To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Ultra-Slim Portable DVD Burner & Drive with M-DISC™ Support

  • SP80NB60

Key Features

  • Ultra Slim 0.55" Portable DVD Writer Drive
  • USB 2.0 interface (up to 480Mbits /s, USB 3.0 Compatible)
  • Max 8x DVD±R Write Speed
  • Max 24x CD Write Speed
  • M-DISC Support
  • CD Family and DVD-ROM Read Compatible
SUSTAINED TRANSFER RATE
CD-ROM 3.6 MB/s (24x) max.
DVD-ROM 11.08 Mbytes/s (8x) max.
CONTENTS
Power2Go Yes
Power Backup Yes
You Cam Yes
Label Print Yes
Norton Internet Security (60 days) Yes
User Manual Yes
OPERATING SYSTEMS
OPERATING SYSTEMS Windows Windows® 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Mac OS X (10.7.5)
BURST TRANSFER RATE
USB 2.0 interface up to 480Mbits/s, USB 3.0 Compatible
BUFFER SIZE
BUFFER SIZE 0.75MB Buffer Under-run prevention function embedded
TRANSFER RATES - WRITE (MAX)
Type Ultra Slim Portable DVD Writer
CD-R 10x CLV, 16x PCAV, 24x CAV
CD-RW 4x, 10x CLV, 16x ZCLV, 24x ZCLV
DVD+R 2.4x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
DVD-R (SL) 2x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
DVD+R (DL) 2.4x CLV, 4x PCAV, 6x PCAV
DVD+RW 2.4x CLV, 4x ZCLV, 8x ZCLV
DVD-R (DL) 2x CLV, 4x, 6x PCAV
DVD-RAM 2x, 3x ZCLV, 5x PCAV
DVD-RW 2x, 4x, 6x ZCLV
M-DISC 4x PCAV
HOST INTERFACE
USB Yes
COMPLIANCE
RoHS Yes
EMC/EMI CE Marking, C-Tick (RCM) Mark, Korean EMC (KC), Taiwan EMC (BSMI), VCCI, FCC
Safety UL UL 60950-1 Second Edition
TÜV EN 60950-1 / EN60825-1
SEMKO EN 60950-1 / EN60825-1
Laser Safety Class 1 laser product comply with DHHS rules 21 CFR Subchapter J Class 1 laser product to EN60825-1 / IEC 60825-1
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
CPU Intel Pentium4 2.4GHz or Higher
Recommended Intel Pentium4 3.2GHz or Higher
RAM 1GB or Higher
Video Memory 64 MB or higher (128 MB recommended)
HDD 20GB or more of available space
TRANSFER RATES - READ (MAX)
DVD-RW 8x CAV
DVD-Video(CSS Compliant Disc) 4x CAV (SL/DL)
M-DISC 8x CAV
DVD-ROM (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD-RAM 6x CAV
DVD-R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD+RW 8x CAV
DVD+R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
CD-R/RW/ROM 24x/24x/24xCAV
CD-DA 24x CAV
OTHER FEATURES
Other Features TV Connectivitiy, Silent Play, Jamless Play
TYPE
External Yes
OTHER
Color Black
Dimensions (WxHxD) 5.67" x 0.55" x 5.41" (144 x 14 x 137.5mm)
Weight 0.42 lbs. (190g)
ACCESS TIME (1/3 STROKE)
DVD-RAM 260ms typ.
DVD-ROM 160ms typ.
CD-ROM 140ms typ.
UPC
SP80NB60 058231313406

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Highly disappointed I agree with many of these reviewers. I'm highly disappointed that this product does not let me view DVD movies on my laptop. My new laptop does not have a DVD/CD slot so I bought this with it a few months ago and it is useless.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish I had read the reviews before buying I bought this after buying a new computer without a DVD drive. It worked fine for maybe a week then it started getting louder and louder every time I used it. Finally after about a month and half it stop recognizing it on any computer no matter what type of disk was inserted. I only wish I had seen these reviews before buying since this is a product I use everyday for school. It made it very difficult to finish out the semester especially when customer serviced needed the broken one before they could issue a new one or replace it. Leaving me unable to do my homework for a week unless I wanted to go out and buy a new one.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Software Ground Zero I purchased this item at Best Buy. Software will not open to install. IMAC does not see this external drive. Cannot use.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money. Waste of money. Only burned about 20 CD-Rs over the course of a month, then started making loud buzzing noises as though it was an airplane taking off, took forever to stop, CD-R error rendered unusable.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Product: Absolute garbage I bought this product with the intent to run dvds and CDs on my ASUS laptop, which is what the advertisement claims it can do. It doesn't do either correctly or efficiently! You have to install a separate media player, and even then, the probability of a DVD actually playing is inconsistent. Sometimes I'll be able to play a DVD for a short amount of time, but other times it will refuse to play the same DVD! Absolutely awful product. Do not waste your money on this piece of trash.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not do what I expected I bought this drive earlier this week at Best Buy. I specifically told the sales person I wanted to be able to watch a DVD or listen to a CD. This unit doesn't allow you to do either. I tried the HELP which was no help at all.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not perform the expected functions. Ans as to be expected these days, the Best Buy geeks couldn't be bothered to help. Should have known better.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, easy to install & use I bought this in September 2016 as 2 of my laptops did not the this feature. I was able to use it on the one laptop to install my printer & get it running again. I'll be using it on my MacBook Pro also. Thanks for a great product!
Date published: 2016-12-31
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05183193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SP80NB60 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I received this as a gift for my television which has a USB port.  Plugged it in and nothing happened.  Suggestions, or is it some sort of compatability issue?

Asked by: teresa1005
It does work is you read in the instructions to open the drawer and hold the eject button for 2 seconds to put the drive into the correct mode to read the data as if it were a flash drive. Power off or press the eject button for two seconds a second time and the drive goes back to a PC external drive.
Answered by: LarryHHarris
Date published: 2017-04-07

How do I play a DVD with this??? I have downloaded the CyberLinkMediaSuite. Used the given cd. Insert my DVD and nothing...

Asked by: sciryak
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. The CyberLink Media Suite does not appear to have DVD Video Playback capabilities without the PowerDVD addition. It is recommended to visit our website at http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-SP80NB60 and check the HELP LIBRARY under TROUBLESHOOTING. Select the title DID YOU LOSE YOUR CYBERLINK MEDIA SUITE INSTALLATION DISC? – Burners & Drives. Selecting this will provide a link for the PowerDVD Download. For additional questions in this matter, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-28

how do i rip and burn Dvds on this device?

Asked by: FREDRICK89
We appreciate your interest in this Optical Drive. The player has the ability to scan all information on any compatible optical disc, whether it be CD-R, Audio CD, DVD-R or DVD Video. The options of what can be done with this data, and how it is done will be based upon the software that is installed on the computer system to which the drive is connected.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-11

Why can't I burn or write or make a DVD or CD using the LG writer using movies i downloaded?

Asked by: LowderK3
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. The drive has the capability of writing whatever files and data available. If there is a restriction to any burn sessions, it will likely be related to the software or file content itself, such as copyright protection.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-08

Can I play a  music cd with it?

Asked by: Pipermax
We appreciate your interest in this Optical Drive. The types of discs which can be read will depend upon the software installed on the computer.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-03

Does it play blue ray?

Asked by: Deb M
The LG Ultra-Slim Portable DVD Burner & Drive with M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB60 will play CDs and DVDs but not Blu-ray DVDs...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-02-27

I don't have the cd that comes with the Slim portable DVD writer. Can you send me a new one to download?

Asked by: Morgan97
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. We normally do not have extra disks available for these drives. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for any assistance which might be available.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-25

I can't get the volume to work on playing a disk. Can you help?

Asked by: DebbieBB
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. This device has not been designed with any volume controls or settings. All such playback capabilities must be formatted properly on the disk and must be connected to a properly configured computer. For additional assistance, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05183193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT