To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar

  • SJ8

Key Features

  • High Resolution Audio
  • Chromecast Built-in
  • 4K Pass-Through (HDCP 2.2)
  • 1.5” Ultra-Slim Design
  • Hi-Fi DAC
SJ8 Sound Bar

          

High Resolution Audio

High Resolution Audio

Digital music has gone audiophile, with higher sampling rates and bit depth which can contribute to a more accurate, more enjoyable listening experience. This CTA-certified sound bar can play back lossless stereo audio at up to 24-bit/192kHz quality.

Chromecast Built-In

Chromecast
Built-In

Stream tunes wirelessly to the sound bar from popular apps* like Pandora and Google Play Music. Chromecast works seamlessly with a smartphone or tablet, iPhone, iPad, Mac or Windows laptop or Chromebook.

*Please check with content providers as services or products are subject to change at any time. Internet connection is required. Subscriptions may be required for some services.

4K Pass Through

4K Pass-Through

4K resolution is the new video quality standard for streaming, disc and beyond. This sound bar supports HDCP 2.2 so it can deliver the full home cinema experience with no loss of 4K image quality.

Ultra Slim Design

Ultra Slim Design

This 1.5 inch, ultra-thin LG sound bar coordinates beautifully with a wide range of premium TVs while complementing the most refined living room décor.

Learn More

open

T8 OLED TV Mount Stand**

Complete the in-home cinema experience with the help of this elegant accessory. The optional T8 OLED TV Mount Stand kit allows the high-performance SJ8 sound bar to attach beautifully beneath the clean, graceful lines of B7 and C7 model LG OLED TVs.

**T8 OLED TV Mount Stand provided separately with purchase of SJ8 at select retailers.
Consult your local retailer for details.

OLED Mount Stand
24-bit Upsampling

24-bit Upsampling

24-bit sound contains more data than lower-quality audio, and is the standard for high-resolution music. This feature converts lower-resolution audio to a high-resolution 24-bit format for a more premium listening experience.

Adaptive Sound Control

Adaptive Sound Control

For maximum enjoyment of various types of programming (movies, sports, games, etc.), LG-exclusive Adaptive Sound Control can automatically detect what’s playing and then enhance the clarity and impact of the audio.

Wireless Connectivity

Wireless Connectivity

Wirelessly stream music directly from your Smartphone or other compatible device for a seamless listening experience.

LG Sound Sync

LG Sound Sync

Enhance the home cinema experience without the clutter of unnecessary cables. LG Sound Sync technology links compatible LG televisions to the sound bar wirelessly, using Bluetooth.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
High Resolution Audio Up to 24bit/192kHz
Hi-Fi DAC Yes
4K Passthrough (HDCP 2.2) Yes
Home Cinema Mode Yes
Group Play Mode Yes
Multi-Room Mode Yes
Auto Music Play Yes
Chromecast Built-in Yes
Spotify Connect Yes
Adaptive Sound Control (ASC) Yes
GENERAL
Channels 4.1ch
Total Power 300W
CONVENIENCE
TV Remote Compatibility Yes
Smartphone Remote App (iOS/ Android) Yes
Universal Network Search Yes
BLE EZ Setup Yes
LG Sound Sync Yes
Auto Volume Leveler Yes
Audio Return Channel (ARC) Yes
Dynamic Range Control Yes
SIMPLINK Yes
Network Software Update Yes
Night Mode Yes
Display Type LCD (8 char.)
EMBEDDED MUSIC SERVICES
iHeartRadio® Yes
Tunein® Yes
Spotify® Yes
Rhapsody® Yes
Pandora® Yes
Google Music Play Yes
npr Yes
SOUND MODES
Adaptive Sound Control (ASC): Default Yes
Standard Yes
Bass Blast Yes
Cinema Yes
AUDIO FORMAT
LPCM Yes
Dolby Digital Yes
DTS Digital Surround Yes
FLAC (Up to 192kHz) Yes
OGG (Up to 48kHz) Yes
WAV Yes
ALAC Yes
MP3 Yes
WMA Yes
AAC(MPEG4) Yes
AAC+ Yes
AIFF Yes
SPEAKERS
Front 40W x 2 25W x 2 (Tweeter)
Subwoofer 170W (wireless)
CONNECTIVITY
Ethernet Yes
Wi-Fi Band 2.4G / 5G
Wireless Active Subwoofer Yes
Bluetooth (ver. 4.0) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Bluetooth) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Optical) Yes
HDMI Out Yes (2.0)
HDMI Input Yes (2.0)
Optical Input Yes
USB (Service Only) Yes
POWER
Soundbar Power Consumption 22W
Soundbar Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
Subwoofer Power Consumption 33W
Subwoofer Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
DIMENSIONS/ WEIGHTS
Recommended TV Size 55" and above
Sound Bar (WxHxD) 47.64" x 1.5" x 4.13"
Subwoofer (WxHxD) 6.73" x 12.6" x 9.92"
Subwoofer Net Weight 9.5 lbs
Shipping Size (WxHxD) 50.2" x 14.7" x 8.8"
Shipping Weight 26.5 lbs
Soundbar Net Weight 5.9 lbs
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
Batteries Yes
Optical Cable Yes
Wall Mount Bracket Yes
Cable Management Yes
Warranty Card Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts & Labor
UPC 719192613928

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soundbar! Aesthetically pleasing, low profile and also sounds great!
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Soundbar! After owning 2 other soundbars finally found one that does work as advertised & for the price can't go wrong...and yes it is 4K compatible.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing What a amazing sound and such a small foot print. A great price
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the better end of sound quility Good sound all the way but it over drives the sub. If you turn it down alittle it takes to much away through the whole range.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound and design Bought this soundbar to go with my LG tv which I also reviewed here. I liked my stock sound settings but I was interested in adding a soundbar for movie nights. I wanted to stay in the family because I hate having mix matched products unless it's absolutely necessary. I found a great deal on this set and I was so happy I pulled the trigger on it. I read reviews and I was debating between this set or the SH7B model. I like the SH7B because of the small profile as well as the features, but when this set went on sale I knew my choice was made for me. I absolutely love the sound this thing puts out. Honestly it's a little too loud at times. I live in an apartment with multiple neighbors so I have to keep it down or off on week nights. It has great bass and the features is what puts it over the top for me. It has chromecast built in and I can stream music directly from my Google home. It also supports HDMI ARC which allows me to connect to my tv and use only my tv remote. It also has wifi and internet connectivity as well as Bluetooth for a multitude of wireless steaming options. You can even add more speakers to it to create a true surround sound experience. Design profile is amazingly sleek and slim. It's also designed to fit tvs from 50-65 inches, and has a separate mount for the LG OLED models. Overall I love this purchase probably even more than my tv itself. Definitely worth the buy.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound for the money and size. We needed a sound solution for our console mounted OLED LG TV. Because of decorating and room considerations we did not want to go with a multi speaker system requiring floor or wall mounting. This low profile sound bar fits unobtrusively in front of the TV and doesn't interfere with any remote functions. It is easy to pair with the TV and syncs perfectly. The subwoofer is easy to place as it is connects wirelessly. The system greatly enhances our listening pleasure.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Failed to play sound simultaneously This sound bar is unable to play sound simultaneously with LG OLED C7 TV. I tried it in different connection setting ; optical , HDMI ARC and even gave a shot with sound sync Bluetooth option. Indeed, I do have the choice of simultaneously play sound in TV general sound setting but all I got was listening to sound came from internal TV speakers only ( the sound turned itself off after a while because it is of non usage..!!)
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Flawed sound bar, flawed support Wish I would have went with something else. I DO NOT NEED AN LCD ON MY SOUNDBAR THAT I CANNOT SHUT OFF. It's a distraction. Customer support tells me I wouldn't know the input it was on if I shut it off, essentially calling me stupid. I will be returning and anyone considering should avoid.
Date published: 2017-06-02
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SJ8 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is it possible to directly connect the SJ8 sound bar to an OLED lg55b7? While mounted to a wall mount that comes off the wall? I know they have the T8, but that seems to be for sitting on a table

