To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos

  • SJ9

Key Features

  • Dolby Atmos
  • High Resolution Audio
  • Chromecast Built-In
  • 4K Passthrough (HDCP 2.2)
  • Hi-Fi DAC
  • 24-bit Upsampling
The Best TV Sound bars You Can buy Right Now.

          

                              

SJ9 Video Feature

          

                              

Dolby Atmos

Dolby Atmos

Bring the cinema experience home! With Dolby Atmos, sounds can move anywhere in three-dimensional space, including above the listener for the ultimate in surround audio.

High Resolution Audio

High Resolution Audio

Digital music has gone audiophile, with higher sampling rates and bit depth which can contribute to a more accurate, more enjoyable listening experience. This CTA-certified sound bar can play back lossless stereo audio at up to 24-bit/192kHz quality.

Chromecast Built-In

Chromecast
Built-In

Stream tunes wirelessly to the sound bar from popular apps* like Pandora and Google Play Music. Chromecast works seamlessly with a smartphone or tablet, iPhone, iPad, Mac or Windows laptop or Chromebook.

*Please check with content providers as services or products are subject to change at any time. Internet connection is required. Subscriptions may be required for some services.

4K Pass-Through

4K Pass-Through

4K resolution is the new video quality standard for streaming, disc and beyond. This sound bar supports HDCP 2.2 so it can deliver the full home cinema experience with no loss of 4K image quality.

24 bit Up-Sampling

24-bit Upsampling

24-bit sound contains more data than lower-quality audio, and is the standard for high-resolution music. This feature converts lower-resolution audio to a high-resolution 24-bit format for a more premium listening experience.

Bluetooth Connectivity

Wireless Connectivity

Wirelessly stream music directly from your Smartphone or other compatible device for a seamless listening experience.

LG Sound Sync

LG Sound Sync

Enhance the home cinema experience without the clutter of unnecessary cables. LG Sound Sync technology links compatible LG televisions to the sound bar wirelessly, using Bluetooth.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
Dolby Atmos Yes
High Resolution Audio Up to 24bit/192kHz
Home Cinema Mode Yes
Group Play Mode Yes
Multi-Room Mode Yes
Auto Music Play Yes
Chromecast Built-in Yes
Spotify Connect Yes
Adaptive Sound Control (ASC) Yes
GENERAL
Channels 5.1.2ch
Total Power 500W
CONVENIENCE
TV Remote Compatibility Yes
Smart Phone Remote App Yes
Universal Network Search Yes
BLE EZ Setup Yes
LG Sound Sync Yes
Auto Volume Leveler Yes
Audio Return Channel (ARC) Yes
Dynamic Range Control Yes
SIMPLINK Yes
Network Software Update Yes
Night Mode Yes
Display Type LCD (8 char.)
EMBEDDED MUSIC SERVICES
iHeartRadio® Yes
Tunein® Yes
Spotify® Yes
Rhapsody® Yes
Pandora® Yes
Google Music Play Yes
npr Yes
AUDIO SOUND MODE
ASC (Adaptive Sound Control: Default) Yes
Standard Yes
Music Yes
Bass Blast (BASS) Yes
Cinema Yes
AUDIO FORMAT
LPCM Yes
Dolby Atmos Yes
Dolby True HD Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Yes
Dolby Digital Yes
DTS Digital Surround Yes
FLAC (Up to 192kHz) Yes
OGG (Up to 48kHz) Yes
WAV Yes
ALAC Yes
MP3 Yes
WMA Yes
AAC(MPEG4) Yes
AAC+ Yes
AIFF Yes
SPEAKER
Front 43W x 2
Center 43W
Surround 43W x 2
Subwoofer 200W (wireless)
CONNECTIVITY
Ethernet Yes
Wi-Fi Band 2.4G / 5G
Wireless Active Subwoofer Yes
Bluetooth (ver. 4.0) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Bluetooth) Yes
LG TV Sound Sync (Optical) Yes
HDMI® 2.0 Out 1
HDMI® 2.0 Input 1
Optical Input 1
Portable In (3.5mm) Yes
POWER
Soundbar Power Consumption 46W
Soundbar Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
Subwoofer Power Consumption 35W
Subwoofer Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Recommended TV Size 55" and above
Sound Bar (WxHxD) 47.24" x 2.28" x 5.71"
Subwoofer (W x H x D) 11.65" x 13.07" x 11.65"
Soundbar Net Weight 12.4 lbs.
Subwoofer Net Weight 16.8 lbs.
Shipping Size (WxHxD) 49.8” x 19.3” x 14.0”
Shipping Weight 37.9 lbs.
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
Batteries Yes
Optical Cable Yes
Wall Mount Bracket Yes
Cable Management Yes
Warranty Card Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192609525

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm sold Bought this as an early Christmas present for my hubby. We have not been disappointed in the sound quality of this sound bar. We are blown away by the difference this makes. As we are aging much faster than we realized, we noticed difficulty in understanding conversations coming from our tv speakers. Now sounds coming from the sound bar are so clear we found ourselves no longer having to rewind our tv to catch conversations. I would definitely recommend this sound bar
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound Love the unit but the brackets supplied to hang the unit did not seem sufficient to hold the bar. Bought a bracketless shelf from Lowe's which works perfectly.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sound The sound clarity is unbelievable. It makes sporting events sound like you’re really there. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars, I thought the volume could be louder.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough information to help you like to setting Not enough information to help you like to settings
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound quality, simple to set up. Bought this sound bar a couple of weeks ago after debating between this one and a Samsung, and ultimately decided to go with this one based on reviews and design. I have not been disappointed.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sj9 soundbar Very impressed really like the sound and the easy setup
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good concept, Hello, I purchased this about a month ago to go with a lg oled 65 tv. The bar looks good and sounds good(although a bit underpowered and you really need surround speakers to truly feel the Dolby Atmos full effect). I wish synching with Bluetooth enabled devices was easier. I find working with the lg app confusing and even when getting into through all the steps does not seem to hold the settings. Overall a good product but could benefit from some tweaks.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with the LG SJ9 The LG SJ9 was very easy to set up and very pleased with the sound.
Date published: 2017-11-01
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View SJ9 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can the Spj4 surrounds be used as additional surround with sj9

Asked by: Discoray2u
The LG 5.1.2 ch High Resolution Audio Sound Bar with Dolby Atmos, Model # SJ9 is not compatible with the LG 2.0 ch Sound Bar Wireless Rear Speaker Kit, Model # SPJ4-S. That speaker kit is only compatible with the LG SJ4Y and SJ5Y Sound Bar Models...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-08

Can I purchase an additional subwoofer and sync to Sj9?

Asked by: Andy8ball
I am sorry, but it does not have that ability. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-07

Is it dual voltage?

Asked by: Juna0410
Power Supply is (Voltage, Hz) AC 120 V ~ 60 Hz as per LG's specifications. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-07

Bought music flow bh5 speakers to add this bar for rear surround. I added em Via music flow app and put one as left and one as right. The rearsurround sounds still come from both speakers, not real surround efect. Are u guys going to fix this with update?

Asked by: Sickworld
It sounds like we'll need to walk through some troubleshooting for your home audio settings. Please head over to our support team via @LGUSSupport on Twitter so that we can dig into this a little more for you. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-06

I have the C7P and SJ9 with hdmi arc on the tv Atmos only says it’s on with the internal tv speakers.  Is it on and just say it’s off or is there something I have to change?

Asked by: Teddy319
It sounds like we'll need to walk through some troubleshooting for your TV and SJ9. Please head over to our support team via @LGUSSupport on Twitter so that we can dig into this a little more for you. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-06

I have the oled55E6P-U tv, would the sj9 with Dolby Atmos work for my tv?

Asked by: Ia10
The SJ9 would make a great addition to your OLED55E6P. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-02

Hooked up my SJ9 to my B7A. Everything hooked up nicely. However I am getting a very bad playback delay, Netflix or cable. The adjustments under sound settings doesn’t quite fix it. Any suggestions?

Asked by: VNeBLOB42
FIXED: When I used a standard Monster Cable 600 series 1080p From X1 Xfinity Cable Box into the SJ9 HDMI input 1 the playback audio sync is dead on.  When connection to TV HDMI, then from HDMI ARC to SJ9 (Pearl HDMI HDCP 2.2 18g) the sound was way behind (example,  car door closes then several milliseconds later sound). Even with the tv adjustment of -5 it was still behind, closer but no cigar.. SJ9 only had adjustment the other way so it didn’t help my case.  However interesting enough the TV settings have to have integrated speakers on to hear any sound from SJ9. So I just turned down the TV sound.  It works! SJ9 HDMI ARC is still plugged into TV ARC.  Thus for Netflix you still have to changed settings from integrated sound to ARC.   Work around but better than delayed sounds from cable box
Answered by: VNeBLOB42
Date published: 2017-12-06

Joel can you please define what pass through means?  I understand the B7A doesn’t support Atmos. However if I have a BluRay player that supports Atmos, SJ9 supports atmos, will I still get the Atmos if I wire Blu-ray-HDMI to B7A to HDMI ARC to SJ9?

Asked by: VNeBLOB42
Dolby Atmos pass through is exactly as the name implies, it allows the Dolby Atmos signal to pass through. For the most part, any Blu-ray player that supports Dolby TrueHD and bitstreamed output should support Dolby Atmos. Dolby is wrapping up the Atmos "objects" (the height information) into a Dolby TrueHD wrapper that works with existing players and receivers. When you send that Dolby TrueHD soundtrack out over HDMI to a Dolby Atmos-capable receiver or processor in bitstream mode, the receiver or processor detects that it is actually a Dolby Atmos track and processes the sound accordingly. There are some Blu-ray players that have problems with Blu-ray Discs that use a feature called "seamless branching" combined with a Dolby TrueHD soundtrack. Seamless branching is a method used by DVD and Blu-ray players to branch from one scene to another scene that may be on another part of the disc (not in physical order). Some of the Dolby Atmos titles currently on the market do use seamless branching, and so they have audio dropouts when played back on a player that doesn't support seamless branching properly...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-11-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794269, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT