To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

3D-Capable Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Streaming Services and Built-in Wi-Fi®

  • BP550

Key Features

  • 3D BLU-RAY/2D BLU-RAY/DVD/CD Disc Playback
  • Premium Content Providers
  • Built-in WiFi
  • Private Sound Mode
  • DLNA Certified
  • Smart Hi-Fi Compatible
UPGRADE YOUR HOME ENTERTAINMENT EXPERIENCE.

UPGRADE YOUR HOME ENTERTAINMENT EXPERIENCE.

With Blu-ray and Blu-ray 3D you can enjoy all the latest movies in Full 1080p picture resolution. Perfect for playing all your 3D or 2D Blu-ray and DVD movies. Better yet, our line of Blu-ray Disc™ Players upscales existing DVDs to near HD quality.

Disclaimer: 3D TV sold separately and viewing 3D video content may cause discomfort. Blu-ray is a trademark of Blu-ray Disc Association.

PLAYS DVD

PLAYS DVD

LG Blu-ray players also play DVDs, so there is no need to replace your old DVD collection. Not only that, DVD Up-Scaling delivers exceptional image quality with 1080p up scaling via HDMI.

THE CONTENT YOU WANT AT YOUR FINGERTIPS

THE CONTENT YOU WANT AT YOUR FINGERTIPS

Access premium content* from providers like Netflix®, Hulu Plus® and YouTube® to stream your favorite movies and TV shows. LG connects you to the content that you and your family want¹.

Built-In Wi-Fi®

Built-In Wi-Fi®

Connecting your LG A/V product to the Internet and the world of online content is easy when you have Wi-Fi® built in. If you have an existing wireless broadband network, setup is simple, and you don't need to worry about messy wires¹.

SHHHHHH

SHHHHHH

Want to watch your movie collection without disturbing those around you? Through the LG remote app you can wirelessly send the audio from the TV to your compatible smartphone and listen to your program through headphones*.

Disclaimer: *audio can only be sent from a disc-based source such as CD, DVD or BluRay Disc.

PREMIUM CONTENT PROVIDERS
Netflix® Yes
Amazon Instant Video® Yes
Hulu Plus® Yes
Vudu® Yes
Pandora® Yes
Youtube® Yes
MLB.tv® Yes
Spotify® Yes
Rhapsody® Yes
vTuner® Yes
AP® Yes
Viewster® Yes
FEATURES
3D Yes
SIMPLINK Yes
USB Playback Yes
Music Flow CD/USB Source Yes
LG AV Remote App Yes
External HDD Playback Yes
1080p Upscaling Yes
Noise Reduction Yes
NTSC⇔PAL Conversion Yes
DISC PLAYBACK CAPABILITY
BD-Rom Yes
BD-R Yes
BD-RE Yes
DVD-ROM Yes
DVD-R Yes
DVD+R Yes
DVD+RW Yes
Audio CD Yes
DTS-CD Yes
DVD-RW Yes
CD-R/RW Yes
VIDEO FORMAT
MPEG2 Yes
MPEG4 AVC (H.264) Yes
SMPTE VC1 (VC-9) Yes
MKV Yes
AVC Rec Yes
AVCHD Yes
M4V Yes
WMV Yes
FLV Yes
3GP Yes
MPEG-1 Yes
MP4 Yes
MOV Yes
VOB Yes
TS Yes
DAT Yes
AUDIO FORMAT
LPCM Yes
Dolby Digital Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Yes
Dolby True HD Yes
DTS Yes
DTS 2.0 + Digital Out Yes
DTS-HD Master Audio Yes
MPEG 1/2 L2 Yes
MP3 Yes
WMA Yes
AAC Yes
FLAC Yes
CONNECTIVITY
Wi-Fi® Yes
HDMI® Out Yes
Ethernet Yes
USB Yes
Coaxial Yes
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
Remote Control Batteries Yes
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Unit Dimensions (W x H x D) 10.6" x 1.7" x 7.7"
Shipping Dimensions (W x H x D) 12.0" x 3.0" x 10.8"
Unit Weight 1.90 lbs
Shipping Weight 2.89 lbs
POWER
Power Consumption 12W
Standby Mode 0.5 W
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192597112

What People Are Saying

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some disappointments We've had the DVD player with Wi-Fi for about 6 months now and other than Amazon App not working hardly at all and unusable Apps. included the machine itself works just fine. Videos play on it with no problems and Netflix and VUDU Apps work well also.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the features Bought this about 3.5 years ago. Never used the 3D feature and our Netflix wouldn't work on it, but YouTube, Hulu, and the DVD/Blu-ray portions worked great. About a month ago the internet, not just WIFI, so I guess the streaming stopped working. A couple days ago the DVD stopped working. Wouldn't turn off or play a movie, but the open and close still worked so I was happy I didn't lose my DVD. 3.5 years of use and we got this on sale so I am happy. :)
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 3D Player................ I love this player for its small size and the picture is great and I mainly bought it for the 3D picture and it delivers a great 3D picture on my 2016 E6Oled tv. Also it delivers a great DVD and BlueRay experience as well............
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent for Playback, Weak for Streaming Playback of disc media including upscaling and NTSC/PALS conversion is exccellent. Streaming is poor, long time to buffer, and jittery scenes. I have high speed internet with excellent streaming on my LG Smart Tv, Apple TV, and Roku. I am on my 2nd BP550, and streaming is still slow. LG told me it is not computer, it will take awhile into the movie to adjust to my internet service. I reminded them it is a computer, and all my other, including LG, streaming devices work fine. Net, buy for playing CD, DVD, Blu-Ray and NTSC/PALS conversion, not for streaming.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had it for a year works great, easy for kids to use
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased the unit on Ebay, love it at first but only worked one day and next night when I went to rent 3 3D Blu Rays it didn't work, powered up but wouldn't eject. i was very disappointed..
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from suggestion for SmartShare software It would be nice if SmartShare had a 'darker' theme. The current theme is almost white, or a pale pink. When playing music from a computer or whatever, the SmartShare screen must be on the monitor the whole time. At night, the almost white, full screen SmartShare view is way too bright and lights up the whole room. Maybe a dark screen saver would work, or a dark theme of some kind? But as it is now, if I want to have some music on in the evenings, I have to look at that bright, full screen, filling up the TV, lighting up the room. If I want to play an album, or a symphony, or whatever, something of some length, that bright white-ish, almost pink, full screen glare is really too much.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from small and mighty While we haven't yet explored all the many features of this litte box, it did pair nicely with our wifi, and upscaled DVD's very well. Streaming, at least from Amazon Prime, is seamless.
Date published: 2016-12-31
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05168921, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View BP550 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

My dvd player LG is BPM 25 it wont play the dvds it used to please help me out i just brout it most of my dvds are region 4 and 1

Asked by: Jairo78
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Mexico. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/mx/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-25

Why can't I access the you tube app 

Asked by: Fernieg_21
We apologize about this issue your are having with this Blu-Ray player. More information would be needed to better address your concern. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for better assistance.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-28

Can I download more apps?

Asked by: Angie550
The player is designed for use with specific PREMIUM applications. It would not be capable of downloading additional apps.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-17

I have a Blu-ray DVD player with the model number BPM33. and I have a Vizio Razor internet Ready TV and I have a hotspot on my phone and I'm wanting to pair my Blu-ray to my TV so how do I do that.

Asked by: Robin H Jackson
We do appreciate your interest in this unit. To connect your unit to your hotspot you would do the following: 1. Select [Connection Setting] option in the [Settings] menu then press ENTER.2. Read the preparations for the network settings and then press ENTER while [Start] is highlighted.3. Use W/S to select a desired SSID of wireless network and press ENTER. If you require further assistance, please contact LG at 800-243-0000.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-15

I need a remote for a Blu-ray 3D DVD player model bd670n

Asked by: Neol
The LG Remote Control, Part # AKB73295901 is the replacement remote control for the LG 3D-Capable Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Smart TV and Wireless Connectivity, Model # BD670N...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-24

Can I play DVD without internet

Asked by: Swordfish
The internet is only required for streaming content form internet service providers on the LG 3D-Capable Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Streaming Services and Built-in Wi-Fi®, Model # BP550. Playing DVDs does not require internet connection...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-07-10

Why won't my DVD disk tray open? I tried both the remote and manual button and the green light blinks but nothing happens

Asked by: Pete Garrison
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this BluRay player. If the tray will not open, then it is first recommended to try replacing the batteries on the controller. If this does not resolve the matter, then the player may require service. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 to make proper service arrangements.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-28

My control just messed up is there anyway or app that i can download to press play on lg blh ray player

Asked by: Broken hand
I apologize, but no; this player has not been designed for compatibility with any remote control applications. The best resolution for this matter is to replace the remote control. Parts and accessories can be obtained through our parts distributor, MCM Electronics. Their contact number, for placing orders, is 800-824-9491. You can also use their website, at http://www.mcmelectronics.com/content/en-US/forms/lg_parts. The part number for this item is: AKB73735801.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05168921, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT