To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG TONE Active® Bluetooth® Wireless Headset

  • HBS-A80 Black

Key Features

  • IPx5 Rated Water & Sweat Resistant*
  • Dual MEMS Microphones
  • Retractable Earbuds & Contoured Design
  • Advanced Quad-Layer Speaker Technology
AVAILABLE COLORS:

LG TONE Active® 

The sweat-defying, ergonomic LG TONE Active® is specially engineered to handle your fiercest workouts. Let your music energize you with Advanced Quad-Layer Speaker Technology™ and enjoy ultra-clear voice calls with dual MEMS microphones.

Engineered For Stability, Built For Endurance

The TONE Active® carries on the TONE legacy with exceptional audio quality and design. Extend the retractable earbuds for a personalized fit then retract them for easy, tangle-free storage.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
Water & Sweat Resistant* Yes (IPx5 Rated)
Bluetooth Specification Version 4.1
Supported Bluetooth Profiles Advanced Audio Distribution (A2DP), Audio/Video Remote Control (AVRCP), Hands-Free (HFP), Headset (HSP)
Talk Time** Up to 12 hours
Music Play Time** Up to 9.5 hours
Standby Time Up to 17.9 days
Charging Time Less than 2 hours
Operating Range 33 ft.
Dimensions 5.60" (W) x 5.80" (H) x 0.60" (D)
Weight 1.8 oz.
Call & Play/Pause Buttons Inline on sides of headset
Sound Profile**** Qualcomm® aptX™ Support
Available Colors*** Black & Blue
In the Box
Bluetooth Headset LG TONE Active Bluetooth Stereo Headset (HBS-A80-Black)
USB Charging Micro USB Charging Cable (AC Adapter Head Not Included)
Ear Gels Extra Ear Gels (Small and Large)
Product Documents Includes: User Manual, Quick Start Guide, & Warranty Card
Disclaimer
* Water projected by a nozzle (0.25") against enclosure from any direction shall have no harmful effects. Test duration: at least 3 minutes. Water volume: 3.3 gallons per minute. Pressure: 30 kPa at a distance of 9.84 feet.
** Certain features may use more power and cause actual time to vary.
*** Some colors may not be available at all carriers and providers.
**** Qualcomm aptX compatibility required on source device.
UPC CODES
UPC 815425021901

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't stay on I've had this headset for about 4 months and about a week ago they just started randomly turning off and on. They will say power off, then power on and connected and will do that over Andy over until I shut them off. I turn them on again and it will happen maybe 10 mm in later or 5 min later but it happens again. Also, the phone features have never worked, I can't answer a call and and when I make a call no one can hear me. They are useless, going back to my wired apple headphones.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible for the person you're talking to I bought this to use while driving a company vehicle and working outside which sometimes is during poor weather conditions. I had a LG set prior to this one that was absolutely awesome but died due to rain and sweat which is why I chose LG and one designed for wet conditions. To my dismay the people I am talking to tell me over and over that they can't understand me, my phone sounds terrible, and call me back when you're not on that thing. I went back to the Verizon store to trade it in but was told my 14 days is up so there was nothing they can do. It really sux to spend this amount of money on something you can't use. I suggest looking for a different model or brand than this one.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad sound at the other end my friends complained they cannot hear me clearly. eventually, the on/off button will not work after charging the blue tooth....
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are a great design with one flaw Have had my pair for a year. Fantastic design, great feel, pretty good sound for how durable these are. But fix the microphone issue that seems to be the issue throughout every model. Less than a month in and no one can hear me on the phone.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth it! when appropriately working I bought this headset and it worked perfectly. A couple of weeks later it has given me a bit of a problem; where the bluetooth doesn't connect with my phone or computer at all, even if it's right in front of me. I've turned off and on both the set and the item I'm using. Sometimes it takes it a day or two before I can reconnect it. Sometimes I get the the message where the headset is not discoverable and since there's no button to make is discoverable or reset it (at least not one I could find) I'm left with an fashion accessory instead of a useable device. Other times if I answer a call through the button on my phone it automatically disconnects the bluetooth and I have to talk through my phone instead of the headset. When it does connect appropriately, it works great! the sound and quality is good. I don't have to put the volume up all the way. halfway is just fine. I forget that I'm even wearing it at times. Its manageable and flexible. I am glad I made this purchase even if there are a few inconveniences here and there.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from issues out of the box Right out of the box, the play/pause button did not work on any of my devices nor did it trigger the EQ function, indicating that it was defective. The second one I got as a replacement began to cut out on the right earbud a mere week after purchase. Additionally, the built in mic is in a terrible position and nobody can hear me speaking. I am constantly surprised at how fragile and unreliable Bluetooth earbuds are -- no matter the manufacturer. I am beyond tired of having a pair last no more than 3 months or being defective immediately from purchase. It makes me wonder if a bunch of children are collectively in charge of R&D and quality control.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG Headset I am very impressed with this headset. Never miss an incoming call. Very light, where sometimes I don't even realize it's on me.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sound!! I love the LG Tone Active II - I needed something to use when I work out. I wanted good sound and I wanted to have something that would not fall out of my ear while working out. The sound is GREAT and the ear buds stay put. Also, it goes for many days without a charge. In fairness, I only use it for 1-2.5 hours per day. But I have been charging it about once a week.
Date published: 2017-05-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05774428, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View HBS-A80 Black Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Why can't I play music through my headset?

Asked by: _tx_peach_1981_
Please ensure you have Media/Audio option turned on under the Bluetooth settings of the phone. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-16

 Why are the headphones not coming on after I charge them

Asked by: Liz waters
Hello Liz, we will need some more information to help out. Drop us a line on Twitter at @LGUSSupport or on Facebook @LGUSAMobile so we can get that info and see what is going on. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-07

I have an LG currently that when I attempt to voice dial it calls the last number dialed. Does this one upgrade that feature to true voice dial of my contacts etc?

Asked by: Shar9876
Briefly pressing the CALL button on the LG TONE Active® Bluetooth® Wireless Headset, Model # HBS-A80 activates "Voice Command", however, if the phone that you have does not support the Voice Dial function, this action activates the Last Number Redial...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-27

Can I connected two phones to the active via Bluetooth?

Asked by: Plumbrob
The LG TONE Active® Bluetooth® Wireless Headset, Model # HBS-A80 can be connected to two devices simultaneously. One of the phones will be established as the "Main Connected Device" and the other as the "Sub Connected Device". If simultaneously connected to two devices, the most recently connected device will be the "Main Connected Device" and the main functions will work based on that device...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-12

how do i enable this bluetooth to speak when someone is calling, and for me to speak when i need to make a call?

Asked by: sreid100
We appreciate your interest in this Bluetooth Headset. The TONE & TALK app does not appear to have the capability of reading back the Caller ID information. As such, unless the requested use is a feature of the phone itself, then this will not be an available option.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-11

My headset got a little wet and last night it kept vibrating today its not working at all  

Asked by: Jackieh
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Bluetooth Headset. The vibration operations should only occur if the device receives a call or gets out of range from the phone itself. If this is not the case, then the headset may require service. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-23

I have the HBS-A80 and one of the trim parts fell off the front near where the ear bud sits. How do I get a replacement?

Asked by: Brent34
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Bluetooth Headset. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 to make proper service arrangements.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-10

What can I do if the power button doesn't seem to be turning on and off?

Asked by: Jason420
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Bluetooth Headset. It is recommended to charge the headset fully. If the problem continues, even with a full charge, then the unit will likely require service. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-26
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05774428, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT