To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LG gram 15.6” Ultra-Lightweight Touchscreen Laptop with Intel® Core™ i7 processor

  • 15Z970-A.AAS7U1

  • Dark Silver

Key Features

  • 7th Gen. Intel® Core™ i7 processor
  • Windows 10 Home
  • 15.6 Inch Full HD IPS Screen
  • 16GB RAM & 512GB SSD
  • Touchscreen LCD Display
  • Back-lit Keyboard
Take Charge for 17.5 Hours

Take Charge for Up to 17.5 Hours

                              

MobileMark® 2014 standard. Battery life will vary from specifications depending on model, setup configuration, applications used, features utilized and power management settings.

Light Weight

Light Weight

The LG gram 15.6-inch laptop offers impressive screen size without the weight. With gram's innovative design and construction, this laptop weighs less than 2.5 pounds, so it's easy to take anywhere.

Long-Lasting Battery

Long-Lasting Battery

Portability is a function of battery life as well as size and weight, and this LG gram has been designed to keep going with 60Wh battery providing up to 12-and-a-half hours* of power, to hit deadlines and keep streaming long after others have quit.

Vivid IPS Display

Full HD IPS Display

Cutting-edge design gives the LG gram laptop a roomy 15.6" Full HD IPS touchscreen display. It offers exceptional clarity from virtually any angle, and is ideally sized for work or play.

Performance

Performance

For smooth, nimble performance and robust processing power, this LG 15.6" gram comes with the 7th generation, Intel® Core™ i7 processor, Windows 10 Home, and 16GB RAM with a 512GB SSD.

Intel, the Intel Logo, Intel Inside, Intel Core, and Core Inside are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.

Backlit Keyboard

Backlit Keyboard

The ergonomically designed keyboard of the LG gram is now backlit--with adjustable brightness--to be easier to use than ever in a variety of different environments, even in darkened rooms.

Multiple Ports Including USB Type C

Multiple Ports Including USB Type C

Connect it all with gram’s host of popular ports. Gram’s USB Type-C port assures high-speed data transfer and video output. The USB 3.0 supports higher transfer speeds and high-power charging, while the HDMI port lets gram connect easily to high-definition displays.

Light Weight Construction

Light Weight Construction

The sleek metal alloy body of the LG gram combines advanced nano carbon with magnesium to create a light weight yet durable housing for the computer that's still beautifully thin, less than .7" thick.

Ultra-Slim Bezel

Ultra-Slim Bezel

The ultra-slim bezel surrounding the IPS screen not only allows more viewable area in a more compact form factor, it accentuates the stunning picture quality in exquisite style with minimal distraction.

DTS Headphone: X

DTS Headphone: X

Experience thrilling, nuanced surround sound through the headphone jack. Built-in DTS Headphone: X processing delivers the expansive effect of 11.1 channels of audio without the need for an elaborate speaker system.
(Headphones not included)

Reader Mode

Reader Mode

The gram's Reader Mode provides optimal reading conditions by minimzing unpleasant blue light, thereby reducing eye fatigue.


Tech Experts Approve

The lasting battery and other upgrades to the new LG gram laptops are leaving a lasting impression with tech experts. Check out these reviews!

TechFlow Review

Marzbar reviews the 2017 LG gram 15" laptop with a Core i7 and amazingly thin form factor, but he asks “Does it deserve a place in your bag?” Let's take a look.

LinusTechTips Review

It's a bit bigger, but this year's LG gram may be a much more sensible option than its predecessor. Check out the LinusTechTips review.

Dave2D Review

Check out David Lee’s Dave2D review of the 2017 LG gram 15” notebook and see why gram is a laptop he’d “openly recommend”.

DetroitBORG Review

The DetroitBORG review takes an in-depth look at the updated 2017 LG gram with a Kaby Lake Core i7, bigger battery and lighted keyboard.

GENERAL INFORMATION
Model 15Z970-A.AAS7U1
Color Dark Silver
OPERATING SYSTEM
Operating System
An operating system is computer software that manages hardware and other software. Some operating system examples include Windows, macOS, and Linux.
Windows 10 Home (64bit)
FEATURES
Back-lit Keyboard Yes
DTS Headphone: X Yes
Touchscreen LCD Yes
PROCESSOR
CPU Brand Intel
CPU Type Intel® Core™ i7-7500U - 2.7GHz/3.5GHz
MEMORY
Total Memory 16GB x 1
HARD DRIVE
Type SSD (Solid-State Drive)
Capacity 512GB
CONNECTIVITY
Wireless
Connecting to a Wi-Fi Network (Quick Setup) – PC
802.11ac, Dual Band
LAN 10/100 or Gigabit with RJ45 Gender
Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.1
DISPLAY
Screen Size 15.6"
Display Type IPS LCD
Resolution FHD (1920 x 1080)
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 620
AUDIO
Speakers Stereo Speaker (1.0W x 2)
Surround Sound Format DTS Headphone: X
PORTS AND CONNECTORS
HDMI (Standard)
HDMI stands for High Definition Multimedia Interface.
Yes
USB 3.0 Type-C Yes
USB 3.0 Yes (2)
USB 2.0 Yes (1)
Micro-SD Yes
Headphone Out Yes
RJ45 Ethernet Yes (USB Type C port with RJ45 gender)
DC-In Yes
MATERIAL (BODY)
Material Magnesium alloy
BATTERY / POWER
Battery 60Wh
AC Adapter Yes (40W 2 pin)
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
Dimensions (WxHxD) 14.1" x 9.0" x 0.6"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 18.4" x 10.7" x 2.4"
Weight 2.4 lbs (1090g)
Shipping Weight 4.2 lbs
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 year parts and labor
UPC 719192611108

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightest laptop I've ever owned I purchased this laptop a little over a month ago, and I'm loving it; lightweight, very fast, lit keyboard,great battery life.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect laptop I've had mine for awhile. It's fast, the screen is great and it weighs next to nothing. Really all you could possibly ask for in a portable computer or even a desktop. Mine has traveled a lot and it is very durable.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what really expected it to do. Absolutely great, specially on two things: weight and battery life. I'm used to ipads, MBAs, and macs in general. It is lighter than even the 11" Airs, ipads with Bluetooth keyboards. Yes, you do get over 16 hours, of course I only had music playing while typing with email and a few other things in the background. Amazing!!! Works for me.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great one! This is a lit laptop ever! Because i can play every game with this
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! Really good screen, fast, laods quickly I am not sure why this lightweight laptop computer has had less than glowing reviews. There is some that talk of the lid (screen) flexing - well on a laptop this thin, I expect some flexing. I have tried one that when you press on back it shows through on screen. If you want a cast iron laptop, please buy one. Screen and color on this are good. I find the 2 level backlit key board easy to see, and comfortable to use. Trackpad works well, and have had no issues with scrolling, clicking etc. Load times are great. Battery life is excellent. I compared this against another brand "gaming" laptop with similar processor, ram, AND with addition of a 4 GB dedicated graphics card - and was surprised to find load time, boot time, and program accessing time, all to be faster on the LG Gram. I also have run some older - but still graphic intensive games - on the Gram, and it has performed flawlessly. And, it is remakable how light weight this computer really is. Despite the light weight, I find it to be a great performing laptop with great screen, light, easily portable, with great battery life. I do think it is a bit pricey - along with many laptops today - but seems to give good value in this price range of computers.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best laptop of my life (i had more than 10...) It's not the cheapest but there is no lighter laptop with such a large screen that will provide you so much power. It is pricy but it delivers quality: Reliable, fast and well designed with great keyboard and connectivity. Awesome for advanced users or a programmer like me. It makes the Apple laptops look obsolete... Use it and see by yourself. Before buying it, I owned and tried almost all the different brands with various success. My next laptop will also be a LG Gram. It is great for traveller and people who needs significant power and battery life in a super light device: 2.4 LBS or 1 Kilogram. You can't beat that.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Beyond Expectations Was curious, it was returnable, but love it and kept it. Weight is remarkable, solid, not a blemish through 7+ months of constant travel, beautiful screen color, perfect touch response, track pad, microphone, finger reader. Rarely use the mouse with it. Much faster than expected. Battery lasts all day at a normal brightness. Rarely worry about it any more. Runs cool even under load. LG software is unobtrusive and seems very well done. I wanted a top line travel laptop or tablet. Preferred laptop form factor. Cost was not an issue, but after working with this model for a month, there was nothing to criticize or upgrade for.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 years on from buying and stil going strong I bought this 15.6" and full keyboard unit soon after it was launched and have carted it around over many flights and trips. I was concerned at first that being his light it may not hold up physically. I can say that it has held up well. I replaced the supplied charger with a USB-c charger (multi-voltage type that charges my phone and tablet) and that this works better than the supplied unit for my needs. The performance of the unit is absolutely fine for my needs which is mainly business and a few photos and browsing and I watch movies on it. All good for me. This is my 9th laptop in 20 years and without doubt, the best I have had as weight is a big consideration for me BUT I just didn't like a 13.3-inch unit which did not suit my needs. I will buy another when / if this unit gives up - I usually expect 3 years from a laptop.
Date published: 2017-11-24
  • y_2018, m_2, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05793669, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 15Z970-A.AAS7U1 Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Is the ram upgradeable on the LG Gram 13.3 inch? it says 8 gigs of ram, but I do not see any details on max ram. Some sites are saying you guys soldered it into the motherboard. if so, why on earth would you do that?

Asked by: nickfromphilly
The RAM is soldered on the motherboard and is not upgradeable. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-07

I bought the 15.6” laptop last dec. 2017 and after a month of usage, I noticed vertical lines about 2 inches and it disappears after a while of using rhe laptop. It will reappear right away right after you reboot the laptop. Please help!

Asked by: DennisZ
Sorry to hear DennisZ, sounds like we may need to perform some troubleshooting or your unit needs service. Please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 when you are with your unit. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-28

I'm having LG Gram 15 (model: 15ZD970) and is having problem with brightness function; it stays at max even if I reduce brightness to 0%. I have already updated the display driver. What shall I do?

Asked by: Naz1212
We are sorry; we are only able to support products in the USA. For the proper support channels, please see http://www.lg.com/common/index.jsp ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-10

Why my laptop battery drops to 11% after not being used in two months??? What if I don't use it in longer terms, will it just die???

Asked by: Artofmusic
For support in the UK, please see: http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/chat-email ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-25

Is there a car charger available without having to use an inverter? I'm looking at using this for emergency management location mapping in a private vehicle. (search & rescue)

Asked by: JYoung
I ASKED LG FOR A CAR CHARGER FOR MY LG GRAM 13 AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DID NOT HAVE ONE AND DID NOT KNOW WHEN OR IF THAT PRODUCT WOULD BE AVAILABLE. I FOUND ONE AND HERE IS THE INFORMATION: Items Ordered Price 1 of: CAR CHARGER 65W 40W for LG Gram 14Z950 14Z970 14" 13Z950 13Z970 13Z940 13.3" 15Z960 15Z970 15" P/N ADS-40MSG-19 DC Auto Adapter Power Cord EXTRA LONG 10 Ft : !!! Check Connector Photo !!!
Answered by: EPIPHANY247T
Date published: 2017-12-22

I would like to watch a dvd on my new laptop what do i need to do

Asked by: Eleanora
We apologize the LG Gram does not have a disc drive. You can purchase an external drive to be able to view discs. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-20

What technology is the SSD? Is it M.2? Pcie? Nvme?

Asked by: Healeyg
The SSD is SATA M.2. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-12

Hello; Do any of your LG touchscreen laptops come w/ Windows 10 Pro? What are your current downgrade rights? (IE: Windows 10 Pro to Windows 7 Pro)

Asked by: JLuque
The operating system that is built-in on the laptop is Windows 10 Home. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-12
  • y_2018, m_2, d_21, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05793669, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT