To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

4.2 cu.ft. Compact Electric Condensing Front Load Dryer

  • DLEC888W

  • White

Key Features

  • 4.2 cu.ft. Capacity
  • Sensor Dry System
  • NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum
  • Intelligent Electronic Controls with an LED Display and Dial-A-Cycle™

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with Dryers”

LG Dryers were Evaluated by Consumer Reports

*Consumer Reports does not endorse products or services.

Really dry clothes

Really dry clothes

What’s worse than pulling clothes out of the dryer and finding they’re still damp? Our Sensor Dry system measures the moisture levels during the cycle and automatically adjusts the drying time, to help ensure you get dry laundry every time.

Just set and go

Just set and go

Let us take the guesswork out of doing the laundry. With features like our Dual LED Display indicators and intuitive Dial-A-Cycle™ controls, you’ll find the right setting every time.

The Power of Touch

The Power of Touch

Our NFC Tag-On lets you download new cycles to your LG washer & dryer. Download the LG Smart ThinQ app to your Android smart device, select the cycle & ‘tag’ the appliance. From one-touch cycle options that help choose the right setting to answering questions, LG puts simpler & smarter laundry in the palm of your hand.

Get wise

Get wise

If you ever experience an issue with your LG dryer, you don't have to worry. The SmartDiagnosis™ feature helps the service center diagnose problems over the phone, or with a simple app on your smart phone, helping you minimize costly, inconvenient service calls.

CAPACITY
Capacity 4.2 cu. ft.
APPEARANCE
Design Look Front Control Panel
Intelligent Electronic Controls with Touch LED Display Yes
Dial-A-Cycle™ Yes
DRYER PROGRAMS
No. of Programs 14
Programs (Sensor Dry) Cotton, Mixed Fabric, Easy Care, Bulky Item, Jeans, Skin Care, Quick Dry Sports Wear, Delicate, Wool, Download Cycle
Programs (Manual Dry) Cool Air, Gentle Air, Warm Air
No. of Options 10
Options Gentle, Damp Dry Beep, More Time, Less Time, Time Delay, Custom Program Wrinkle Care, Drum Light, Child Lock, Time Dry
Temperature Settings High, Medium High, Medium, Low, Ultra Low
Drying Levels Very Dry, More Dry, Normal Dry, Less Dry, Damp Dry
Manual Dry Times 60 min., 20 min., More Time/Less Time
CONVENIENCE FEATURES
End of Cycle Signal Yes
Drum Light Yes
Leveling Legs 4 Adjustable Legs
Remaining Time Display/Status Indicator(s) Yes
SMART THINQ® TECHNOLOGY
NFC Tag On Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ Yes
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
NeveRust™ Stainless Steel Drum Yes
Tub Rear Yes
Cabinet PCM
Control Panel Plastic
Door Rim Glass/Chrome
Door Cover Black Tinted Cover
Available Colors White (W)
POWER SOURCE
Ratings TBD
Electrical Requirements 240V, 30 Amps
Type Electric
DIMENSIONS
Product (WxHxD) 24" x 33 1/2" x 25 1/4" (45" D with door open)
Carton (WxHxD) 26" x 35 3/4" x 27 3/4"
Weight (Product/Carton) Electric 105 lbs / 115 lbs
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC CODES
UPC 048231018371

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing appliance We have been using this appliance about 3 years. It works great! I am so happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of great features Had this washer for over three years and it has survived two moves and is still working strong. The washer is able to handle the washing of two queen size quilts in the same load with ease. Three features I love the most are the delicate cycle, prewash and the cold water selection.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job quietly This washer has performed very well over the time I've owned it. It is very quiet, and spins clothes very dry. The only issue I have with it is you have to close the door more than once sometimes to get it to lock. This might become an issue down the road, but we'll see. Otherwise, this is. Great machine.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Faster than expected We just got this dryer to match the washer, because we got an extremely lucky deal on the washer. I expected the dryer to take a couple hours to dry a load, being ventless. But it dried a normal sized load of clothes in 45 minutes. That's hardly a concession to not being vented. Great compact dryer!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Dryer for your Small Space I ordered this unit back in May 2017 and it took about a month for delivery due to availability. It certainly was worth the wait... the unit is easy to use, quiet, and drys clothes pretty quickly. This is ventless, so you have a water tray to empty every couple loads (or as frequently as you want), no issue at all! If your considering this unit I would definitely recommend for you to purchase!
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dryer was damaged from day 1 I bought the dryer together with an LG front load washing machine. The washing machine worked fine but the dryer did not work. It started a cycle and after a few minutes it stop.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Compact Dryer This is an incredible dryer! First, it does now have a traditional vent hose, which means that you don’t have to worry about where it will vent. Instead, it uses a condensing system to pull the water out of the hot air and pump it into a reservoir (top-left of the dryer), or you can attach the supplied hose and hook it to the stand pipe where the washer empties. While the condensing unit (accessed through the bottom compartment on the front of the dryer) must be cleaned periodically (manual states 3-4 times per year or when the condenser light illuminates). The dryer works very well, leaving clothes, towels, sheets and blankets dry in a normal cycle (typically about an hour). You can hear the unit pump the water out occasionally as it is drying. One thing this dryer does is periodically reverse the drum direction. It sounds like it’s stopping, then reverses. This does a great job of keeping clothes from lumping together. One design consideration for LG is to think about using higher-contrast lettering on the control panel (or to back-light the entire panel). Beneath each selection is the name of the selection (Gray background with black lettering). This might be hard for some folks to read without direct light.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dryer Takes Too Long The default dryer setting is 2 hours and I cannot make the less time button work.
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05764427, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View DLEC888W Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Does this come with stacking kit or seoerate 

Asked by: Fran Cooper
The owner's manual for the LG 4.2 cu.ft. Compact Electric Condensing Front Load Dryer, Model # DLEC888W lists the Stacking Kit as an included accessory...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-17

i just purchased this dryer   (and washer ) i was wondering if the rebate that was tagged for this machine on this website is actually for this machine ? i and a pse&g customer from long island please advise 

Asked by: jesusrod
We appreciate your interest in this dryer. In reviewing our website, there appears to be no rebate listed by the manufacturer. If there are additional questions about this product, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-30

I've tried to troubleshoot the issue myself, but I cannot get the dryer to turn on. After searching on YouTube for solutions, it appears other have similar issues. Any recommendations as to how or why our dryer our dryer won't turn on?

Asked by: OscarG00
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this compact dryer. If this machine is not powering on, then it is first recommended to check the power cord for any damages, as well as the circuit breaker to which this dryer is connected. If this does not resolve the matter, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-02-17

Dryer wont heat

Asked by: Mario M
We regret the trouble you have experienced with this dryer. It is recommended to check the circuit breakers to which this device is connected, to ensure all is active. If this does not resolve the matter, then the unit may require service. To make service arrangements, you may either contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000, or you can check our Repair Provider Lookup on our website, at http://www.lg.com/us/support/repair/support-repair-provider-lookup.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2016-11-15

DOES THIS DRYER COME WITH A STACKING KIT OR IS ONE AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE? CANNOT FIND INFO ANYWHERE

Asked by: TRYINGTOSELL
A stacking kit comes as an included accessory with the LG 4.2 cu.ft. Compact Electric Condensing Front Load Dryer, Model # DLEC888W. That information can be on page 26 of the owner's manual for the unit and page 10 has instructions on how to use the stacking kit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-16

My light comes on so there is power getting to it.when I push start it does do anything.

Asked by: bbmeme
The LG 4.2 cu.ft. Compact Electric Condensing Front Load Dryer, Model # DLEC855W has a Child Lock feature on it that prevents cycle settings from being changed while the dryer is operating. That feature may have been inadvertently turned on and you will need to deactivate it. Pressing and holding the DRY LEVEL button for 3 seconds activates this feature or deactivates it. When the feature is activated, a lock icon will be shown on the display and the only button that will work is the Power button. You will find the instructions for this feature on page 20 of your owner's manual...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-09-27

The light comes on. But when I push start it doesn't do any thing

Asked by: bbmeme
The LG 4.2 cu.ft. Compact Electric Condensing Front Load Dryer, Model # DLEC855W has a Child Lock feature on it that prevents cycle settings from being changed while the dryer is operating. That feature may have been inadvertently turned on and you will need to deactivate it. Pressing and holding the DRY LEVEL button for 3 seconds activates this feature or deactivates it. When the feature is activated, a lock icon will be shown on the display and the only button that will work is the Power button. You will find the instructions for this feature on page 20 of your owner's manual...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2016-09-27

Does this dryer replace the DLEC855W? If so, how is it different?

Asked by: MCee
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05764427, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT