To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

1.8 cu.ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

  • LMV1831ST

  • Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • 1.8 cu.ft. Oven Capacity
  • 1000 Watts
  • Sensor Cooking
  • EasyClean®
EasyClean®

EasyClean®

With the new EasyClean® interior, you can have quick and high performance cleaning inside and out without using chemicals.

Senses Optimal Temperature for Fast Results

Senses Optimal Temperature for Fast Results

Sensor Cooking technology senses humidity levels within the oven and automatically adjusts cooking time and performance to help provide optimal heating performance.

Touchpad and Display Features

Touchpad and Display Features

Core Features

Core Features

CAPACITY
Oven Capacity 1.8 cu. ft.
OVEN FEATURES
Output (Watts) Microwave 1000W
Exterior Design WideView™ Traditional
Control Type Digital
Display Green, 4 Digit LED
COOKING FEATURES
Sensor Cook Options 7
Power Levels 2 (Hi/Low)
Defrost Auto, Time and Rapid Defrost
Reheat Sensor Reheat
Popcorn Key Yes
EZ-On Yes
More/Less Yes
Melt/Soften Yes
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
EasyClean® Yes
Energy Savings Key Yes
Bi-Level Cooking Rack Yes
Turntable Type DDS
Turntable Diameter 12.6"
Turntable On/Off Yes
Clock Yes
Kitchen Timer Yes
Completion Beeper Yes
LIGHTING
Lighting Incandescent (2), On/Off
SAFETY FEATURES
Child Lock Yes
VENTING SYSTEM
Filtration Charcoal Filter
Vent Grille Type Hidden
Vent Air Flow (CFM) 300
Power Levels 3 (Turbo/Hi/Low)
MATERIALS/FINISHES
Available Colors Smooth White (SW), Smooth Black (SB), Stainless Steel (ST)
Interior Color Gray
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
Interior (WxHxD) 21 9/16" x 8 7/8" x 14 1/8"
Exterior (WxHxD) 29 15/16" x 16 7/16" x 15 3/8"
Shipping Qty. 330 sets / 40ft.
Net Weight (lbs) 48.5 lbs
Shipping Weight (lbs) 55.1 lbs
WARRANTY/UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor (In Home Service) 10 Years Limited on Magnetron (In Home Service)
UPC 048231318679

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great and has lots of options. Cooks great. I Like several of the unique features including the popcorn and butter melt options. Both work great and I don't end up with burnt popcorn and spattered butter like I did with my old microwave! My only complaint is that I cannot turn off the beeper. It is a bit loud and if you don't take your food out right away it will beep at you again reminding you that your food is ready. I find this feature to be annoying as our bedrooms are located near the kitchen and the beeping is very loud. Other than this one issue I really love my new LG microwave.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Purchase! I’m really enjoying my new microwave I bought a few months ago. It is just what I was looking for. We love all the nice features and are very pleased.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied I do not find most current appliances as well made as they used to be and this is another example of that. It is adequate but not as well made structurally as the one it replaced that was 13 years old and working well.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ok good quality,design.easy access to pannel face. still good.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great. Works great! We bought this a few months ago and it looks and works great. My only complaint is that the buttons are SO HARD to press. It's ridiculous how hard you have to press on it to get it to accept it. I also didn't realize how much I would miss my express buttons for 1-6 minutes. Now having to press the button 3 times to get a time, I really miss that!!
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy cleaning, easy to use! First over the range microwave I ever purchased and it has met and exceeded mine and my wife expectations. Easy clean features made clean up fast, no scrubbing. would recommend this item to all that are looking for a great fast cooking microwave.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well i bought this microwave about a month ago and am very pleased with it. I have used the shelf feature and it works great for microwaving 2 items at a time.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My old microwave had the display panel light up when you pressed any feature. I really miss that on my new LG. Also, the opening and closing of the door sounds loud. Other than that the microwave works great.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05100901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LMV1831ST Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

My black stainless microwave came with scratches, how can this be fixed? 

Asked by: cherrywaffles
We hate to hear that the unit came with scratches. Unfortunately, the LG manufacturer's warranty does not cover cosmetic damage to the unit. It would be suggested to contact the retailer from where it was purchased for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-15

I'm getting on order lmv1831st and going to vent to attic does it come with sleeve to vent into wall and go up ? If it does what size pipe connects to it to run up wall?

Asked by: DAVEHAUS
Hi DAVEHAUS. Thank you for ordering the LG 1.8 cu.ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven, Model # LMV1831ST can be vented on one of three ways; Roof-Venting, Wall-Venting or Room-Venting. Ductwork, duct transitions and elbows are not supplied with the microwave oven. Installation instructions that specify what type of adapter and extension are to be used depending on your existing duct and on the total length of the duct system...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-08

Can this microwave be vented outside?

Asked by: Woog23
The LG 1.8 cu.ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven, Model # LMV1831SB, like most, if not all other LG Over-the-Range Microwave ovens can be vented inn one of three ways, Roof-Venting, Wall-Venting or Room-Venting. It ships with the blower assembled for room-venting and if you will need to adjust it for roof-venting or wall-venting. An installation manual is provided with the unit that instructs you on how to adjust the blower and there are templates that you can use for its installation...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-03-07

I got my microwave and when i opened the box there was no mounting bracket am i required to buy a separate one and if i do how do i know what one to get?

Asked by: Dalton bailey
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this microwave oven. The factory attaches the mounting bracket directly to the back of the microwave, instead of packaging them separately. If this device was an Open Box Purchase, then the bracket may not have made it back into the box. Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for this item is: 3300W0A045A.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-24

I have had this microwave 14 mths and the turn table won't turn on and it it. It heating food. I do not have a warranty. Is there any suggestions to do? It's so unfair this happened to me in such a short time

Asked by: Nicky1
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this microwave oven. If the motors will no longer turn, and the unit will no longer heat, then it will likely require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-10

The light under underneath the microwave (which lights the oven) has gone out. How do I replace? 

Asked by: MereTyden
We appreciate your interest in this microwave oven and it features. The following directions can be found on page 27 of the owner’s manual: 1. Unplug the oven or turn off power at the main power supply. 2. Remove the bulb cover mounting screws. 3. Replace the bulb with a 30 watt appliance bulb. 4. Replace the bulb cover and mounting screws. 5. Turn the power back on at the main power supply.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-26

Bought LMV1831ST, worked great for 1 1/2 years till yesterday, then today the power was off.  Nothing suspicious noticed. I thought it would be a fuse problem, till I read a previous answer saying there's no fuse in this model. What to do next?

Asked by: normalct
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this microwave oven. It is recommended to check the circuit breakers connected to this electrical outlet. If this does not resolve the matter, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-04-30

what type of bulb fits LMV1831ST the socket # 5138 Bulb number. I know it is the a screw base. The bulb has no # on it just 75 watt with prongs at the base.

Asked by: Gino1
We appreciate your interest in this microwave oven. This lamp socket is designed to take a 30W, 0.24A incandescent lamp bulb.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-01-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05100901, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT