Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

P509 Black
P509 Black
P509 Black
P509 Black
P509 Black
P509 Black

Discontinued Product

Make a difference

Android 2.2-Powered Smartphone, 7 Customizable Home Screens, Virtual QWERTY, 3.2 MP Camera & Camcorder, Snapdragon™ processor

LG Optimus T (P509 Black)

  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Snapdragon™ processor
  • 3.2 Megapixel Camera and Camcorder
  • Wi-Fi Hotspot Connectivity
Rating / Reviews
Be the first to review

Enlarge

Android 2.2-Powered Smartphone, 7 Customizable Home Screens, Virtual QWERTY, 3.2 MP Camera & Camcorder, Snapdragon™ processor

P509 Black

SHOW  HIDE Technical Specifications
  • Technology
  • Carrier
  • Camera
  • Music Player
  • Smartphone
  • Qwerty
  • Touch Screen
  • Speaker Phone
  • Bluetooth
  • Web
  • Processor
  • Frequency
  • DataTransmission
  • Dimensions
  • Weight
  • Display
  • Social Networking
  • GSM
  • T-Mobile
  • 3.2 Megapixel Autofocus Camera and Camcorder
  • Music Player for MP3, WMA, Unprotected AAC & Unprotected AAC+
  • Android™-Powered
  • Virtual QWERTY Keyboard
  • Large 3.2" External Touch Screen with Tactile Feedback
  • One-Touch Speakerphone
  • Version: 2.1 + EDR (Enhanced Data Rate)
  • Full HTML Web Browser with Google Search†
  • Snapdragon™ processor
  • 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz (Quad-Band/Dual-Mode)
  • GPRS/EDGE/UMTS/HSDPA 7.2Mbps†
  • 4.46" (h) x 2.32" (W) x 0.52" (D)
  • 4.48 oz.
  • 16.5M color TFT, 480 x 320 pixels, 3.2"
  • Social Network Message Key—send quick updates to Twitter, Facebook, Myspace, or added social networks†
Back to Top

 

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I love my LG Optimus T P509 best phone i have had mine for 4 years now i am sad to say i have to up grade i can only hope That my New LG is just as good and relayable as this has been . I LOVE MY P509 February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay phone... at first I've had this phone for almost 2 years... it was good for like the first month, but then it started lagging and being ridiculously slow. The power button would not always respond and I had to push it like 8 times before it turns off. The worst part is memory. You can put nothing on it and it comes with a lot of stupid apps I don't want or use. Also, whenever I reboot the phone, it takes forever for anything to load, and you have to wait maybe half an hour before the response time is normal. And any apps stored on the SD card will not show up until way later (sometimes never). The phone often will not send texts until I restart the phone (it just says "sending...") or it will receive the same text 4 times. However, there are a few good things... it's nearly unbreakable. I've dropped my phone countless times and from dangerous heights as well. I once dropped it from standing height onto the road and it bounced up a couple feet and landed completely fine. I've spilled coffee and other liquids on it several times and nothing happened. I would most likely not recommend it to someone looking for active phone use. If you rarely use your phone for anything other than texting or calling, but would still like to have web/email capabilities on occasion, then this phone is okay. But if you're looking for gaming, apps, lots of internet use, etc. then look elsewhere. November 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Get for your youngling Not much internal space, bloatware almost impossible to remove, sd card reader doesn't work all the time (dismounts the card), and freezes/resets frequently. Have had to do a factory reset 4 times since I got the phone. Battery is finally starting to bite the dust after almost 2 years. January 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor phone, extremely disappointed When I first got this phone, I was very excited, but after some time passed, I felt so frustrated and disappointed with the product. Firstly, the memory goes by super fast. I have about 20 apps installed and I put all the apps I was able to, on sd card, but then there where about 5 apps that I wasn't able to transfer (because it didn't give me that option for those apps), and they took up all of my memory space; and I have no photos, no videos, and almost no apps stored on my internal phone memory. The phone initially comes with a load of useless apps and game demos which are really hard to delete. Updating apps is a really big issue and takes FOREVER. The phone is also super slow and when you don't have enough memory (which is a great deal of the time) it lags excessively a lot. It freezes and is extremely unresponsive. Also, after a couple of months, the power/lock button stopped working half the time. I would have to press it like 5 times before it responded. Since the power button was extremely unresponsive, it would take me a really long time to try and turn off my phone, and at times, when I had to turn it off really fast, I wasn't able to. I genuinely feel like the production of this phone is a waste of resources and time. It doesn't work the way it is supposed to, it lags, and just overall isn't a good product. November 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful the storage is awful. i can only have 5 apps on this phone before it says storage is low. when the storage does get low, you cant do anything. it wont let you send or recieve texts and keeps reminding you. even if you have the sd card, it wont let you put much on it. it also doesnt have good screen sensitivity. when im texting, you have to push hard and sometimes it wont pick up the letter im typing. for example, if im trying to type a T, it will put R or Y. September 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A phone with many flaws. LG clearly did not work too hard on this phone, and it shows within moments of using it. My major complaint about the LG Optimus T is that it is incredibly slow and has a big issue with lag. Even with the bloatware removed and no downloaded apps, it still takes a horrible amount of time to scroll through pages while on the Internet or navigating through the phone's menus. While texting contacts, the touchscreen keyboard lags making it frustrating to type. In addition to the Optimus T's slowness, it features a very small screen and the camera is of terrible quality. I would avoid this phone at all costs! Very shocking for an LG phone. The battery life is also mediocre, although not the absolute worst. It can last for roughly 9 hours. On the flip side, the only decent part of the Optimus T is that it is simple to use and good for beginner Android users. August 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by THIS PHONE SUCKS This phone completely sucks. I've had it for almost a year and I'm sick of it. The screen is terrible, the touch screen keyboard is terrible, it takes me forever just to write one text! You can't change a lot of the settings, and you can't even put the phone on vibrate. I will never buy this phone, or any other android phone again. September 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great I liked this phone when I first got it, but now after almost a year I hate it. I can't add music without my phone just deleting it and to top it off it's constantly telling me that my phone is low on memory, but I have nearly no programs on. Plus I can't calibrate my screen, so my touch screen is now off center. It's great for internet though, and I use it all the time plus my battery life is good still. May 16, 2012
2 Next>>

The sleek and intuitive LG Optimus T, powered by Android 2.2, with its 3.2" touchscreen, is just right— especially for smartphone newbies. Optimus T features Google Voice™ Actions, so tasks like online search, shopping, and music are an easy voice command away. What’s more, Optimus T has the ability to connect to Wi-Fi® hotspots, or when no hotspot is available, it can share its innate internet connection with other devices.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
P509 Black

LG Optimus T (P509 Black)

top