To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

27MD5KA-B

Key Features

  • 5K (5120 x 2880) IPS Display
  • 218 Pixel Per Inch
  • P3 99% Color Spectrum
  • Thunderbolt™3
  • Built-In Camera & Speaker
See Retailer for Pricing
Ultra Clear 219 PPI 4K Display

Ultra Clear 218 PPI 5K Display

At 218 pixels per inch to deliver 5K resolution (5120 x 2880 at 27”) the LG UltraFine™ 5K display lets you experience the definition and detail of a Mac on a large 5K screen.

Rich Color, Better Detail

Rich Color, Better Detail

A color spectrum of P3 99% enables you to edit your high-resolution photos precisely. You will experience exceptional detail and rich color on this 5K display.

The World’s First 5K Display with Thunderbolt™ 3

5K Display with Thunderbolt™ 3

The LG UltraFine™ 5K display with Thunderbolt™ 3 port can transmit 5K video and data while simultaneously charging a new MacBook Pro (up to 85W) over a single cable. Plus, three USB-C downstream ports (USB 5 Gbps) let you connect additional devices as needed.¹

How to Connect the LG UltraFine 5K Display via Thunderbolt™ 3 cable

open
Recommended Connection with UltraFine 5K Display

Recommended Connection with UltraFine 5K Display

1. 13”/ 15” New MacBook Pro (Late 2016)
Check your release date of Mac devices

2. macOS Sierra 10.12.2 or later
Check your macOS version

3. Use enclosed ‘Thunderbolt™ 3 cable’ in the box
The Thunderbolt 3 Cable has ‘Thunderbolt™ 3 mark’ on the cable.

How to Connect LG UltraFine 5K Display with Your Mac

We recommend that you use the LG UltraFine 5K Display as a second monitor with Mac mini and Mac Pro, as the display might not turn on until you boot into macOS. As a result, pre-boot features such as Boot Picker and macOS Recovery might not be available on the display.

How to Connect LG UltraFine 5K Display with Your Mac
Ultimate Visibility

Ultimate Visibility

The LG UltraFine™ 5K display reaches a brightness of 500cd/m² and can express a wide range of color and contrast. You can experience vivid, lifelike images on a 5K screen, which provides a more natural representation.²

Consistent Color and Clarity

Consistent Color and Clarity

This 5K high-definition monitor with IPS minimizes color shift and delivers detailed, accurate images on the UltraFine™ 5K screen. Color is consistent from edge to edge.

Clear Communication and Entertainment

Clear Communication and Entertainment

The LG UltraFine™ 5K display has an internal webcam and responsive speakers/microphone that are perfectly suited to entertainment and communication, allowing you to watch movies, and video chat.³

Easy Display Control with macOS

Easy Display Control with macOS

Detailed control of display settings such as brightness can be done using macOS without the need to use any physical buttons.

Multi-Function Screen Manager

Multi-Function Screen Manager

The LG Screen Manager has been optimized for macOS to provide a variety of multi-screen options. For example, it can automatically divide the screen into two to four frames, according to users’ specific needs.

Convenient Adjustable Display Stand

Convenient Adjustable Display Stand

LG UltraFine™ 5K displays have convenient height/tilt adjustment. Users can customize the display height to create a more personal, comfortable workstation, or easily wall-mount the display with the use of a VESA mount bracket.⁴

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR®

ENERGY STAR® certified monitors meet stringent energy efficiency requirements set by the US Environmental Protection Agency in On, Sleep, and Off Modes. On average, monitors that have earned the ENERGY STAR® are 25% more energy efficient than standard options.

PANEL
INPUTS/OUTPUTS
SPEAKER
POWER
SPECIAL FEATURES
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
CABINET / ACCESSORIES
STANDARD
LIMITED WARRANTY / UPC

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm pleased with my purchase. After I received my 2017 MacBook Pro, I had to buy a screen compatible with Thunderbolt 3, so I could have my screen at eye level and my keyboard at the appropriate height. The screen works well and allows me to have several files open at once. The visual display is outstanding.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Display But with Shifted Colours All great, but colors on my MacBook Pro 2017 are slightly shifted to green (and there's nothing I can do about it). For that price it's annoying.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Display I have been running this monitor for about a month now and absolutely love it. I am running it with a MacBook Pro and was a breeze to set up, and it has performed flawlessly.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent customer service I ordered this 5K monitor from Apple Store in Asia. It works perfect with my MacPro. However, the package came with a UK type power cord. I have contacted Apple Store support asking if I can order a replacement US type power cord, the answer is no. I then drop an email to LG support asked the same. The next morning, I received a phone call from LG support, and offered to ship me a replacement US type US power cord free of charge. Very efficient and excellent customer service.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Screen Resolution Bought it about a month ago and I’m very pleased with the functionality being able to have various windows seen on a single screeny
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Display I was a little concern when I purchased this monitor because of all the bad reviews, but I have seen them at the Apple store and was always amazing with the screen. The price is a little steep so I decided to buy used. After some research I was aware the issue with the shielding was resolved in February of 2017 so I look for monitors that were manufactured for that date going forward. Mine has a date of October of 2017 and the box show a square which is also another indicator that this is a monitor with the shielding issue fixed. So far I have had no issues with the ones reported on the earlier reviews. No Wi-Fi issue, no missing mouse pointer, and always wakes up from a sleep and it hasn't report my MBP. To my surprises, I have Windows Laptop Gaming Legion Y720 that has a USB-C connector and was able to use the monitor at 5K resolution. So far happy with the monitor, only wish it had more than just one usb-c for video input.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Outstanding Resolution The display is beautiful. Super sharp and crisp. The management software works great as well. I was concerned that 27” wouldn’t be enough space but it works just fine. My only criticism is the number of input ports. HDMI, and USB-3 would be nice.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK Picture - but not a patch on the LG UltraFine 4 I bought this monitor about 6 months ago to use with my 2017 MacBook Pro. I initially thought it was "OK". But then I bought the LG UltraFine 4k 21" to use as a second monitor. The 4k 21", despite being considerably cheaper and is far superior. Whiter whites, deeper blacks and text is really sharp. I don't like using the 27" 5k now - as the picture just simply isn't as good. LG support tell me the picture quality should be the same if not better - but that is definitely not the case. Checked firmware and all up to date etc. I would not recommend the 5K 27" - but I would recommend 4k 21". Andrew
Date published: 2018-01-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_19, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05788610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Hi, I would like to connect this monitor to my hp notebook (graphic adapter is NVIDIA Quadro K1000M). Is it possible?

Asked by: Dan123456
Hi Dan123456, we see you are contacting us from Prague. If your question is in reference to the US version, then yes you can connect your laptop to this monitor as long as your laptop has the correct outputs. For more information, please contact the LG Support Center in the Czech Republic at www.lg.com/cz ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-04-18

I have a "LG UltraFine 5K Display" and "MacBook Pro (2017, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports)" After updating with latest OS, on connecting with my monitor, my mackbook is freezed. I tried to reset NVRAM and reset the SMC, it did not worked. how to fix it ?

Asked by: hkstu
We are sorry; we are only able to support products in the USA. For the proper support channels, please see http://www.lg.com/hk_en/support ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-02-27

Will this screen work in portrait format. Since I am a photographer and I have clients asking for book and magazine covers, can it swivel? will it give the same quality as if it is in landscape mode?

Asked by: Gerald Cummins
The version of the LG 27" Class UltraFine™ 5K IPS LED Monitor (27" Diagonal), Model # 27MD5KA that is marketed and sold in the U.S. is not designed to work in portrait format. It has a convenient height/tilt adjustment, but if you need this to function in portrait format, you may need software that allows you to do that. Some Windows Operating Systems allow you to right-click the desktop and select 'Screen Resolution', then navigate to 'Orientation'. By clicking on the drop-down menu you'll find options for Landscape, Portrait, Landscape (flipped) and Portrait (flipped)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-22

I am curious if it would be possible to have the video display work through connecting to the thunderport 3 port on the Lacie 6Big external drive? I have a Thunderport 3 dock that allows 5K pass-through, no USB-C ports on the monitor.

Asked by: lifestar
In order for you to get a display on the monitor, it should be a straight connection from the computer going to the monitor like thunderbolt 3.0 to thunderbolt 3.0. Its not guaranteed to get a video in that setup. For additional assistance, give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 or via our Live Chat services at www.lg.com/us/support/chat-and-email-information. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-17

How do I use the monitor's webcam for facetime when my mac is plugged in but the cover is closed?

Asked by: Matt212
More information would be needed about the MacBook and the setup to better assist. Please contact our customer Interactive Center at 800-243-0000 for additional support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-09-28

How do you get the flashing to stop, it's really annoying.  It only happens once in a while but it must stop!!!!

Asked by: MacUser1972
Many *many* Macs on Sierra have a problem with external monitors flashing, and/or going to black for a fraction of a second to multiple seconds. I encountered it on my brand new Macbook Pro 2016 15" , with both HDMI and DVI. For me, uninstalling SnapZPro seems to have been the solution.
Answered by: sieler
Date published: 2017-05-29

What is the resolution of the camera?

Asked by: imabuddha
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Japan. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/jp/support/contact-customer-support.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-07-20

i was confused by the apple store sevicer to use this for an mac air. so do i have any solution? or is there any way to change the output thunderbolt3 into HDIM without any influnse of the display?

Asked by: tq00i8e
The MacBook Air is not supported on a 27" display, because the MBA doesn't have the resolution support. Native resolution for an Early 2015 MBA would be 1440x900, for external display support it can handle a 3840x2160 which would be 4k.This 5k display is 5120x2880. So MBA is NOT compatible.
Answered by: MissKris
Date published: 2017-07-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05788610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT