To properly experience our website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help


Key Features

  • Luxurious, Fingerprint-Resistant Finish
  • 15 Place Settings
  • 6 Cycles
  • Hidden SmoothTouch™ Controls with LED Display
  • TrueSteam®

available colors:

Black Stainless Steel
Suggested Price


Suggested Price

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with Dishwashers”

Design is all in the finish.

Channel your inner designer to create your ideal custom kitchen with the new LG Virtual Designer

Flawless new finish lets your style shine.

Deep yet brilliantly appealing, LG Black Stainless Steel Series brings an undeniable luster to kitchens. It elevates the traditional stainless steel look that's become the standard in today's homes with a satin-smooth, warm and sophisticated finish—a timeless expression that pairs beautifully with any style or color.


Powerful yet gentle TrueSteam® virtually eliminates the need to pre-wash. The built-in TrueSteam® generator also enables gentle cleaning for fragile items (like stemware), and can also be used for heavy-duty cleaning like pots and pans.

Easy Loading, Maximum Flexibility

The newly-enhanced EasyRack™ Plus system provides outstanding flexibility and convenience, adjusting to just about any load of dishes to help ensure optimal cleaning performance. Easy to adjust on-the-fly, this racking system can shift to handle any challenge your dishes can serve up.

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

The height adjustable 3rd rack gives you more space to fit everything from long flatware to small espresso cups.

Quiet Operation

Quiet Operation

LG's technological advances, like the Inverter DirectDrive motor and the advanced self-cleaning filtration system, were designed with quiet in mind. At 42dB, this dishwasher is among the quietest dishwashers in its class.

Split Personality

Split Personality

Enables users to vary the intensity in the upper and lower racks (e.g. delicates in the upper rack, and pots & pans in the lower rack with strong setting), accommodating different items in the same load.

Count on it

When you buy a dishwasher, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year limited warranty. Editor’s Choice Winner

Looking for a more affordable option? Check out the cost-effective, award-winning LG LDF5545ST dishwasher.


What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from dishwasher and refridgerator my new dishwasher works great very quite and is easy to use
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Steam dishwasher According to the instruction, the dishwasher has a sanitary funtion. It actually doesnt have the button for that. The bottom rack easily came out of the track, and all the racks are not smooth to push and pull. Also, I had to replace a top dish rack because vinyale cover came off and became rusty (only 6 months). It seems like (not sure) but there is residual detergent remained in cups. When puring water in the cup after using the washer create bubbles. I have to rinse the cups to use manually before I use them. It feels drinking detergent.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet operation! This dishwasher does a superb job and runs so quietly that it frequently catches us off-guard with the little musical phrase it plays upon completion.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very quiet Very quiet. I really like it, but have a few gripes. The bottom rack goes off track way too easily. The bottom rack prongs don’t stay in place... fall down easily. I am currently having service done due to the black stainless coating coming off. Wish it dried a little better. Pros are that it cleans well and is super quiet. Please make sure to not overload the soap dish or you get water leakage.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quiet, Attractive and Quite Dysfunctional! I've had the LDT9965BD for several months now and quite frankly it's a constant annoyance. I love how quiet it is and it's attractive looking, but the rack system design is the worst of any appliance I've ever purchased anywhere. In an apparent attempt to create flexibility, they have designed the worst imaginable system for stacking dishes. The cheap plastic adjustable inserts in the main body of the dishwasher do not stay in place and frequently collapse when the dishes are loaded, forcing you to remove all of the dishes, reposition the tines and reload. The tines do not line up with each other - not even close in some instances - so that dishes do not line up uniformly. The foldable tines are anchored to plastic runners at the bottom that are not even with the fixed runners, causing the dishes to roll out of position repeatedly. The top "utility" tray is a good idea gone bad because there are so many fixed "pegs" in it that nothing will lay completely flat. Every day when I load this dishwasher is an exercise in frustration. I can't imagine that LG managers let this poorly designed appliance onto the market. Obviously they never tested it out for function.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shortcomings I've had a little more than a month and it's got a leak.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quiet! I bought the dishwasher two weeks ago and love it. Tons of capacity and super quiet!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still Learning I've had this dishwasher for a couple of months now and I'm still learning how to use it. So far the only issues I really had was dishes not getting dry. I think I've finally got that figured out though so I'm satisfied with that. The only other issue is how long it takes to wash my dishes. Compared to my old GE Profile this one seems to take forever, 3 to 4 hours. It's really quiet though so that's a big plus compared to my old one. One other thing is I wish you could push a button to select the Steam instead of having to select specific cycles.
Date published: 2017-11-02
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05201440, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms


Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How to clear a error code AE. I do not see that code on any code listings?

Asked by: Nora444
Sorry to see this, Nora. We do have a great article to help troubleshoot this AE error code issue at the following link - ^RW
Answered by: RobLG
Date published: 2017-11-27

Dishwasher has blue and green light flashing while running. What does this mean? Also, 1E flashing while running? What does this mean?

Asked by: Girlmom
We apologize about the issue you are having with the dishwasher. The IE error code indicates an water inlet problem. It is suggested to check for a clogged or kinked water inlet hose and check the water supply. If this is not the case, Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-25

what is the shortest wash cycle on model #LDT9965BD

Asked by: spook8257
The shortest cycle in the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD is the Rinse Only cycle which has a run time of 22 minutes. The Quick & Dry cycle is 79 minutes and then the Normal cycle can run from 110~139 minutes depending on the soil level of the dishes...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-17

Our silverware will not come clean on the to rack.We have used the normal and heavy cycle. We use finish detergent

Asked by: Richard80
We have called and done everthing they told us to do and it did not work. The silverware is still dirty
Answered by: Richard80
Date published: 2017-05-20

How long is the drain hose that comes with the unit and what is the diameter of the drain outlet?

Asked by: Joe79
Although the Specifications for the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD do not list a length for the drain hose, the installation manual advises that the drain connection should not exceed 12 feet (3.65 m) distance to drain. If and extension drain is required, you should use a 5/8" or 7/8" inside diameter, 2-3 feet length hose and a couplet for connecting the two hose ends.The end of the drain hose has three different diameters, 5/8" (16 mm), 3/4" (19 mm) and 1" (25 mm)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-02-10

I recently bought the True Steam LG Dishwasher in black stainless. What kind of dishwashing detergent is recommended? Powder or gel? Packs or squeeze bottle?

Asked by: Cindy66
Neile did not understand your question.what is he talking about hand dishwashing liquid.  Let me help you.stay with a detergent that dissolves quickly so the ports don't clog up,like gel.
Answered by: Frankv322
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is black stainless the only color in this series?

Asked by: Karri5
The LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD is only available in Black Stainless Steel...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-12-06

Interested in black stainless steel dishwasher. Can you send me a sample of this color to see how well I like in my kitchen. Thanks

Asked by: wildthing
Please contact our Call Representatives at the Customer Interactive Center at (800) 243-0000 with regards to obtaining a sample or where you may be able to get one from for the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Fully Integrated Dishwasher with TrueSteam™, Model # LDT9965BD...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-03-25
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05201440, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms