To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Slim Portable DVD Writer DVD Disc Playback & DVD M-DISC™ Support

  • SP80NB80

Key Features

  • M-DISC™ SUPPORT
  • MAX 8X DVD±R WRITE SPEED
  • Silent Play
  • WINDOWS 10 COMPATIBLE

Superior data protection with M-DISC™ Support

The M-DISC™uses a patent rock-like recording surface instead of organic dye to etch your data onto a disc. The M-DISC has been tested and proven to outlast standard DVDs currently on the market.

Silent Play

The Silent Play technology helps reduce noise during playback by recognizing different multimedia and automatically adjusting the playback speed according to its criteria for optimal performance.

Super Multi Compatibility

LG Super Multi Compatibility optical drives can read and write different types of disc formats in one convenient package.
1. DVD+R 2. RW DVD-R 3. RW DVD-RAM 
This gives you the option to choose the media best suited for each task

Windows 10 Compatible

Enjoy complete freedom in use with compatible support for Windows 10.

8x Writing Speed

Burn more discs in less time with 8x DVD-Max writing speed.

TRANSFER RATES- WRITE (MAX)
MODEL SP80NB80
Type SlimDVD Writer
DVD-R (SL) 2x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
DVD-R (DL) 2x CLV, 4x, 6x PCAV
DVD+R (SL) 2.4x CLV, 4x PCAV, 8x CAV
M-DISC DVD (DVD+R) 4x PCAV
DVD+R (DL) 2.4x CLV, 4x, 6x PCAV
DVD+RW 2.4x CLV, 4x, 8x ZCLV
DVD-RW 2x CLV, 4x, 6x ZCLV
DVD-RAM 2x, 3x CLV, 5x PCAV
CD-R 10x CLV, 16x PCAV, 24x CAV
CD-RW 4x, 10x CLV, 16x ZCLV, 24X ZCLV
TRANSFER RATES- READ (MAX)
DVD-ROM (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD-R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD+R (SL/DL) 8x CAV
DVD-RW 8x CAV
DVD+RW 8x CAV
DVD-RAM 6x CAV
DVD-Video (Reading) 8x CAV
CD-R/RW/ROM 24x / 24x / 24x CAV
CD-DA Reading 24x CAV
OTHER FEATURES
Silent - CD-DA/Video-CD 10x CAV
Silent - DVD-Video 4x CAV
ACCESS TIME (Random Acc)
DVD-ROM 160ms typ.
CD-ROM 140ms typ.
SUSTAINED TRANSFER RATE
DVD-ROM 11.08 MB/s (8x) max.
CD-ROM 3.6 MB/s (24x) max.
BUFFER SIZE
BUFFER SIZE 0.75MB Buffer Under-run prevention function embedded
HOST INTERFACE
Internal (Drive) USB
COMPLIANCE
RoHS Yes
Safety UL Yes
CB & IEC60825-1 Report Yes
TUV Yes
SEMKO Yes
FDA Yes
SONCAP Yes
CNAS Yes
EMC KC / BSMI /CE / FCC /VCCI / C-TICK / CU
Laser Safety Class 1 laser product comply with DHHS rules 21 CFR Subchapter J Class 1 laser product to EN60825-1 / IEC 60825-1
OPERATING SYSTEMS
OPERATING SYSTEMS Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Mac OS X
DIMENSIONS
W x D x H 5.7” x 5.4” x 0.5”
WEIGHT
WEIGHT 0.44 lb
CONTENTS
Slim Portable DVD Writer Yes
Install Disc for Windows (Buyer Request) Power2Go; PowerBackup; Label print; You Cam; Manual
WARRANTY/UPC
UPC 719192608948

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless I bought this two days ago and there is absolutely no support from the manufacturer and it does not work with MAC at all. Everything on it is for Microsoft. It claims it will work with a mac but it does not.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bought this for my mac mini....simple plug and play works perfectly
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Drama; Excellent Tool Worked with Win10 right out of the box. No muss, fuss, bother. "Invisible" as you want hardware to be. "Slimline" it is, traveling securely in laptop bag with all the other junk we throw in. Reads everything, writes on everything. Can't ask for anything more. Thanks, LG.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dvd not playing DVD not playing asking a secong softwware or app to play.. not happy
Date published: 2017-08-07
  • y_2018, m_1, d_15, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05845389, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SP80NB80 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

When I plug in writer error code 19 shows up how to fix

Asked by: Travis37
You can try to uninstall the driver by going to Device Manager > expand DVD/CD-ROM drives > right-click the CD and DVD devices > then select Uninstall. Then restart your computer. If you will still have the error, then it will be on the registry settings of your computer. In that case, you need to contact Microsoft about the registry settings. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-27

How do I write to a disc ?

Asked by: Jeffnardo
The LG Slim Portable DVD Writer DVD Disc Playback & DVD M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB80 has a USB Host Interface and connects to your computer/laptop via the USB port. It comes with a software CD that you need to install on your computer and when you select the files that you want to write to a CD or DVD that is inserted in you will need to follow the directions on your computer to write (burn) the files to the media disc you have on the drive. You may need to right-click the file for the options. If uncertain, check the owner's manual for your computer on how to write to a drive. The SP80NB80 appears as another drive on your computer that you can select as the drive that you want to send/write files etc., to...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

Will this play mini dvd from camcorder 

Asked by: Mavrickmktg
The DVD loading tray in the LG Slim Portable DVD Writer DVD Disc Playback & DVD M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB80 is only set up to use standard DVDs. The mini DVD is a non-standard DVD size which is about half the size of a standard DVD disc, so you will have to purchase a Mini DVD adapter so your mini DVDs can snap into it. This adapter will fill the space that would normally be taken up by a DVD, letting the player load it as normal....^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-24

When I try to play a movie using the software provided, I can find the DVD and movie, but when I try to play it I get the following error: Cyberlink Power Media Player does not support the playback of this media format.

Asked by: Scott Sw
This certainly is something we would love to look into with you. Please reach out to our computer specialist by calling 800-243-0000 so we can assist you with this. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-27

How do I open files in another program other than that dreadful "Media Viewer" that was installed in my computer when I ran the CD that came with the SP80NB80 DVD Writer/Player?!

Asked by: Gulshanx
More information would be needed as to the computer and operating system being used. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-26

My DVD player has been working for a few weeks, but now when I plug it in my computer says it doesn't recognize the USB drive. I haven't done anything differently while using it.

Asked by: Phoenix1
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Disk Drive and its operations. If the computer cannot load the software properly, or is incompatible for any reason, then it may not be able to communicate with the drive. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional information and assistance in this matter.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-11-18

I am trying to watch a DVD movie on this but can't seem to get it to work. I installed all the software on the included disc. What do I need to do?

Asked by: Andyman1999
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Optical Drive. The playback of discs created on this drive will be dependent upon the completion of the finalization process performed through the software used. If there are problems with the discs, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-09

CAN WE CONNECT THIS DRIVE TO TV

Asked by: DILIP9949
The TV Connectivity function in the LG Slim Portable DVD Writer DVD Disc Playback & DVD M-DISC™ Support, Model # SP80NB80 allows you to connect this drive to a TV that supports USB Connectivity...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-05
  • y_2018, m_1, d_15, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05845389, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT