To properly experience our LG.com website, you will need to use an alternate browser or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

The LG.com website utilizes responsive design to provide convenient experience that conforms to your devices screen size. In order to get the best possible experience our LG.COM website please follow below instructions.

If you’re using Internet Explorer 8 or earlier, you will need to use an alternate browser such as Firefox or Chrome or upgrade to a newer version of internet Explorer (IE9 or greater).

If you’re using Internet Explorer 9 and higher, turn off your Internet Explorer browser’s “Compatibility View settings” by following steps below:

  • Right click at the top of your browser and make sure the “Menu Bar” option is selected
  • Select “Tools” from the menu bar and then select “Compatibility View settings”
  • In the pop-up menu uncheck all three boxes and click “Close”
  • Your browser window will automatically refresh and you’ll be ready to go
Skip to Contents Skip to Accessibility Help

23 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator

  • LMXC23796S

  • Stainless Steel

Key Features

  • 23 cu. ft. Capacity
  • InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
  • SmartThinQ® Technology
  • ColdSaver™ Panel
  • Counter-Depth
  • Slim SpacePlus® Ice System

J.D. Power Award Winner

“Highest in Customer Satisfaction with French Door Refrigerators”

Raid the Fridge Without Losing Your Cool

InstaView™ Door-in-Door® refrigerators have a sleek glass panel that allows you to see inside the easy access door without letting the cold air out. Simply knock twice on the glass to illuminate the contents within.

Think you’ll run out of ice? ThinQ Again.

Think you’ll run out of ice? Think Again.

From making extra ice for tonight’s dinner party to getting smartphone notifications when the door is left open, use the LG SmartThinQ® app to control key features and get important notifications from anywhere. It even works with the Google Assistant, so you can operate smart features with your voice.

What Is Counter-Depth?

LG counter-depth refrigerators align with countertops and cabinetry for a uniform profile, creating a sophisticated built-in look without the high-end price tag.

Most shelf space.*

Ice makers are great, but not if it means you can't fit all of your food in the fridge. The Slim SpacePlus® Ice System provides more shelf space and allows even more space for door bins.

*Standard width french door refrigerator, excludes other LG manufactured products

Fresher is better.

Smart Cooling® Plus technology is designed to maintain superior conditions within the refrigerator. The Linear Compressor and Dual Evaporators react quickly to humidity and temperature levels and help keep your food fresher, longer. Strategically-placed vents in every section help surround your food with cool, fresh air.

SAVE MONEY. SAVE ENERGY.

SAVE MONEY. SAVE ENERGY.

This ENERGY STAR® certified LG refrigerator exceeds new 2016 federal energy standards to positively impact your energy bill and your energy consumption.

SUMMARY
Door Type French 4-Door
Refrigerator Type InstaView™ Door-in-Door®
Color Stainless Steel
Counter Depth (in.) Yes
SmartThinQ™ Yes
CAPACITY
Refrigerator 13.30 cu. ft.
CustomChill® Drawer 2.80 cu. ft.
Freezer 6.40 cu. ft.
Total 22.5 cu. ft.
FEATURES
Door-in-Door® Yes
InstaView™ Door-in-Door® w/ ColdSaver™ Panel Yes (w/ Glass Panel)
CustomChill® Drawer Yes
ENERGY STAR® Qualified Yes (697 kWh/Year)
Ice & Water Dispenser Yes
Dispenser Type Integrated Tall Ice & Water Dispenser®
Ice System Slim SpacePlus®
Daily Ice Production 3.5 lbs / 3.8 (IcePlus™)
Ice Storage Capacity 3.0 lbs
Smart Cooling Plus System Yes
Multi Air Flow Cooling Yes
Temperature Sensors 8
Linear Compressor Yes
Fresh Air Filter Yes
Dual Evaporator Yes
Display Type Smooth Touch Control (White LED)
CONVENIENCE
Temperature Controls Electronic/Digital
Door Alarm Yes
Child Lock Yes
LoDecibel™ Quiet Operation Yes
SmartDiagnosis™ Yes
Auto Closing Door Hinge Yes
REFRIGERATOR
No. of Shelves 4 Split (3 Fixed/1 Folding)
Folding Shelf Yes
Cantilevered Shelves Yes
Shelf Construction Spill Protector™ Tempered Glass
Crisper Bins 2 Humidity Crispers/1 Bonus Drawer
EasyReach® Bin Yes
Refrigerator Light Premium LED (Ceiling and Side)
REFRIGERATOR DOOR
No. of Shelves/Bin 6 Total (2 Gallon Sized, 1 Regular, 3 Half)
Door Bin Construction Clear , Opaque, Silver Deco
Dairy Corner Yes
CUSTOMCHILL™ DRAWER
Dividers 2
Temperature Range 29˚, 33˚, 37˚, 42˚ F
Handle SmartPull®
FREEZER
Door Type Pull Drawer
Drawers 3-Tier Organization®
Handle SmartPull® Freezer Handle
DuraBase™ Solid Drawer Base Yes
Drawer Divider Yes
Freezer Light Premium LED
MATERIALS AND FINISHES
Contour Door Yes
Hidden Hinges Yes
Surface Coated Metal
Back Flush & Metal Cover Over Mechanical Parts
Available Colors Stainless Steel (S)
Handles Matching Commercial Handles
DIMENSIONS/CLEARANCES/WEIGHTS
Depth with Handles 32 1/8"
Depth without Handles 29 5/8"
Depth without Door 24 3/4"
Depth (Total with Door Open) 44"
Height to Top of Case 68 7/8"
Height to Top of Door Hinge 70 1/4"
Width 35 3/4"
Width (Door Open 90˚ with Handle) 45"
Width (Door Open 90˚ without Handle) 40"
Installation Clearance Sides 1/8", Top 1", Back 2"
Weight (Unit/Carton) 371 lbs / 404 lbs.
Carton Dimensions (WxHxD) 38" x 73" x 33"
WARRANTY
Limited Warranty 1 Year Parts and Labor, 5 Years on the Sealed System (Parts & Labor), 5 Years on the Compressor (Parts & Labor), 6-10 Years on Linear Compressor (Parts Only)
UPC 048231788861

What People Are Saying

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love!!! We bought the LG Door in Door about a month ago and I am absolutely in love with it. I'd never had a freezer on the bottom before, but so far, it seems to be actually easier to find things quickly. I really like the extra drawers in the freezer. Makes organizing a snap. My only criticism would be that I wish the shelves in the door-in-door were adjustable, and the door shelves were about an inch deeper. The actual refrigerator seems like it has so much more room than my old side by side. My favorite feature is the middle refrigerator drawer... So, so handy for snacks, sandwich fixings, and cold drinks. I would recommend this product to everyone. Like I said, "I love it!"
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Happy We bought this refrigerator last June and didn't realize how hard it was going to be to find filters for this item. I went to Home depot where we bought it and they don't have any, then we tried a Factory LG store who has told us they are on back order and they were ordered at the beginning of January. If anyone knows where we can find them, please let us know.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spacious I bought this fridge 3 weeks ago and so far I like it - I don't LOVE it. It's definitely roomy and I love all the drawers and the freezer. Keeps my food organized for sure. I would have given it a 5 except that I do NOT LIKE the water dispenser. I hate that it has gotten scratched up because my kids place their water bottles against it. I also hate that it is on the outside of the opening. It catches people by surprise and it wets everything. It's not a good water dispenser at all! It sucks. The ice maker is also very small and with a very active family of 5 and drinking tons of water the icemaker does not keep up. Also hate hate hate that finger prints are so visible and when you have kids they just tend to want to touch everything.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I JUST LOVE IT I have had this refrigerator for nearly a year now and have to say that I love it! It has WIFI too, but I don't use that feature. Drawers are so easy to pull out and make easy access to freezer and deli drawer. Water filter is simple to change. Really nice door-in-door feature that allows you access without opening the whole cold section. Also, you can 'knock' on the window to see what is inside. Very very cool refrigerator. Counter-depth is great as it doesn't stick out in the room like my last appliance.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looked for two years and waited...for this fridge We had been looking to remodel our kitchen for 30+ years...in the last two, we looked at appliances several times a month. For a busy family we liked the one with the cpudisplay, but we are retired and did not need that feature. We then discovered this with the door in the door. It fit our needs perfectly. We had a side by side 25 cuft that was always hard to organize and the freezer burried its contents. This counter depth fride swallowed everything from that fridge and with room to spare. We love the center drawer and purpose it for every day use and can customize it when we entertain. The freezer is perfect for our use as we do not over purchase or go nuts at the big box stores. Weakness is its app. Cant get it to work other than to give same info that is on the door displat. Tells us to get a specific app in app store, but there is none by that name or title, and what is there is useless.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great (and beautiful) We have had this refrigerator for several months now and we absolutely love it. Not only is it beautiful, but so well designed for our food storage. Love the door in door and not having to open frig every time just to see what I have or don't have. Middle drawer is such a handy asset and great for keeping snacks and overflow of drinks handy. Vegetable bins keep veggies so much longer than my previous appliance.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Refrigerator We bought this 2 months ago, but had to wait for delivery. It was worth the wait. My wife and I love it. It is VERY quiet and the 4 doors/drawers are very convenient. I can't believe that a mere three inches less depth makes our kitchen seem so much bigger.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! The door in door is the best feature ever....I put all my normal go-to things in there and only open the French doors once or so a day. The freezer is a little small...but good enough for a small family.
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We're here to support you with our product.

View LMXC23796S Product Support

Contact us for any support inquiries.

ASK & ANSWER

Ask your questions. Share your answers.
Please first review the detailed product information and help guides in the Product Support section for this product prior to posting a question.

Can I get this fridge with all blue lighting inside and outside, it's easier on my eyes and looks alot better, or should have multi c color options of colors which is v ery smart, with a dimmer, for different times of the day or night, I'd pay more Derek

Asked by: Dereks
Hi Dereks. Your interest in the LG 23 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796S is greatly appreciated. Regrettably, LG does not do any custom orders. ^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-19

Is the LMXC23796s able to run on 240V for use in Africa?

Asked by: Yomi
The ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. 4-Door French Door Refrigerator with InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796S has to always plugged into its own individual properly grounded electrical outlet rated for 115 Volts, 60 Hertz, AC only and fused at 15 or 20 amperes...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-01-18

What are the breezing room requirements?

Asked by: Andrei 1
Installation Clearance required is Sides 1/8", Top 1", Back 2" ^AC
Answered by: amber
Date published: 2017-12-29

I would like to know the width , height , and dept of the refrigerator. 

Asked by: Abby w
The following are the dimensions for the LMXC23796S: Depth 32 1/8", Height to Top of Door Hinge 70 1/4", Width (Door Open 90˚ with Handle) 45". If you are in need of any assistance, have additional questions, or would just like to see our helpful tips, check us out on Twitter @LGUSSupport ^CP
Answered by: ChrisPSM
Date published: 2017-12-18

Is the temp on the front panel, the actual temp of the fridge or what the temp should be?

Asked by: Charlotte16
The temperatures that are shown on the control panel for the refrigerator and freezer compartments in the Energy Star® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796S are the set temperatures for those compartments...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2017-10-12

Does the black door scratch easily to reveal the stainless below?

Asked by: Sunshine100
The Black Stainless Steel on the ENERGY STAR® Qualified LG 23 cu. ft. InstaView™ Door-in-Door® Counter-Depth Refrigerator, Model # LMXC23796D is stainless steel coated with a darker hue and topped with a protective coating. It's the protective coating that makes the Black Stainless Steel fingerprint and smudge resistant, but if it is scratched, depending on how deep the scratch is, it will expose the black stainless steel under the coating...^IFV
Answered by: LGJoel
Date published: 2018-02-10

Will this come in stainless still finish to match my existing kitchen appliances?

Asked by: Blue Max
I just received mine in stainless. It is Model LG LMXC23796S.
Answered by: LynnA
Date published: 2017-02-27

When will the LMXC23796S model be available for purchase?

Asked by: Budd46
I just received mine from Home Depot
Answered by: LynnA
Date published: 2017-02-27
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_MD05794529, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_lg
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT