To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV

  • BH5140S

Key Features

  • LG Smart TV
  • LG Apps
  • Blu-ray 3D
  • Private Sound Mode
LG Smart TV

LG Smart TV

Easily access premium content from providers like Hulu Plus®, Netflix® and YouTube® directly through your LG Smart TV*. Stream your favorite movies and TV shows, enjoy the latest games, apps and more. LG connects you to the content that you and your family want.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately. Content and services vary by product and are subject to change without notice.

LG Apps

LG Apps

The LG Smart World app store built into your LG Smart TV is loaded with fun and useful new apps for you to search, download and enjoy, taking your entertainment experience to the next level.

Disclaimer: *Internet connection & some subscriptions required and sold separately.

Blu-ray 3D

Blu-ray 3D

If you have a 3D-capable television, this player lets you enjoy visually spectacular Hollywood blockbusters on Blu-ray 3D Disc™, in stunning quality.

Disclaimer: 3D TV sold separately. Viewing 3D video content may cause discomfort. Visit www.lg.com for details. Blu-ray is a trademark of Blu-ray Disc Association.

Private Sound Mode

Private Sound Mode

Want to watch your favorite disc without disturbing those around you? Private Sound Mode lets you wirelessly send the audio from the Blu-ray player to your compatible smartphone, and then listen over your headphones.

Disclaimer: Audio can only be sent from a disc-based source such as CD, DVD, Blu-ray, and streaming services.

DLNA Certified®

DLNA Certified®

Devices bearing the DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance) logo have been certified to work together to share audio, video and photos across a home network. So this LG product will work well with other DLNA-certified devices in your home.

PREMIUM CONTENT PROVIDERS
Vudu Yes
Netflix Yes
Hulu Yes
CinemaNow Yes
Youtube Yes
M-GO Yes
MLB Yes
Amazon Yes
Pandora Yes
Crackle Yes
Spotify Yes
Rhapsody Yes
Accuweather Yes
Vtuner Yes
AP Yes
Google Maps Yes
Facebook Yes
Twitter Yes
Viewster Yes
GENERAL
Channels 5.1
Total Power 500W
Front x 2 80W
Center 80W
Rear x 2 80W
Subwoofer 100W
FEATURES
2D & 3D Playback Yes
Premium Content & LG Apps Yes
All-in-One Search Yes
Private Sound Mode 2.0 Yes
Smart Share (DLNA) Yes
SPEAKER
Type Satellite
CONNECTIVITY
Auxilary L/R Inputs Yes
HDMI® Out Yes
Ethernet Yes
USB Yes
Portable Audio In (3.5mm) Yes
COMPATIBILITY
BD Profile 5.0
Playback Formats Video: .avi, .mpg, .mpeg, .mkv, .mp4, .asf, .wmv, .m4v (DRM free), .vob, .3gp, .mov, .trp, .m2t, .mpe, .m1v, .m2v, .wm, .flv, .ts, .dat Audio: LPCM, MPEG 1/2 L2, MP3, WMA, AAC, FLAC Photo: JPEG, GIF, Animated GIF, PNG
Playback Media 3D Blu-ray, BD, BD-R, BD-RE, DVD, DVD+/-R, DVD+/-RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, DTS-CD
PLAYABLE DISC TYPE
Blu-ray Yes
CD / CD-R / CD-RW Yes
DVD / DVD+/-R / DVD+/-RW Yes
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
FM Antenna Yes
Speaker Wires Yes
DLNA Setup Disc Yes
Batteries Yes
POWER
Power Consumption 80W
Standby 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Unit Dimensions (WxHxD) 14.2" x 12" x 2.4"
Front Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Center Speaker (W x H x D) 3.5" x 3" x 5"
Subwoofer (W x H x D) 6.1" x 10.6" x 12.8"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 17.6" x 16.0" x 14.7"
Unit Weight 18.0 lbs
Shipping Weight 21.4 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192592483

What People Are Saying

Rated 2 out of 5 by from No way! It constantly freezes so I have to restart it quite a few times a week. Its not WiFi. And the available apps are not worth anything. Its a pretty disappointing buy.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most enjoyment for the money My wife and I have been through a couple of home theater units in the past, this one by far is the best. A whole lot of sound out of a unit with 500 watts. Past models were 1000 watts, this one sounds a lot better. I would recommend it to a friend.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound! Just like we are in an actual theater! Family LOVES it!!!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Everything about it is great except for one problem that may have been operator error: On some DVDs a persistent closed captioning would appear and no matter what would not go away. Haven't seen this in last few DVDs viewed so it may have been coming from the TV itself, will see.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not made for US customers App store can't be used in the US. Locks up constantly and has to be unplugged. After reading many reviews this is a common problem.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT MEANT FOR SALE IN THE US app store not for us customers and doesnt work. it locks up CONSTANTLY and has to be unplugged, very slow poor quality product
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I was replacing a similar product. It was very easy to hook up and worked well.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sound...ez install I bought this to replace previous lg home system...so I used existing wiring and was wired the same way
Date published: 2016-05-28
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View BH5140S Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can you down apps on this product like Amazon instant video if so how

Asked by: Reeta
Amazon is one of the pre-installed Premium Content Provider's Apps that are already on the LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140S. This unit comes with 18 other pre-installed apps and it does not have an LG Content App store that you can use to download other compatible apps...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-17

Hello can I hook up my phone to this and mirror the screen to watch a movie or videos? If so how?

Asked by: Ayriana18
Smart Share is LG's name for DLNA and the LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140S supports DLNA. If your phone also supports DLNA, you can use the Smart Share feature to access video, photo and audio files stored in your phone as as as long they are on the same network...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-16

Hello, does this model have a clock I can set on the box? If so, where do I go to find and set it? I am referring to the box itself where I put in the discs. 

Asked by: HjaltiS
I apologize, but no; this system has not been designed with a clock for its display.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-08

I have bh5140s the remote lost its mute the 2nd day. the rest of the controls are slowly whackin out. it has great sound I have quite a few lg products. washer phone tv and this home theater. I need a new remote however do you make a better quality remote

Asked by: mealready
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for this item is: AKB73775820.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-04

Can you buy and use lg WIRELESS speakers on this product ? 

Asked by: Erica310
The LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140S is not a Bluetooth enabled unit so you will not be able to use wireless speakers with it. The Speakers need to be connected via speaker wires...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-04-25

How do I go about getting a replacement remote?

Asked by: PatriciaHulit000
Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for this item is: AKB73775801.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-11

My router is no where near where this unit is placed. Is there some kind of additional adapter I can purchase to make this wifi compatable? It seems a little silly to have all this technology and need a hard line to the unit to use it.

Asked by: Bella5152
We appreciate your interest in this Home Theater System. This particular model has not been designed for compatibility with any known WiFi adapters. The network connection must utilize a standard LAN cable for proper operations.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-04-04

Am I able to use it just with my phone like in my room just for music 

Asked by: Pablo378
The LG 3D-Capable 500W 5.1ch Blu-ray Disc™ Home Theater System with Smart TV, Model # BH5140S is a DLNA Certified digital media player that can display and play video, photo and audio content from your DLNA-compatible digital media server (PC and Consumer Electronics) or compatible DLNA device. If your phone is DLNA compatible, you can use the Smart Share feature to play video, photo or audio content from it if it is on the same home network and the Home Theater System...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-04-10
  • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05095521, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT