To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV

  • BH5140S

Key Features

  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Apps
  • Blu-ray 3D
  • Private Sound Mode
LG Smart TV

LG Smart TV

Easily access premium content from providers like Hulu Plus®, Netflix® and YouTube® directly through your LG Smart TV*. Stream your favorite movies and TV shows, enjoy the latest games, apps and more. LG connects you to the content that you and your family want.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately. Content and services vary by product and are subject to change without notice.

LG Apps

LG Apps

The LG Smart World app store built into your LG Smart TV is loaded with fun and useful new apps for you to search, download and enjoy, taking your entertainment experience to the next level.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately.

Blu-ray 3D

Blu-ray 3D

If you have a 3D-capable television, this player lets you enjoy visually spectacular Hollywood blockbusters on Blu-ray 3D Disc™, in stunning quality.

Disclaimer: 3D TV sold separately. Viewing 3D video content may cause discomfort. Visit www.lg.com for details. Blu-ray is a trademark of Blu-ray Disc Association.

Private Sound Mode

Private Sound Mode

Want to watch your favorite disc without disturbing those around you? Private Sound Mode lets you wirelessly send the audio from the Blu-ray player to your compatible smartphone, and then listen over your headphones.

Disclaimer: Audio can only be sent from a disc-based source such as CD, DVD, Blu-ray, and streaming services.

DLNA Certified®

DLNA Certified®

Devices bearing the DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance) logo have been certified to work together to share audio, video and photos across a home network. So this LG product will work well with other DLNA-certified devices in your home.

PREMIUM CONTENT PROVIDERS
Vudu Yes
Netflix Yes
Hulu Yes
CinemaNow Yes
Youtube Yes
M-GO Yes
MLB Yes
Amazon Yes
Pandora Yes
Crackle Yes
Spotify Yes
Rhapsody Yes
Accuweather Yes
Vtuner Yes
AP Yes
Google Maps Yes
Facebook Yes
Twitter Yes
Viewster Yes
GENERAL
Channels 5.1
Total Power 500W
Front x 2 80W
Center 80W
Rear x 2 80W
Subwoofer 100W
FEATURES
2D & 3D Playback Yes
Premium Content & LG Apps Yes
All-in-One Search Yes
Private Sound Mode 2.0 Yes
Smart Share (DLNA) Yes
SPEAKER
Type Satellite
CONNECTIVITY
Auxilary L/R Inputs Yes
HDMI® Out Yes
Ethernet Yes
USB Yes
Portable Audio In (3.5mm) Yes
COMPATIBILITY
BD Profile 5.0
Playback Formats Video: .avi, .mpg, .mpeg, .mkv, .mp4, .asf, .wmv, .m4v (DRM free), .vob, .3gp, .mov, .trp, .m2t, .mpe, .m1v, .m2v, .wm, .flv, .ts, .dat Audio: LPCM, MPEG 1/2 L2, MP3, WMA, AAC, FLAC Photo: JPEG, GIF, Animated GIF, PNG
Playback Media 3D Blu-ray, BD, BD-R, BD-RE, DVD, DVD+/-R, DVD+/-RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, DTS-CD
PLAYABLE DISC TYPE
Blu-ray Yes
CD / CD-R / CD-RW Yes
DVD / DVD+/-R / DVD+/-RW Yes
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
FM Antenna Yes
Speaker Wires Yes
DLNA Setup Disc Yes
Batteries Yes
POWER
Power Consumption 80W
Standby 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Unit Dimensions (WxHxD) 14.2" x 12" x 2.4"
Front Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Center Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Subwoofer (W x H x D) 6.1" x 10.6" x 12.8"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 17.6" x 16.0" x 14.7"
Unit Weight 18.0 lbs
Shipping Weight 21.4 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192592483

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little unit need a new Blue ray player and this was a great replacement.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Glad I bought it. My old system was 20 years old. Wow what a difference!!
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound and user friendly features. i am so pleased with the sound and will definitely show and tell all of my friends about it.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Still work good after 7 years sounds good looks good
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Love it ! I am extremely happy with it. Sounds great ! Would suggest it to my friends.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great system for the price! Nice home system for a small living room. Good sound and easy installation. And for the price, it is a good buy!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minor problems, good performance . . . We bought this to replace a great Home Theater System that lost 1 side of the audio. Initially, we were worried that these may have some serious issues, because of online reviews, but the only problems we've seen are minor. Sometimes the unit is slow to respond to inputs, sometimes we have to press the "Optical/TV Sound" button a number of times. The instructions could be clearer, & more extensive. The unit updates fairly often, but some items seem to not reflect the updates. Overall, we've been very pleased. We really like the 'surround sound', & I appreciate that I could use the speakers from the previous install. [I checked the speaker specs to make sure that they matched the electrical specs.] All in all, we're very pleased w/ the LG BH5140S, & would recommend to anyone looking for a Home Theater System.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, Easy to clean We got our Refrigerator 2 years ago, and loved it. With my sister and I we bought a New LG Refrigerator of my Dad for Christmas last. He was so surprised he still shows if off to anyone who come into his home.
Date published: 2017-09-22
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View BH5140S Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

How can I hook up my satellite to the theater system so the sound will play thought it 

Asked by: Barbie1980
Hi, you would need to connect the Audio out from the satellite to the Auxilary L/R Inputs on the theater system. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-15

My 5140 system is powering on but saying goodbye after some seconds, what is the problem.

Asked by: Jenzy1
Hello, sounds like you may need service. Give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 so we can see what we can do. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-14

Can i connect my LG Artiso phone up to watch videos? If so How?

Asked by: Jenna1984
I am sorry, but you can not. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-14

Is a wireless adapter available for WiFi networks?  

Asked by: Kotaonbags1
There isn't an available Wi-Fi Adapter for the LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart, Model # BH5140S. It only connects via Ethernet...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-07

How do I make the sound work while I play play station

Asked by: THURMAN123
More information would be needed about the setup to better assist. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-11

Model number location on product

Asked by: Nikshtal101
It would be suggested to check the rear left of the main unit for the model number.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-03

Is Sling TV an app that is available on this device?

Asked by: shaw123
The Sling TV App only became available for most 2016 webOS 3.0 and 2017 webOS 3.5 LG TVs making it the first live over-the-top (OTT) service available on LG Smart TVs. It is not available on the LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140 which has preinstalled apps and was released well before the Sling TV App became available...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-26

How do you operate the FM radio on bh5140s ?

Asked by: Bethc
To operate the FM radio on the unit you would do the following 1. Press FUNCTION until TUNER (FM) appears in the display window. The last received station is tuned in. 2. Press and hold TUNING (-/+) for about two seconds until the frequency indication starts to change. Scanning stops when the unit tunes in a station. Or Press TUNING (-/+) repeatedly.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-25
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT