To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

G5 Battery

  • BL-42D1F

Key Features

  • Removable 2,800mAh Battery
  • Quick Charge 3.0*
  • Conveniently Charge Your LG G5

Charge With Confidence

Now you can purchase genuine LG batteries and charging cradles directly from the LG brand store.

Use Now. Recycle Later.

As part of LG’s commitment to a sustainable future, all LG G5 batteries are recyclable. Learn how to recycle your old batteries.

Quick Charge 3.0 Compatible

The LG G5 is compatible with Quick Charge 3.0, so you can spend less time charging up and more time on the go.

Battery Classification & Type
Battery Classification Lithium Ion Battery
Battery Type LG L424695L1
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
Capacity Minimum 2,700 mAh/Typical 2,800 mAh
Nominal Voltage 3.85 V
End Voltage 2.70 V
Charge Voltage 4.40 V
Charge Current Standard 1,350 mA (32 ~ 113°F) Maximum 3,105 mA (32 ~ 113°F) to 4.30 V Maximum 1,890 mA (32 ~ 113°F) to 4.40 V
Charge Cut-off Current 20 mA
Discharge Current Standard 540 mA (32 ~ 140°F) Maximum 2,700 mA (32 ~ 140°F)
Internal Resistance Average 67 mΩ (LSL: 47 mΩ, USL: 93 mΩ)
Temperature Range Storage less than 1 month: -4 ~ 140°F Storage less than 3 months: -4 ~ 113°F
Weight Average 1.64 oz. (LSL: 1.47 oz., USL: 1.80 oz.)

What People Are Saying

Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2nd bad one first lg g4 went bad now battery in replaced lg lg5 going bad and they want proof of purchase which carrier cannot provide. Why bother with LG cell phones with this much hassle?
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Battery Extra battery works great easy to swap out in phone
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I buy this yesterday and oh boy I love it already love my new phone
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never worry about charging your phone. Get this and the cradle and you'll never worry about running out of battery again forever. Switch the battery through the modular in seconds your back up. That easy.
Date published: 2016-05-22
  • y_2017, m_6, d_21, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View BL-42D1F Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

My battery is less than 6 months old and it's it's not charging properly my phone company says I have to go through you but how is it possible to send you my battery I won't be able to use my phone how do I get you to replace my battery

Asked by: Cheri4
We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with this battery. Please contact our Wireless Customer Interactive Center at 800-793-8896 to make proper arrangements for battery replacement.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-06-16

Im wondering if there is any where i can buy a whole new bottom for my LG G5?

Asked by: Bottoms up
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Canada. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/ca_en/index.jsp. You may also contact our Canada offices at 1-888-542-2623.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-10

Does the battery for an LG G5 come of the base

Asked by: MILLER 34
Hi MILLER 34. We would need some clarification on your inquiry. We are not clear on if you are inquiring if the battery for the LG G5 can be removed from the phone. The LG G5 has a Slide-Out Removable 2,800 mAh Battery...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-05-09

Is this battery for the LG treasure? I know it sounds silly but it doesn't say it specifically after I type it in.

Asked by: Cwalk
I recommend to only buy the genuine battery made by LG. The others doesn't work that long. It's well worth the money to buy the genuine battery.
Answered by: Pebbles
Date published: 2017-05-09

Just got LG G5 phone I was told I might be able to get a 2nd battery free

Asked by: Angellady
Yeah it did have a promotion but it's over. I was lucky enough to get the promo before it expired
Answered by: Pebbles
Date published: 2017-05-10

Where can I buy a USB C cable that works with Quick Charge 3.0?

Asked by: Ck1024
I bought mine from Amazon and with a great price.
Answered by: Pebbles
Date published: 2017-01-22

Does the battery have warranty? I got my phone in may and the battery has been acting funny at times. It will die overnight. I do not have it plugged in the whole day

Asked by: Lhlopez
The best way is to not over charged your battery by not having it plugged in for to long. This over charges the battery. Only needs to be charged enough for the fullest
Answered by: Pebbles
Date published: 2017-05-10

How do you remove the battery from the base?

Asked by: RMSR
It's very easy to remove the battery from the battery holder with just sliding out the battery from the holder by an easy slide to the right side. It's an easy fix.
Answered by: Pebbles
Date published: 2017-05-10
  • y_2017, m_6, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05601291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 74ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT