Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

VS740
VS740
VS740
VS740
VS740
VS740

Discontinued Product

Connect with your Ally

3G Android™-Powered Smartphone, Downloadable Apps, Customizable Widgets

LG Ally (VS740)

  • Large 3.2" External Touchscreen
  • Social Networking Capabilities
  • Multitasking Capability while Listening to Music
  • HTML Web Browsing
Rating / Reviews
Be the first to review

Enlarge

3G Android™-Powered Smartphone, Downloadable Apps, Customizable Widgets

VS740

DOWNLOAD PDF
SHOW  HIDE Technical Specifications
  • Technology
  • Carrier
  • Form Factor
  • Camera
  • Music Player
  • Smartphone
  • Qwerty
  • Touch Screen
  • Speaker Phone
  • Bluetooth
  • Web
  • Frequency
  • DataTransmission
  • Dimensions
  • Weight
  • Display
  • CDMA
  • Verizon
  • Slide
  • 3.2 Megapixel Autofocus Camera & Camcorder with Flash
  • Music Player for MP3, WMA, Unprotected AAC & Unprotected AAC+
  • Android™-Powered
  • Sleek Slide-Out QWERTY Design
  • Large 3.2" External Touch Screen with Tactile Feedback
  • One-Touch Speakerphone
  • Version: 2.1 + EDR (Enhanced Data Rate)
  • HTML Web Browsing†
  • 1.9 GHz CDMA PCS, 800 MHz CDMA
  • EVDO† Rev. A, 1xRTT
  • 4.56" (H) x 2.22" (W) x 0.62" (D)
  • 5.57 oz.
  • 262K Color TFT, 800 x 480 Pixels, 3.2"
Back to Top

 

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a piece of junk!!!!! I bought this phone 2 weeks ago and have had nothing but problems. within 2 days of owning it, it had erased all my contacts, my complete call log and the pictures I had in my gallery. It shuts down and restarts itself out of the blue. The screen freezes, the keyboard freezes and usually I have to take the battery out and reset it just to get it to work again. Less than a week in to owning it, I had to go as far as reprogramming the phone. I'm a truck driver and rely on my phone on a daily basis. I wouldn't wish this phone on my ex wife! Spend the few extra dollars and buy a quality phone. May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a waste! This phone is Always out of memory space. I have to delete photos and apps just to be able to send a text. Ive had to replace the touch screen twice & it still doesn't work. Letters on the keyboard either stick or just won't work at all. Do Not buy this phone! I cant get rid of it fast enough! December 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Can't get rid of this phone fast enough My husband and I got these phones two years ago at Verizon as a "buy one get one" deal. That should've clued us in, but it didn't, since the Verizon Rep had nothing but good things to say about it. It worked great at first, but as others have said, within the first 6 months, it was constantly telling me that I was low on space, which would not allow me to text or get texts, or to make and receive calls. I would delete one or two files, and it's good for a couple of days, but then goes right back to saying my phone memory is full. And this is even with the Super Tool Box installed. It turns off and on by itself, and it freezes up on a daily basis. The most bizarre thing though, is when I'm sending my husband a text, and half of the text is what I wrote and the other half is random nonsense. Example : I was in Chicago for a wkend covention, and on the day I was coming home, I texted him a short message saying : "leaving Chicago, be home around 1:00". The text he got however, said: "leaving Chicago on my way to the emergency room. Be home in a week." No joke. Needless to say, he was worried and tried to call me several times, but none of the calls came thru either, until I was more than half way home. And he got weird texts like that on a regular basis, where the first half of my message was word for word, and the last half made absolutely no sense. While I'll be the first to admit that a "smart phone" is only as smart as the person using it, I'd like to think I'm of at least average intelligence, and should be able to use this phone without all the complications I've had. When they say this is a "low end smart phone ", they're not kidding. After two years of dealing with monthly "memory storage full, delete some files" messages, the phone turning off and on randomly, the touch screen constantly freezing up, and bizarre text messages... I am SO excited to be getting rid of this phone ( and Verizon ) when my contract is up in October. Hello Virgin Mobile! September 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Bother I have had this phone since April 2010. I have had problems with it ever since. It randomly unmounts the SD card, deletes text messages, says it is out of internal memory when it has over 20mb (and when it does this it wont send or receive phone calls or text messages). I have tried different memory cards, and i am on my 3rd different phone. It has terrible battery life and the camera shutter button will only work when it wants to. I will never recommend this phone to someone. June 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont Buy It!! Too save you all the frustration, don't buy it!! I've had it since it came out and it drives me insane!!!!!!! If it had a face, I'd punch it every 5 seconds. It shuts off at 70-80% and when I turn it on manually, it's "dead." But when I put it on the charger, its suddenly back to the normal life it was before. It keeps going on the clock screen whenever something is loading and it keeps force closing every app I use. The task killer doesn't really help. It's gone to the clock screen about 4 times now while trying to type this review. I am happy to switch to the iPhone but I have to wait till August. That's when my upgrade is do. I just want to throw my phone at the wall. Pros- Its nice, modern, qwerty keyboard works well, letters aren't too small. Cons- Doesn't work well at all, shuts off, I have to take a charger wherever I go, force closes. I WOULDN'T recommend this to ANYONE!! >:( June 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 its ok i have had this phone for abot 2 years.it has taken some falls and throws its real tough.it takes great pics too.but this morning i went to check the time on my phone and it would not turn on.i thought it was probably dead but when i plugged it up it it didnt do anything. i triedpressing all kinds of buttons but nothing. im going to have to get a new one May 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best phone Half of the applications I never used on the phone and you cannot uninstall any of them. Then It constantly wants you to update them and it just eats your memory. I dropped phone calls all the time. I did like the drop down keyboard, made it easy to text. April 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIABLE! I loved this phone when I first got it but I have had it for 2 years now and HATE it! Apparently the software is riddled with problems. The updates are faulty. And it has storage problems. It tells me all the time that I dont have enough storage space when I have a 6 GB memory card in it. It also likes to tell me that my text message storage is full even when everything is deleted. So that means that I am not receiving texts because the phone thinks its full. Also the phone hangs up on people, or just mutes the conversation! I have in the middle of a phone interview when it just kept hanging up!!! It is very glitchy and very frustrating! DO NOT GET!!!! April 19, 2012
2 3 4 Next>>

The Android™-Powered LG Ally™ gives you the ability to customize home screens, and switch from surfing the web and emailing to text messaging and updating your social status. Turn-by-turn directions from Google Maps™ and 30,000+ apps in Android Market™, you'll be ready for any adventure today - and a new one tomorrow.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
VS740

LG Ally (VS740)

top