To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos

  • SJ9

Key Features

  • Dolby Atmos
  • High Resolution Audio
  • Chromecast Built-In
  • 4K Passthrough (HDCP 2.2)
  • Hi-Fi DAC
  • 24-bit Upsampling
The Best TV Sound bars You Can buy Right Now.

          

                              

SJ9 Video Feature

          

                              

Dolby Atmos

Dolby Atmos

Bring the cinema experience home! With Dolby Atmos, sounds can move anywhere in three-dimensional space, including above the listener for the ultimate in surround audio.

High Resolution Audio

High Resolution Audio

Digital music has gone audiophile, with higher sampling rates and bit depth which can contribute to a more accurate, more enjoyable listening experience. This CTA-certified sound bar can play back lossless stereo audio at up to 24-bit/192kHz quality.

Chromecast Built-In

Chromecast
Built-In

Stream tunes wirelessly to the sound bar from popular apps* like Pandora and Google Play Music. Chromecast works seamlessly with a smartphone or tablet, iPhone, iPad, Mac or Windows laptop or Chromebook.

*Please check with content providers as services or products are subject to change at any time. Internet connection is required. Subscriptions may be required for some services.

4K Pass-Through

4K Pass-Through

4K resolution is the new video quality standard for streaming, disc and beyond. This sound bar supports HDCP 2.2 so it can deliver the full home cinema experience with no loss of 4K image quality.

24 bit Up-Sampling

24-bit Upsampling

24-bit sound contains more data than lower-quality audio, and is the standard for high-resolution music. This feature converts lower-resolution audio to a high-resolution 24-bit format for a more premium listening experience.

Bluetooth Connectivity

Wireless Connectivity

Wirelessly stream music directly from your Smartphone or other compatible device for a seamless listening experience.

LG Sound Sync

LG Sound Sync

Enhance the home cinema experience without the clutter of unnecessary cables. LG Sound Sync technology links compatible LG televisions to the sound bar wirelessly, using Bluetooth.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
Dolby Atmos Yes
High Resolution Audio Up to 24bit/192kHz
Home Cinema Mode Yes
Group Play Mode Yes
Multi-Room Mode Yes
Auto Music Play Yes
Chromecast Built-in Yes
Spotify Connect Yes
Adaptive Sound Control (ASC) Yes
GENERAL
Channels 5.1.2ch
Total Power 500W
CONVENIENCE
TV Remote Compatibility Yes
Smart Phone Remote App Yes
Universal Network Search Yes
BLE EZ Setup Yes
LG Sound Sync Yes
Auto Volume Leveler Yes
Audio Return Channel (ARC) Yes
Dynamic Range Control Yes
SIMPLINK Yes
Network Software Update Yes
Night Mode Yes
Display Type LCD (8 char.)
EMBEDDED MUSIC SERVICES
iHeartRadio® Yes
Tunein® Yes
Spotify® Yes
Rhapsody® Yes
Pandora® Yes
Google Music Play Yes
npr Yes
AUDIO SOUND MODE
ASC (Adaptive Sound Control: Default) Yes
Standard Yes
Music Yes
Bass Blast (BASS) Yes
Cinema Yes
AUDIO FORMAT
LPCM Yes
Dolby Atmos Yes
Dolby True HD Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Yes
Dolby Digital Yes
DTS Digital Surround Yes
FLAC (Up to 192kHz) Yes
OGG (Up to 48kHz) Yes
WAV Yes
ALAC Yes
MP3 Yes
WMA Yes
AAC(MPEG4) Yes
AAC+ Yes
AIFF Yes
SPEAKER
Front 43W x 2
Center 43W
Surround 43W x 2
Subwoofer 200W (wireless)
CONNECTIVITY
Ethernet Yes
Wi-Fi Band 2.4G / 5G
Wireless Active Subwoofer Yes
Bluetooth (ver. 4.0) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Bluetooth) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Optical) Yes
HDMI® 2.0 Out 1
HDMI® 2.0 Input 1
Optical Input 1
Portable In (3.5mm) Yes
POWER
Soundbar Power Consumption 46W
Soundbar Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
Subwoofer Power Consumption 35W
Subwoofer Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Recommended TV Size 55" and above
Sound Bar (WxHxD) 47.24" x 2.28" x 5.71"
Subwoofer (W x H x D) 11.65" x 13.07" x 11.65"
Soundbar Net Weight 12.4 lbs.
Subwoofer Net Weight 16.8 lbs.
Shipping Size (WxHxD) 49.8” x 19.3” x 14.0”
Shipping Weight 37.9 lbs.
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
Batteries Yes
Optical Cable Yes
Wall Mount Bracket Yes
Cable Management Yes
Warranty Card Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192609525

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it... Bought it to replace a 5.1 surround system without having to run wires in our new home. The sound is great, simulates surround sound very well. Wireless woofer set up was easy. Pairs well with the new LG UHD TV and with Bluetooth devices.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Sound A real bargain for the build, quality and overall sound. I recently purchased an LG 65 inch OLED TV and wanted to add to it. I had looked at other sound products and decided to stick with LG and I'm glad I did. I had to re-load the music flow app a few times on my Iphone to get it to work and then got things networked.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly integrated! I purchased the SJ9 with my new 65" OLED C7 and I cannot express how seamlessly they work together. Set up is a breeze (under 10 mins) and the sound and effects are perfectly matched.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed My biggest problem with this soundbar is that it frequently loses its handshake with the HDMI ARC input on my 2016 LG OLED tv, so I am relegated to having to listen with the optical connection. This means my tv remote can't adjust the volume, and I always have to have the separate LG soundbar remote for volume control. The other problem with this soundbar is the Dolby Atmos feature doesn't work with the 2016 edition of the TV, something I only found out after purchasing the soundbar. The sound from the device is ok, but not exceptional. There is very little surround effect. I will likely replace this soundbar with another brand sometime soon.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Bought this a few weeks ago when purchasing a new LG TV. I can't believe the quality of the sound, especially on movies. I can finally hear what's being said without increasing the volume to uncomfortable levels. Beautiful sound for music as well, eliminating an existing sound system.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound bar with pazzaas I bought this sound bar with my new tv and it was easy to setup, turns off and on with the TV. Can play my music from my PC or my phone, and it is all soooo easy!!! Great product !!!!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible: Sound cuts out constantly Any time there is any amount of bass the sub will cut out and then the rest of the sound bar will also cut out. I have had this problem since I first turned it on.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Sound!! I bought this sound bar to pair with my LG 65 C7P. Together they are the total home video and audio package. The sound is incredible. Voices are clear no matter the volume level. The highs are crisp and the mid range is full. The bass is punchy and never muddy. If your looking for the best, then make this your next purchase.
Date published: 2017-08-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SJ9 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

With a 0LED55E7P 55-inch ED TV and SJ9 speakers. Which is the best OLED TV THAT IS 55-INCH. I would like the prices and the TV MODEL NO. Thank you

Asked by: WDTILMAN
Can I get a better subwoofer that is compatible
Answered by: Leggg
Date published: 2017-10-14

Hello I’m purchasing the sj9 and a new lg tv. I’m looking at two TV one being the OLED55B7A (B Series) and the OLED55C7P(C series).  I’ve noticed the B series’s does not have Dolby Atmos, will I need the in order to get Atmos to work in the sound bar? 

Asked by: Craft
Great question! In order to get Dolby Atmos, both the TV and the home theater system would need to have Atmos support.
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-10-12

Is there a mount for the SJ9 to mount it on the wall?  Is this recommended?

Asked by: Gotosimon
The SJ9 can be wall mounted. The part number for the wall bracket is AAA76712101. Also mounting to the wall would depend on personal preference.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-14

Can you connect wireless headphones to this?

Asked by: Becca85
The LG 5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos, Model # SJ9 receives Bluetooth audio signals from devices that are paired to it, it does not transmit Bluetooth audio signals so it will not work with Bluetooth wireless headsets...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-04

Is the sj9 Soundbar compatible with the 55UJ7700 Series Tv?

Asked by: Dennis12
The 5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos, Model # SJ9 is compatible with any of our TVs that have the appropriate inputs on them and can be easily connected to the LG 4K UHD HDR Smart LED TV - 55" Class (54.6" Diag), MOdel # 55UJ7700 via its HDMI® ARC or HDMI® IN ports or its Optical Digital Audio Input...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-25

Are there any subwoofers that are compatible to the sj9 soundbar? Can I buy the subwoofer separate. I got the sound bar from someone and the subwoofer got ruined in a house fire.

Asked by: Kjs1478
The only compatible subwoofer available for the LG 5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos, Model # SJ9 will be the one that packaged with the unit or designed to be compatible with the unit. You can contact any of our Authorized Parts Distributors to inquire if you are able to purchase just the subwoofer from them. The closest distributor to you is: Encompass Parts Distribution 775 Tipton Industrial Dr. Suite F Lawrenceville, GA 30046 Sales: 866-779-7906 Fax: 800-552-1431 https://lg.encompass.com...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-25

when are there going to be rear speakers for the LG SJ9...... ??????

Asked by: waymolive
We appreciate your interest in this sound bar and its accessories. Compatible speakers can be added to the SJ9 via the Music Flow app. More information can be located on pages 20 - 29 of the owner's manual.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-19

Can you connect a pair of wireless headphones to this sound bar and will the Bluetooth send high res audio over blu Bluetooth i.e. LDAC?

Asked by: Jayraysaiz
The LG 5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos, Model # SJ9 receives Bluetooth signals, it does not transmit them so it will not stream to Wireless Bluetooth Headsets...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT