To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

BE16NU50

Superior data protection with M-DISC™ Support

The M-DISC™uses a patent rock-like recording surface instead of organic dye to etch your data onto a disc. The M-DISC has been tested and proven to outlast standard DVDs currently on the market.

Silent Play

The Silent Play technology helps reduce noise during playback by recognizing different multimedia and automatically adjusting the playback speed according to its criteria for optimal performance.

Super Multi Compatibility

LG Super Multi Compatibility optical drives can read and write different types of disc formats in one convenient package.
1. DVD+R 2. RW DVD-R 3. RW DVD-RAM 4. Blu-ray Disc
This gives you the option to choose the media best suited for each task

Experience 3D Blu-ray

Take entertainment to the next level with 3D using the new Power BD-DVD 3D ver. Software bundle. You can now enjoy the excitement of all your favorite Blu-ray titles on your PC and with 2D to 3D converting you can bring a new dimension to all your videos.

BDXL™ Support: Ultimate Capacity

Three Layer BDXL-R/BDXL RE discs offer 100GB capacity while quad layer BDXL-R discs boast 128GB storage capacity on a single disc. It is equivalent of 27 standard DVDs or 5 single layer Blu-ray discs.

Windows 10 Compatible

Enjoy complete freedom in use with compatible support for Windows 10.

Superspeed USB 3.0

Give yourself an instant upgrade as the new SUPERSPEED USB 3.0 is up to 10 times faster than USB 2.0 and higher-transfer rates of 5Gbps compared to USB 2.0 that only offered 480Mbps you can now send and receive data simultaneously.

16x BD-R Writing

Capture all the excitement of Blu-ray with the 16x BD-R writing capability. Plus, now you can store more data on to BDXL™ discs.

TRANSFER RATES - WRITE (MAX)
TRANSFER RATES - READ (MAX)
OTHER FEATURES
ACCESS TIME (1/3 STROKE)
SUSTAINED TRANSFER RATE
BURST TRANSFER RATE
BUFFER SIZE
HOST INTERFACE
COMPLIANCE
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
OPERATING SYSTEMS
DIMENSIONS (W x H x D)
CONTENTS
WARRANTY
UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 3 out of 5 by from RiDATA BD-R 4XI LTH Gold Series Error writing this lth disk!!!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works well I purchased this about six months ago, and I've been able to burn Blu-ray and DVDs equally in under an hour for most movies that I have created on my computer. One I have created the movie on my computer, burning it to a Blu-ray or DVD is easy with my LG M-Disc burner.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blu-ray Drive Great optical drive! It has high quality, it looks good and runs quietly. Plug-n-play installation was easy on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit. The read and write speeds are great for casual users and super users. I haven't used the included CyberLink Media Suite 10 yet.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE PIECE OF EQUIPMENT I like this product, it does the job, and I've had no problems with it.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I purchased a new laptop and needed to get an external CD DVD drive. I have tested the product some and thus far I am very pleased with all that it does and can do.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MDISC Support not good This burner says that it has MDisc support. If you want to burn a BDXL 100GB MDisc, this one won't do the job. The only MDisc it supports is the 4.7 GB. This is not clear at all in their ads or in the manual.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great BlueRay Player Instructions were pretty straight forward and the device connected to my Laptop with no issues. The player and software are performing as described by LG. I still have to test out the BlueRay writing option. Wish the unit was smaller for easier portability.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lacks ability to work with VGA projector I bought to connect with my VGA projector, my computer has both a HDMI and VGA output. I have the VGA output connected to my projector and the HDMI output connected to a computer monitor. The computer can easily switch to ether or both outputs. The LG Blue Ray disk drive does wonderfully well when run with the monitor, however, when I attempt to use the projector I get and error stating that it cannot play because it is not connected to an HDMI port and does have the rights to show through a VGA output. I was going to return it but decided that it was a good drive and it may be a CyberLink software problem, Nothing wrong with the drive. I would advise my friends to buy it if the have a HDMI projector because it is does work well and is economical.
Date published: 2017-11-20
  • y_2018, m_6, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05760587, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is the LG BE16NU50 blu Ray writer compatible with a Mac ?

Asked by: Damien1980
The LG External Blu-ray/DVD Writer 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback & M-DISC™ Support, Model # BE16NU50 is compatible with the Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP operating systems and connects via USB. For inquiries and assistance with Parallels Desktop for Mac, please contact Parallels at https://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/support/ ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-27

I've spent over a month trying to purchase this product and no one has it available. Not Best Buy, not B&H Photo and Video, not Amazon, not Dell, etc. What is going on?  Will I ever be able to buy this product?

Asked by: Essarc
Hi Essarc. We regret to read about the difficulty that you have had trying to purchase the LG External Blu-ray/DVD Writer 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback & M-DISC™ Support, Model # BE16NU50. Unfortunately, we can only provide you with information about which stores or online retailers are authorized to sell this product by providing a "Where to Buy" link on its product page on our site that you can then click on to enter your zip code in the appropriate field of the page that opens up. This will then list retailers within a 50-mile radius of your location who might be carrying the unit and online sites that will also be selling it. Regrettably, we do not have access to they inventory nor information on expected delivery dates for the product, but that information is alos proprietary information that only the stores can provide you with. Please contact them to inquire if they have an expected date of delivery or if they will be fulfilling their orders for this unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-21

It is nearly impossible to find this drive anywhere.  None of the major stores carry it, and it is just as difficult to find online.  Has this product been discontinued?

Asked by: Essarc
We regret to read that you are having difficulty finding the LG External Blu-ray/DVD Writer 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback & M-DISC™ Support, Model # BE16NU50 and apologize for any inconvenience. This unit is still a current and is just showing as 'Out of Stock' for a majority of the stores that are carrying it. The only online site showing 'In Stock' is Dell...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-20

Does this support 100GB M-Discs?

Asked by: c240amg
Our 100GB M-Disc meets the Blu-Ray specifications for a TL BDXL and therefore should work in every BD-XL burner. If it does not work, there is a problem with the drive not the 100GB M-Disc.
Answered by: MDiscRnD
Date published: 2017-12-22

Does the BE16NU50 model burn m-discs?

Asked by: a3nn
Our 100GB M-Disc meets all the Blu-ray specifications and should write on all BD-XL burners. If it is not working there is a problem with the drive not the M-Disc.
Answered by: MDiscRnD
Date published: 2017-12-22

is this compatible with the Lenovo - Yoga 920 2-in-1 13.9" 4K Ultra HD Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - 512GB SSD?

Asked by: crimsoncomet
Our drives should be compatible with most computers. We do recommend reaching out to the computer manufacturer to ensure compatibility as well. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-07

Can the BE16NU50 be used with Windows 10 running in Parallels on an iMac?

Asked by: Ekimac
The LG External Blu-ray/DVD Writer 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback & M-DISC™ Support, Model # BE16NU50 is compatible with the Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP operating systems and connects via USB. For inquiries and assistance with Parallels Desktop for Mac, please contact Parallels at https://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/support/...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-22

When I try to burn a blu ray disc I get the following error message:Device error code 3 note create stc sequence fail to write.

Asked by: Tedhelm
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. We would be more than happy to troubleshoot this matter with you. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance with this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-04
  • y_2018, m_6, d_19, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05760587, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT