To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

Laser Smart Home Theater Projector

  • HF80JA

  • White

Key Features

  • Full HD (1920 x 1080) Resolution
  • Wireless Connection (Android Devices, laptops)
  • Bluetooth Sound Out
  • Up to 2,000 lumens
  • 20,000 Hour Lamp life
  • HDMI, RGB, USB, S/PDIF (Optical) Inputs
WebOS*

     WebOS*     

LG’s exclusive, Smart TV platform is incredibly easy to use with Magic Remote. WebOS is simple to set up and easy navigate for content discovery from your favorite content providers.

Big Vivid Picture

Big Vivid Picture

This projector gives you a cinematic viewing experience with up to a 120-inch picture in clear Full HD 1080p picture quality. That's a picture so large it will make your home cinema experience feel like the theater.

Bluetooth Sound Out

Bluetooth Sound Out

Wirelessly stream sound directly from the HF80JA projector to a Bluetooth compatible sound system** like home audio speakers, headphones or portable speakers to pair big sound to the big viewing experience.

Connect Wirelessly

Connect Wirelessly

The HF80JA has a wireless mirroring function that connects it to a smartphone or a tablet accessing content for projection***.

Keystone Alignment

Keystone Alignment

In just seconds, the vertical Auto Keystone feature automatically detects and corrects any screen image distortion for ideal projection alignment. Then use the Four Corner Keystone feature to manually fine tune the picture positioning.

USB Connectivity

USB Connectivity

Easily display images, watch videos or make PowerPoint, Word or Excel presentations from this projector by simply plugging in a USB memory storage device.

20,000 Hours of Entertainment

20,000 Hours of Entertainment

This projector’s laser lamp displays natural and rich colors, and will last up to an estimated 20,000 hours.

PROJECTION SYSTEM
Display Type DLP
Native Resolution FHD (1920 x 1080)
Screen Size 30" ~ 120"
Projection Image 80"@8.1 ft (40"@4.0ft)
Aspect Ratio 16:9/Just Scan/Original/ 4:3/Zoom/Cinema Zoom
Zoom x 1.1
Brightness* Up to 2,000 lumens
Contrast Ratio 150,000:1
Lamp Type Laser
Lamp Life Up to 20,000 hrs
Noise 26/28/30dB
Digital Keystone Correction Auto Keystone (Vertical), Manual 4 corner keystone
SMART TV
Premium Content Providers Netflix, Amazon Video, VuDu, MLB.TV, UFC.TV, Accuweather
Magic Remote Control Yes
App Store Yes
Web Browser Yes
WIRELESS
Screen Share (with Miracast, WiDi supporting device) Yes
Wireless Contents Share*** (with iOS, Adroid / via TV Plus App) Yes
DLNA Yes
Bluetooth (with Speaker) Yes (AV Sync adjustable)
AUDIO
Bluetooth sound out Yes
Built-in Speakers 3W + 3W Stereo
INPUTS / OUTPUTS
HID (Keyboard/Mouse/GamePad Connection Thru USB) Yes
Digital TV Tuner Yes
Audio out 1 (3.5mm), S/PDIF 1 (Optical)
HDMI® 2
USB (DivX®, MP3, Photo) 2 (Type A)
RJ45 Yes
POWER
Power Supply (Voltage/Hz) Adapter (100V ~ 240V @ 50~60 Hz)
Power Consumption 140W (Max)
Standby Mode Less than 0.5W
Quick On/Off Yes (On in 10 seconds – Off in 2 seconds)
ACCESSORIES
Remote Control 1 Magic Remote
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Product (WxHxD) 4.3" x 5.5" x 9.9"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 12.6" x 6.1" x 12.5"
Weight 4.6 lbs
Shipping Weights 7.7 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 year parts and labor
UPC 719192608917

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the style All I can say is 5 STARS great refrigerator. The freezer nice an big pullout at the bottom. The 2 doors open at the center that great for the space. It was the right height for the space I had.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The essential product I have been using LG home appliances for long and they have never failed me,they are quality products
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it! Right out of the box I was all setup to go in less than 20 minutes,,, TV Scanning, my network NAS. My first projector so can't compare with anything. I do have one complaint, I was hoping I could watch SlingTV... but no SlingTV,,, bummer. LG, how about adding SlingTV?
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't like to have a big TV Screen in m'y living-room. I was looking for s small and unobtrusively. This HF80JA could maybe be the one...
Date published: 2017-01-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05793709, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View HF80JA Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

What is specific terrestrial TV tuner parameters ? I mean if ithe DVB-T MPEG-4 is possible ???

Asked by: Mareuszek
The DVB-T standard is not used in the U.S. and is not compatible with the built-in ATSC Digital TV Tuner in the LG Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF80JA that is marketed and sold in the U.S. The ATSC (Advanced Television Systems Committee) tuner, often called an ATSC receiver or HDTV tuner is a type of television tuner that allows reception of digital television (DTV) television channels transmitted by television stations in North America, parts of Central America and South Korea that use ATSC standards...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-18

Can this projector be ceiling mounted?

Asked by: RickyC
To install the LG Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF80JA on the ceiling, you will need to attach a ceiling-type bracket to the projector with M4 x 8 mm screws. The ceiling-type bracket and screws have to be purchased separately and are not manufactured by LG...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-06

Is this Ultra Short Throw like PF1000U. Does it have 3D option like PF1000U.

Asked by: SATHYAN
The LG Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF80JA is not a short throw projector. IT will project an 80" image at 8.1 feet and a 40" image at 4 feet. The shortest projection distance it can be set up from is 905 mm (35 5/8") for a 30" image (i.e 664 mm - 26 9/64" (W) x 374 mm - 14 23/32" (H)) It does not support 3D...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-20

I am thinking about buying the HF80JA projector. Can you confirm that it has YuppTV and YouTube apps available/installed? Those are the 2 apps I really require i addition to Netflix and Amazon.

Asked by: kumarakam
The Premium Content Provider Apps in the LG Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF80JA are Netflix, VuDu, MLB.TV, UFC.TV. Other compatible apps like the Youtube app and the YuppTV app can be downloaded using the App Store Feature on the unit which will direct you to the LG Content Store...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-22

Does this support 3D?

Asked by: Jaye A
I believe the European version supports 3D.
Answered by: THErtb
Date published: 2017-08-04

Why Big company same LG not have Subtitle Multi Language.....?! only K.E.C...?!

Asked by: BoooArab
We regret your dissatisfaction with the design of this projector. Please contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for assistance with this situation.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-07

What is the contrast of the projector when measured using the ANSI checkerboard pattern?

Asked by: Herro
Hi Herro. The 'Brightness' for the LG Laser Smart Home Theater Projector, Model # HF80JA is listed as being 'Up to 2,000 lumens. Regrettably, we do not have access to if the method used for measuring the contrast ratio is the Full On/Off method or the ANSI Contrast. Please contact our Support Center at (800) 243-0000 for assistance with the requested information if it is available...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-25

I noticed the information regarding distance vs spread at 4ft=40"/8.1=80", therefore at 12.2ft it should spread to 120" and I am wondering if at that distance it is a full 120". I have a fixed photo framed 120" projector screen and have limited distance. 

Asked by: Jml1243
We appreciate your interest in this projector and its operations. The chart on page 23 of the owner’s manual provides positioning dimensions for this device. The Screen Size 3,048mm equals 120 inches. As such, the Projection Distance of 3,698mm equates to 145.6”, or 12.13 feet.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-31
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05793709, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT