To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG gram 13.3” Ultra-Lightweight Laptop with Intel® Core™ i5 processor

  • 13Z970-U.AAW5U1

  • White

Key Features

  • 7th Gen. Intel® Core™ i5 processor
  • Windows 10 Home
  • 13.3 Inch Full HD IPS Screen
  • 8GB RAM & 256GB SSD
  • Daylight Mode
  • Back-lit Keyboard
Take Charge for 17.5 Hours

Take Charge for Up to 17.5 Hours

                              

MobileMark® 2014 standard. Battery life will vary from specifications depending on model, setup configuration, applications used, features utilized and power management settings.

Light Weight

Light Weight

Bold engineering and innovation materials produced a 13.3-inch LG laptop that weigh barely over two pounds, so this LG gram can go virtually anywhere.

Long-Lasting Battery

Long-Lasting Battery

Portability is a function of battery life as well as size and weight, and this LG gram has been designed to keep going with up to 17.5 hours of power*, to hit deadlines and keep streaming long after others have quit.

Vivid IPS Display

Vivid IPS Display

Thoughtful design gives the LG gram laptop a 13.3" Full HD, crystal-clear IPS display with a wide viewing angle, just the thing for work or play.

Performance

Performance

For nimble performance and robust processing power, this LG gram comes with the 7th generation, Intel® Core™ i5 processor, Windows 10 Home, and 8GB RAM with a 256GB SSD.

Intel, the Intel Logo, Intel Inside, Intel Core, and Core Inside are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.

Backlit Keyboard

Backlit Keyboard

The ergonomically designed keyboard of the LG gram is now backlit--with adjustable brightness--to be easier to use than ever in a variety of different environments, even in darkened rooms.

Light Weight Construction

Light Weight Construction

The sleek metal alloy body of the LG gram combines advanced nano carbon with magnesium to create a light weight yet durable housing for the computer that's still beautifully thin, less than .7" thick.

Ultra-Slim Bezel

Ultra-Slim Bezel

The ultra-slim bezel surrounding the IPS screen not only allows more viewable area in a more compact form factor, it accentuates the stunning picture quality in exquisite style with minimal distraction.

DTS: X Headphone

DTS Headphone: X

Experience thrilling, nuanced surround sound through the headphone jack. Built-in DTS Headphone: X processing delivers the expansive effect of 11.1 channels of audio without the need for an elaborate speaker system.
(Headphones not included)

Reader Mode

Reader Mode

The gram's Reader Mode provides optimal reading conditions by minimzing unpleasant blue light, thereby reducing eye fatigue.


Multiple Ports Including USB Type C

Multiple Ports Including USB Type C

Connect it all with gram’s host of popular ports. Gram’s USB Type-C port assures high-speed data transfer and video output. The USB 3.0 supports higher transfer speeds and high-power charging, while the HDMI port lets gram connect easily to high-definition displays.

Daylight Mode

Daylight Mode

Daylight mode ensures proper screen saturation when you’re working outdoors. Display adjustments are made that make bright objects on the screen brighter and dark areas darker.

GENERAL INFORMATION
Model 13Z970-U.AAW5U1
Color White
OPERATING SYSTEM
Operating System Windows 10 Home (64bit)
FEATURES
Daylight Mode Yes
Back-lit Keyboard Yes
DTS Headphone: X Yes
PROCESSOR
CPU Brand Intel
CPU Type Intel® Core™ i5-7200U - 2.5GHz/3.1GHz
MEMORY
Total Memory 8GB x 1
HARD DRIVE
Type SSD (Solid-State Drive)
Capacity 256GB
CONNECTIVITY
Wireless 802.11ac, Dual Band
LAN 10/100 or Gigabit with RJ45 Gender
Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.1
DISPLAY
Screen Size 13.3"
Display Type IPS LCD
Resolution FHD (1920 x 1080)
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 620
AUDIO
Speakers Stereo Speaker (1.0W x 2)
Surround Sound Format DTS Headphone: X
PORTS AND CONNECTORS
HDMI (Standard) Yes
USB 3.0 Type-C Yes
USB 3.0 Yes (2)
USB 2.0 No
Micro-SD Yes
Headphone Out Yes
RJ45 Ethernet Yes (USB Type C port with RJ45 gender)
DC-In Yes
BATTERY / POWER
Battery 60Wh
AC Adapter Yes (40W 2 pin)
MATERIAL (BODY)
Material Magnesium alloy
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
Dimensions (WxHxD) 12.1" x 8.3" x 0.6"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 16.1" x 10.0" x 2.0"
Weight 2.07 lbs
Shipping Weight 3.6 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 year parts and labor
UPC 719192611146

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what really expected it to do. Absolutely great, specially on two things: weight and battery life. I'm used to ipads, MBAs, and macs in general. It is lighter than even the 11" Airs, ipads with Bluetooth keyboards. Yes, you do get over 16 hours, of course I only had music playing while typing with email and a few other things in the background. Amazing!!! Works for me.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great one! This is a lit laptop ever! Because i can play every game with this
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! Really good screen, fast, laods quickly I am not sure why this lightweight laptop computer has had less than glowing reviews. There is some that talk of the lid (screen) flexing - well on a laptop this thin, I expect some flexing. I have tried one that when you press on back it shows through on screen. If you want a cast iron laptop, please buy one. Screen and color on this are good. I find the 2 level backlit key board easy to see, and comfortable to use. Trackpad works well, and have had no issues with scrolling, clicking etc. Load times are great. Battery life is excellent. I compared this against another brand "gaming" laptop with similar processor, ram, AND with addition of a 4 GB dedicated graphics card - and was surprised to find load time, boot time, and program accessing time, all to be faster on the LG Gram. I also have run some older - but still graphic intensive games - on the Gram, and it has performed flawlessly. And, it is remakable how light weight this computer really is. Despite the light weight, I find it to be a great performing laptop with great screen, light, easily portable, with great battery life. I do think it is a bit pricey - along with many laptops today - but seems to give good value in this price range of computers.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best laptop of my life (i had more than 10...) It's not the cheapest but there is no lighter laptop with such a large screen that will provide you so much power. It is pricy but it delivers quality: Reliable, fast and well designed with great keyboard and connectivity. Awesome for advanced users or a programmer like me. It makes the Apple laptops look obsolete... Use it and see by yourself. Before buying it, I owned and tried almost all the different brands with various success. My next laptop will also be a LG Gram. It is great for traveller and people who needs significant power and battery life in a super light device: 2.4 LBS or 1 Kilogram. You can't beat that.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Beyond Expectations Was curious, it was returnable, but love it and kept it. Weight is remarkable, solid, not a blemish through 7+ months of constant travel, beautiful screen color, perfect touch response, track pad, microphone, finger reader. Rarely use the mouse with it. Much faster than expected. Battery lasts all day at a normal brightness. Rarely worry about it any more. Runs cool even under load. LG software is unobtrusive and seems very well done. I wanted a top line travel laptop or tablet. Preferred laptop form factor. Cost was not an issue, but after working with this model for a month, there was nothing to criticize or upgrade for.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 years on from buying and stil going strong I bought this 15.6" and full keyboard unit soon after it was launched and have carted it around over many flights and trips. I was concerned at first that being his light it may not hold up physically. I can say that it has held up well. I replaced the supplied charger with a USB-c charger (multi-voltage type that charges my phone and tablet) and that this works better than the supplied unit for my needs. The performance of the unit is absolutely fine for my needs which is mainly business and a few photos and browsing and I watch movies on it. All good for me. This is my 9th laptop in 20 years and without doubt, the best I have had as weight is a big consideration for me BUT I just didn't like a 13.3-inch unit which did not suit my needs. I will buy another when / if this unit gives up - I usually expect 3 years from a laptop.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, cool, quiet, big, fast 15Z970 If you are tired of cradling a hot noisy brick in your lap, then you are probably ready to consider switching to a silent, cool piece of balsa wood. There is actually a setting to not use the fan, with an alert that performance may be diminished. Bring it on. After using this for a little over two weeks, I still grimace, expecting the heat and noise to somehow return. But they haven’t. There is also a 15” touchscreen, backlit keyboard, and surprisingly, a numeric keypad. And since the whole package weights under two and half pounds, it rests comfortably in the lap, and is easily lifted by one hand. There is an indicator light for caps lock, but not one for numlock. I recall the online reviews that measure increments of speed and screen brightness, and glad that I ignored them (do you really work in direct sunlight?). The brightness and screen reflectivity are visually (to my eyes) comparable to other laptops on the market. I do not use the sleep setting, only hibernate. It takes about ten seconds to go from hibernate to desktop. Other important things to note: The speakers are intended for intimate use. The factory setting is low volume to protect the hearing of the innocent. You have to ferret out the places where volume is controlled in order to make maximum use of the speakers. I find them adequate. The power plug is small and needs to be firmly pushed into the socket on the laptop (one online reviewer missed this). The trackpad. Oh dear. The secret to the trackpad is to feel your frustration and then spend at least five hours tweaking the Elan driver, and the Windows 10 mouse settings. Many of the settings compete with other settings, so seriously, you have to experiment relentlessly and boldly to exploit the possibilities. Here are a few things I learned. Ninety-nine percent of the time, you do not have to even go near a mechanical click, rather, a finger tap is sufficient. There are multiple settings to achieve the same effect, applying to, for example, the scrolling of long web pages and documents efficiently. Another issue concerns the off center location of the trackpad in relation to the keyboard. The trackpad is located to the left of the center of the laptop, but to the right of center in relation to the alpha keyboard. Hence, your right thumb pad will have a tendency to drag on the trackpad. There is a setting to mitigate this, and you have to find the one that works for you. Some reviews have referred to the trackpad being too sensitive or not sensitive enough. This indicates that the user did not spend adequate time with the driver settings. Personally, I find the large trackpads that are the rage now to be ergonomically a mistake. Trackpads should be small and efficient. And really, they should be centered to the alpha keyboard, regardless of the esthetics. Further, considering the light weight of this laptop, the trackpad should require light clicking, rather than the more robust clicking required by this trackpad. Similarly, reviews have critiqued the feel of the keyboard. My experience here is that over time you will adjust to the new environment. I did not find it ideal to start with, but I have been a touch typist for about sixty years and the keyboard is perfectly adequate, and something that can be adjusted to as needed. There are other nice touches. Drivers are automatically found and offered for installation. The screen brightness defaults to the middle level with turning on. This means, that if you are restoring a screen outdoors that was last used indoors, you will be able to see it. The computer functions that are controlled by the function key can be used as ‘hotkeys’ by changing a setting so that you don’t have to simultaneously press the function key. So far, LG has been very responsive in answering my questions, by both email and phone.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome LG Gram Very good laptop I recommend this to all becuse iT is worthy
Date published: 2017-11-21
  • y_2018, m_1, d_15, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 13Z970-U.AAW5U1 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

I'm having LG Gram 15 (model: 15ZD970) and is having problem with brightness function; it stays at max even if I reduce brightness to 0%. I have already updated the display driver. What shall I do?

Asked by: Naz1212
We are sorry; we are only able to support products in the USA. For the proper support channels, please see http://www.lg.com/common/index.jsp ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-10

Why my laptop battery drops to 11% after not being used in two months??? What if I don't use it in longer terms, will it just die???

Asked by: Artofmusic
For support in the UK, please see: http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/chat-email ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-25

Is there a car charger available without having to use an inverter? I'm looking at using this for emergency management location mapping in a private vehicle. (search & rescue)

Asked by: JYoung
I ASKED LG FOR A CAR CHARGER FOR MY LG GRAM 13 AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DID NOT HAVE ONE AND DID NOT KNOW WHEN OR IF THAT PRODUCT WOULD BE AVAILABLE. I FOUND ONE AND HERE IS THE INFORMATION: Items Ordered Price 1 of: CAR CHARGER 65W 40W for LG Gram 14Z950 14Z970 14" 13Z950 13Z970 13Z940 13.3" 15Z960 15Z970 15" P/N ADS-40MSG-19 DC Auto Adapter Power Cord EXTRA LONG 10 Ft : !!! Check Connector Photo !!!
Answered by: EPIPHANY247T
Date published: 2017-12-22

I would like to watch a dvd on my new laptop what do i need to do

Asked by: Eleanora
We apologize the LG Gram does not have a disc drive. You can purchase an external drive to be able to view discs. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-20

What technology is the SSD? Is it M.2? Pcie? Nvme?

Asked by: Healeyg
The SSD is SATA M.2. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-12

Hello; Do any of your LG touchscreen laptops come w/ Windows 10 Pro? What are your current downgrade rights? (IE: Windows 10 Pro to Windows 7 Pro)

Asked by: JLuque
The operating system that is built-in on the laptop is Windows 10 Home. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-12

I would like to know if this 13Z970-U.AAW5U1 & these 13ZD970-GX50K 13ZD970-GX55K Which one is the comparable same model? I would like to know if we can upgrade the ram for 13Z970-U.AAW5U1

Asked by: PearlGates
The LG gram 13.3” Ultra-Lightweight Laptop, Model # 13ZD970-GX50K and Model # 13ZD970-GX55K are models that were not released in the U.S. so you would need to contact the LG Support enter in the countries in which those models were released to get information on them. The models that were released in the U.S. were Model # 13Z970-U.AAW5U1 and Model # 13Z970-A.AAS5U1. The difference between those models is that Model # 13Z970-A.AAS5U1 is a Dark Silver color, has a touchscreen LCD, and has a Fingerprint ID...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-12-01

Is this going to be upgraded with the 8th gen Intel processors, or the upcoming Ryzen Mobile anytime soon? The CPU for this one is not quad core.

Asked by: computerfanboy
We do not have any information at this time regarding future updates to this unit. Please keep an eye on the products support page for any upcoming information. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-11-28
  • y_2018, m_1, d_15, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794189, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT