To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

34" Class 21:9 UltraWide® WQHD IPS Thunderbolt™ Curved LED Monitor (34" Diagonal)

  • 34UC98-W

Key Features

  • 34" 21:9 Curved WQHD IPS Display
  • sRGB Over 99%
  • Thunderbolt 2.0 (x 2)
  • Screen Split 2.0 (PIP Mode)
  • USB 3.0 Quick Charge
UltraWide Quad High Definition

21:9 UltraWide® Curved WQHD

The immersive viewing experience of the 21:9 UltraWide Curved QHD display* is about 1.8x larger than an UltraWide Full HD 21:9 monitor, and about 2.4x larger than a Full HD 16:9 monitor. In MS Office programs, it displays 47 columns, 63 rows in Excel.

Thunderbolt 2.0 x 2

Thunderbolt™ 2.0 (x2)

Two Thunderbolt input/output ports allow you to connect compatible devices to move data between them with incredible speed of around 20-gigabits-per-second throughput in both directions. 4 times faster than USB 3.0.

USB 3.0 Quick Charge

USB 3.0 Quick Charge

Charge the battery of a connected device quickly using the USB 3.0 port. This port charges USB 3.0 Quick Charge compatible devices much faster than typical USB 2.0 cables, so waiting for a full charge doesn’t hold you up.

On-Screen Control

On-Screen Control

On-Screen Control puts a host of essential monitor settings into a handy window for quick, easy access. Volume, brightness, picture mode presets, Screen Split 2.0 and Dual Controller and more can now be adjusted with just a few clicks of the mouse, instead of hard buttons on the monitor.

Learn More

open

Watch how the On-Screen Control feature can help configure your display for maximum organization and efficiency.

On-Screen Control

Software download required to enable OnScreen Control. For download details, visit LGUSA.com/OnScreenControlSupport

Screen Split 2.0

Screen Split 2.0

Customize your monitor layout for multitasking with the latest version of LG Screen Split. Resize and display multiple windows at once, with 14 options including four different picture-in-picture (PIP) choices.

sRGB Over 99%

sRGB Over 99%

sRGB is the standard color space of ideal color reproduction. So, with over 99% coverage of the sRGB spectrum, this LG monitor is a great solution for professional photographers, graphic designers or anyone looking for highly accurate color.

Screen Height & Tilt Adjust

Screen Height & Tilt Adjustable

Thoughtful ergonomic design such as adjustable height and tilt of the display for optimal eye level assures you a comfortable work space setting.

Game Mode

 Game Mode 

Game Mode, consisting of FPS, RTS, and Custom modes, provides a customized gaming experience that can be optimized to suit your favorite game genres.

PANEL SPECIFICATIONS
Screen Size Class (diagonal) 34"
Panel Type IPS
Color Gamut (CIE1931) sRGB over 99%
Color Depth (Number of Colors) 10bit (8bit + A-FRC)
Pixel Pitch (mm) 0.2325 mm x 0.2325 mm
Response Time 5ms GTG
Refresh Rate 60 Hz
Aspect Ratio 21:9
Resolution 3440x1440
Brightness (cd/m2) 300 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio 5M:1
Viewing Angle 178 / 178
Surface Treatment Hard Coating (3H), anti-glare
INPUTS/OUTPUTS
HDMI 2 (ver 2.0)
Display Port 1
Thunderbolt 2.0 2
USB 3.0 1
USB Up 3.0 1
USB 3.0 Quick Charge 1
POWER
Type Adapter
Input 100~240V
SPECIAL FEATURES
Picture Mode Yes
PIP In Screen Split
PBP Yes
DDC/CI Yes
HDCP Yes
Key Lock Yes
Response Time Control Yes
Quick Charge Yes
FreeSync Yes (DP 55~75Hz)
Game Mode Yes
DAS Mode Yes
Black Stabilizer Yes
Flicker Safe Yes
Automatic standby Yes
Reader Mode Yes (included in Picture Mode)
Six Axis Control Yes
Color Calibrated Yes
Dual Controller Yes
Screen Split 2.0 (in OSC) Yes
My Display Preset (in OSC) Yes
OnScreen Control (OSC) Yes
Dual EDID (H/W) Yes
One Click Stand Set-up Yes
Tilt (Angle) -5~15 Degree
Height (Range) 110mm
Audio Output MaxxAudio 7Wx2
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
Without Stand (WxHxD) 32.2" x 14.2" x 3.5"
With Stand (WxHxD) (Down) 32.2" x 17.8" x 9.1" / (Up) 32.2" x 22.1" x 9.1"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 38.5" x 19.9" x 8.2"
With Stand Weight 17.2 lbs
Shipping Weight 24.7 lbs
CABINET / ACCESSORIES
VESA® Size (mm) 100 x 100
Power Cord Yes
HDMI Yes
Display Port Yes
Cable Holder Yes
STANDARD
UL(cUL) Yes
TUV-type Yes
FCC-B, CE Yes
CCC (for China) Yes
BSMI (for Taiwan) Yes
ErP Yes
Windows Yes
DisplayPort Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts & Labor
UPC 719192199378

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great Very nice picture, looks great. having some issues with audio, but will get it figured out soon.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's good enough to use. It's good that I can have a wide screen monitor but not sure if it's good enough to use as a secondary monitor for graphic design. First of all, for some reason, I can't control the True Color Pro software to adjust colors. Secondly, the resolution doesn't seem to be closer to my Macbook Pro 15" Retina. I think price point wise, the resolution should be similar to Retina display. The last, I can't control volume with HDMI connection. I'm sure there must be somewhere but this basic function should be easy to find an use. Other than those, it's pretty good. If I considered
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome monitor! Love this monitor! The curved widescreen is unbelievably immersive and the split screen feature enables the productivity of having dual monitors; combined with my laptop screen, I essentially have 3-monitors without all the bulk, cables, etc. I really like the productivity I'm getting, and the immersive experience makes it better than the dual monitors I use at the office.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flawless so far for me. I connect this monitor to my Surface Dock through a miniDP to DP cable and it works flawlessly at 3440x1440 @ 60 Hz. I sometimes hook up my Xbox One X via HDMI and play at 1080p. It doesn't look the best but the ultrawide curved format makes gameplay really immersive. I have LG OnScreen Control but don't use it much. I find just two windows side by side works best, and Windows 10 does that without any extra software. The speakers are good enough for regular desktop use. They're not great but I wasn't expecting an IMAX experience. The build quality is also top notch, and I like the USB 3.0 port on the back. I use it sometimes to charge my phone at my desk. The single navigation button on the bottom is also very easy to use. It takes some getting used to but eventually you get it down. Keep in mind the power brick is quite large, about the size of a sunglasses case.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Productivity god This is a beautiful monitor that can be run by my laptop! It's enormous and helps a lot with productivity.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great monitor! I bought this about 3 months ago and I LOVE it! Its perfect for productivity and looks super nice. Really good quality product, and would recommend this monitor if you can afford it.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Monitor ! When i bought this monitor i got Defective product (Online Shop), so i claim a new one from LG, and they claim ( well because this item is limited in my country, i need wait a 1 month to get claim). the LG Team paid for the Shipment, the Customer Service is not bad at all because they process my claim, and well done ! i use this monitor about 3days right now. I'm happy using this monitor, good for multi tasking window work area. Design, View, Display is awesome. But LG need improve the software "OnScreen Control" when i alt tab from Full Screen ( Like games ) it will stuck me about a few seconds. The Panel + Software Screen Control is good and awesome too Easy use, and perfectly great !
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Screen Getting ready to buy another one This screen is amazing, I want to get another one for my setup this things great.
Date published: 2017-07-28
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05231041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 34UC98-W Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Hi. What is the best camera for a LG 34UC98 Screen please?

Asked by: PhilSmith
Hi Phil. What type of camera are you looking for to use with the LG 34" Class 21:9 UltraWide® Full HD IPS Curved LED Gaming Monitor with G-SYNC™ (34" Diagonal), Model # 34UC89G-B and how are you intending to use it? LG does not make cameras so you will be better advised to inquire from retailers who specialize in cameras about one that is suitable for your needs. If you have further questions, please contact our Support Center in the UK, http://www.lg.com/uk. You will find their telephone number listed on their site and links to their Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram support accounts where you can get additional assistance...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-02

For the life of me I can't figure out the dimensions as the way they are written out is confusing. What does (down) and (up) mean? Why are the dimensions with the stand smaller than without the stand? How can the height be only 3.5 inches?

Asked by: JeloRoc
Hi JeloRoc. We apologize for the error in the dimensions for the LG 34" Class 21:9 UltraWide® WQHD IPS Thunderbolt™ Curved LED Monitor (34" Diagonal), Model # 34UC98-W. The Dimensions should read as: Without Stand (W x D x H).....32.2" x 3.5" x 14.2" With Stand (W x D x H) .....32.2" x 9.1" x 17.8" (Down) and 32.2" x 9.1" x 22.1" (Up). The stand for the monitor is height adjustable and the Down and Up are referring to the height of the monitor when it is at its lower position and when it is at its higher position...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-12

is it not possible to use pbp with two hdmi sources?? i suppose i can just buy an hdmi to displayport or hdmi to thunderbolt to address this which feels ridiculous.

Asked by: Roger Fleenor
We appreciate your interest in this monitor and its features. According to the chart listed on page 25 of the owner’s manual, the PBP mode can only use one HDMI port at a time.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-05-31

With freesync enabled and my r9 390 i have most of light blinking (range 50-75hz), if i disable freesync i dont have this problem, i tryed wiith most driver version, please test and fix firmware.

Asked by: kurtferro79
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Italy. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/it/supporto/contatto-assistenza-clienti.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-08-14

So I have a classroom with a projector and six 40" displays around the room. Can this display project an image to the projector and displays while allowing me to continue working on the other side?

Asked by: Groves
I apologize, but no; according to the information listed in the owner’s manual, it appears that all ports on this monitor are INPUT jacks. Each will receive a signal, such as a PC, but will not output a signal to another device.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-12-24

Hi, I have purchased new LG monitor and needs to know that I need to connect my computer with only one HDMI cable or I need to connect with Two cables?

Asked by: Syed Asif
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Saudi Arabia. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/sa/support. Assistance for household appliances and entertainment devices may be obtained at 8002442929; for air conditioning, 8002445454; for mobile devices, 920007427.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-22

Can this monitor be wall mounted ? I like the stand but prefer to wall mount it, please advise

Asked by: BradHay
Our offices, in the United States, do not have product information for Australia. In order to obtain such information, it is recommended to check our subsidiary’s website, at http://www.lg.com/au/support/contact/support-here-to-help.jsp.
Answered by: NeilE
Date published: 2017-10-22

Hi, I have just setup my 34UC98-W monitor, however, my display settings show a maximum refresh rate of 50 Hertz (PAL). How do I get it to display 60 Hertz? Mac OS X 10.10.5. Thanks

Asked by: Fabs
The LG 34" Class 21:9 UltraWide® WQHD IPS Thunderbolt™ Curved LED Monitor (34" Diagonal), Model # 34UC98-W has a native refresha rate of 60 Hz. If you are only getting 50 Hz then you may want to access access the Screen resolution through the control panel for your PC and change the screen refresh rate from there. You should find it in Advanced Settings. IF you need further assistance, please contact the Support Center for our subsidiary in Canada, http://www.lg.com/ca_en (1-888-542-2623 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week)...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-02-09
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05231041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 4ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT