To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

SJ4R

Key Features

  • High Resolution Audio
  • Wireless Surround Sound Speakers
  • Surround Sound Expansion
  • Bluetooth Streaming
  • Wireless Active Subwoofer
Suggested Price

$399.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$199.99

Promotion Price*
Hear the whole picture

Hear the whole picture.

                                                           

High Resolution Audio

High Resolution Audio

Digital music has gone audiophile, with higher sampling rates and bit depth which can contribute to a more accurate, more enjoyable listening experience. This CTA-certified sound bar can play back lossless stereo audio at up to 24-bit/96kHz quality.

Wireless Surround Ready

Wireless Surround Speakers

This sound bar includes wireless surround speakers, adding the premium cinema experience of dedicated rear channels, with wireless convenience.

Learn More

open

Surround Sound Expansion

For a truly cinematic surround audio experience this sound bar includes a receiver unit that links wirelessly to the sound bar and then connects to a pair of supplied speakers that can be placed behind the listener.

Surround Sound Expansion
Adaptive Sound Control

Adaptive Sound Control

For maximum enjoyment of various types of programming (movies, sports, games, etc.), LG-exclusive Adaptive Sound Control can automatically detect what’s playing and then enhance the clarity and impact of the audio.

LG Sound Sync

LG Sound Sync

Enhance the home cinema experience without the clutter of unnecessary cables. LG Sound Sync technology links compatible LG televisions to the sound bar wirelessly, using Bluetooth.

Bluetooth Connectivity

Bluetooth Connectivity

Wirelessly stream music directly from your Smartphone or other compatible device for a seamless listening experience.

Wireless Subwoofer

Wireless Subwoofer

An outboard wireless subwoofer can drastically improve the cinematic audio experience, adding room-shaking bass to movies and more.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
GENERAL
FEATURES
SOUND MODES
AUDIO FORMAT
SPEAKERS
CONNECTIVITY
POWER
DIMENSIONS/ WEIGHTS
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
WARRANTY / UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Syncing with the TV. Is hard. Have to restart the sound system several times......
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home theater Easy to setup and sound quality is better than I thought
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good speaker bar with rear speakers. The same speaker bar as the sj4y with the rear surround speakers included for less $. Sounds good and easy to put together.
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wireless is great This little system can pack a decent punch, really wanted surround while viewing movies, It's good if you live in a apartment, no issues going somewhat wireless with the rear speaker kit and subwoofer. The bass is decent, 3 different sound modes depending on what your listening to, I'm happy with this purchase fits right in with my new OLED55B7A.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound... low price... Amazing sound... for very low price... easy to use...
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I had an LG soundbar with a wired sub-woofer prior to this unit and the sub-woofer was very sub-par. This unit blows it out of the water by far! I had been looking for a good sound, wireless rear speaker unit for a while that didn't break the bank and i"m glad to say that I found it. The price point for this unit was worth it. It's worth the extra $100 to spend on this unit to get the rear speakers and upgraded sound from the sub-woofer vs. just a soundbar and sub-par sound. The rear speakers have wires that connect to a central hub wherever you put it. This is normal of a wireless unit in my experience.However, there is no wires to run from the soundbar to the central hub which is great, so you can place the rear speakers anywhere. It's worth the purchase and I'd buy it again.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOU ARE THERE I purchased this product at Best Buy, as a open box return. I hooked it up to my smart TV, and the experience I get from watching action movies AND live concerts, is the same as really being there. The sub woofer gives me the just like you're there feeling. And the REAR speakers actually through the sound ALL AROUND.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mediocre sound, not crisp and clean I've had this for several months and am very disappointed. The sound emanating from the unit is not always crisp and clean, and there is no way to adjust if other than with the built-in Cinema and ASC buttons, which don't provide much in the way of improvement. I called customer service and they had me reset the unit, but no improvement. Problem is exacerbated when I try to play the unit a lower volumes.
Date published: 2018-02-14
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05882216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is ut possible to get sound in rear speakers when not using Cinema sound mode?

Asked by: Johanstar666
There is no option on my remote to enable suround sound, as i understand its only enabled with Cinema mode?
Answered by: Johanstar666
Date published: 2018-02-13

Recommended sound bar mounting bracket to mount under TV? I have an LG 65sj8000?

Asked by: Bluebino
You can mount the main unit for the LG 4.1 ch Sound Bar Surround System with Wireless Surround Sound Speakers, Model # SJ4R on the wall using the Wall bracket install guide, and the two Wall brackets that come supplied with the unit. You will need to purchase the screws and wall plugs to attach the wall brackets to your wall...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-07

I have this soundbar and it is hooked up to my 60UH8500 LG TV via optical cable. My problem is that when watching a movie, it almost seems as though there is no dialogue (center) channel. During music (such as the movie Muana) the lyrics are very muffled.

Asked by: UpstateNYer
Hello, please see page 33 in the manual to see if you can adjust the settings to meet your needs. ^AC http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-SJ4R
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-05

Why is my soundbar buzzing?

Asked by: Kathyandbeyond
That doesn't sound right Kathyandbeyond, we would need more information to answer you question. Please give us a ring at 1-800-243-0000 so we can assist. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-15

Does this work with my LG 60" SJ8000 TV? Does it have to be connected or will 

Asked by: jconcepcion
Yes, it will work and would have to be connected from the Digital Optical out from the TV to the SJ4R. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-12

I just got the SJ4R and can't get any sound to come thru. I don't have the optical plug on my tv. I have HDMI but it isn't the ARC. Is there another wire I can get or is this just not compatible? My tv is LG so I thought this would connect, but it isn't.

Asked by: SW322
For sound to come through, you must be sure to turn off the internal speakers of the LG TV. Please come talk to us on Twitter at @LGUSSupport, on Facebook at @LGUSSupport or give us a ring at 1-800-243-0000 so we can see what is going on. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-08

Where can I download owners manual for Sj4r sound bar

Asked by: Jd21
A copy of the owner's manual can be found here: http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-SJ4R#manuals ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-01-06

I just set this system up and hear constant static in the two outside speakers within the soundbar.  The inside are fine.  Also some static in the rear surround.  Please help

Asked by: JWma
Hello JWma, we do need some more information to be able to assist. Please give us a call when you are with the unit at 1-800-243-0000. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-02
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05882216, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT