Discontinued Product

Sensible Phone, Right price

VGA Camera, Five-Way Navigation Key, Text and Multimedia Messaging

GS170

  • VGA Camera
  • Text and Picture Messaging
  • Bluetooth® Connectivity
  • Phone Book with 1,000 Contacts
Enlarge

VGA Camera, Five-Way Navigation Key, Text and Multimedia Messaging

GS170

  • Technology
  • Carrier
  • Form Factor
  • Camera
  • Speaker Phone
  • Bluetooth
  • Web
  • HAC
  • Frequency
  • DataTransmission
  • Dimensions
  • Weight
  • Display
  • GSM
  • T-Mobile
  • Flip
  • VGA Camera
  • One-Touch Speakerphone
  • Version: 2.1 + EDR (Enhanced Data Rate)
  • Mobile Web†
  • Hearing Aid Compatible (M3/T3-Rating)
  • 850/1900 MHz Systems (Dual-Band)
  • GPRS†
  • 3.62" (H) x 1.87" (W) x 0. 75" (D)
  • 2.98 oz.
  • Internal LCD 262K Color TFT, 176 x 220 Pixels, 1.76" External LCD: 65K Color TFT, 96 x 64 Pixels, 1.04
Back To Top

 

Rated 3 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this phone. I really like this phone I still wish they made flip phones not one who uses all the fancy stuff on them now. But I'm actually looking into a new phone and it is another Lg. I have several appliances from them and I love them all. Really good products I hope thy stay that way. Thanks Lg for great products. i would recommend an Lg product over the other brands offered 10 to 1 November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome phone! I just wanted simple phone and have had this LG GS170 for several years...right now am experiencing getting another one as the screen went blank and my insurance says they don't cover it...TMobile no longer carries this model....I have a loaner that I hate (another brand) I don't want touch screen and all the fancy stuff. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 For a basic phone this is great. All I need is a basic phone and this one has always met my expectations, such as work when I need to use it. Great phone for the cost! July 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic phone I've been using this phone for the past 3 months and the issues mentioned by other reviewers haven't been an issue for me. Regarding texting, the * key, as one reviewer mentioned, is how to toggle through the different T9 words. Regarding the alerts when messages are received, I always get a beep although it's a bit quiet even after turning the volume to high. Some minor issues involve the very fragile and tiny plastic panel that covers the connector for charging the phone. Another LG user I know snapped this panel off but says it's not been a problem leaving the connection exposed. However, this panel perhaps should've been made of rubber . Another minor annoyance is the somewhat difficult to open cover, i.e., trying to grip the outside to open this flip phone. When the phone is folded closed, the outside is smooth and somewhat hard to grasp so I have to use my fingernails when trying to open it. Overall, good basic phone. June 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by T9 not as bad as reviewed I just started using this phone, so can not really review it much yet. It is replacing a Samsung Stripe which is also a very basic phone. For the review complaining about the arrow keys not cycling through the different word choices, it took me all of about 2 minutes on Google to figure that out. My Samsung used down on the directional control for that function. On Wikipedia, it mentions that the * key is the most common one for that, and sure enough, that works on this phone. I am not used to it being in a different position yet, but it is nice knowing that it works! March 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst phone I've ever had It takes an incredibly bad product to make me want to spend time reviewing it. This is that incredibly bad product. Forget the mentions of memory and so on. If you're looking at this phone, you want a basic phone for talk and text. I wanted a basic phone that would keep me from having to invest hundreds of dollars in a smartphone, since the last thing I need is another piece of expensive technology sucking up my time and money. I've mainly used (excellent) Samsung phones in the past, but this piece of junk was one of two or three T-Mobile basic phones offered by the Best Buy near Columbus Circle, and although it was a bargain at around $25, I thought, "how bad could it be?" (Yes, incredibly bad.) The T9 function is unbelievable. When you try to type "me" in any basic phone, it types "of." In every other phone I've ever had, you can then use the arrow keys to scroll through other word choices. Not this one. You have to manually go into a menu, change to the alphabetic function, manually type the word you want, then go back into the menu and change back to T9. It takes days to even write a text. Does not consistently report when messages are received. (Text or voice messages.) This is kind of a problem if you want to use your phone for, oh, knowing when you've received calls or text messages. This phone can literally screw up your life. If you need a cell phone to do the basics that a cell phone is supposed to do, stay away from this waste of money. December 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone If you want to play games on the internet this is NOT the phone for you. However, if you want to actually talk to your friends and family it's fantastic. Holds a charge for 7 to 10 days with average use. Contacts and organizer are very useful. Highly recommend for someone who wants a phone and not a pocket computer (game console!) November 29, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pitiful phone Poor backlight, espicially the front of the flip, poor overall quality. November 25, 2011
2 Next>>

Stay-in-touch the sensible way with the GS170, an affordable phone from LG. Whether it's in your glove compartment for emergencies or your pocket every day, this phone will cover your calling and text messaging needs without cluttering or confusing you with a lot of unnecessary features you don't care about—or crippling your budget with a big price tag.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

Get The Latest Product News

Please enter your email address to sign up for our Newsletter.

close