To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV

  • BH5140S

Key Features

  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Apps
  • Blu-ray 3D
  • Private Sound Mode
LG Smart TV

LG Smart TV

Easily access premium content from providers like Hulu Plus®, Netflix® and YouTube® directly through your LG Smart TV*. Stream your favorite movies and TV shows, enjoy the latest games, apps and more. LG connects you to the content that you and your family want.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately. Content and services vary by product and are subject to change without notice.

LG Apps

LG Apps

The LG Smart World app store built into your LG Smart TV is loaded with fun and useful new apps for you to search, download and enjoy, taking your entertainment experience to the next level.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately.

Blu-ray 3D

Blu-ray 3D

If you have a 3D-capable television, this player lets you enjoy visually spectacular Hollywood blockbusters on Blu-ray 3D Disc™, in stunning quality.

Disclaimer: 3D TV sold separately. Viewing 3D video content may cause discomfort. Visit www.lg.com for details. Blu-ray is a trademark of Blu-ray Disc Association.

Private Sound Mode

Private Sound Mode

Want to watch your favorite disc without disturbing those around you? Private Sound Mode lets you wirelessly send the audio from the Blu-ray player to your compatible smartphone, and then listen over your headphones.

Disclaimer: Audio can only be sent from a disc-based source such as CD, DVD, Blu-ray, and streaming services.

DLNA Certified®

DLNA Certified®

Devices bearing the DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance) logo have been certified to work together to share audio, video and photos across a home network. So this LG product will work well with other DLNA-certified devices in your home.

PREMIUM CONTENT PROVIDERS
Vudu Yes
Netflix Yes
Hulu Yes
CinemaNow Yes
Youtube Yes
M-GO Yes
MLB Yes
Amazon Yes
Pandora Yes
Crackle Yes
Spotify Yes
Rhapsody Yes
Accuweather Yes
Vtuner Yes
AP Yes
Google Maps Yes
Facebook Yes
Twitter Yes
Viewster Yes
GENERAL
Channels 5.1
Total Power 500W
Front x 2 80W
Center 80W
Rear x 2 80W
Subwoofer 100W
FEATURES
2D & 3D Playback Yes
Premium Content & LG Apps Yes
All-in-One Search Yes
Private Sound Mode 2.0 Yes
Smart Share (DLNA) Yes
SPEAKER
Type Satellite
CONNECTIVITY
Auxilary L/R Inputs Yes
HDMI® Out Yes
Ethernet Yes
USB Yes
Portable Audio In (3.5mm) Yes
COMPATIBILITY
BD Profile 5.0
Playback Formats Video: .avi, .mpg, .mpeg, .mkv, .mp4, .asf, .wmv, .m4v (DRM free), .vob, .3gp, .mov, .trp, .m2t, .mpe, .m1v, .m2v, .wm, .flv, .ts, .dat Audio: LPCM, MPEG 1/2 L2, MP3, WMA, AAC, FLAC Photo: JPEG, GIF, Animated GIF, PNG
Playback Media 3D Blu-ray, BD, BD-R, BD-RE, DVD, DVD+/-R, DVD+/-RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, DTS-CD
PLAYABLE DISC TYPE
Blu-ray Yes
CD / CD-R / CD-RW Yes
DVD / DVD+/-R / DVD+/-RW Yes
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
FM Antenna Yes
Speaker Wires Yes
DLNA Setup Disc Yes
Batteries Yes
POWER
Power Consumption 80W
Standby 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Unit Dimensions (WxHxD) 14.2" x 12" x 2.4"
Front Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Center Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Subwoofer (W x H x D) 6.1" x 10.6" x 12.8"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 17.6" x 16.0" x 14.7"
Unit Weight 18.0 lbs
Shipping Weight 21.4 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192592483

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Amazing! Bought this to fit our home theater that we set up and we were not disappointed at all! Quick and easy to instal. Two thumbs up for sure!
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home theater easy set-up, instruction, had no problems , works great thanks
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No way! It constantly freezes so I have to restart it quite a few times a week. Its not WiFi. And the available apps are not worth anything. Its a pretty disappointing buy.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most enjoyment for the money My wife and I have been through a couple of home theater units in the past, this one by far is the best. A whole lot of sound out of a unit with 500 watts. Past models were 1000 watts, this one sounds a lot better. I would recommend it to a friend.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound! Just like we are in an actual theater! Family LOVES it!!!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Everything about it is great except for one problem that may have been operator error: On some DVDs a persistent closed captioning would appear and no matter what would not go away. Haven't seen this in last few DVDs viewed so it may have been coming from the TV itself, will see.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not made for US customers App store can't be used in the US. Locks up constantly and has to be unplugged. After reading many reviews this is a common problem.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT MEANT FOR SALE IN THE US app store not for us customers and doesnt work. it locks up CONSTANTLY and has to be unplugged, very slow poor quality product
Date published: 2016-11-12
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View BH5140S Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Trying to watch a DVD wouldn't play they said please wait and won't do anything now

Asked by: Tayh
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this Home Theater System. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 to advise how the devices are connected, and to further troubleshoot the matter
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-14

The optical input is let registering when trying to listen to music from the tv.  It's plugged in thr tv and receiver but it's greyed out. 

Asked by: frustrated amie
We do apologize about the issue you are having with this audio system. More information would be needed to assist. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-30

How do you reset power surge protector on the unit? The unit was plugged into a surge protector TV works fine but player won't

Asked by: Jasonhug
We apologize about the issue your are experiencing with this Home Audio System. If the unit is plugged into a surge protector, we would suggest to plug directly into a wall outlet to see if it corrects the issue. If not, Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-28

We were recently in a hurricane here in South Texas. And our power got knock out for a couple of days. When the power came back on Wednesday tried to watch a movie and did for about a minute

Asked by: Jasonhug
We apologize about the issue your are having with the Home Audio System. More information will be needed to better address your concern. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for further assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-28

I cant find the remote for my bh5140s can I use the new smart tv remote by lg on this device?

Asked by: Ogle
We appreciate your interest in this home audio system. It would be possible to us the LG remote to control the system, you would need to go in to DEVICE CONNECTOR to setup the universal control function. If you require further assistance, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-23

How do I get audio to my tv fr my surround sound system 

Asked by: Tkrueger
We do appreciate your interest in this Sound System. If you have a HDMI TV or monitor, you can connect it to this player using a HDMI cable (Type A, High speed HDMI™ cable with Ethernet). Connect the HDMI jack on the player to the HDMI jack on a HDMI compatible TV or monitor. More connection information can be found on page 14 of the owner's manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-15

Does it play 4k

Asked by: whitney
The LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140S does not play 4K and it does not have 4K Pass Through...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-08-08

How can I get the audio from my ps4 to come out on this model, or is it not possible?

Asked by: Murdera99
If you were to connect the PS4 via the optical port on the unit it may be possible to get sound from your PS4. For better assistance, please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-17
  • y_2017, m_9, d_22, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT