To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility

  • UP970

Key Features

  • 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Playback
  • 4K Streaming Content
  • HDR Compatible
  • 3D Blu-Ray/DVD Playback
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
4K Disc Playback

4K Disc Playback

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray disc provides the ultimate in audio/video quality with a stunning 4K picture and state-of-the-art audio and no internet connection required.

HDR Compatible

  Multi HDR  

Content created for High Dynamic Range, or HDR, can display an even more breathtaking picture with bolder contrast and more vibrant colors. This LG device is HDR compatible with Dolby Vision™* and HDR10.

Learn More About Multi HDR and Dolby Vison

open


This 4K Blu-ray disc player supports the premium HDR, Dolby Vision™* favored by renowned film makers from all over the world and also offers compatibility with other HDR formats such as HDR10.

HDR Dolby Vision

*Dolby Vision to be enabled by software update available at a later date. HDR/Dolby Vision compatible TV sold separately and required for Dolby Vision playback. Dolby Vision is a trademark of Dolby Laboratories, Inc.

4K Streaming Content

4K Streaming Content*

Popular online video services such as Youtube® and Netflix offer a wide range of premium 4K content, much of it unavailable from any other source.

* Additional subscriptions services may be required. Content partner lineup and availability may change without notice.

Blu-ray DVD Compatible

Blu-ray and DVD Compatible

Have a library of Blu-ray discs and DVDs? The UP970 Ultra HD Blu-ray disc player supports both of these popular legacy standards, so old favorites and new discoveries won’t be left behind.

USB Connectivity

USB Connectivity

The USB port here allows you to quickly, easily connect a digital storage device and share all your digital media. Just plug it in and use your remote control to navigate through your files.

PRODUCT HIGHLIGHTS
Ultra HD Premium Yes
4K Blu-Ray Disc Playback Yes
HDR Compatible Yes
3D Blu-Ray/ DVD Playback Yes
4K Streaming Content Youtube®, Netflix
Built-in WiFi Yes
STREAMING CONTENT PROVIDERS*
Youtube® Yes
Netflix Yes
FEATURES
3D Yes
SIMPLINK Yes
LG Remote App Yes
USB Playback Yes
External HDD Playback Yes
Noise Reduction Yes
NTSC⇔PAL Conversion Yes
PLAYABLE DISC TYPE
BD-ROM Yes
BD-R Yes
BD-RE Yes
DVD-ROM Yes
DVD-R Yes
DVD+R Yes
DVD+RW Yes
DVD-RW Yes
Audio CD Yes
CD-R Yes
CD-RW Yes
DTS-CD Yes
VIDEO FORMAT
MPEG-1 Yes
MPEG2 PS/TS Yes
MPEG4 AVC (H.264) Yes
SMPTE VC1 (VC-9) Yes
MKV Yes
AVC Rec Yes
AVCHD Yes
M4V Yes
WMV Yes
3GP Yes
MP4 Yes
MOV Yes
FLV Yes
VOB Yes
TS Yes
DAT Yes
DivX Yes
DivX HD Yes
RMVB Yes
K3G Yes
AUDIO FORMAT
LPCM Yes
Dolby True HD Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Yes
Dolby Digital Yes
DTS Yes
DTS 2.0 + Digital Out Yes
DTS-HD Master Audio Yes
FLAC Yes
AAC Yes
WMA Yes
MPEG 1/2 L2 Yes
MP3 Yes
CONNECTIVITY
Ethernet Yes
Wi-Fi® Yes
HDMI Out (2) HDMI 2.0a x 1 | HDMI 1.4 x 1
Optical Audio Output Yes
POWER
Standby Power Consumption Less than 0.5W
DIMENSIONS / WEIGHT
Unit Dimensions (WxHxD) 16.9" x 1.8" x 8.1"
Shipping Size (WxHxD) 18.9" x 11.1" x 4.2"
Unit Weight 3.6 lbs
Shipping Weight 5.7 lbs
INCLUDED ACCESSORIES
Remote Control Yes
Batteries Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor
UPC 719192610125

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Investment Ever! The Best Investment Ever! The Best Investment Ever!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great price, good picture, but loud disc spinning Had for less than a month. Disc spinning noise during playback. We all can hear it even with volume on tv and soundbar up. I am in process of returning it. We'll see how smooth the process goes.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just OK Picture quality is great! For full price i paid this UHD player is underwhelming. The software is what id expect on a basic Blu-ray player. Example, you cant disable CEC so this takes over every time you power on another CEC device. When ever you stop a Blu-ray, it goes to a blank white screen instead of the main home level navigation. Some people have not yet received their Dolby vision update.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HDR IS TRUELY AMAZING, UPSCALING IS TO! Everyone know HDR is great. I played Lion King I bought so so many years ago,as in the the first releaseon DVD. It has never looked so good! Wish it had more apps
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome picture quality I am happy with the picture and sound quality of the UP970. I love how it works with my 65 inches LGUH8500.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Resolution and Color Owned for 3 months and extremely happy, satisfied . g and
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pitcture After the second update, (Dolby vision), Everything looks better even Netflix. I found that the more you use it, The better the performance gets. And Netflix 4K looks/sharp and clean. Not sorry at all.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you want to really see 4K I've owned the UP970 for several months and if you really want to see what 4K is all about, you'll own one too. Coupled with my LG OLED 55" TV it's like looking through a window onto the real world. Even regular Blu-Ray HD DVDs are improved to nearly match 4K DVDs. A bit expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2017-09-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View UP970 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

When will the Dolby vision update be release again I heard your it was recalled

Asked by: Tonytone832
We do not have any information on the release date for updates at this time. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-10-19

 I am thinking about purchasing this Blu-ray player my question is has the Dolby Vision software firmware update been released as of today September 29, 2017 and does the player support Dolby Atmos or dts:x? 

Asked by: Specmoc
I just bought the UP970. I have run the update but it isn't the version listed by LGJoel, supposedly available August 21, 2017. Mine is at BD.37079.70524.C and it says it is up to date. Today is October 18, 2017.
Answered by: WadeW
Date published: 2017-10-18

When will the Dolby vision update be re-release, I heard it was recalled for some reason

Asked by: Tonytone832
We do not have any information on the release date for updates at this time.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-13

Can this be mounted or vertical behind a wall mounted TV?

Asked by: Exofleet
There aren't any mounting brackets available for the LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970 and it is not designed to be mounted vertically. You can inquire about Mounting Shelves that can be mounted under the TV that the Blu-ray Disc™ Player can sit on...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-13

Will this play the "zone 2" dvds?

Asked by: Sasha123
NHi Sasha123. The American DVD Copy Control Association also requires that DVD player manufacturers incorporate the regional-playback control (RPC) system, so although the LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970 is a Blu-ray Player, it will not play region 2 DVD discs. The region coding system for Blu-Ray Discs varies from that of DVDs and in total, there are 3 separate Blu-Ray region codes. These codes are classified alphabetically as Region A, Region B, and Region C. Blu-ray discs that have been manufactured in region A are embedded with region code A, and are therefore only usable with players from region A. The same is applicable for regions B and C. As of right now, 4k movies titles are not region coded. With a 4k Blu-ray Player, you should be able to play a 4k Blu-ray disc from anywhere in the world. With that being said, it’s important to understand that standard Blu-ray and DVD discs retain their region-coding on 4k Blu-ray Players, so you will not be able to play foreign Blu-ray or DVD discs on a 4k Player unless it’s a region-free model...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-28

This may be stupid question ....  but I am not technical in nature. I recently purchased the LG 4K OLED TV . Today I bought the LG 4K Blu-ray player. Please let me know if there is a special type of HDMI cable required to connect the Blu-ray player to TV

Asked by: Kimmie77
A Certified 18Gbps HDMI 2.0 Cable (Like Omars or Monoprice)
Answered by: Maui0817
Date published: 2017-09-27

Is possible to ad SACD with firmware ? Its only why i'm not to buy. I need SACD

Asked by: martinp
It is not possible to add SACD firmware to the LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-20

When will the re-release of the Dolby Vision update be coming?

Asked by: PrestonOwens
Hi Preston. Regrettably, we do not have a date for the re-release of the Dolby Vision update for the LG 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc™ Player with HDR Compatibility, Model # UP970. The Dolby Vision Update, BD.37.767.70811.C firmware was released on Mon Aug 21, 2017, and currently, there isn't a date for the Netflix Dolby Vision streaming support for the UP970...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-09-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05795129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT