Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

GE24LU20
GE24LU20

Discontinued Product

DVD Drives (External & Portable)

Super-Multi External 24x DVD Rewriter with SecurDisc™ and LightScribe

GE24LU20

  • 24x DVD±R Write Speed
  • 48x CD Write Speed
  • Double/Dual Layer Compatible
  • USB 2.0 Interface
Rating / Reviews
Be the first to review

Enlarge

Super-Multi External 24x DVD Rewriter with SecurDisc™ and LightScribe

GE24LU20

SHOW  HIDE SUMMARY
  • Drive Type
  • Interface
  • DVD Write Speed
  • CD Write Speed
  • Supported Discs
  • Buffer Capacity
  • LightScribe Label Creation
  • SecurDisc™ techlogy
  • Color
  • External
  • USB 2.0
  • 24x
  • 48x
  • CD-R/RW, DVD-R/R DL/RW/RW DL/RAM, DVD+R/R DL/RW
  • 2MB (Under-run prevention function)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Black/Silver
SHOW  HIDE WRITE SPEEDS (Max)
  • DVD+R
  • DVD+R Dual Layer
  • DVD-R
  • DVD+RW
  • DVD-RW
  • DVD-R Dual Layer
  • DVD-RAM
  • CD-R
  • CD-RW
  • 24x
  • 12x
  • 24x
  • 8x
  • 6x
  • 12x
  • 12x
  • 48x
  • 32x
SHOW  HIDE READ SPEED (Max)
  • DVD±R
  • DVD±R Dual Layer
  • DVD±RW
  • DVD-ROM
  • CD-ROM/R
  • CD-RW
  • 16x
  • 12x
  • 13x
  • 10x
  • 48x
  • 40x
SHOW  HIDE DATA TRANSFER RATE
  • DVD-ROM
  • CD-ROM
  • 22.16 MB/s (16x) Max.
  • 7,200 kB/s (48x) max.
SHOW  HIDE LIGHTSCRIBE LABEL PRINTING
  • Pixel Resolution
  • Track Resolution
  • Linear Velocity
  • Laser Power
  • Color
  • 600 (DPI)
  • 400~2000 [TPI]
  • 0.25 ~1.0 [m/sec]
  • 27 [mW] as Objective emission light of 780nm wavelength
  • Monochrome
SHOW  HIDE SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
  • Operating Systems
  • CPU
  • RAM
  • Hard Drive Capacity
  • Windows 7, Windows Vista™, Windows XP, Windows, Windows 2000 Professional, Mac OS 10.4.10 or higher
  • Pentium® III 1.0GHz or Higher (with USB 2.0)
  • 256 MB or Higher (24x writing : 512MB or larger)
  • 20 GB or more of available space
SHOW  HIDE SIZE AND WEIGHT
  • Dimensions (W x H x D)
  • 6.2" x 2.0" x 9.1" (160 x 50 x 230 mm)
Back to Top

 

LG ElectronicsGE24LU20
Overall Rating: 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
20 of 28(71%)customers said they would recommend this product to a friend.
28
27
Product ReviewsWrite a Review
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tardy
Location:Carlo Creek, AK
Would recommend: No
Warning for Mac users:
Date:November 15, 2010
Best Features: price/speed
Cons: Not for Macs
"I bought this drive based on my needs and the system requirements as stated on the box: "Mac OSX 10.5.4 or higher" My Macbook Pro is current. The drive will work, Mac recognizes it. The problem is that LG doesn't support Mac. The included software is all Windows based so no lightscribe use without finding other applications that will work with OSx and the drive.
Kit includes power supply and cord, as well as usb cable for hookup."
Written by a customer while visiting BestBuy.com
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
waldorfian
Location:waldorfian
Would recommend: Yes
All is not what it seems
Date:August 17, 2010
Best Features: everything
Cons: Bestbuy has the system requirements wrong!
"I recently was throw for a loop when I discovered on the packaging and documentation that the system requirements were for a Pentium 4 3.4 GHz or higher. My PC has a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.93GHz. I went through with the install and found no problems after burning several DVDs. Everything works like a charm and I am extremely happy.
HERE'S THE OUTPUT LOGS FROM ONE OF MY BURNS.
----
OS Version : Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 3
C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Power2Go\Power2Go.exe : Version 6.2.0.3930
CBS.dll : Version 7.7.4818
==================================================================
Total physical memory : 2047MB (2097151KB)
Free physical memory : 2002MB (2050856KB)
Memory load : 21 percent
Number of CPU : 1
CPU Name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.93GHz
CPU Speed : 2933 MHz
==================================================================
17.8.2010
Task Type : Burn Disc Image
13:04:50, File(cl_DiscCopy.cpp), Line(8431)
-> Begin burning process
Current drive: <J: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GE24LU20 OL00>
====== Disc Info =======
Disc Type: DVD+R
Disc Status: Blank, Appendable
Num. of Sessions: 1 Num. of Tracks: 1
Book Type: DVD+R
Track Path:
Parallel Track Path
Diameter Length: 120mm Layer Counts: 1
Data Area Start PSN: 196608 End PSN: 2491711 End PSN on Layer 0: 0
End PSN : 120mm Layer Counts: 1
Disc Capacity: 2295104LBs
Free Size: 2295104LBs Used Size: 0LBs
========================
Current writing speed(x): 16.0
-> Burn from image
13:04:50, file(cl_DiscCopy.cpp), line(8854)
-> Prepare writing disc
Burn option: w/ buffer underrun protection
Burn option: w/o simulation
Burn option: w/o close disc
Burn option: w/o verify disc
Burn mode: PACKET_INC
13:08:14, file(cl_DiscCopy.cpp), line(1055)
-> End write
Last write LBA: 1221632
13:08:20, file(cl_DiscCopy.cpp), line(1141)"
Written by a customer while visiting BestBuy.com
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gg
Location:Smithsburg MD
Would recommend: Yes
Lightscribe RW
Date:July 19, 2010
Best Features: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
"Just purchased this product at Best Buy. Installed to my Desktop PC because I like the Lightscribe technology and it makes it easier to store CD/DVD's when you can label them directly. Only issue I have is with the install CD. Didn't work properly so I went direct to Lightscribe and downloaded the program for Lightscribe from the site. Once I loaded it the device ran like a charm no issues. Have had an LG optical drive before at work and we had same issue there with drivers but had no issue after we downloaded from appropriate web site. Overall product is easy to use and very nice, setup is simple--wish it used the USB for power also--but having external power is ok too. Will also be using with my Laptop when neccessary. Excellent product for the value."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supermanindy
Location:Minnesota
Would recommend: Yes
Great value for the money
Date:July 6, 2010
Best Features: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
"I recently purchased this drive because my cpu drive wont write any more. I had it hooked up and working in a heartbeat. It is very easy to use, sits easily on my computer desk, and is compatible with Windows 7(my OS recognized the hardware immediately and installed; it did however, cause a problem when I inserted the actual installation CD because the hardware was already installed, but it was easily fixed). I love the lightscribe feature and use it all the time instead of writing on the discs. That featrure was a MUST for me because I have it with my other drive that doesn't write any more. It burns very fast. I love it! "Life is Good" again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.

With an LG 24x internal DVD burner, you can boost your computing capabilities with a 24x writing speed. SecurDisc™ technology keeps your media safe from tampering, and LightScribe technology allows you to create silkscreen-quality labels right inside the drive, with just a flip of the disc.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close