To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG TONE Active+™ Bluetooth® Wireless Stereo Headset

  • HBS-A100 Black & Gray

Key Features

  • External Stereo Speakers
  • IPx4 Rated Water & Sweat Resistant*
  • Hi-Fi Sound**
  • Fitness Monitoring
  • Dual Mems Microphones
  • Advanced Quad-Layer Speaker Technology
AVAILABLE COLORS:

LG TONE Active+™

Fuel your fitness with the LG TONE Active+™ and amp up your exercise with peak sound performance optimized for athletes. Advanced Quad-Layer Speaker Technology™ and dual MEMS microphones take audio excellence to the next level, and the addition of EXTERNAL STEREO SPEAKERS gives you a personal surround-sound experience.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
Water & Sweat Resistant* Yes (IPx4 Rated)
Bluetooth Specification Version 4.2
Supported Bluetooth Profiles Advanced Audio Distribution (A2DP), Audio/Video Remote Control (AVRCP), Hands-Free (HFP), Headset (HSP)
Talk Time*** Up to 13 hours (Speaker Mode up to 9.5 hours)
Music Play Time*** Up to 12 hours (Speaker Mode up to 6 hours)
Standby Time Up to 17.9 days
Charging Time Less than 2 hours
Operating Range 33 ft.
Dimensions 5.7" (W) x 5.8" (H) x 0.7" (D)
Weight 2.1 oz.
Call & Play/Pause Buttons Inline on sides of headset
Sound Profile** Qualcomm aptX/Qualcomm aptX HD
Available Colors**** Black/Gray, Blue/Black, Silver
In the Box
Bluetooth Headset LG TONE Active+ Bluetooth Stereo Headset (HBS-A100)
USB Charging Micro USB Charging Cable (AC Adapter Head Not Included)
Ear Gels Extra Ear Gels (Small and Large)
Stabilizer Tips Extra Stabilizer Tips for Secure Fit (1 Set – Large)
Product Documents Includes: User Manual, Quick Start Guide, & Warranty Card
Disclaimer
* Water splashing against the enclosure from any direction shall have no harmful effect. Test duration: 5 minutes. Water volume: 10 liters per minute. Pressure: 50–150 kPa
** Qualcomm aptX/Qualcomm aptX HD compatibility required on source device
*** Certain features may use more power and cause actual time to vary
**** Some colors may not be available at all carriers and providers
UPC CODES
UPC 815425021642

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great headset Received these as a gift Amazed by the external speaker function. Works well with Google Talk to Text. Does not work so well as a speakerphone but using the earbuds alleviate any problems. Also have been able to listen to music using the external speakers without my boss realizing it. Placement of the call button and volume control is a little awkward since I tend to use just my right hand and I am accustomed to an older model headset.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this product and I am so pleased, I use it to listen my favorite music without hurting my ears using the speakers .it is great when driving and not complaining about reception. I am so happy with the product . I will buy it again.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds great Told my parents and they both bought a pair. I love em.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent battery life and pretty rugged I’ve had it for a while now. It may surprise you know know that I don’t really use it to work out, I use it at work. These are some pretty tough headphones honestly, they handle getting beat around, metal shavings, welding slag, the whole nine yards and then some. At the end of the day they still charge up and work like a champ!
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the Greatest I bought this for my wife for her to be able to be hands free while at work, but when she used the headset to call out, the people on the other end could not understand what she was saying, so I had her call my cell phone, and when we connected, I could not understand a word she was saying it was all garbled, like she was under water or something, I felt for the price, it should have had better quality of sound, I returned them for a refund.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Great Overall I really like this headset, my only gripe is that is a little larger than the non-active model. Also I don’t use the speaker function hardly as much as I thought I would. Build quality is great, battery perfect. I work in construction and so far these have held up great!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trouble with MIC I have had plenty of Bluetooth Headsets from LG and never had a problem. I talk on the phone for over 7 hours a day because of my job and with multiple people/ conference calls. Bought this pair at an at&t store and within the first 3 days everyone complained that i sounded to far or sounded muffled. I requested an exchanged. It was better for the first two weeks and found the same issue after. I believe the mic is in an weird position. I find people telling more often they cant hear me when im sweating. However i still find people telling me they cant hear me in other occasions. My co-worker also have the same headset and has same issue. I am very comfortable using LG brand, i cant seem to go with a different brand. Disappointed that i paid for an expensive headset and having trouble with it.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for exercise Great expectations, but disappointing over time. Paired with my Apple Watch, as long as I don't sweat it works fine. However, after only a few minutes of being active, it begins to sound like a poor reception, or that there's a loose connection. The sound quality is excellent, though. But when the skipping starts, I want to chuck them down a well.
Date published: 2017-09-11
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05765387, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View HBS-A100 Black & Gray Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How do I do a warranty exchange. My headset will not power on anymore. It'll light up when charging but after charge it will not power up. And do I submit the request under my name or my girlfriends name which the account thru AT&T is under her name

Asked by: Waldo615
Hello, for warranty assistance, please head over to Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook @LGUSAMobile so we can get more info and see what we can do.If you prefer to call, we are also available at 1-800-793-8896
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-10-09

What color does it light up when it's fully charged

Asked by: Mousey086
Please see the following Indicator Lamp Color meanings - Red: Charging - Purple: 80% - Blue: Completed
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2017-10-04

How can I make a out going call, if I even can?

Asked by: Chris123456
To make an outgoing call you would do the following: 1. Go to Tone & Talk and select Call History. 2. Briefly press the Call button two times. 3. Press and hold the Previous button or the Next button for 1 second to select a Call History number. 4. Briefly press the Call button two times.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-25

I cannot connect my active tones plus to my Moto z2 force phone it says connected thru the headset voice but the phone never shows connected under the Bluetooth settings. the headset says connected but phone settings never connect

Asked by: 1986
From the problem described, the issue sounds to be on the phones end and not the headset. It would be suggested to contact the phone's manufacturer for better assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-19

How do you switch between earbuds and external speakers? This is not covered in the manual. 

Asked by: Cindytino
We appreciate your interest in this Bluetooth headset. The external speakers can be turned off by switching the SPEAKER MODE switch to the OFF position.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-19

i am unable to connect my LG Tone Active Plus with LG Laptop. message says could not install driver

Asked by: Rumao
Our offices, in the United States, do not have any product information for India. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/in/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-31

What store can I find these in to buy today

Asked by: Littlebit
On its product information page at http://www.lg.com/us/bluetooth-headsets-headphones/lg-HBS-A100-Black-Gray-tone-active-plus, under the main image of the LG TONE Active+™ Wireless Stereo Headset, Model # HBS-A100 next to the Suggested Price and the 'Add to Cart' tab is a 'Where to Buy' tab. Click on that tab to open a page on which you can enter your zip code to get a listing of retail stores within a 50-mile radius of your location and online sites from where you can buy the headset...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-31

I have hsba 100 tone active. Is there an option to lock  all keys and voice recognition? When I'm shooting hoops is constantly skipping tracks making calls etc. 

Asked by: Gpage
We do appreciate your interest in this Bluetooth Headset. Unfortunately, there would not be an option to lock the keys or the voice recognition on the device.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05765387, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT