To properly experience our website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help


Key Features

  • High Resolution Audio
  • Chromecast Built-in
  • 4K Pass-Through (HDCP 2.2)
  • 1.5” Ultra-Slim Design
  • Hi-Fi DAC
Suggested Price


Suggested Price
Promotion Price*


Promotion Price*
SJ8 Sound Bar


High Resolution Audio

High Resolution Audio

Digital music has gone audiophile, with higher sampling rates and bit depth which can contribute to a more accurate, more enjoyable listening experience. This CTA-certified sound bar can play back lossless stereo audio at up to 24-bit/192kHz quality.

Chromecast Built-In


Stream tunes wirelessly to the sound bar from popular apps* like Pandora and Google Play Music. Chromecast works seamlessly with a smartphone or tablet, iPhone, iPad, Mac or Windows laptop or Chromebook.

*Please check with content providers as services or products are subject to change at any time. Internet connection is required. Subscriptions may be required for some services.

4K Pass Through

4K Pass-Through

4K resolution is the new video quality standard for streaming, disc and beyond. This sound bar supports HDCP 2.2 so it can deliver the full home cinema experience with no loss of 4K image quality.

Ultra Slim Design

Ultra Slim Design

This 1.5 inch, ultra-thin LG sound bar coordinates beautifully with a wide range of premium TVs while complementing the most refined living room décor.

Learn More


T8 OLED TV Mount Stand**

Complete the in-home cinema experience with the help of this elegant accessory. The optional T8 OLED TV Mount Stand kit allows the high-performance SJ8 sound bar to attach beautifully beneath the clean, graceful lines of B7 and C7 model LG OLED TVs.

**T8 OLED TV Mount Stand provided separately with purchase of SJ8 at select retailers.
Consult your local retailer for details.

OLED Mount Stand
24-bit Upsampling

24-bit Upsampling

24-bit sound contains more data than lower-quality audio, and is the standard for high-resolution music. This feature converts lower-resolution audio to a high-resolution 24-bit format for a more premium listening experience.

Adaptive Sound Control

Adaptive Sound Control

For maximum enjoyment of various types of programming (movies, sports, games, etc.), LG-exclusive Adaptive Sound Control can automatically detect what’s playing and then enhance the clarity and impact of the audio.

Wireless Connectivity

Wireless Connectivity

Wirelessly stream music directly from your Smartphone or other compatible device for a seamless listening experience.

LG Sound Sync

LG Sound Sync

Enhance the home cinema experience without the clutter of unnecessary cables. LG Sound Sync technology links compatible LG televisions to the sound bar wirelessly, using Bluetooth.


What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound and features I used the optical cable connection to my 8 year old LG TV which was easy to hook up. I bought the SJ8 to improve my TV sound, which it did, and I assumed incorrectly, that I could also connect it to my stereo receiver, which it can't. However the SJ8 sound bar has a variety of streaming options for customized music and radio stations that has offset that stereo connection issue for me. I also plan to upgrade to a new LG OLED TV and this SJ8 should fit, I believe, the new TV stand perfectly creating a customized uniform look.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Buy! I bought this about a month ago and it is excellent for great sound on our T.V. as well as our DVD/CD player. I cannot say enough about how good it is! The only thing that would be more helpful is more specific directions on how to set it up. But it wasn't difficult to figure out.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible improvement Recently bought a OLED65C7P. The SJ8 soundbar came free, but was on back order so I didn't get it for a couple weeks. I was impressed with the sound from the TV's built-ins, which are usually terrible, and probably would have been fine without the soundbar. However, once getting the soundbar installed... WOW. What a difference. Incredible improvement. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One major flaw with no answer? We like the sound bar with one major exception: There seems to be no ability to select a "default" setting for when first turning on the device - it comes on at MAXIMUM volume. It startles everyone in the room. There has to be a way to adjust this, but it is not noted in any of the documentation.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soundbar! Aesthetically pleasing, low profile and also sounds great!
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Soundbar! After owning 2 other soundbars finally found one that does work as advertised & for the price can't go wrong...and yes it is 4K compatible.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing What a amazing sound and such a small foot print. A great price
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the better end of sound quility Good sound all the way but it over drives the sub. If you turn it down alittle it takes to much away through the whole range.
Date published: 2017-10-06
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms


Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can you mount the sound bar on the wall, for example, just below the TV

Asked by: JCB Surf
Yes, you sure can! ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-19

I have an LG 65SJ8000 and would like to know recommended mounting bracket for SJ8 soundbar.

Asked by: Bluebino
Hello, wall brackets came with the unit, if you no longer have them, you can order them from here. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-06

I got a video on my phone. Can i play it on the tv with the soundbar

Asked by: Rudy04
HI Rudy04. Please pardon us, but we are not quite clear on your inquiry and would need some clarification. The LG 4.1 ch High-Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 is a Bluetooth enabled device that can be paired with a smartphone or TV that supports Bluetooth so that you can stream audio wirelessly via Bluetooth to the SoundBar. If you can cast video to your TV or share video files with your TV from your smartphone and the TV is paired with the Soundbar, you can send the audio from the video files you're watching on the TV via Bluetooth. Please check the instructions in your owner's manual for your TV to ensure that it will support that...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-29

Can you tell me which LG rear wireless speakers are compatible with the SJ8 soundbar?

Asked by: Cdoyle19y6
@LGJoel: are you sure? A 4.1 signal includes two rear signal (5.1 adds a center channel). It seems we should be able to add rear speakers to the SJ8, otherwise it is a big step backwards from the previous generation sh7b.
Answered by: dave24
Date published: 2017-12-20

Is it possible to disable the Bluetooth on this sound at? I have a neighbor who connects to it by mistake and it’s very frustration to have the system change the source.

Asked by: TxHogFan94
Hello, please go to the manual, page 55. Once there, set up a Bluetooth connection and then set BLUETOOTH connection lock on page 57. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-13

Is it possible to directly connect the SJ8 sound bar to an OLED lg55b7? While mounted to a wall mount that comes off the wall? I know they have the T8, but that seems to be for sitting on a table

Asked by: DONR60
Hi DONR60. The LG Sound Bar Bracket Stand, Model # T8 is not designed for sitting on a table. It is designed to have the Sound Bar be mounted directly under the 2017 OLED TVs while they are mounted on the wall. The LG B7 OLED 4K HDR Smart TV - 55" Class (54.6" Diag), Model # OLED55B7P has an Optical Digital Audio Output that you can connect directly to the Optical Digital Audio Input on the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 or you can connect the units using their HDMI IN/ARC ports. Depending on how shallow the space is between the TV and the wall with the wall mount that you use, you may need to use angled connector adapters to make the necessary connections...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

Hi In case I see a Blu-Ray movie with A Dolby Atmos sound format or DTS-MA , will the SJ8 support it ? will it fail to decode ? Thanks

Asked by: harelma24
The supported Audio Formats on the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 are: LPCM, Dolby Digital, DTS Digital Surround, FLAC (up to 192 kHz), OGG (Up to 48kHz), WAV, ALAC, MP3, WMA, AAC(MPEG4), AAC+ and AIFF. It does not support DTS-MA or Dolby TrueHD...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

The sound level isn’t very high on my bar sj8. It says maximum  it sounded louder at Best Buy. 

Asked by: Sherri 13
If you're still experiencing issues with sound levels, head to our support page on Twitter, @LGUSSupport or on facebook at and our specialists will be happy to look into it. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-30
  • y_2018, m_3, d_22, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms