To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Ultra-Slim Portable DVD Burner & Drive with M-DISC™ Support

  • SP80NB60

Key Features

  • Ultra Slim 0.55" Portable DVD Writer Drive
  • USB 2.0 interface (up to 480Mbits /s, USB 3.0 Compatible)
  • Max 8x DVD±R Write Speed
  • Max 24x CD Write Speed
  • M-DISC Support
  • CD Family and DVD-ROM Read Compatible

TV Connectivity

Enjoy your media on your TVs, digital photo frames and PCs by simply connecting your drive with USB cable.

Superior data protection with M-DISC™ Support

The M-DISC™uses a patent rock-like recording surface instead of organic dye to etch your data onto a disc. The M-DISC has been tested and proven to outlast standard DVDs currently on the market.

Silent Play

The Silent Play technology helps reduce noise during playback by recognizing different multimedia and automatically adjusting the playback speed according to its criteria for optimal performance.

Super Multi Compatibility

LG Super Multi Compatibility optical drives can read and write different types of disc formats in one convenient package.
1. DVD+R 2. RW DVD-R 3. RW DVD-RAM 
This gives you the option to choose the media best suited for each task

Mini USB

Provides easy connection with Mini USB cable. No additional power source needed.

8x Writing Speed

Burn more discs in less time with 8x DVD-Max writing speed.

Style Evolution from Slimmer to Slimmest

The overall slim design of only 0.55 inches high optimizes space for the slim OPU installation. It allows for a sleek companion to thin Ultrabooks and enhanced portability.

SUMMARY
Drive Type External
SUSTAINED TRANSFER RATE
CD-ROM 3.6 MB/s (24x) max.
DVD-ROM 11.08 Mbytes/s (8x) max.
CONTENTS
Power2Go Yes
Power Backup Yes
You Cam Yes
Label Print Yes
Norton Internet Security (60 days) Yes
User Manual Yes
OPERATING SYSTEMS
OPERATING SYSTEMS Windows Windows® 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Mac OS X (10.7.5)
BURST TRANSFER RATE
USB 2.0 interface up to 480Mbits/s, USB 3.0 Compatible
BUFFER SIZE
BUFFER SIZE 0.75MB Buffer Under-run prevention function embedded
TRANSFER RATES - WRITE (MAX)
Type Ultra Slim Portable DVD Writer
CD-R 10x CLV, 16x PCAV, 24x CAV
CD-RW 4x, 10x CLV, 16x ZCLV, 24x ZCLV
DVD+R 2.4x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
DVD-R (SL) 2x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
DVD+R (DL) 2.4x CLV, 4x PCAV, 6x PCAV
DVD+RW 2.4x CLV, 4x ZCLV, 8x ZCLV
DVD-R (DL) 2x CLV, 4x, 6x PCAV
DVD-RAM 2x, 3x ZCLV, 5x PCAV
DVD-RW 2x, 4x, 6x ZCLV
M-DISC 4x PCAV
HOST INTERFACE
USB Yes
COMPLIANCE
RoHS Yes
EMC/EMI CE Marking, C-Tick (RCM) Mark, Korean EMC (KC), Taiwan EMC (BSMI), VCCI, FCC
Safety UL UL 60950-1 Second Edition
TÜV EN 60950-1 / EN60825-1
SEMKO EN 60950-1 / EN60825-1
Laser Safety Class 1 laser product comply with DHHS rules 21 CFR Subchapter J Class 1 laser product to EN60825-1 / IEC 60825-1
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
CPU Intel Pentium4 2.4GHz or Higher
Recommended Intel Pentium4 3.2GHz or Higher
RAM 1GB or Higher
Video Memory 64 MB or higher (128 MB recommended)
HDD 20GB or more of available space
TRANSFER RATES - READ (MAX)
DVD-RW 8x CAV
DVD-Video(CSS Compliant Disc) 4x CAV (SL/DL)
M-DISC 8x CAV
DVD-ROM (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD-RAM 6x CAV
DVD-R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD+RW 8x CAV
DVD+R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
CD-R/RW/ROM 24x/24x/24xCAV
CD-DA 24x CAV
OTHER FEATURES
Other Features TV Connectivitiy, Silent Play, Jamless Play
TYPE
External Yes
OTHER
Color Black
Dimensions (WxHxD) 5.67" x 0.55" x 5.41" (144 x 14 x 137.5mm)
Weight 0.42 lbs. (190g)
ACCESS TIME (1/3 STROKE)
DVD-RAM 260ms typ.
DVD-ROM 160ms typ.
CD-ROM 140ms typ.
WARRANTY/UPC
UPC 058231313406

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from i bought this and installed the correct drives and it still doesn't work
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work to play movies Does not play movies on my computer. Bought this for a trip and could not play movies for my kids. By the time I returned from the trip could not return the product.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and Easy to use I bought this item about two months ago and I was like plug and play. My computer was able to recognize it and download the necessary drivers and then it was ready for use!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this drive! Light weight, great performance plus being able to watch movies directly on a TV with USB port.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and easy to work I bought this for the LG name and price. Read review of ease and quality. It was right very easy to use and it's an LG
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WHAT A BAD PRODUCT IT NEEDS A PROGRAM TO RUN AND USES CYBERLINK WHICH IS THE WORST AFTER DELL AND HP PRODUCTS.... IF YOU BURN A CD OR DVD DOESN'T PLAY ON OTHER LAP TOPS OR COMPUTERS... YOU BUY THE UPDATED VERSION FROM CYBERLINK AND IT DOESN'T EVEN WORK ON YOUR OWN LAP TOP.... WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY THESE PRODUCTS ARE.... NOT GOOD FOR WORK OR FUN.... NOT RECOMMENDED
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A piece of junk I wanted to burn CD's, but it would only read an occasional CD and then shortly stopped showing up in my device list. A total waste of money!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor at playing DVDs Just bought it at Best Buy. I agree with the reviews that say it is poor at playing DVDs. I have not been able to get it to play one DVD! All the DVDs work fine on my old laptop! Will try to return to Best Buy.
Date published: 2017-05-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05183193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SP80NB60 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Iam trying to connect this unit to my Kia creep to play CDs but having no luck can anybody advise

Asked by: Goalie
Our offices, in the United States, do not have specific product information for units released in the United Kingdom. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-16

I have the slim portable DVD writer model sp60nb50. I can't get it to play a DVD movie. What can I do to fix this?

Asked by: Kimcrick
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. The ability to view a video file will depend upon the software that has been installed on the computer. This drive does not have direct relation to this. The region code is also associated with the software. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance with this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-20

I'm trying to set up my new DVD writer, but I've lost the download disk to it, is there any sites I can go to that will do the same things as the disk? I've paid and bought the writer, I've only lost the disk that came with it

Asked by: makay
Information relating to a replacement software CD can be found on our website at http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT30000780-20150112066775-others.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-18

Can I transfer from a video recorder (camcorder) straight a dvd?

Asked by: Tlittleton28
The LG Ultra-Slim Portable DVD Burner & Drive with M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB60 has a USB 2.0 interface (up to 480Mbits /s, USB 3.0 Compatible) and has to be plugged into your computer. It is compatible with the Windows® 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, and Mac OS X (10.7.5) Operating Systems...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-14

Can i record from tv to a disk

Asked by: Kimi9
We appreciate your interest in this Optical Drive. Regretfully, it would not be possible to record from the TV to the drive.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-08

Is the LG Ultra Slim Portable Writer DVD Writer compatible with the macOS Sierra?

Asked by: BellaBrie
The LG Ultra-Slim Portable DVD Burner & Drive with M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB60 is compatible with the Mac OS X (10.7.5) or higher operating systems...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-28

I have the BlueRay version of this product. I am trying to use it with my MacBook Pro and it recognizes the product, but it won't let me watch anything that I put into the drive? HELP!! I was told that this wouldn't be a problem. 

Asked by: alyssabell
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Disk Drive and its operations. If the computer cannot load the software properly, or is incompatible for any reason, then it may not be able to communicate with the drive. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional information and assistance in this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-16

I've bought this DVD writer but I dont know how to play a DVD on it. I'm in hospital at the minute and this is the only entertainment I've got but I can't use it.

Asked by: Jadeyy42
Our offices, in the United States, do not have specific product information for units released in the United Kingdom. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05183193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT