To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Top Control SteamDishwasher™ w/ 3rd Rack

  • LDF8874ST

  • Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • 15 Place Settings
  • 6 Cycles
  • Hidden SmoothTouch™ Controls with LED Display
  • TrueSteam®

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with Dishwashers”

STEAM WASH, DON’T PRE-WASH

Powerful yet gentle TrueSteam® virtually eliminates the need to pre-wash. The built-in TrueSteam® generator also enables gentle cleaning for fragile items (like stemware), and can also be used for heavy-duty cleaning like pots and pans.

Easy Loading, Maximum Flexibility

The newly-enhanced EasyRack™ Plus system provides outstanding flexibility and convenience, adjusting to just about any load of dishes to help ensure optimal cleaning performance. Easy to adjust on-the-fly, this racking system can shift to handle any challenge your dishes can serve up.

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

The height adjustable 3rd rack gives you more space to fit everything from long flatware to small espresso cups.

Quiet Operation

Quiet Operation

LG's technological advances, like the Inverter DirectDrive motor and the advanced self-cleaning filtration system, were designed with quiet in mind. At 42dB, this dishwasher is among the quietest dishwashers in its class.

Split Personality

Split Personality

Enables users to vary the intensity in the upper and lower racks (e.g. delicates in the upper rack, and pots & pans in the lower rack with strong setting), accommodating different items in the same load.

Count on it

When you buy a dishwasher, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year limited warranty.

Reviewed.com Editor’s Choice Winner

Looking for a more affordable option? Check out the cost-effective, award-winning LG LDF5545ST dishwasher.

CAPACITY
Total Place Settings 15
Upper Rack Dish Height Limit 12"
Lower Rack Dish Height Limit 14"
RACKS AND BASKETS
Cutlery Baskets 3-in-1 Detachable Baskets
Stemware Holders Yes
Racks and Tines Nylon Coated with Rounded Tips
Height-Adjustable 3rd Rack Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System: Upper Rack Color-Coded Foldable Tines Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System: Lower Rack Color-Coded Foldable Tines Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System: Height Adjustable Upper Rack Yes
STYLE AND DESIGN
Electronic Controls Hidden SmoothTouch™ Controls with LED Display
Time Remaining Indicator Yes
Rinse-Aid Indicator Yes
SignaLight™ Cycle Indicator Lights 4: Wash, Rinse, Dry, Clean
Tub Material Stainless Steel
Handle Matching Commercial Handle
Available Colors Stainless Steel (ST)
FEATURES
TrueSteam® Yes
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
Slim Direct Drive Motor Yes
Overflow Detector Yes
120°F Inlet Water Capability Yes
3-Stage Filtration System Yes
Delay Start Up To 19 Hours
Child Lock Yes
PERFORMANCE
Number of Wash Cycles 6
Wash Cycles Steam (Auto, Heavy, Delicate, Dual Control), Normal, Quick & Dry
SenseClean™ Wash System Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles - Heavy Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles - Delicate Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles Dual Control Yes
Dual Spray Intensity Feature Yes
Variable Spray Intensities Strong/Medium/Soft
Sanitary Rinse Option Yes
Extra Rinse Option Yes
Multi-Level Water Direction 5
Hybrid Condensing Drying System Yes
Noise Level 42 dB
POWER SOURCE/RATING
Ratings/Requirements/Type UL Listed/120 V, 12 Amps/60 Hz
Circuit Breaker Size 15 Amps
ENERGY STAR® Qualified Yes
DIMENSIONS
Unit Dimensions (WxHxD) 23 3/4" x 33 1/2" x 24 5/8"
Required Clearances (WxHxD) 24” x 33 1/2" x 24”
Carton Dimensions (WxHxD) 27 1/5" x 35 1/10" x 29 3/5"
Weight (Unit/Carton) 110.2 lbs / 116.4 lbs
WARRANTY/UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Labor, 2 Year Parts, 5 Years on Control Board and Rack Parts, 10 Years Direct Drive Motor Lifetime on the Stainless Steel Tub and Door Liner
UPC 048231014373

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not buy While it cleans powerfully, the interior design stinks. The angle on the top rack make putting my glasses in impossible. All of the movable parts don't "lock" into place well at all. The silverware basket is 3 pieces. They don't stay together so lifting the whole thing out to unload is impossible. The times of the lower rack fall down EVERY time I close the tray. So my dishes are constantly falling over and crashing together.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quiet We use it every night. It's great. I like it. I'm impressed.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Room to move I love this dishwasher it has three rows that adjust up down to fit anything it’s awesome. It’s easy to clean and take filters out to have them rinsed out and places back in. They really made this dishwasher easy to handle and maintain. I usually run it at night while we sleep and we can’t hear a thing it’s silent. after a clean wash I love opening it everything inside is sparkling clean and fresh.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought complete LG suite and I am glad I did I bought a complete suite of LG kitchen appliances for my new construction house and I am very happy with everything except the dishwasher. The refridger is a counter depth and fits perfect.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Excellent Machine with a Few Drawbacks Our LG dishwasher is overall a fine machine. It does get the dishes clean. There are a variety of wash cycles and in some there are a few additional choices (e.g., the intensity of the rinse spray, how hot the water, etc.) It is nice to have a rinse-only cycle (when you're not ready for a full cycle). The drawback is the length of the cycles; nearly all take at least 2.5 hours up to almost 3 (and possibly longer). There is a Quick and Dry that's shorter, but only for a light load. As for racks, the horizontal positions are excellent; the top full rack can be raised or lowered depending upon what is in the bottom tray. The third rack also is a great idea for silverware, very small bowls, etc. The problem area is with the adjustable tines: While the idea is good -- to have tines that can be lowered to fit various dishes, these tines do not hold position well when in the regular (vertical) position so one is forever having to bend down to raise them back up and often to redo the dishes that have come unloose. Also, in the bottom rack, the rows of tines do not always line up well, which means plates & bowls start knocking into each other. These flaws are annoying but are far from being a major problem! Over all, we are quite happy with it.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG dishwasher We live this dishwasher. It's very quite (actually we don't even hear it). All dishes & silverware are completely clean. We highly recommend this dishwasher
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dishwasher I bought my dishwasher almost a year ago and it still works like it did when it was installed. It is so quite that sometimes I forget that it is on. My old dishwasher was so loud that we couldn't hear the tv in the next room. The adjustable racks make it nice to put in pots that would not normally fit. The only issue my family has found that with two little children we have to clean dishes before using the dishwasher or we were cleaning the trap after every couple uses. The controls on top are great when you have a 2 yr old that likes to play with stuff.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dishwasher I bought this 4 months ago and very happy with the dishwasher
Date published: 2017-09-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05094980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LDF8874ST Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How dry should my dishes be after a wash cycle with the drying option selected? It never has given us truly dry dishes since we bought it about a month ago. 

Asked by: Amy626
Rinse aid is strongly recommended to enhance the drying performance of the LG Top Control SteamDishwasher™ w/ 3rd Rack, Model # LDF8874ST. In order to be more energy efficient, the hybrid drying system does not utilize a heating element in order to assist in drying, so a rinse aid plays an integral role in the drying process. If a rinse aid is not used, water may remain on the dishes and the tub. Rinse aid will help to ensure that the majority of the water has been sheeted off of the dishes at the end of the rinse and that the load is ready for the dry cycle. If a rinse aid is used and the performance still needs a boost, adjust the amount of rinse aid used by the indicator on the rinse aid cap. 4 is the default setting, but if necessary, set the level to 5 so more rinse aid will be used. Drying performance is also directly affected by the amount of heat that remains in the tub after the heated rinse is performed. If your dishwasher is far away from your home’s hot water heater, it may be necessary to run the hot water tap in the sink before starting a wash cycle, to ensure that cool water is purged from the hot water lines. This will ensure your dishwasher has a consistent supply of hot water from start to finish. Using the Sanitary Rinse setting will also aid in keeping the inner drum temperature and dishes hotter before drying begins. Allow the dishwasher to completely finish the dry cycle before opening the door. If the door is opened mid dry cycle, the heat that is necessary for the hybrid dry system to work will escape. This will cause all of the dishes inside to remain wet once the cycle finishes...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-01-17

Everything comes out chalky white

Asked by: Paul56
Do not use jet dry.  Use the packs of Cascade complete.  We had the same issue.
Answered by: Miasmommy
Date published: 2016-12-29

I have problem with my dishwasher , it run for abit then I find water to be leaking on top right of corner of the door. It drips an sometimes it also like shoots out a drop as it keeps driping down the door. I Just TRIP!!! Model #LD F8874ST PLEASE HELP!!

Asked by: jimmy upickdis
We regret to read that you are having issues with your LG Top Control SteamDishwasher™ w/ 3rd Rack, Model # LDF8874ST and apologize for any inconveniences. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000. Our Call Representatives can assist you scheduling a repair service. You can also visit us at https://www.lg.com/us/support/repair-service/find-repair-provider and enter your zip code and product into the appropriate fields to find an LG Authorized Repair Service Center near you...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-12-13

What do the lights on the front of the dishwasher mean?

Asked by: Steve j
When a cycle is running, the SignaLight indicators will illuminate for the active stage: Model with 4 LEDs: WASH – RINSE – DRY – CLEAN; Models with 2 LEDs: OPERATING – CLEAN; Models with 1 LED: OPERATING (Flickering) / CLEAN (Lighting). Once the cycle is complete, the CLEAN light will illuminate for four minutes.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-09-07

I am very sorry!! But I am not happy with my 3rd rack being divided in two pieces. There is any way of I get a single piece rack like the other brands? 

Asked by: Mfics
I apologize, but no; this dishwasher is designed to utilize only this particular design of cutlery rack. The design is such that one side can have its height adjusted, without having to do the same to both. This information can be noted on page 20 of your Owner’s Manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-07-08

A box lights up around each control button on the control panel, but the actual text commands do not light up so I can't read them. Is there; 1) an on/off or dimmer for the text; 2) a problem, or; 3) a feature (the way it's designed)? It's brand new.

Asked by: MichaelJM1960
We appreciate your interest in this dishwasher and its features. The description given is normal operation. The text of these buttons is not designed to be lit; rather the outline of the buttons are all that will shine.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-05-04

How does the stemware fit

Asked by: Doss2063
We appreciate your interest in this dishwasher. Stemware will typically be arranged on the upper rack. The upper rack should be adjustable in height, depending upon the need of more room.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-05-04

Is it supposed to take the lettering off my measuring cup

Asked by: Flyman91
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this dishwasher. Such an occurrence is not normal operation. This will generally only occur due to the age or condition of the item being washed, or if the item is not dishwasher safe.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-04-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05094980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT