Skip to Contents

Skip to Accessibility Help

LG SP520: Network Media Player with Smart TV
LG SP520: Network Media Player with Smart TV
LG SP520: Network Media Player with Smart TV
LG SP520: Network Media Player with Smart TV

Discontinued Product

New Intelligence for your old TV

Network Media Player with Smart TV

SP520

  • LG Smart TV
  • Built-in Wi-Fi®
  • Smart Share
  • USB 2.0 Playback
Rating / Reviews
Be the first to review

Enlarge

Network Media Player with Smart TV

SP520

DOWNLOAD PDF
SHOW HIDE VIDEO FORMAT
  • MPEG2
  • MPEG4 AVC (H.264)
  • SMPTE VC1 (VC-9)
  • MKV
  • M4V
  • WMV
  • DivX/DivX HD
  • TS TP
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE VIDEO FEATURES
  • Deep Color (HDMI 1.4)
  • xvYCC
  • Last Scene Memory
  • NTSC/PAL Hz
  • NTSC to PAL Conversion
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • 60Hz
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE AUDIO FORMAT
  • LPCM
  • Dolby Digital
  • Dolby Digital Plus
  • MPEG 1/2 L2
  • MP3
  • WMA
  • AAC
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE AUDIO FEATURES
  • Dolby Digital 2ch Down Mix
  • Digital Audio Output
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE LG SMART TV FEATURES
  • Premium Content
  • Yes (Netflix/Vudu/Pandora/Hulu+/YouTube/ Picasa/Amazon Video)
SHOW HIDE CONNECTIVITY
  • Wi-Fi® Built-In
  • Wi-Fi® Direct
  • Wired
  • Smart Share
  • DMP (DLNA)
  • DMR (DLNA Mobile to TV Streaming)
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE AV INPUTS/OUTPUTS
  • USB 2.0
  • HDMI™
  • Audio Out (Optical)
  • LAN
  • 1 (Rear)
  • 1 (Rear)
  • 1 (Rear)
  • 1 (Rear)
SHOW HIDE SUPPLIED ACCESSORIES
  • Remote Control
  • Remote Control Batteries
  • DLNA Bundle Disc
  • Power Cable
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
SHOW HIDE POWER
  • Power Consumption
  • Power Off Consumption
  • Under 18W
  • 1.5W
SHOW HIDE DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
  • Unit Dimensions (W x H x D)
  • Shipping Dimensions (W x H x D)
  • Unit Weight
  • Shipping Weight
  • 4.3" x 1.2" x 4.3"
  • 7.9" x 3.3" x 5.0"
  • 0.7 lbs
  • 1.9 lbs
SHOW HIDE CONVENIENCE FEATURES
  • External HDD Playback
  • Smart Phone Remote App
  • USB Keyboard Ready
  • Yes
  • Yes (Android/iPhone)
  • Yes (Ready)
SHOW HIDE WARRANTY / UPC
  • Limited Warranty
  • UPC
  • 1 Year Parts/90 Days Labor
  • 719192583566
Back to Top

 

Rated 2.8 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Amazon video On the box ,you are advertising amazon video but after s/w upgrade amazon app is disappeared December 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product worked short time and then broke This product worked GREAT for 2-3 months, then it started to freeze up--just a little at first, then it got to where it doesn't work at all. I called your customer support and I did everything suggested, still broken. I'm really surprised, I have always had the very best experience with LG products, I recommend them to my friends. Is there anything you can do for me? I'm a single mom with limited funds. A discount on an LG replacement product for this would help me a lot. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for me! This product is everything we needed to get rid of the cable company! Hulu plus, USB port, ethernet adapter. Same functionality that's included but for much less than the competition! March 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Audio cutouts This used to work OK and then I downloaded the latest software patch. The audio now consistently cuts out. The video is fine. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item for casual use I have been using this product for months now and I didn't experience any problems with it. The only thing it does not read is AC3 audio files from movies. That's pretty much it. I always connect my 1TB external hdd here. Didn't have problem with the internet connection. Youtube & Netflix is great. Overall, this product is fair for its price. Thumbs up. February 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kind of slow and does not have Amazon IV I too bought this because of the price- I don't have a satellite receiver box in one room of the house, so I thought this would be the perfect, economical solution to watch TV there. It's ok- I didn't have any problems with it finding a signal, and the wireless router is probably 50 feet away (and separated by several walls#. The problem However, it was a little slow- I wasn't sure if this was a processor issue or an Internet issue, but it took a bit of time for it to access folders. The little streaming I did do on it #YouTube, playing music from my computer# was fine. There were no lags. I would keep it were it not for one thing: It does not have Amazon Instant Video, even though it advertises that it does on the box, as well as the website. Aside from being kind of annoyed by this, the fact of the matter is that I really have no use for this device if it doesn't have that. So it goes back today. FWIW, I did notice a LOT of returns #open boxes) when I picked it out at the store the other day. January 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor thing needs help, Very Disappointed 1. This player does not play all types of files. 2. Poor WIFI Range. 3. It needs an update sooner than later. 4. All I can say is it's small and looks clean. 5. Good looking and easy to navigate menu. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product - Great Features - Easy to use I am delighted with this product. It is well made, has a beautiful graphical user interface, and was extremely easy to set up. The remote control is simple (which makes it easy to use) and the size is nice. I use this device to watch my VUDU video collection. All of my other TVs use a PS3 for this purpose. (The PS3 units are hardwired with a LAN connection.) I was going to hardwire the LG SP520 as well but the WiFi works so well it wasn't necessary. (I use Time Warner cable with a 50 MBPS download speed and 5 MBPS upload speed. I use a D-Link access point which is about 30 feet away for the WiFi connection.) I am able to watch the HDX versions of my VUDU collection without any glitches or buffering. I am not sure why other people are having problems with WiFi but my system works flawlessly. I would have given this unit 5 stars but it doesn't have Amazon instant video. I really would like to see that feature added in a software update. December 12, 2012
2 Next>>
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice. Screen images simulated and/or dramatized. Some features in videos may not be available on all models. Please refer to the TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS tab for a complete list of features by model.
Design, features and specifications subject to change without notice.

Recently Viewed

close
SP520

SP520

top