To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

24GM79G-B

Key Features

  • 144Hz Refresh Rate
  • 1ms Motion Blur Reduction
  • AMD FreeSync™
  • Dynamic Action Sync
  • Black Stabilizer
  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Suggested Price

$299.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$249.99

Promotion Price*
1ms Motion Blur Reduction

1ms Motion Blur Reduction

A monitor’s response time is critical in games. 1ms Motion Blur Reduction allows the precision and accuracy needed to play at a high level. With a response time that is virtually 1ms, blurring and ghosting are dramatically reduced to make the in-game action smoother.

AMD FreeSync™ Technology

AMD FreeSync™ Technology*

FreeSync reduces the tearing and stuttering that occur between a graphic card’s frame rate and a monitor’s refresh rate. With FreeSync, gamers can experience seamless, fluid movement throughout games without the need to upgrade your graphic card.

Dynamic Action Sync

Dynamic Action Sync

Gamers can experience optimized, fast-pace gaming with Dynamic Action Sync. Dynamic Action Sync is a feature that minimizes input lag so the game play in RTS games is more responsive.

Black Stabilizer

Black Stabilizer

Keep visibility even in dark scenes. LG's Black Stabilizer senses dark scenes and helps make it brighter so that you can find the enemies hiding and waiting to attack your player in the dark.

Game Mode

 Game Mode 

Set your game mode to optimize and customize your gaming conditions. There are 3 gamer modes, 2 First-Person-Shooter modes and even a RTS pre-set mode so you can choose the best mode for you and the game you're playing.

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

Earning the ENERGY STAR® means a product meets stringent energy efficiency requirements set by the US Environmental Protection Agency. ENERGY STAR certified monitors are on average, 25 percent more energy efficient than conventional models, saving energy in all usage modes: sleep, idle, and on.

FEATURES
INPUTS/OUTPUTS
POWER
SPECIAL FEATURES
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
CABINET / ACCESSORIES
STANDARD
LIMITED WARRANTY / UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Feel, High Value Extremely high refresh rate, perfect for high FPS-demanding games. 1 ms refresh rate perfect for FPS games. Nothing special, but very high value for its price. Easily accessible screen resolution changes allows a quick change to fit your specific needs for certain video games. Slight problems with color corrections, but nothing out of reach for a common user. No errors have been encountered, and I certainly don't expect it to.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what i hoped for Girlfriend dumbed me before christmas - check Cried like a baby while looking for computer parts - check Found this monitor while it was on sale - check Purchased it, wept like a baby again, because it was such a huge upgrade - check This monitor has performed perfectly since i bought it. I and my roomates have all loved this monitor and would recommend it highly.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was not as great as a deal as I thought... Black crush apparent in dark scenes. Does work well as a dual purpose monitor (i.e. document reading or web browsing)
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good monitor, but major flaws ok, so let me explain... I bought the monitor basically right after release, and it turned out that the first batch had some pretty big issues with flickering, ghosting and the settings menu just screwing up. Now I cant change most of the settings there. I have moving horizontal lines and incredibly crushed blacks. From what I've read, its only happened to the first few batches, I've bought this monitor about 8 months ago btw. I've been trying to gen in contact with the warranty service, but I got no answer.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing but... This is my first 144hz monitor so I didn’t know how taxing it was on your graphics card so when I normally have 300+ frames on a game now I only get about have or less than that! So that’s something to think about before you purchase! Other than that a really nice product!
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great monitor I bought this product a few weeks ago and it still works like new. I’m planning to get another one. it is a tad too bright when no lights are on but other then that it’s prefect. you are able to adjust the screen resolution and it has a few preset settings
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All out Warcraft 24GM79G two years & still smiling Happy as I had good sense - My eyesight appeared to be failing & and my gaming abilities not Legendary (close but not enuff) I just now noticed that I could have gotten a bigger screen! I am glad I have this monitor.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my setup This monitor has the response time (1 millisecond) and 144 Hz refresh time that makes it an excellent gaming monitor. And the 24" size makes those games very immersive. Cyan's "Obduction" video game is gorgeous on this monitor.
Date published: 2017-09-22
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05806529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

are there any way to fix scratches on this monitor ?

Asked by: antonjo
We regret to read that you have a scratch on your LG 24" Class Full HD Gaming Monitor (24" Diagonal), Model # 24GM79G-B. You can't repair a scratch on an LCD display, however, the screen covering might be repairable. That will depend on the scrtach since scratches can vary from being barely noticeable to visually distracting. We cannot vouch for any, but you can inquire from a computer store about a professional scratch repair kit, but if the scratch is bad , you may need to replace the screen cover. Check Amazon, Best Buy or Walmart for such products...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-22

CAN RUN 144HZ WITH HDMI ?

Asked by: Zack damin
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 24" Class Full HD Gaming Monitor (24" Diagonal), Model # 24GM79G-B has a maximum resolution of 1920 x 1080 @ 144 HzThrough its HDMI or DisplayPort connections...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-03-05

headphone jack gives no output

Asked by: nvkl
It sounds like we'll need to walk through some troubleshooting for your monitor. Please reach out to our computer support team by calling 800-243-0000 so that we can dig into this a little more for you. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-13

Is freesync supported in the HDMI Ports?

Asked by: Lukas
Freesync is supported through both the HDMI port as well as the Display Port. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2018-04-19

does this monitor have a built in speaker?

Asked by: dhan29
This monitor does not have a built in speaker.
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-10-14

I couldn't find the DAS mode. If I go to menu , there's no function tab. How could I enable it ?

Asked by: Moejb
We apologize about the issue you are experiencing with this monitor. If we are not seeing the DAS option in the menu, it would be suggested to contact our Customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-18

I own this monitor , how could I enable Dynamic Action Sync ?

Asked by: MoeJb
We appreciate your interest in the monitor and its features. To activate Dynamic Action Sync you would go to MENU > FUNCTION > DAS MODE > ON.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2018-04-07

Any news about its release day? :)

Asked by: Giulio
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Italy. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/it/supporto/contatto-assistenza-clienti.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-03-14
  • y_2018, m_5, d_22, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05806529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT