To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

43" Class 4K UHD IPS LED Monitor (42.5" Diagonal)

  • 43UD79-B

Key Features

  • 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) IPS
  • HDCP 2.2 Compatible
  • USB Type C™
  • 4x HDMI Inputs
  • On Screen Control
  • Factory Calibrated
43 Inch Class 4K UHD IPS Monitor

LG 4K UHD Monitor

With nearly as much screen area as four 21.5” monitors, the Ultra HD 4K 43UD79-B can multitask—and entertain—in exciting new ways.

43 Inch 4K UHD IPS

43” Class 4K UHD IPS Display

Outstanding Ultra HD performance is assured by the specially designed 4K display panel with in-plane switching (IPS), delivering accurate colors that remain consistent at wide viewing angles, with four times the resolution of Full HD.

HDCP 2.2 Compatible

HDCP 2.2 Compatible

Connect with confidence: This LG 4K monitor is compatible with the latest HDCP 2.2 copy protection, so it will display video from 4K streaming services, game consoles and Ultra HD Blu-ray disc players.





USB Type-C

USB Type-C™ (DP Alt Mode)

Offering a new generation of convenience, USB Type-C™ (DP Alt Mode) ports allow 4K video display and mobile device charging, all at the same time over a single cable.

4x HDMI Inputs

4x HDMI Inputs

Now, the monitor is a multimedia centerpiece. Easily and conveniently connect your other digital devices and peripherals with the convenience of 4 HDMI inputs.

Adjust Display Settings With Remote

Adjust Display Settings With Remote

Picture mode presets, including Picture in Picture, can be easily adjusted with the included remote control.

Software download required to enable OnScreen Control. For download details, visit LGUSA.com/OnScreenControlSupport

Screen Split

Screen Split

Customize your monitor layout for multitasking with the latest version of LG Screen Split. Resize and display multiple windows at once, with 14 options including four different picture-in-picture (PIP) choices.

10 Watt Speakers with Rich Bass

10 Watt Speakers with Rich Bass

Enjoy what's on the screen with sound produced by the monitor's two 10 watt speakers with Rich Bass. LG’s Rich Bass function can cover sound under 85Hz showcasing a wider and richer sound with impressive bass depth.

PICTURE QUALITY
Screen Size 42.51"
Panel Type IPS
Color Gamut (CIE1931) NTSC 72%
Color Depth(Number of Colors) 1.06Billion Color
Pixel Pitch(mm) 0.2451 x 0.2451
Response Time 5ms GTG
Refresh Rate 60Hz
Aspect Ratio 16:9
Resolution 3840x2160
Brightness 350cd/m2
Contrast Ratio Mega
Viewing Angle 178 / 178
Surface Treatment Anti-Glare
INPUTS/OUTPUTS
HDMI Yes x4 (ver 1.4 x2, ver 2.0 x2)
Display Port Yes x1 (ver 1.2)
USB-C Yes (1)
USB down port Yes (2)
SPEAKER
Type Rich Bass
Audio Output 10W x 2
POWER
Type Built-in Power
Input 100-240Vac, 50/60Hz
Normal On (EPA) TBD
Normal On (factory out condition Typ.) TBD
Power Save/Sleep Mode (Max.) 1.2W
DC Off (Max.) 0.3W
SPECIAL FEATURES
DDC/CI Yes
HDCP HDMI2.0 Yes (2.2), DP Yes (2.2)
Remote Control Yes
PIP (Picture in Picture) Yes (2PIP)
PBP (Picture by Picture) Yes (4PBP)
Reader Mode Yes
SIX Axis Control Yes
Factory Calibration Yes
On Screen Control Yes
SUPER+Resolution Yes
Black Stabilizer Yes
DAS Mode Yes
Dual Controller Yes
DIMENSIONS/WEIGHT
Without Stand (WxHxD) 38.1" x 22.6" x 2.8"
With Stand (WxHxD) 38.1" x 25.5" x 10.8"
Shipping Dimensions (WxHxD) 41.9" x 25.9" x 11.2"
With Stand Weight 35.1 lbs
Without Stand Weight 27.1 lbs
Shipping Weight 44.1 lbs
STAND
Detachable Base Yes
Tilt (angle) Yes (-5~10)
CABINET / ACCESSORIES
Wall mount size (mm) 200 x 200
Power Cord Yes
Remote Control Yes (2x AAA batteries included)
USB Type A to C Yes
HDMI Yes
Display Port Yes
S/W Install CD Yes (OnScreen Control, Dual Controller)
Easy Setup Guide Yes
Calibration Report (Paper) Yes
Cable Holder Yes
STANDARD
UL(cUL) Yes
CB Yes
FCC-B, CE Yes
KC Yes
ErP Yes
ROHS, REACH Yes
Windows 10 Yes
DisplayPort Yes
WARRANTY / UPC
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts & Labor
UPC 719192614604

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely . . . No Regrets I bought this 4K monitor 1.5 months ago. In anticipation, I hooked it up to my 2015 MacBook Pro and my work PC laptop. I was taken aback by the spectacular display, the sheer functionality and flexibility provided. Why two screens if one does the job?! I can split the screen in so many ways! And I've only touched 50% of its true capability!
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the color and features Pros: I own lots of monitors and TV. This LG monitor is one of the best. The color is exceptionally well calibrated and superb. The sound has good bass so I don't have to use an external speaker. Lots of pictures/source arrangements possible. Cons: Heavy. The display unit and especially the stand are heavy. Looking at the bright side, it is sturdy.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Monitor loses HDMI audio and video randomly I have had this monitor for a couple months now and I have run into an issue with using my xbox one x console with this monitor. My xbox died while connected to the monitor and seemed to have fried the HDMI Out port on the console. It is definitely the monitor because I bought another xbox (while the other xbox is sent back to microsoft) and it continues to lose either audio or video at random times. Also, I tested the HDMI cables to see whether they were bad and they were not. Swapping ports on the monitor seems to work temporarily but ultimately reverts back to the random audio/video loss. I would send it back but I don't have a box big enough to fit it in. The upside is that when the audio and video are working it is a great experience. I normally would praise LG products but, this is unacceptable.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Everything is great except annoying ticking noise I bought this monitor 1 week ago and I had to request the seller for an exchange due to the ticking noise from the back of the monitor. It works fine when I plug it into my MacBook Pro but when it is in standby mode, it makes a constantly ticking noise which is very annoying. I tried to remove all the cables that I have (USB-C, HDMI) except the power cord but it doesn't help. Unfortunately, the second monitor I received also has this problem. This is so sad.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GET THIS MONITOR!!!!! Two months with this monitor have been like being in heaven. I knew after a few hours that it is the monitor I have been longing for. Excellent rendition, color, and the handling of the 'fine' details is unsurpassed.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb monitor for an expanded work-space. Bought this monitor about a month ago and could not be any happier. The amount of features, color precision and versatility are what drove my decision into this purchase. I personally use it for graphics and video editing so the ability to have a large desktop space is a huge plus.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SCREEN SIZE & PRICE I bough this monitor about month ago and love it . the screen size and have good deal on price at FRY's overall the speaker is loud and bass . am not a gamer so not sure how the fresh rate on this thing . i would recommend to who can't see good with small size monitor. you will love it to have this one.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from MacBook Pro thinks it’s a 27” display My 2017 MacBook Pro thinks it’s a 27” display thus does not push the current resolution. Others Mac users in my office have the same issue but windows people do not. Any recommendations?
Date published: 2017-11-02
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05832389, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View 43UD79-B Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

we are Colorado State University & we are TAX exempt. We would like to order a monitor however we MUST NOT be charged tax. How do I go about ordering with a dept. P-Card & make sure I'm not charged TAX?

Asked by: Pat S
Hi Pat S. LG is not a direct reseller and the LG 43" Class 4K UHD IPS LED Monitor (42.5" Diagonal), Model # 43UD79-B will have to be purchased from an LG Authorized Reseller. On its product page on our site, http://www.lg.com/us/monitors/lg-43UD79-B-4k-uhd-led-monitor is a tab labeled as 'Where to Buy' When you click on that tab, you can enter your zip code into the appropriate search field that is on the page that opens up. Another page will open listing all the online sites and retailers who carry this monitor who are in a 50-mile radius of the zip code you enter. There will be links and phone numbers for each listed online site and retailer and you can contact them or visit their sites to inquire about their Tax Exempt policies and what will be required from you to apply the tax exemption to your purchase...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-11

Does the split screen feature or the Picture in Picture mode work for a single input? Let's say a single PC, but I wanted to display 3 separate windows in full screen.

Asked by: Nathan1201
The split screen will work on a single input. You will have an option to split the screen into 2-4 windows at the same time and the screen will also be divided but you will not get a full screen. If you want to display 3 separate full screen windows on a single input, then it’s not Split Screen anymore. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-14

Is it possible to disable the remote input or block the IR receiver (if it uses IR)? The monitor is in the same room as a LG TV and is picking up signs from the TV remote. VERY annoying.

Asked by: ojko
Unfortunately, it is not possible to disable or block the IR receiver. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2018-01-11

Is it d-led? I mean full led in background. Or only wled etc? I mean if have it less under all place under panel or only on sides, thanks.

Asked by: MichaelCz
The IPS panel in the 43UD79-B is a WLED panel. If you are in need of any assistance, have questions, or would just like to see our helpful tips, check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-06

Does it work with the XBOX in 4K mode?

Asked by: 1MORLAP
You HAVE to use the provided HDMI cable from LG that comes with the monitor. The one that came with the Xbox One X did not work.
Answered by: tracydanieldavis
Date published: 2017-12-05

Is this compatible with the PS4 pro I don't to buy this and find out the PS4 won't recognize the 4k 

Asked by: Wade1234
It does not appear to be compatible with the PS4 Pro, LGJoel has just given a generic answer, yes on paper it should but I can not get it to display in 4K from my PS4 Pro. My PC has no problem displaying in 4k I even used the same cable that I used on PC to try with the PS4 Pro. I have tried different ports, different cables, and no matter what I can not select 4K resolution from the PS4 settings the 4K option is greyed out and says (not supported) next to it.
Answered by: B4Real
Date published: 2017-11-30

Just purchased 43UD79. No sound from internal speakers. Tried HDMI, USB-C to HDMI. Why? Using Intel's Skull Canyon NUC

Asked by: TKJP
If you have checked the sound setting on your computer and monitor, please give us a call at 1-800-243-0000 so we can perform some troubleshooting. ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-11-17

Video = GTX 1070 with 2 HDMI 2.0 and 2 DisplayPort 1.2. Tower = USB-C. Question: With 2 HDMI 2.0 cables and a single DisplayPort, will this monitor allow 2 x split screen (full down the middle) and switch to full screen UHD or does it require 4 HDMI?

Asked by: JamesN
This certainly is something we would love to look into with you. Please reach out to our computer specialist by calling 800-243-0000 so we can assist you with this. ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-11-10
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05832389, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT