Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

LDS5040BB
LDS5040BB
LDS5040BB

Bring on the Dinner Guests!

Semi-Integrated Dishwasher with Flexible EasyRack™ System

LDS5040BB

COLORBlack   Stainless Steel   White
  • EasyRack™
  • 10-Year Limited Wararnty on Inverter Direct Drive Motor
  • LoDecibel™ Operation - 50 dB
  • SmartDiagnosis™ System

$649.99

Suggested Price

Enlarge

 

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 209 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quite running This dishwasher is so quiet we can not tell it is running. December 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very good features, but horrible racks I have had the dishwasher for about a year. The dishwasher is very quiet and runs well. It has good mechanical features which would make it reliable. An example is the inverter controlled motor, which is backed by a long 10 year warranty. The manufacturers have confidence in their product. There is a list of well thought out design features. The main problem is he badly designed racks which make it very difficult to load dishes. Large dinner plates will not stay upright on the bottom rack, but flop forward badly, because of the short length of the vertical tines. I load them in the upper rack. The wire cage at the left hand side in the back is spaced 3 inches apart, so that glasses cannot be held up, and tilt below the bottom. Old fashioned glasses cannot be loaded in the bottom cage because they dangle and knock against each other. In the bottom rack, the dishes are loaded sideways to the front, and when you move the rack, they go rolling away. I am not sure if the designer of the rack had any experience loading dishes. The bottom of the top rack at each side is very steeply angled, and does not support smaller smaller items. Stacking racks becomes a regular nuisance. otherwise this would be a great dishwasher. December 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Severely Disappointed We needed to replace a dishwasher which we'd had for years, and were pleased with. Since we'd recently bought an LG washing machine, which we were pleased with, we seriously investigated this dishwasher. We realise now that we should have listened more carefully to the negatives in the other reviews. The main issue is that dishes, especially glasses and mugs don't come out clean. This was not our experience with the previous dishwasher. So, we have to prewash all the cups and glasses. We are using Quantum Finish, which is recommended by most major manufacturers. As others have noticed, the upper rack is very difficult to load, due to the odd angle of the racks. This means that the tilted away sides get very little water on them. In addition, you cannot load right to the outside edges, since they get very little water. There is no supporting rack at the ends, either. So just put more-or-less clean items there. The bottom rack's adjustable tines are very difficult to deal with. The spacing is very awkward, and they collapse by themselves if the dishes push on them sideways (as bowls do). As well, there is no clear boundaries between the rows of tines. The back row fits plates, but then there really isn't enough space next to them for bowls. And if you put them there anyway (interlocking with the plates), then there's one remaining row, which is too small for most things. It won't clean containers and deep bowls unless they are put in horizontally. It seems like the spray isn't strong enough to go over the sides if they are placed more upright. The cutlery basket is odd. There are no different sizes of holes for the cutlery, so any slightly larger sized items have to go into the general big holes in the middle. Again, as others have complained, the bottom rack does come off easily from the tracks. All it takes is pushing it in on one side, instead of the center. If it is loaded with heavy dishes, it's very difficult to get back on track unless you unload it first. We are regretting our decision to buy this, and have considered getting rid of it and buying a real dishwasher December 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be Aware Dishwasher looks good, but we had this unit for almost 4 years. The top rack has rusted with in the first year. LG replaced it and the 2nd rack rusted as well. It does not heat the water like it should and no matter the detergent used, it leave all glasses spotted and unclean. Look elsewhere for a dishwasher. December 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attractive and quiet It appears that to be energy effecient there is no built in heating element. This means that given the low volume of water used, if the dishwasher is very far from the hot water heater, the water will be luke warm. This will cause problems long term with buildup of the chemicals in the diswasher detergent. You will need to let your sink hot water run until it is hot to get the best performance. The manual which came with the unit is not for that machine and I have not been able to find one online so far. No obvious way to disassemble and clean the jet arms or filter. Eventually all dishwashers need this to maintain optimum performance. December 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Even with Jetdry dishes are cloudy and not clean I've had this dishwasher for over a year and I am not satisfied. My dishes are cloudy and many times do not get clean. I've had to hand wash in vinegar and water several times to get the dishes to look clean. Features available are pretty minimal. I had to purchase a "short" dishwasher due to the space in the cabinet, which did not allow me many choices in dishwashers.Beware of repair service providers- read the expected charges and warranty information carefully. November 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs quiet, cleans great! I'm so amazed at how quiet this dishwasher runs! I barely know it's on!! The clean ability is superb; the dishes come out sparkling using the normal setting. The capacity is wonderful. Love the start & ending chimes - so cute! October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving it! This is the first dishwasher I have had in 45 years of marriage.I saw other peoples and thought that it was just as easy to wash by hand for all the prewash they did and polishing the glasses by hand. Our son talked me into getting one so I checked them out online.Now this was before I bought my beautiful LG double oven range which I love.I didn't know what brand to buy then and am so glad I chose LG.This dishwasher is a lazy house keepers dream...I have easy dish chores,pots,pans ,glasses and cutlery come out spotless.Our children think it is wonderful when they come over and see it in action.They hardly notice when its working as it is so quiet.Takes on anything and does it well....will stick to LG from now on as both appliances I bought from LG work wonderfully.The stainless steel exterior hardly smudges and is very easy to damp wipe clean.It plays me a happy melody too when finished...makes me smile. Thank you LG for making my life easier.All the best G. Oh I think I made a mistake on my range review and called the stainless steel exterior aluminium ....my bad November 20, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>

You Might Also Be Interested In

Bring on the Dinner Guests!
Here’s a dishwasher that loves company... lots of it. The spacious stainless steel interior featuring the ingenious EasyRack™ adjustable system welcomes up to 14 place-settings of dishes and stemware. Loading everything couldn’t be easier. And LG’s commitment to great innovation means there’s no need to wash delicate items separately. All this, and the reassurance of LG’s 10-year Direct Drive Motor Limited Warranty. That’s big time dependability... for years of memorable gatherings.

Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
LDS5040BB

LDS5040BB

$649.99

Suggested Price

top