13 hours
Standby Time Up to 30 days
Charging Time Less than 2 hours
Operating Range 33 ft.
Dimensions 6.0" (W) x 6.6" (H) x 0.6" (D)
Weight 1.6 oz.
Call & Play/Pause Buttons Inline on side of headset
Sound Profile JBL® Signature Sound
Available Colors Black & Navy
Additional Features Jog Switches, VoLTE Support (HD Voice), Tone & Talk™, SMS/MMS reader with voice, speed dial & current time alert**, Qualcomm® aptX™ Compatible, Multi-Connection: Pair up to 2 devices, Auto-Reconnect, Passive Noise Cancellation
In the Box
Bluetooth Headset LG TONE ULTRA™ Bluetooth Stereo Wireless Headset (HBS-820)
USB Charging Micro USB Charging Cable (AC Adapter Head Not Included)
Ear Gels Extra Ear Gels (One Set - Small)***
Product Documents Includes: User Manual & Warranty Card
Disclaimer
* Fuller bass, clearer voice, and less distortion on high frequencies.
** SMS Reading on Android™ devices may require free download ‘LG Tone & Talk’ app on Google Play™ store for SMS reading with voice. Google Play is a trademark of Google Inc. aptX compatibility required on source device
*** Select the correct size for optimal fit, and better noise reduction and bass performance.
**** Qualcomm® aptX™ compatibility required on source device.
UPC CODES
UPC 815425022106

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from UGH!! My boyfriend and I both bought this bluetooth. We were told we were getting the upgraded version of the LG bluetooth we previously owned. What a disappointment. In 5-6 mos time we have suffered through number of issues. The volume started fading in and out, it would disconnect from the phone, the button to turn the bluetooth off won't work until after several attempts and holding the button in for several seconds and the button to disconnect a call would not work at times. Thank God we purchased the extended warranty but once we exhaust that, it will be the last time that we buy LG bluetooth. I have already warned others against purchasing it. It's just not worth the money or aggravation.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems I bought one and it kept disconnecting from my cell phone from 3 feet away. Exchanged them for another one, the volume would not increase to a hearing level. Junk!
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bluetooth Headset In reviewing this headset I love the color and that the device itself is comfortable and it does not interfere with you at all. Reception is good and the voices are clear. If there was a way that the ear-buds could be sized it would be the greatest thing. I have very small ear canals and they are somewhat big for my earholes.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my LG headphones! This is my fourth pair of LG Tone headphones. This time around I decided I didn't want to pay for Tone. Well, in the end, I ended up paying way more because I now have other pairs of non-Tone that are awful. I've learned.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good and bad the way the unit feels is good. looks great and functions well. I have issue with the microphone. Callers are having a hard time hearing me unless I move the unit away from my neck up to the side of my face.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the effort I've had device 30 days, it is now grabbing the last phone call while connected and dialing over and over....I contacted customer support to return for refund, and they will not refund my money.....sooo I went with beats, yes more, but more user friendly, no more LG products for me.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great love them Great battery life quick to charge the distance is average but works great good sound quality and good volume has always been good to me love the retractable feature.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money! DO NOT BUY! I originally bought a pair of these in 2014 through T-Mobile. Those were good and lasted a long time, nearly 2 years! They eventually stopped working so I went and got a new pair in January.. That model was the HBS770GD. They didn't last long, eventually one of the earbuds stopped working in April. They sent me a replacement pair that month. Now in August, this replacement pair has went out on one side again. I do not handle the headphones harshly, it can't just be human error...For the most part, I just use them around the house and to workout. I don't know what has changed, but these DO NOT hold up as well as the older models did. For the price you have to pay, I'd expect them to last a bit longer than 4-5 months. Unfortunately, I doubt I can even send these in again since I technically did not buy them [these are the replacements for the other ones that broke]. I will have to buy another headset, but it will not be this brand. Would not recommend...
Date published: 2017-09-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05806511, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View HBS-820 Black Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

People are telling me my voice is muffled and they can't understand what I am saying. My audio in is great. Is there an adjustment I can make or is this pair defective?

Asked by: Dvcleve1
It is suggested to UN-PAIR and then RE-PAIR the device to the phone in question, to see if this will resolve any difficulties that might be occurring with the connection between the devices. If this does not resolve the matter, please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 for additional suggestions.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-12

I have had my head set for a week and it already makes the other person voice sound like a robot. Is there anyway I can fix this. i really love and need my head set.

Asked by: Michele RW
Hello Michele, sorry to hear about this. You can try to un-pair and repair your headset to your phone. If that does not help, please reach out to us on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook @LGUSAMobile so we can get more info and see what we can do.
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-10-10

Why can't I receive phone calls when I'm listening to music with the headphones?

Asked by: Danceslikeelaine
Hi Danceslikeelaine, that could be from a few thing, under the Bluetooth setup profile, you will need to make sure you have calls and audio checked. If you do, please drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook @LGUSAMobile so we can get more info and see what we can do.
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-10-09

How do you factory reset it

Asked by: Bigtwin86
The Bluetooth headsets would not have a factory reset option. The only way to reset the headset would be by powering them OFF then ON again.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-05

What is apt

Asked by: twd1
Qualcomm® aptX™ Audio is a technology that enhances the wireless sound quality of the LG TONE ULTRA® Premium Bluetooth® Wireless Stereo Headset, Model # HBS-820. It provides clearer audio for listening and watching movies and is automatically enabled when a mobile phone or audio device that supports this feature is paired with the headset...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-02

Mine wont turn on all of the sudden, was hoping i left them on and the battery died but i charged them fully and nothing happens at all when i toggle the power switch

Asked by: Ryanmay1772
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Bluetooth Headset. If this device will not power on, then it will likely require service. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 to make proper service arrangements.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-19

Can you turn the ear bud volume up on this headset? If so How? Thank you!!

Asked by: Miliehookit
We appreciate your interest in this Bluetooth Headset. According to the information in your Quick Startup Guide, it appears that the volume switch for this device is located on the outside edge of the left arm of your device.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-27

Trying to find out when incoming call what button do you press to answer

Asked by: As salaamu
When a call comes in, briefly press the CALL button to answer the incoming call.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05806511, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT