To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®

  • LDT9965BD

  • Black Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • Luxurious, Fingerprint-Resistant Finish
  • 15 Place Settings
  • 6 Cycles
  • Hidden SmoothTouch™ Controls with LED Display
  • TrueSteam®
AVAILABLE COLORS:

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with Dishwashers”

Design is all in the finish.

Channel your inner designer to create your ideal custom kitchen with the new LG Virtual Designer

Flawless new finish lets your style shine.

Deep yet brilliantly appealing, LG Black Stainless Steel Series brings an undeniable luster to kitchens. It elevates the traditional stainless steel look that's become the standard in today's homes with a satin-smooth, warm and sophisticated finish—a timeless expression that pairs beautifully with any style or color.

STEAM WASH, DON’T PRE-WASH

Powerful yet gentle TrueSteam® virtually eliminates the need to pre-wash. The built-in TrueSteam® generator also enables gentle cleaning for fragile items (like stemware), and can also be used for heavy-duty cleaning like pots and pans.

Easy Loading, Maximum Flexibility

The newly-enhanced EasyRack™ Plus system provides outstanding flexibility and convenience, adjusting to just about any load of dishes to help ensure optimal cleaning performance. Easy to adjust on-the-fly, this racking system can shift to handle any challenge your dishes can serve up.

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

Step Up to the 3rd Rack

The height adjustable 3rd rack gives you more space to fit everything from long flatware to small espresso cups.

Quiet Operation

Quiet Operation

LG's technological advances, like the Inverter DirectDrive motor and the advanced self-cleaning filtration system, were designed with quiet in mind. At 42dB, this dishwasher is among the quietest dishwashers in its class.

Split Personality

Split Personality

Enables users to vary the intensity in the upper and lower racks (e.g. delicates in the upper rack, and pots & pans in the lower rack with strong setting), accommodating different items in the same load.

Count on it

When you buy a dishwasher, you want something reliable that you can count on. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year limited warranty.

Reviewed.com Editor’s Choice Winner

Looking for a more affordable option? Check out the cost-effective, award-winning LG LDF5545ST dishwasher.

CAPACITY
Total Place Settings 15
Upper Rack Dish Height Limit 12"
Lower Rack Dish Height Limit 14"
RACKS AND BASKETS
Cutlery Baskets 3-in-1 Detachable Baskets
Racks and Tines Nylon Coated with Rounded Tips
Height-Adjustable 3rd Rack Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System: Upper Rack Color-Coded Foldable Tines Yes
EasyRack™ Plus System: Lower Rack Color-Coded Foldable Tines Yes
Height Adjustable Upper Rack Yes
STYLE AND DESIGN
Electronic Controls Hidden SmoothTouch™ Controls with LED Display
Time Remaining Indicator Yes
Rinse-Aid Indicator Yes
SignaLight™ Cycle Indicator Lights 4: Wash, Rinse, Dry, Clean
Tub Material Stainless Steel
Handle Matching Commercial Handle
Available Colors Black Stainless Steel (BD)
FEATURES
TrueSteam® Yes
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
Overflow Detector Yes
Slim Direct Drive Motor Yes
120°F Inlet Water Capability Yes
3-Stage Filtration System Yes
Delay Start Up To 19 Hours
Child Lock Yes
PERFORMANCE
Number of Wash Cycles 6
Wash Cycles Steam (Auto, Heavy, Delicate, Dual Control), Normal, Quick & Dry
SenseClean™ Wash System Yes
Dual Spray Intensity Feature Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles - Heavy Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles - Delicate Yes
TrueSteam® Cycles Dual Control Yes
Sanitary Rinse Option Yes
Extra Rinse Option Yes
Multi-Level Water Direction 5
Hybrid Condensing Drying System Yes
Noise Level 42 dB
POWER SOURCE/RATING
Ratings/Requirements/Type UL Listed/120 V, 12 Amps/60 Hz
Circuit Breaker Size 15 Amps
ENERGY STAR® Qualified Yes
Warranty/UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Labor & Parts, 5 Years Control Board/Rack, 10 Year Motor, Lifetime on Stainless Steel Door Liner or Tub
UPC 048231015936

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall. A good productj I've had several months now to get acquainted with my new dishwasher, and overall am pleased. The only major drawback to me are the racks (especially the top). They are oddly spaced apart and not symmetrical in any way! My glasses fit in only one row. The bottom rack is more flexible by means of the collapsable tines, but they seem too easily colasped. My minor issue is it doesn't dry well.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Decided to go with the black stainless all new LG Appliances. I love them all so far! I love we have no fingerprints.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this!!! Very pleased with this refrigerator. Holds a ton and looks great. Door in door is very useful. Love the deli drawer. Fruits and veggies stay fresh longer.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need to read directions! We like how this cleans dishes and silverware but you must read and follow the directions. The tines in the racks will not stay up....LG even sent me a new rack....same issue....very bad design the dishes make them fall over.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this few days .nice features. like the way runs
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy The dishwasher holds a large number of dishes. I like the three racks. Cleans the dishes well. I love the look of the black stainless as I bought the frig, stove and microwave. The only concern is how easily they scratch and LG does not have repair kit.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Off to a bad start When an error message appeared less than 1 minute before the end of the very first cycle I was very concerned. Trying to get service was quite a headache but thankfully after 3 visits the experienced repair person was able to resolve. He was experienced from his extensive work history not from any assistance or reference from LG. The appliance was too new to have a repair manual. The cycles take forever and the trays are not a good fit for my dishes sometimes. The dividers easily fall down. The good things are it is very quiet and doesn't a satisfactory job of cleaning
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Somewhat pleased Overall the dishwasher is good. The first time we loaded it, we found that it was strange in the way it loaded. The top rack slot for glasses is to steep and the glasses will tip over. Over all, we are trying to get use to how it loads even after 11 months. Also sometimes the silverware still have food particles on them, especially knives.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05201440, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LDT9965BD Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Dishwasher has blue and green light flashing while running. What does this mean? Also, 1E flashing while running? What does this mean?

Asked by: Girlmom
We apologize about the issue you are having with the dishwasher. The IE error code indicates an water inlet problem. It is suggested to check for a clogged or kinked water inlet hose and check the water supply. If this is not the case, Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-25

what is the shortest wash cycle on model #LDT9965BD

Asked by: spook8257
The shortest cycle in the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD is the Rinse Only cycle which has a run time of 22 minutes. The Quick & Dry cycle is 79 minutes and then the Normal cycle can run from 110~139 minutes depending on the soil level of the dishes...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-17

Our silverware will not come clean on the to rack.We have used the normal and heavy cycle. We use finish detergent

Asked by: Richard80
We have called and done everthing they told us to do and it did not work. The silverware is still dirty
Answered by: Richard80
Date published: 2017-05-20

How long is the drain hose that comes with the unit and what is the diameter of the drain outlet?

Asked by: Joe79
Although the Specifications for the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD do not list a length for the drain hose, the installation manual advises that the drain connection should not exceed 12 feet (3.65 m) distance to drain. If and extension drain is required, you should use a 5/8" or 7/8" inside diameter, 2-3 feet length hose and a couplet for connecting the two hose ends.The end of the drain hose has three different diameters, 5/8" (16 mm), 3/4" (19 mm) and 1" (25 mm)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-02-10

I recently bought the True Steam LG Dishwasher in black stainless. What kind of dishwashing detergent is recommended? Powder or gel? Packs or squeeze bottle?

Asked by: Cindy66
Neile did not understand your question.what is he talking about hand dishwashing liquid.  Let me help you.stay with a detergent that dissolves quickly so the ports don't clog up,like gel.
Answered by: Frankv322
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is black stainless the only color in this series?

Asked by: Karri5
The LG Black Stainless Steel Series Top Control Dishwasher with TrueSteam®, Model # LDT9965BD is only available in Black Stainless Steel...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-12-06

Interested in black stainless steel dishwasher. Can you send me a sample of this color to see how well I like in my kitchen. Thanks

Asked by: wildthing
Please contact our Call Representatives at the Customer Interactive Center at (800) 243-0000 with regards to obtaining a sample or where you may be able to get one from for the LG Black Stainless Steel Series Fully Integrated Dishwasher with TrueSteam™, Model # LDT9965BD...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-03-25

Just purchased LDT9965BD dish washer, looked on website for height, depth and width specs. No listed. Please list.

Asked by: Hitmeuprc
We appreciate your interest in this dishwasher. According to the Specification Sheet attached to our website, the REQUIRED CLEARANCES for this model are 24” x 33 1/2” x 24” (WxHxD). The actual unit dimensions are 23 3/4” x 33 1/2” x 24 5/8”.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-04-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05201440, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT