To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

LFXS28968D

Key Features

  • 27.9 cu. ft. Capacity
  • PrintProof™ Finish
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • Door Cooling+
  • Slim SpacePlus® Ice System

available colors:

Black Stainless Steel
Suggested Price

$2999.99

Suggested Price
Promotion Price*

$2220.99

Promotion Price*

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with French Door Refrigerators”

Style That Changes
Everything.

Deep yet brilliantly appealing, the LG Black Stainless Steel Series brings an undeniable lustre to kitchen spaces. It elevates the traditional stainless steel look that has become the standard in today's homes with a satin-smooth, warm and sophisticated finish— for a timeless expression that pairs beautifully with any style.

The Look You Love Without the Fuss.

Now you can have all of the things you love about stainless, without the need for special cleaners or constant attention. LG’s PrintProof™ fingerprint and smudge resistant finish easily wipes clean with a soft, dry cloth for a distinctive kitchen that handles real-life in style.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ® app to control key features and get important notifications from any-where. It even works with the Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

Store More.

Stock-up and store everything you need. With a cavernous 28 cubic feet of space, this LG French Door refrigerator gives you ample space for all of your family’s favorite foods and keeps them conveniently organized and within reach.

  • Focused Freshness.

    LG took its advanced freshness system one step further by adding Door Cooling+ to provide a steady supply of cold air to help keep door contents at peak freshness.

  • Fresh air inside.

    Your food isn't the only thing that stays fresh. Only LG offers a 3-layer Fresh Air Filter with dedicated fan that pushes cleaner, fresher air into the fridge.

  • Ready to Serve, at Just the Right Temp.

    This full-width, temperature-controlled drawer makes party preparations a snap. Store everything from deli platters to fruit trays at just the right temperature.

  • One Size Fills All.

    From pitchers to pint glasses, finally there’s an ice and water dispenser that can handle just about any container you want to fill.

Most shelf space.

Most shelf space.*  

Ice makers are great, but not if it means you can't fit all of your food in the fridge. The Slim SpacePlus® Ice System provides more shelf space and allows even more space for door bins.

*Standard width french door refrigerator, excludes other LG manufactured products

SUMMARY
CAPACITY
FEATURES
WATER & ICE SYSTEM
COOLING
CONVENIENCE
REFRIGERATOR
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
FREEZER
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
DIMENSIONS / CLEARANCES / WEIGHTS
LIMITED WARRANTY
UPC CODES

What People Are Saying

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fridge Beautiful fridge. Easy to keep clean slick lines. Easy to put large items in fridge. First time I've had freezer on bottom and like, especially for someone who is short.
Date published: 2018-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the french doors!!!! Its so quite. I love it. I have only own it for weeks and its just a great quality product. After months of researching and reading consumer's reviews and inspecting Other makers products, I chose LG not only for quality, but for customer service was rank very high in satisfaction. I need a company that I can rely on if I have a problem and I know that I can reach out to that company and that they will stand behind there product. And LG won me over.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am enjoying refrigerator and space. Freezer roomy.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fridge We've had this fridge for about a month. At first we were extremely annoyed about how noisy it was where the compressor kicked in. Using the leveling screw on the bottom on one side so far has fixed this. I was hope the black stainless was really black so it would match my black stainless cooktop. Unfortunately the color is gray, not black. Otherwise, this fridge is great. It has ample space.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding features This LG refrigerator has some wonderful features. I am very impressed by the in the door ice-maker which is so much smaller and more efficient than those big clunky ones that take up so much space. Also like the bottom freezer with a door handle that automatically stops the suction when you pull on it which makes it so easy to open. No fingerprints either! It looks so beautiful in my kitchen!
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LG Fridge Love this in my kitchen. It's gorgeous and very spacious! Perfect!
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome So far this Refrigerator has been awesome! No regrets in buying it.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good option for new fridge Interior space is large, ice maker works well and is quiet. Could use a built in wine and can rack though. For size, efficiency of interior space design 4/5. I would recommend as lots of bang for your buck. Looks good too.
Date published: 2018-05-05
  • y_2018, m_5, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05870395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Any toe kick for LFXS28968S. It’s kind of ugly at the bottom. 

Asked by: Kayla 140
Hello, the unit does not have a kick plate. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-05-21

Is the print proof finish on the stainless steel the same stainless steel color as the non print proof on the LG double oven?

Asked by: Asboat
What makes the PrintProof™ fingerprint and smudge resistant stainless steel finish on this ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Smart wi-fi Enabled French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S different from that of the stainless steel used on other LG Appliances that are not fingerprint proof or smudge resistant is the protective layer on the finish that make that stainless steel fingerprint and smudge resistant. The Stainless Steel is the same...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-05-11

What is SmartCooling? This refrigerator says it has SmartCooling but it does not say that it has dual evaporators. How is SmartCooling different than dual evaporators?

Asked by: rgla
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Capacity 3-Door French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S has a single Evaporator and a Smart Cooling® System. The Smart Cooling® System maintains optimal humidity and temperature levels so your food stays fresher, longer. Digital sensors constantly monitor conditions within the refrigerator. The Evaporator works in conjunction with the Linear Compressor and quickly reacts to changes in temperature and humidity to maintain optimal conditions and help keep food at its peak...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-11

Does this refrigerator have the inverter linear compressor? It says linear compressor in the specs. Is that the same as the inverter linear compressor?

Asked by: rgla
The advertised Linear Compressor for this LG ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Capacity 3-Door French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S is an Iverter Linear Compressor. They are one and the same...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-04-09

Our's stopped making ice the first week in operation. Anyone else with ice making issues?

Asked by: GlennKavanagh
Hello, you may need to contact LG Canada support for assistance, www.lg.com/ca_en/support, or review the help link provided. ^AC http://www.lg.com/us/support/product-help/CT10000021-1400773605181-no-ice
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-04-02

Does this fridge have smart cooling system ?

Asked by: Keta
Yes, the LFXS28968D has the Smart Cooling® System. ^AC
Answered by: Amber C
Date published: 2018-03-05

Hello is this frost free and automatic defrost because on the Lowes website it says it’s Not frost free or auto defrost but on the Best Buy website it says it is frost free and auto defrost and has a good warranty on the parts and linear compressor thank

Asked by: Hubby1
Hi Hubby1. Both the refrigerator and freezer sections in the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 27.9 cu.ft. Capacity 3-Door French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S defrost automatically...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-27

does this refrigerator have a duel evaporator cooling system

Asked by: mike glink
Hi Mike. The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 28 cu.ft. Capacity 3-Door French Door Refrigerator, Model # LFXS28968S does not have a dula evaporator system, it has a single evaporator system...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-20
  • y_2018, m_5, d_23, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05870395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT