Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840
VS840

For those who do it all, here’s a phone that does, too.

Superior Outdoor Visibility (NOVA Display), 4G LTE Plus Snapdragon™ processor with 1.2Ghz dual CPUs, Corning® Gorilla® Glass Touch Screen, 5 MP Autofocus Camera with LED Flash, VGA Front-Facing Camera, 1080p Video Capture

LG Lucid (VS840)

  • Android™ 4.0 Platform (Ice Cream Sandwich)
  • Superior Outdoor Visibility (NOVA Display)
  • 4G LTE Network Speeds
  • Corning® Gorilla® Glass Touch Screen

Enlarge

 

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend this phone I'll be kicked out of apps at random, about a third of the time I'll try to open an app only to be told it's not responding, "Unfortunately, Gmail has stopped" will pop up several times a day, the LG keyboard will stop working while I'm trying to send a text message, sometimes the lock screen is completely unresponsive so I can't get into my phone, and there was a several day long stint where the keypad on the main screen wasn't responding so I had to open the phone itself (the box at the bottom of the home page) in order to make calls. The phone will restart itself at random, and any text messages I receive during that time are eaten by the void and I never see them. The browser will close unexpectedly and close all open tabs (the history tab is very useful in that). Even when it works well, it's very, very slow. I received this phone for free with a 2 year contract, and it's worth exactly as much as I paid for it. I told a Verizon Help representative about these issues and was told that I was due for an upgrade, as these issues were apparently too much for the help service to take on. From what I can tell, some of these issues can be fixed by purchasing various fixes and workarounds, but I definitely feel that the phone should be able to work on its own without having to pay for more items. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This phone is awful I dread making phone calls because 95% of the time others can't hear me and then my phone all of a sudden just drops the call. To make a 5 minute phone call usually ends being like 15 minutes at least. I have no storage anymore for pictures or music and I don't even have enough because this phone stores apps and stuff on it, which should be on the internal. It has issues with apps. I have apps that barely work and I have at least one app that crashes every week. My message and keyboard crash all the time, which is really frustrating. And I can't delete old conversations. It says it is but after 20 minutes it still hasn't deleted it. I have to restart my phone. Battery life is awful and the phone just randomly restarts for no reason. March 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by this product is junk The lg g3 will not stay connected to my network I have a tablet,laptop,DVD player that streams netflex and the lgg3 is the only device that will not stay connected to my network even though I'm only about 2 feet away it keep disconnecting from the network. JUNK December 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Meh. I've had this phone for a bit over 22 months now, so I'm nearing the end of the 2-year contract, and let's just say, I am eagerly anticipating scrapping this fella. It started out with fair performance (especially for a budget phone); you can't run intensive games, and it stuttered every now and then, but that's to be expected. Don't really know how long it was before things went downhill, but believe me, it is very frustrating to use this phone now. The battery life is completely unpredictable (sometimes if I leave it in standby, the battery percentage drops about 3%-4% an hour; other times in standby, it'll drop 15% or more an hour, with the same settings [data on, wi-fi on, location services off, vibration on, auto-syncing on, Bluetooth off]) and I usually find myself charging it at least once a day (but usually more like 2 times) to ensure I'll make it to the end of the day. And that's only in standby. I'm not a super heavy phone user, but I'll usually sporadically be responding to texts, reading emails, and reading stuff on Feedly, and, yes, the occasional phone call. My average screen-on time I get from a full charge is probably around an hour (if even that much), just from texting/emailing/Feedly-reading, not from any games or anything else, which is awful. As far as performance goes, it stutters quite a lot, apps crash with relative frequency, it runs really hot when just doing the most basic tasks, and it can barely handle most games (Temple Run 2 is about the most intense it can get, and it's still a little laggy there). With the games it can handle, the battery drains extremely quickly. Sometimes the keyboard just randomly crashes while I'm composing a text message or doing a Google search, and then I just have to put my phone away for usually at least a few minutes before being able to use it again. Call quality is mediocre at best (the sound coming out of the earpiece is kind of squawky), but it's all right. Sometimes I'll dial a number and I'm sitting around waiting for 30 seconds or more before it actually processes and it starts to dial. But that only started recently, and for the most part, call quality is satisfactory, and calls aren't too taxing on the battery either. On the bright side, the Android ecosystem is pretty great with its seamless integration into Google services, and LG's skin for Ice Cream Sandwich is fairly minimal and easy to use (although I still opted for a more stock-Android-looking launcher). The build quality of the phone is decent; I've been carrying this phone naked and despite countless drops from hand or pocket height, it just looks a little beat-up on the back but the screen is completely fine. The expandable storage is a plus for media consumption, although it's important to note that apps can't be stored on an external SD card, so there's actually pretty limited space on this phone for apps. The bottom line? If all you'll be doing with this phone is super simple stuff like messaging, email, and phone calls, then this is all right (not the best, but it'll certainly get the job done). But if you want to take advantage of everything that smartphones have to offer (all of the above plus games, productivity stuff, maybe connecting to Android Wear or something of that nature), then I would suggest investing a bit more in a different phone that you can actually rely on. November 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good phone but lacking on storage 8GB storage, split it two sections of 4GB. System data takes up most of the the System Memory, leaving little room for apps. 4GB of Internal Memory is pretty much wasted because most apps will only run on the System Memory side. I have a 14GB Mini SD but all that is good for is pictures and music. Calling it expandable memory is very misleading. The phone needs to allow all apps to run from Internal Memory. I regularly get Delete Files messages because there is so little available room in the System Memory. I usually have to go back through all the bloatware Google apps that cannot be uninstalled or moved and uninstall the updates to free up memory. Very frustrating and that is holding this phone back from being a very good phone. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what I needed! I needed a simple phone to replace my much older LG Vortex and the Lucid fit the bill perfectly. Since I am not all that tech savvy, the simplicity of the Lucid made the switch even more comfortable. It has all the features of the more upscale phones in the LG family as well as comparable performance at a fraction of the cost. LG for life! August 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This phone was horrible. This phone lacked long battery life and was unbelievably glitchy. Although it was pretty much invincible, it had a load of problems. First off, the camera stopped working for about half a year, but then started working again for about a week before crashing. Also, the microphone broke after a week of use so I cant call people or listen to music. I have been counting down the days till I get a new phone for the past six months. Don't waste your time with this phone. August 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 I'm going insane. This is one of the worst phones i have ever had in my entire life. I literally have had to get a new one through insurance because the first one i had wasn't working at all, got my new one and its almost worse. I dropped it like twice and on both of the phones the microphone doesn't work, so in order to talk on the phone it has to be on speaker phone, real personal.. i have way too much time left with this phone, im literally counting the days until this thing is gone. I will probably never get another lg phone, which is unfortunate bc they are actually decent, but this left was too terrible of a taste in my mouth. One thing i have to say is that it is industructable, and is super easy to run. May 31, 2014
  • 2015-07-31T12:28:29.680-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD00002441, prod, sort_default
2 3 Next>>
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
VS840

LG Lucid (VS840)

top