Asked by: DONR60
Hi DONR60. The LG Sound Bar Bracket Stand, Model # T8 is not designed for sitting on a table. It is designed to have the Sound Bar be mounted directly under the 2017 OLED TVs while they are mounted on the wall. The LG B7 OLED 4K HDR Smart TV - 55" Class (54.6" Diag), Model # OLED55B7P has an Optical Digital Audio Output that you can connect directly to the Optical Digital Audio Input on the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 or you can connect the units using their HDMI IN/ARC ports. Depending on how shallow the space is between the TV and the wall with the wall mount that you use, you may need to use angled connector adapters to make the necessary connections...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

Hi In case I see a Blu-Ray movie with A Dolby Atmos sound format or DTS-MA , will the SJ8 support it ? will it fail to decode ? Thanks

Asked by: harelma24
The supported Audio Formats on the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 are: LPCM, Dolby Digital, DTS Digital Surround, FLAC (up to 192 kHz), OGG (Up to 48kHz), WAV, ALAC, MP3, WMA, AAC(MPEG4), AAC+ and AIFF. It does not support DTS-MA or Dolby TrueHD...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06

The sound level isn’t very high on my bar sj8. It says maximum  it sounded louder at Best Buy. 

Asked by: Sherri 13
If you're still experiencing issues with sound levels, head to our support page on Twitter, @LGUSSupport or on facebook at www.facebook.com/LGUSA and our specialists will be happy to look into it. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-02

Will the T8 soundbar bracket work with the LG the 55” B7A and the SJ8?

Asked by: NickolasC
The B7P OLED series TVs and the B7A OLED series TVs have the same design so the T8 Sound Bar Bracket for the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 is compatible with either OLED series...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-20

How do you get a bracket to mount SJ8 sound bar on 65C7T tv. Not on wall but to bottom of tv

Asked by: Skeeter rat
YOu will need the LG Sound Bar Bracket Stand for Most LG OLED TVs up to 65", Model # T8 to mount the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8. Best Buy carries it...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-01

If an LG OLED TV supports Atmos is it necessary to purchase a sound bar that also supports Atmos? Or will a non-Atmos sound bar properly play the Atmos signal coming from the TV?

Asked by: WadeinUtah
Both the TV and the Sound Bar will need to support Dolby Atmos. THe TV has to be capable of decoding the Dolby Atmos soundtracks and the Sound Bar needs to be able to project it. In addition to traditional front-firing drivers, they feature upward-firing drivers that reflect sound down from the ceiling toward your listening position, adding height to the soundstage and creating overhead effects...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-12

Can you tell me which LG rear wireless speakers are compatible with the SJ8 soundbar?

Asked by: Cdoyle19y6
Regrettably, there aren't any Rear Wireless Speaker Kits that are compatible with the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8. The only available Rear Speaker Kit that we currently have is the LG 2.0 ch Sound Bar Wireless Rear Speaker Kit, Model # SPJ4-S which is only compatible with the LG SJ4Y and SJ5Y Sound Bar Models. You can add additional LG Music Flow Speakers to the SJ8 as outlined in your owner's manual on pages 31 - 33 but they will not give you 5.1 surround sound...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-19

Although I do not have an LG TV at this time I hope to buy one soon. Can the SJ8 4.1 Chanel High Resolution Audio Sound Bar woprk with other brands of TV's?

Asked by: gregnj
Depending on what audio connections and features a TV has, the LG 4.1 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar, Model # SJ8 will work with any brand of TV provided it has the right connetions and features. If the TV is Bluetooth enabled, you can pair the SJ8 to it and stream audio wirelessly from the TV. Most TVs, it not all nowadays, come with an Optical Digital Audio Output that is used to connect to external receivers, Sound Bars or Home Theater Systems. The SJ8 has an Optical Digital Audio Input that allows for such a connection. It also has an HDMI ARC (HDMI Out) port on it that you can connect to HDMI IN of a TV that supports the HDMI-CEC and ARC function and the HDMI-CEC and ARC must be set to On. The ARC function enables an HDMI capable TV to send the audio stream to HDMI OUT of the unit...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-06
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT